We have one vacation a year and work SO hard throughout the year, we look forward to this week's peace and quiet so much. Well, so much for that this year.
First of all, the house immediately next to us, feet away, had full on construction the entire week from 9 am to 5 pm,. Drilling and banging the whole day, and it was soooo loud. It was impossible to ignore, impossible to take a nap, or sleep in a bit later. We were so upset and disappointed. I think we shouldve been warned or given an option of a different house, or similar.
Secondly, everything creeks in the house. The beds and doors are so loud. If your partner gets up off the bed while you're sleeping, you're going to wake up for sure. The Masters bathroom door is so loud that can be heard throughout the house when opened.
And last point on "rest and relaxation" was that there are no black out curtains. Just simple white blinds. So with the sunrise, the whole room is like having reflector lights shining in your face. Again, forget about sleeping longer on your vacation...
On cleanliness: it was pretty clean, except that the cover blankets (in the double bed room) had period blood on it. SO disgusting that those aren't washed between each guest. After a 14 hour drive, I had to wash all blankets, not fun.
Ants: there is an enormous ant infestation. God help you if you leave a crumb on the table, you'll be cleaning ants for days. We also saw 2-3 big roaches.
Stairs: LOTS of stairs. If you're travelling with kids or elderly this may pose a problem. Ton of stairs to get to the second floor and ton of stairs to get to the beach.
Finally, here are some good things:
The place has a pool (light changes colors so very cool at night), on the smaller side, but definitely did its job. It also has a swing that is so awesome to sit and read on. The views are just amazing.
All in all in was ok, we didn't get the only thing we wanted which is peace, and that's very upsetting... I wouldn't return to this property, and I've learned a valuable lesson on checking next door home renovation. :(
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of this property. We are sorry you had to endure the construction noise. We are thankful that Oak Island has an ordinance that work cannot commence before 7 am and must cease by 9 pm. We are grateful that the workers next to you were not so aggressive with their work hours. We are happy you enjoyed the pool and we were able to take care of the issues you encountered. Please come back to SEA us again soon!
I booked this house in January for a very special family event. Based on all the pictures and info, it looked like the perfect spot for 12 adults to have a reunion.
Even though we arrived after the 3:00pm check-in time, we were told that the house wasn’t ready. After some time standing around in the carport in the heat, we were notified that it was, in fact, ready and we were able to enter. This would not have mattered much in itself, but the miscommunication was a harbinger of worse to come.
In the master bath, the bathtub had 2 drains that were covered in a black mold
The master bedroom closet appeared to be a storage space for a vacuum cleaner, ladder, and old pieces of furniture, so we were unable to hang our clothes.
There were not enough towels for 12 adults. I immediately texted a request for more towels; 3 days later we finally received them.
Moving upstairs, two of the bedrooms had NO CLOSET at all.
In the kitchen, the oven door was obstructed by an adjacent cabinet handle and couldn’t be fully opened. As a result, I burned my arm as I tried to retrieve a hot dish (see photo of burn). Also, no potholders were provided, so we made do with some flimsy kitchen towels.
On the deck overlooking the ocean, where we had hoped to have outdoor meals, there were 3 flimsy plastic chairs and no table at all. My request for a portable folding table was denied.
Now, the covered gazebo: as it is shaded and overlooking the ocean, this is a lovely spot. However, two of the railing posts were not secure and one of the posts actually fell off, exposing a useless nail that was not in contact with the rail. In other words, there were 2 posts simply propped into place (see photos), creating a potentially lethal hazard for a toddler who could have pushed against the posts and fallen through. Also, there was a large broken chaise on the gazebo taking up a lot of space -- I did not think I should be expected to clear out broken furniture on my vacation.
Before leaving Oak Island, we reported our concerns to Kathleen Kelly at the
Better Beach Rentals office. Subsequently we received an offer of $150
compensation for our “inconvenience” contingent on our not disclosing to anyone, orally or in writing, the deficiencies of the property. This was not something that we could in good conscience agree to, since two of those deficiencies presented the possibility of real physical injury to guests.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of this property. I am sorry you could not accept the compensation that we offered you. We have passed along your comments to the owner of the property. We hope you will come back and SEA us again soon.
Perfect Location But Needs A Good Cleaning
We recently stayed at this house in the beginning of August. The location is perfect, right on the beach! However the inside needs to be cleaned better. The jetted tube in the master bathroom had mold all over it. There were ants all over the couch in the living room and discovered food/crumbs (not ours) in the cushions as well as a used toothbrush (also not ours) There were food crumbs under the area rug in the living room as well which was also attracting ants. We don’t expect perfection, however for the price that we paid would expect a cleaner house. Will not stay here again
Great potential but not quite there...
The pool area is the first thing you see upon arriving at pier pressure and it does not disappoint. There is a picnic area as well with a picnic table that is very nice and looks recently built. However It was disappointing because several days we were being told by employees of the rental agency that we would be receiving a grill "tomorrow". That started on Sunday and by the time we checked out on the following Saturday we still had no grill. The inside of the home could use some cosmetic repairs such as a new coat of paint. The king bed is very high and actually collapsed while two members of our group were asleep in it. They sent someone out on Sunday to assure that it didn't happen again. There is mold starting on some of the ceilings on the second story. We were told it was from an HVAC leak. Hopefully that will be repaired. There were also some loose shingles flapping on the roof and a window that was loose in one of the upper bedrooms. Location is amazing! The pool area and location itself are the reason we went ahead and rented it again for the next summer. Otherwise it's a bit overpriced considering what work is needed. I am anxious to see what improvements are made!