HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sandcastle Resort, 1Bedroom apart. on the Beach, resort gym/restaurant/bar/wi-fi

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 753 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Bedroom apartments on the beach, sleep 4, resort gym/restaurant/bar/wi-fi

Sandcastle resort is a one Bedroom beach apartment (living room, bedroom, kitchen, bath room), beach 1 minutes walk, located in Ocho Rios Main Street Mahogany Beach. The spacious apartments sleeps 4, Cable TV. The living and dining area area have extra sleeping facilities for 2. Resort Restaurant /Bar/ Wi-fi,Gym, beach, gardens, free parking.

We also have rentals at Fishermans point resort and Mystic Ridge Resort, as part of the booking you will have access to those resorts (room numbers will be given to you on arrival by our rep.)

The main town centre is only 3 minutes walk from the resort.

The Casino and night club is 1/2 a block away . Since you are directly on the beach you can participate in all water sports(swimming, snorkelling, para sailing, wave runners, scuba, fishing and boating). Resort internet service, free secured parking. Walk outside the Resort and you will find plenty of shopping and dining at your finger tips. This is a beach front propertie situated on Turtle Street in Ocho Rios right in the heart of a bustling neighbourhood of local shops, a choice of restaurants, duty-free shops and the Craft Mart. With its beach access that can only be used by the guests of these resorts FREE.

The town has restaurants, nightclubs in Margaritaville and Dolphin Cove, where tourists swim and interact with dolphins. Another major point of interest is Fern Gully. Fern Gully is the result of a 1907 earthquake that destroyed one of the river beds in the area. Fern Gully stretches about 3 miles of great rocky gorge where travellers can see over 540 variety of ferns. In 1907, the British government paved over the destroyed river bed to create what is currently known as The Fern Gully Highway.

Best Tours, Shore Excursions and Things to do in Ocho Rios, Jamaica

Wondering what to do during your time in Ocho Rios Jamaica? You have plenty of options for you to choose from. Some of the most popular attraction, activity and fun things to do are Zip-lining and Bobsled at Mystic Mountain Rainforest, Deep Sea Fishing, Swimming with the Dolphins at Dolphin Cove and a variety of river activities such as Tubing, Bamboo Rafting, Kayaking, Boarding and cliff jumping at the Blue Hole. Take a refreshing horseback ride in the ocean, Visit the home and final resting place of the legendary “King of Reggae” Bob Marley. Take a drive through Fern Gully, one of Jamaica's natural wonder boasting over 300 species of ferns. A trip to Jamaica cannot be complete without a visit to Ocho Rios most popular and top attraction, the Dunn’s River Falls. These are just some of the top things to do in Ocho Rios on a cruise and resort stay.

More Details

Property Manager
J Noel
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
28 May, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment on the Ocho Rios on the Saint Ann Parish

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 753 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • resort
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
  • Extra queen bed available in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck Chairs
  • Deck Furniture
  • Gated Community
  • Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • 13 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • duty free shops
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Resort is situated in the heart of Ocho Rios, walking distance to the town’s activities, night life and restaurants. It features 174 spacious studios or 1 and 2 –bedroom suites in five terracotta-roofed buildings, each with its own little galleried courtyard and filled with tropical plants- all very castles-like in style. A few steps through the tropical gardens and across a small promenade are the golden sands of Turtle Beach. There you will find swimming galore and an extensive choice of water sports from scuba diving to deep sea fishing at a charge. The atmosphere is laid back and friendly and is suitable for singles, couples, families and group of friends. Nearby Activities Sailing Sunfish Sail boats Boat Rentals Deep Sea Fishing Kayaks Wind Surfing Water Skiing Jet Skis Snorkelling Scuba Diving Golf Tennis Horseback Riding Gym Spa Facilities Duty-Free Shopping Craft Market Tour Desk

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

Sandcastle Resort, 1Bedroom apart. on the Beach, resort gym/restaurant/bar/wi-fi
average rating of 3.857143 based on 7 reviews
3

Comfortable stay

  • 3 of 5

Check in at the property was quick as the keys were left at the front desk. The apartment itself was very clean and smelt fresh. The listing for the property said wifi, but it's not actually in the apartment but shared throughout the complex, it was very slow and most times I couldn't connect in the apt, meaning I had to use my UK data. Mr Green was very nice and brought some fresh towels and bedding and had my room cleaned and beds made. There were a few things which I felt needed looking at such as smaller pots and pans, as the ones that are there now are too big for the cooker and I couldn't fit two on at one time. It also needs a tin opener and some big spoons. The tv remote didn't work and there was literally only 1 cable channel, in fact a message came up on the tv saying it would be cut off as the bill was overdue. Not very impressive. My biggest gripe is the shower head, it was useless and didn't let out water, I had to use someone else's apartment a couple times so I could wash my hair properly. It's a shame as the apt has a brilliant supply of hot water to enjoy a shower!! I think it's best to be honest so that the negatives can be addressed

  • Review Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Something just missing.

  • 4 of 5

Sandcastle is an older complex and that is what I believe we paid for. However there were a few surprises both good and bad. Good: The grounds are absolutely beautiful. It was such a pleaseure to walk around and see the different plants, flowers and trees. Whoever takes care of these areas does a great job. The pool was great. For an older property it was well maintained with fresh paint and twice a day it was treated (Just needed more lounge chairs). The beach area was inviting and seemed to be cared for each day. Bad: we knew our room was going to be older but when we arrived we realized the light in the living room didn't work, the remote for the TV didn't fully work and there were small ants all over the kitchen. We contacted Mr Green and he came the next day, looked at the items and said he would get them fixed on Monday (We arrived on Friday and shared this with him on Saturday), they were never addressed. He did however finally bring some beach towels. His main focus was to get us to use him as our taxi service. He was higher than the people out from of the resort. The second issue was of the workers at the desk, they tried to charge me considerably more for a taxi that the people sitting outside the resort, not resort friendly. Bar area was also overpriced even for Jamaica. Remember there is a max the taxi's can charge but they can come lower, play them against each other. Finally remember the restaurants don't offer much variety so picky people may have trouble. Met some nice people and always felt safe, in and out of the resort gates.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Location and beach was perfect

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was of a high standard, clean and well looked after.

The beds was pleasing and the kitchen offered all the needs we require. The restaurant was a bit expensive but the meals was worth it.

The gym was very useful after a heavy meal.

Local attractions was everywhere and was at a decent price.

We had a great holiday and will be pleased to use the Condo again

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The property was beautiful

  • 2 of 5

There was no mosquito netting on the windows. So I had a great mosquito problem. The shower did not work correctly and also there was no communication. According to my reservations I was supposed to be staying at Sandcastle resort but when I got to the hotels front desk they had no reservation for me and then we figured it out. I had to spend my first night in fishermans point where the ac didn't work and then the next day I was transferred to sandcastle.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Disappointed by half-truths by guest. We had no communication issues. The guest was given a full information pack on how you get the keys. The Sandcastle complex has accommodation split between the Hotel apartments and private condos. We are a private condo and so you need to collect from our rep (as per our instructions). THE GUEST DID NOT READ OUR EMAIL OR INSTRUCTIONS. Hence, they went to the front desk of the hotel where obviously they did not know about her booking. With great help from the front desk and our rep Mr Green we finally managed to sort everything out. We always recommend guests read our emails and information pack before depart for their holidays. The guest did NOT stay their first night at Fisherman’s Point. We had a problem with the room for the first night that we needed to sort out. Therefore, the guest was given another room in the Sandcastle resort (with working A/C) and then moved to her booked room the next day. Re: the shower – The guest wanted a new head on the shower for the existing one was a little weak. We replaced it with a new one that day. The shower worked fine all holiday and we had no further complaints about the shower from the guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

we had a holiday to remember

  • 5 of 5

Lovely beach apartment. Rooms clean and well kept. All your needs at the apartment was there. The resort was of a good standard with respect to the pool, restaurant, bar and custom care. Beach 1 minute walk away ( beach miles long), lovely sand and lots of attractions.

We had a great time and will love to come back to this apartment

  • Review Submitted: Jan 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ocala, Florida
3

Great Location

  • 3 of 5

The apartment is in a super location within walking distance of the market, grocery stores and restaurants. The unit was very clean and had pretty much had everything we needed. There were problems with water temp. which was never hot and the shower head was not in good working order which made rinsing off difficult. The A/C in the bedroom worked great, however the ceiling fan in the living room did not bring the cooled air into that space. Also the speed of the ceiling fan left a lot to be desired. As far as entertainment the TV worked, however the channel selection was poor not offering any movies, or sports.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
montego bay
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
resort
Nearest Ferry
20 Metres
ocho rios
Nearest Motorway
50 Metres
main highway
Nearest Restaurant
15 Metres
resort
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
ocho rios

This is a beach front property situated ont turtle Street in Ocho Rios, right in the heart of a bustling neighbourhood of local shops, a choice of restaurants, duty-free shops and the Craft Mart.

With its private beach access that can only be used by the guests of these resorts or by those who purchase passes to use the beach.

Nearby attractions such as the Dunns River Falls, Dolphin Cove, The Red Stripe Cruise, scenic gardens and working plantations makes it one of the top ten places to stay in Ocho Rios.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment on the Ocho Rios, Jamaica

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
summer
23 Jul 2017 - 22 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£490
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
winter
18 Dec 2017 - 8 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£490
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter 2018
28 Mar 2018 - 9 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£490
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£140
for 2 nights
From
£70
£390
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

. Maximum availability, 139 nights per year
Methods of payments :
Deposit required = 25%
All rates are in £ sterling

Bookings / Payment methods :-
1. Bookings / Payments can be made through the Web site using all major credit/Debit cards
2. Bookings / Payment can also be made outside the web site, by Credit or Debit card ( all major credit cards accepted)
Telephone +44 (0)20 8614 0722 / +44 (0)7778146497
3. We also accept payments by PayPal or Bank transfer outside the Web site
4. Same day booking can only accepted outside the Web site using PayPal / Bank transfer / Credit and Debit card
If you are making an enquire or booking outside the web site, press the link "Enquire Now"

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals