HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fully Furnished End Unit Rowhouse with Private Parking and Patio

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,120 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom, 1 bathroom with 1 private parking spot and outdoor patio

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS/KEY THINGS TO KNOW:

- There is 1 private, off-street parking spot at the back of the house that is free to use for guests.

- This is not a neighborhood where things are in walking distance. A car is recommended to get to grocery store, Metro and/or downtown attractions. Alternative could be to use taxi/Uber/Lyft, etc.

- Nearest Metro is Fort Totten which is 1 mile (1.6 km) away.

- Property is located 5 miles (8 km) north of downtown tourist attractions which will take you about 25 minutes by car or about 45 minutes using the Metro.

- Property is 4 miles (6.4 km) from the Convention Center. You can take the Green or Yellow line from Fort Totten Metro. Transit time on the subway is about 35 minutes.

- This home may not be used to host parties or events of any kind.

- This home may not serve as a media site of any kind (i.e. film, tv, photography).

- No pets of any kind are allowed.

- Smoking of cigarettes, marijuana, or any other substance is strictly prohibited

- Use, manufacture, and/or distribution of drugs of any kind is strictly prohibited

- Make sure to read through all of the terms and conditions, including the Short Rental Agreement, prior to booking.

WELCOME!

Save money spent on high-priced DC hotels; and instead, live like a local in this classic, fully furnished 3-bedroom, 1-bathroom DC rowhouse. All you need to do is bring your suitcase! Built in 1930, this home has been updated while preserving some of the historic charm such as original hardwood floors throughout and subway tile in the bathroom. Comfortably sleeps up to 6 people. Free high speed, wireless internet is available throughout the entire house and there are TVs on the 1st first floor and master bedroom with local channels. A full size washer/dryer is located in the basement that is free for you to use. During the warm months, enjoy a seat on the patio and use the charcoal barbecue grill. All bed linens, towels, and kitchen cookware and utensils are provided. A car is recommended when staying at this rental. This property borders a fairly busy street, and you will hear street noise.

PUBLIC TRANSIT: Fort Totten Metro Station is 1 mile away where you can catch the Red, Green, and Yellow lines. There is parking, but it tends to fill up quickly. There is a bus stop near the rental that will take you to Fort Totten Metro. I advise my guests to use DC's main train hub, Union Station (Amtrak, Metro, MARC) which is 5 miles away. It has a large parking lot, shops, and restaurants. Other alternatives nearby are Takoma Metro Station which is 2 miles away, has a small parking lot, and is on the Red line; and Georgia Ave Petworth Station which is 2 miles away, has no parking, and is on the Green and Yellow Line.

NEARBY SIGHTSEEING/ATTRACTIONS- Smithsonian National Zoo is 3.5 miles (5.6 km) away. The closest entrance to Rock Creek Park which has trails, golf, tennis, canoeing and more is only 1.5 miles (2.4 km) away. Howard University is 3 miles (4.8 km) away. Catholic University is 2 miles (3.2 km) away. The Basilica of the National Shrine is 2.5 (4 km) miles away.

DOWNTOWN SIGHTSEEING: The Smithsonian museums and major DC landmarks are 5 miles (8 km) away.

PRO SPORTS TEAMS/VENUES: Basketball - Washington Wizards - Verizon Center, 5 miles (8 km) away. Baseball - Washington Nationals - Nationals Park, 7 miles (11.2 km) away, American Football - Washington Redskins - FedEx Field, 11 miles (17.7 km) away. Soccer/Football - DC United - RFK Stadium, 8 miles (12.9 km) away.

BIKE RENTAL: Capital Bikeshare has a bike rental station a short walk from the townhouse.

COOLING/HEATING: During the warm months, there are several in-window air conditioning units that keep the entire house cool. There is also a portable fan. When the weather is cold, the house is heated by radiators throughout the house and controlled on a central thermostat located on the first floor. Be forewarned, for your comfort you will likely need to set the thermostat higher than 70F, especially when upstairs at night.

GROCERY STORE: There are 2 Walmarts that are each 1 mile (1.6 km) away and a Safeway that is about 1.5 miles (2.4 km) away

CANCELLATION POLICY

Tenant(s) canceling reservations over 30 days prior to arrival will be issued a full refund. Tenant(s) canceling reservations less than 30 days but more than 14 days to arrival date will be issued a full refund less the $200 security deposit. Tenant(s) canceling reservation less than 14 days prior to arrival date will not receive any refund. This excludes any processing fees assessed by VRBO which are non-refundable.

More Details

Property Manager
Benitia
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 June, 2017

About Benitia

I'm a grandmother, lifetime resident of DC, and recent retiree from the Federal Government.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Brightwood in Northwest Washington

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1120 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , updated fixtures w/ original tile
  • Located on the 2nd floor with bedrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , sleeps 2, flat screen tv w/ cable, alarm clock w/ iPod dock
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , sleeps 2, dresser, closet
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , sleeps 2, work desk in room, closet space
  • All bedrooms are located on the 2nd floor
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(50 traveller reviews)

Fully Furnished End Unit Rowhouse with Private Parking and Patio
average rating of 4.62 based on 50 reviews
4

Very Good, cozy and clean.

  • 4 of 5

This property was just as the pictures described. Very cozy and clean. This is an older corner row house. A bit on the small side, but very functional. The full size and twin beds were comfortable. The queen size bed in the master bedroom was hard. I'm used to a firm mattress, but this one was super firm. My hips were not happy after sleeping on that bed for 3 nights. There is some street noise, but with the AC units running everything was blocked out except for the occasional siren at night. There is a washer/dryer in the basement (we didn't use) and also a sink and toilet - the toilet is in the same area as the furnace/hot water heater, so it's not a finished area by any description, but with a family of 4 and extra toilet is a plus!

Our trip was over a VERY hot weekend in June. We were thankful there were AC units in the downstairs living room and all 3 upstairs bedrooms. Kitchen and bathroom are small, but nice and well equipped. TV in downstairs living room and master bedroom.

This location is a short drive to the Fort Totten Metro station where parking is free on weekends and federal holidays or $4.70 per day on weekdays - the lot does fill up fast on weekdays due to commuters. There are 2 metro bus stops close to the property - each within a 1-1 1/2 block. We chose to use the 4th and Kennedy street stop to take the E4 bus to Fort Totten metro, super easy. On site parking behind the rental is tight for a minivan, but manageable. We also had pizza delivered to our location without a problem (Papa Johns).

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was lack of electrical outlets. There is one outlet in the bathroom, but it's attached to the light and I wasn't tall enough to reach it. Otherwise there is basically one or two outlets per room. There were 6 strip outlets located at each AC unit so we were able to charge our devices. The other thing is the full and twin rooms do not have a bedside lamp. Only light in those rooms are the ceiling fan in each room. The master bedroom has two bedside tables with lamps, two chairs and TV/armoire. Each bedroom has a closet area.

Benitia is great to communicate with, very prompt with responses and suggestions. Clear instructions on how to enter house (ie security codes) and day of departure instructions. Thank you Benitia for allowing us to stay in your home. It was a great first trip to DC for us.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for writing such a detailed review of your stay. I'm sure it will be helpful to future guests. Regarding the queen bed, I'm sorry you did not find it comfortable. My goal is make sure my guests are comfortable with their accommodations. I have also had guests provide feedback in their written review that the same bed was comfortable. However, if I continue to hear concerns about the firmness of the mattress, I will be happy to replace it. The bedside lamps are difficult to set up based on the layout of the space, but I appreciate your feedback on that as well. Each room does have lighting. I do have plans to address the electrical outlets in the bathroom. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5

This property was very clean and well kept. My family and I felt right at home. The owner Benita (hope I spelled that right), was very responsive and accommodating.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing a review. I'm glad you found my rental property to be clean and comfortable for you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy and well appointed!!

  • 4 of 5

Owner provides quick responses to inquiries. Property was clean and accommodations were comfortable and inviting. The off-street parking is a major draw, and public transportation to downtown attractions was just a few blocks away. Of course, only having one full bath for 4 or more guest is always a challenge but we managed just fine. In fact, there's adequate space to install a full bath or shower on the lower level to increase its appeal even further. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to book again, and again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you found my rental to be in a good location for your needs. 1 bathroom can be challenging. There is a very modest, but clean half bath in the basement for guests to use. At some point, I do hope to add a full second bathroom.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very good.

  • 5 of 5

Very cozy. Extremely clean. Well equipped.

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing a review. I'm glad you had a positive experience at my rental.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Falmouth, Maine
5

Clean, well-appointed, responsive hosts, good location!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 had a great week staying at this property. The home was very clean (this can't be stressed enough) and had all the amenities that we needed to make ourselves at home. We were impressed by the responsiveness of Benitia and her family team. We had a minor issue with the property during our stay and it was very quickly and competently solved by Jean. We appreciated having some basic necessity items available that we weren't expecting, e.g. coffee and filters, laundry detergent, bath soap, etc. We would stay here again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing such detailed feedback. I'm glad you found the place clean and comfortable. I will let my daughter-in-law know you were happy with her prompt response.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

good size for family of 6

  • 4 of 5

Benita was great - she is very accommodating. Good location, close to sites (20 mins). Good size, enough room for our family of 6.

Thanks

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Regan National (DCA)
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Fort Totten Metro
Car: recommended

DC has a rich history and many attractions. Want to tour the White House? Plan way in advance and write your local Congress-person. The National Monument, Smithsonian Museums, Vietnam War Memorial, Washington Zoo, Jefferson Memorial are just a few sights. In late March-early April, the Cherry Blossoms are in full bloom. Not to mention all of the wonderful neighborhoods such as Capitol Hill, Adam's Morgan, Georgetown, Dupont Circle, and Chinatown.

Neighboring states VA and MD have a lot to offer as well. In VA, Arlington National Cemetery and Mount Vernon Estate aren't far from downtown DC. Civil War buffs may want to drive out to Manassas to the Battlefield Park.

MD also has many sights. Spend a day in Baltimore. Go to the Baltimore Harbor and eat world famous blue crabs. Tour Fort McHenry and the Edgar Allen Poe House. Head to Annapolis, located on the Chesapeake Bay and home to the US Naval Academy.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday townhome in Brightwood, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
July 4 2016
2 Jul 2017 - 5 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£433
for 2 nights
From
£193
 
 
Labor Day 2016
1 Sep 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£433
for 2 nights
From
£193
 
 
Thanksgiving
22 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£433
for 2 nights
From
£193
 
 
Xmas New Year's
24 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£433
for 2 nights
From
£193
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£379
for 2 nights
From
£166
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £46.38
Refundable Damage Deposit £231.91

Rates are subject to change until a reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals