Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Oceanfront Penthouse - AC, Crashing Waves, Spectacular Sunsets, Surfers, Turtles

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,023 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom/2 bath oceanfront penthouse condo with large lanai & air conditioning

GOOD AIR QUALITY AND 90 MILES FROM THE LAVA FLOWS. The current eruption is on the other side of the island and over a mountain ridge. The local air quality remains normal. This is a wonderful time to visit the Big Island to see spectacular surface flows and lava fountains. This spectacular air-conditioned oceanfront penthouse condo features spacious open beam ceilings and is only 25 feet from the surf crashing on the lava rocks directly below the lanai. Watch surfers launch into the spectacular blue waves of Banyans Beach, one of Kona’s most popular surfing spots. This beautifully remodeled and furnished condo features an oceanfront living room and master bedroom with unparalleled 180 degree ocean views and access to spectacular Kona sea life and sunsets. Your cares dissolve away as warm sun and soothing surf caress your mind and body on the lanai. Enjoy the brilliant blue skies, colorful Hawaiian reef fish, green sea turtles, Humpback whales, spinner dolphins and surfers right from your lanai. In the quiet evening, relax on your lanai and experience the amazing reds and oranges of a spectacular Kona sunset as the huge orb descends into the sea through the softly waving palm fronds. Luxuriate in the master bathroom, walk-in shower and contemporary tile work. The beautiful bamboo hardwood and tile floors throughout, well stocked kitchen with granite countertops and contemporary cabinets and upscale Hawaiian-themed furnishings will make you wish you never had to leave. During the day, slide the 12’-wide doors between the master bedroom and living room aside to enjoy an unrestricted panoramic ocean view from throughout the living area. At night, leave the lanai doors open in the oceanfront master bedroom and living room and be lulled to sleep by the ceaseless caress of the waves on the worn lava rocks below. Gentle ocean breezes keep you cool day and night whether snoozing on the lanai, entertaining friends in your oceanfront paradise or sleeping soundly in your king-size bed (click on 'More Details' to see all the unit amenities).

Amenities include free in-unit password protected WiFi and internet access, full-size washer and dryer, coffee grinder, ice chests, frozen ice packs, beach chairs, beach towels, beach mats, boogie boards, snorkel gear, children’s beach toys, puzzles, games, BluRay DVD player, one flat screen TV, iron and ironing board and hair dryer.

Sleeping arrangements include a king-size bed in the oceanfront master bedroom and twin beds in the second bedroom. The living room couch is a hide-a-bed. The unit sleeps four persons privately (two in the master bedroom and two in the second bedroom) or six if you use the living room hide-a-bed.

Resort amenities include free parking, elevator, a large swimming pool with deck chairs and tables, hot tub/spa, comfortable lobby with wireless Internet, concierge desk for Big Island activities, oceanfront gas barbecues, oceanfront lounge chairs on the beach, numerous shallow lava tide pools with green sea turtles, Da Poke Shack (a very popular restaurant for poke), Miller’s Surf Shop (surfing, diving and snorkel gear), on-site security and convenience store (with alcohol sales) across the street. The resort does not allow smoking in any public areas and our unit is also non-smoking.

Hawaii General Excise Tax of 4.166% and Transient Occupancy Tax of 9.25% are charged on all rental nights. In addition, Hawaii General Excise Tax of 4.166% is charged on the cleaning fee. The owners' Hawaii Tax ID number is W21826366-02.

More Details

Owner
Mike Gaudette
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, American Sign Language
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 June, 2018

About Mike Gaudette

We are native Oregonians and began vacationing in Hawaii about 20 years ago. We loved the islands so much we came back more and more often. We initially bought a one-bedroom condo in 2006 at Kona Bali Kai, across the street from the beach with no ocean view. We live on the Oregon coast, but rarely go to the beach; so, when we decided to buy a larger condo we wanted to be right on the beach - and you can't get any closer than our condo at Kona Bali Kai. We love sharing Hawaii with our kids, grandkids and many friends.

Mike Gaudette purchased this condo in 2017

Why Mike Gaudette chose Kailua-Kona

We live on the often rainy Oregon coast and didn't want to come to Hawaii and be in the rain. The dry Kona coast is perfect for our vacations. And the nearly constant trade winds keep our condo cool day and night. Kona Bali Kai is perfectly situated along Ali'i Drive. It's close enough to old town Kailua-Kona for a refreshing walk into town, but not close enough to have a lot of unwanted traffic or commercial activity. And, of course, you can't get any closer to the beach than at the Kona Bali Kai and where else can you watch surfers and sea life all day long from your lanai?

What makes this condo unique

We love our 4th floor unit with open-beam ceilings that create a feeling of spaciousness We love that there is a panoramic view of the ocean and surfers from anywhere in the unit. We love the way the sun sets every night right between the palm trees off our lanai and how we can sit on the lanai and watch surfers, whales (in season) and turtles. The remodeled baths and walk-in showers are beautiful. We love to play games and spend time at the beach in Hawaii, so the unit is fully equipped with games and beach accessories, including children's play toys.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in the Kailua-Kona in the North Kona

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1023 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No smoking is allowed in our condo or on our lanai or any common area of the condo complex except at designated locations.
  • No pets are allowed in our condo, in the condo complex, or any common area of the condo complex.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Walk-in shower, toilet and sink attached to master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , toilet, sink & walk-in shower adjacent to guest bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master bedroom with king-size bed and en-suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Guest bedroom has two twin beds & adjacent separate bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen hide-a-bed in the living room (not a futon)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Amenities include free in-unit password protected WiFi and internet access, full-size washer and dryer, coffee grinder, ice chests, frozen ice packs, beach chairs, beach towels, beach mats, boogie boards, snorkel gear, children’s beach toys, puzzles, games, BluRay DVD player, flat screen TVs in living room and guest bedroom, iron and ironing board and hair dryer.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront Penthouse - AC, Crashing Waves, Spectacular Sunsets, Surfers, Turtles
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
5

Lovely Condo! Gorgeous views! Would return for sure!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in Kona Bali Kai #409 was short (2 nights) but a perfect way to end our 11-day vacation! Upon arrival, we met a maintenance worker who was very helpful getting us settled. We were pleasantly surprised with the gorgeous views from the lanai and the absolute privacy. The condo was clean, neat, and well-stocked. Parking was easy, and the condo is a short drive to many restaurants, the pier and beaches. Communication with Mike before our arrival made us less apprehensive about what to expect. He truly seemed willing to make sure our stay was as good as it could be! With two adults and three grown children, there was enough room as long as someone was willing to sleep on the couch (not bad at all if you want to be close to an open lanai and hear the waves throughout the night!) We didn't use the pool so we can't comment on that. No complaints at all. Would return for sure!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. The views and privacy from the lanai, the convenient location to old town and tourist attractions, amenities we include in the unit and free parking make our condo a wonderful experience for visitors to the Big Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Our Favorite Place

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in this unit at Kona Bali Kai four times now and always love it. It's right on the water and the sounds of the waves outside are wonderful to go to sleep to. The tidepools are amazing and often have turtles visiting them. The unit is tastefully furnished and very comfortable and convenient. We always eat our meals on the lanai watching the nearby surfers and the sunsets. It makes us feel like we belong there and we hate to leave to come home. It is in a good location between the town of Kailua-Kona and great snorkeling at Kahalu'u Beach. It's easy to drive to other parts of the Big Island from this location.

  • Review Submitted: 25-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Kona Bali Kai is a quiet condo building in the perfect location on the Kona Coast. It is a short distance from restaurants and shops which makes the setting very laid back and relaxing.

The condo is spacious, clean, nicely decorated and well stocked.

Our stay was brief (2 nights) yet we found it accommodating for a serene respite to soothe our souls. Being oceanfront, surfers entertained our mornings as we sat on the lanai sipping Kona coffee. One morning sea turtles came to visit. In the evenings we would find ourselves back on the lanai listening to the calming ocean waves breaking below as we watched the sun descend into the ocean.

Mike was great to work with and we hope to go make it back again. Our one regret is that we did not make it to Da Poke Shack on this trip. Next time!

  • Review Submitted: 16-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. Watching the surfers, turtles and sunsets from the lanai is always wonderful. Guests love the location of our condo because it's convenient to downtown Kailua-Kona and many tourist attractions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

PARADISE FROM YOUR LANAI

  • 5 of 5

We have been enjoying our home away from home for a month at a time in this wonderful condo over the last seven consecutive years. That in itself speaks volumes. It is so comfortable with a wonderful location. On the large lanai you can enjoy your meals in paradise or relax in a lounger and listen to the sound of the waves; watch the turtles in the water; enjoy the spinner dolphins swimming by and the occasional whale breaching just to let you know they are out there in that huge mass of water. The brand new pool; loungers; tables and chairs at the Kona Bali Kai complex was a real treat to see this year (2018). The condo comes equipped with everything you need... it's just missing YOU!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. What more could I say that you didn't already describe? The view is spectacular, the lanai is comfortable, the amenities are numerous and returning year after year is the best affirmation of your experience on the Big Island and our condo. Mahalo.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Naples, Maine
5

Amazing condo!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently spent our honeymoon on the big island of Hawaii. Our stay at Kona Bali Kai, Unit 409, was everything we had dreamed about and hoped for. Second marriages for us both, we had long awaited this ideal trip! Our every need was met by the contents of this unit. From the king size bed that looked out to the ocean, the lounge chairs on the lanai, the book The Big Island Revealed (our tour guide!), brand new snorkeling sets, bright new beach chairs, clean condo, stocked pantry, every type of cook ware necessary, coolers and even a growler to hold local beer!! The most amazing sunsets on a very private lanai! The waves soothed us every night. (We miss them so much, we will be purchasing a sound machine for home!) Mike called to check in with us on our arrival and assured us that whatever we needed, we just had to let him know. The only negative thing I could say is that the automatic ice maker didn't work but 3 plastic ice cube trays were provided so this did not impact our wonderful stay! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone visiting the island. It was a perfect location, close to hub of Kailua-Kona, central to all the magnificent beaches, central to seeing the northern part of the island and the Volcano National park in the southern tip. We honestly could not have asked for a better location. Mahalo Mike!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review. Your experience in our condo is exactly the kind of memories we want every guest to take home and savor for the rest of their lives.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great location by the beautiful ocean

  • 4 of 5

This was a great location for our vacation. We were typically out all day, so we were in the condo for breakfast and sleeping. Beds were comfortable, some road noise in the front bedroom. You can do some snorkeling off the beach at the condo but quite a bit of surf. It was great to see turtles come ashore and rest on the beach into the night. Overall the condo environment was quiet, and it was so peaceful to have the sound of the surf while sleeping. We would stay here again if we returned to Kona for vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. Watching the fish and turtles right from the lanai is wonderful. Falling asleep to the waves below the condo is always peaceful. The snorkeling just below the condo is good and Kahalu'u Beach Park (3 minutes down Ali'i Drive) is also a popular spot.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
11.3 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Huggo's
Nearest Golf
3.6 Miles
Kona Country Club (36 holes)
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Queen Ka'ahumanu Highway
Nearest Restaurant
Da Poke Shack (on site)
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Mauna Kea summit
Nearest Beach
Banyans (on site)
Car: recommended

Located on popular Ali'i Drive, frequented by active walkers, joggers, bikers, and roller-bladers. Two miles to one of the best white sand beaches on the Big Island (White Sands Beach Park) and 2.2 miles to excellent snorkeling in crystal clear water (Kahalu'u Beach Park). Watch surfers and paddle boarders all day long from your oceanfront lanai and whales spouting and breaching in season.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in the Kailua-Kona, Big Island Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Value Season
22 Jun 2018 - 17 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£473
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£133
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Value Season
27 Jul 2018 - 3 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£473
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£133
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Ironman Competition 2018
8 Oct 2018 - 15 Oct 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,834
for 5 nights
From
£344
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Season 2018/19
20 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£1,476
for 5 nights
From
£267
From
£280
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season 2019
7 Jan 2019 - 25 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£1,714
for 7 nights
From
£229
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season 2019
26 Jan 2019 - 10 Mar 2019
7 night minimum stay
£2,136
for 7 nights
From
£289
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season 2019
11 Mar 2019 - 20 Apr 2019
3 night minimum stay
£799
for 3 nights
From
£229
From
£241
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Low Season 2019
21 Apr 2019 - 7 Oct 2019
3 night minimum stay
£644
for 3 nights
From
£177
From
£190
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Ironman Competition 2019
8 Oct 2019 - 13 Oct 2019
5 night minimum stay
£1,834
for 5 nights
From
£344
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£618
for 3 nights
From
£168
From
£181
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Tax on cleaning fee £4.55
Cleaning fee £109.29

Rates are subject to change until a reservation is confirmed.

Cancellation Policy: All payments are first applied to room fees, then to General Excise Tax, then to Transient Accommodations tax, then to cleaning fees. If Guest wishes to cancel his/her reservation, fees paid will be refunded as follows:

60 Days or More Before Check-in Date: 100% refund of pre-paid reservation deposit, room fees, General Excise Tax, Transient Accommodations Tax and cleaning fee.

Less than 60 But At Least 30 Days Before Check-in Date: 100% refund of pre-paid cleaning fees and 100% refund of prepaid Transient Accommodations Tax and 50% refund of pre-paid room fees and 50% refund of prepaid General Excise Tax. However, if Owner is able to rent unit for all or part of the cancelled days, Guest will be refunded an amount equal to the lesser of the forfeited room rental fees and taxes as described above or the rental revenue collected for those days, less an administrative fee of $100.

Less Than 30 Days Prior to Check-in Date: 100% refund of pre-paid cleaning fee, 100% refund of prepaid General Excise Tax on the cleaning fee and 100% refund of prepaid Transient Accommodations Tax if cancelled less than 30 days prior to the Check-in Date. No refund of room rental fees or General Excise Tax on room rental fees. However, if Owner is able to rent unit for all or part of the cancelled days, Guest will be refunded an amount equal to the lesser of the forfeited room rental fees and taxes as described above or the rental revenue collected for those days, less an administrative fee of $100.

Cancellation fees may, at the discretion of Owner, be waived if the Guest re-books a stay of equal or greater cost at the time of the cancellation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals