July and August are still available!
- English, Mandarin Chinese, Cantonese
About Jae Tang
We used to live in Columbia, SC and we have two young children (Maggie and Bella). We love visiting Kiawah and Charleston. We have token Maggie bicycling, Kayaking, fishing, cracking and etc. since she was two year old, creating some lovely memories as a family. We hope you will enjoy your visit to Kiawah as much as we do!
Jae Tang purchased this House in 2012
Why Jae Tang chose Vanderhorst Plantation
We fell in love with Kiawah on our very first visit to the island in the summer of 2012, and we were very blessed to have the property purchased in the winter of 2012. The house was originally built in 1985 and has a lot of its unique characters. Although some area of the house needs improvements, which we have slowly made some upgrades, such as the kitchen and flooring, we love it as it was. My husband and I picked out all the furniture and accessories for the house, and we really enjoyed the process of decorating it.
What makes this House unique
You can grill at the deck while watching the alligator swimming around to say hi, and you can cast your line and catch some red fish, bream, crack... etc from the pond by the house.
Minimum age of primary renter:21
Max guests:12 (sleeps up to 12 adults)
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
We were looking for a house on Kiawah for a reunion of 6 high school friends, and this one fit the bill. The kitchen and living space downstairs are lovely, as is the view over the lagoon. There are six beds/five bedrooms, total—you can only get to one of the bedrooms (the one with two beds) through another one of the bedrooms, in case that matters. Jae was a very responsive host, and all of us had a great time during our stay.
Kiawah is my favorite beach resort—so lush and beautiful with so much to do and see. Get yourself there if you’ve never been!
Kiawah Jun - 2018
We have vacationed in Kiawah for over 35 years and this is one of the best homes we have stayed in. It is very spacious and accommodating for the 8 adults and our 4 grandchildren. Didn’t have to worry about bumping into each other. Nice deck which we used many times which included a large gas grill which worked out very well
We had a great long weekend celebrating my sister’s upcoming wedding. The house was perfect for our size crowd (9) and offered several spaces we could all be together at the same time. The property is so quiet, secluded, and peaceful which we really enjoyed. I don’t think we saw another person the whole time! We spent most of our time at the beach. The beach access was an easy drive and in a quieter area of the island so it wasn’t over crowded with people. When we first arrived, the air upstairs was reading 88, but we contacted Jae and she had someone come out the next morning and fix it for us, so that was very helpful. She was very responsive to our needs!
The only issue I had was we didn’t think to bring dishwasher detergent and we were required to run the dishwasher and unload it before we left. Having a few of the dishwasher pods on hand would be very helpful instead of us having to buy a bottle of detergent or just hand wash dishes which is what we mostly ended up doing.
All in all, when we left, we couldn’t wait to find a reason to come back!
disrepair of home
As I have communicated to the owner, the home had spider webs, mold, broke lights indoors and outdoors, the front door did not close without turning the dead bolt, requiring some one to continually lock and unlock the door, and we all had difficulty with internet access. I composed a list of these concerns for the owner who appeared concerned but was unable to find someone to come during our stay to remove the extensive spider webs in places that we were unable to reach. The home can be lovely if these myriad of issues are addressed.
Hi Jonathan, I'm sorry that my house hasn't met your expectation, and I want to thank you for your feedback on the lights and the issue with the front door, those are very good suggestions, and I'm very grateful for the feedback.
However, I don't appreciate your inaccurate and misleading comments on the spider web and mold. In the middle of night (9:36 PM), you reported that you found spider web at the house and requested to have it removed ASAP, unfortunately my housekeeper wasn't able to respond to your request. I understand you were upset but it is irresponsible for you to exaggerate the issue and wrongfully stated that there was mold found at the house. My house has hosted several groups of guests in recent weeks and there was one family staying at the house right before your arrival, none has reported that there was mold. My housekeeper checked again after your departure and confirmed that there is absolutely no mold anywhere at the house.
Regardless, I want to thank you for visiting Kiawah, and hope you will come back and visit Kiawah again soon.
Our group of 12 had an excellent time at Jae’s home while visiting Kiahwah for a wedding. The house was clean and spacious, and Jae was a very responsive and accommodating host. Would definitely recommend!
We had a wonderful time at Jae's hidden little paradise! House is right on a lagoon, so sitting outside on the deck reading a book was my favorite spot. Eating meals at the picnic table on the deck was nice too. All the rooms are spacious and we all enjoyed the house immensely. You feel nice and isolated, would definitely stay at her little piece of heaven again 🤗�