HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Cary Stephan

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English

Your Group's Wildflower Hiking Headquarters!! Indoor Hot Tub, 360° Views

24 Reviews
People18
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Southwestern Colorado - The Alpenglow Chalet

4 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 8-24) with Mountain Views on Hiking/Bicycling Route

* Summer is here! Book now for warm weather fun and wildflowers! *

Our spacious Crested Butte home comfortably sleeps up to 18 in beds and 24 with sleeper sofas and can accommodate up to 5 families. The free shuttle bus stops across the street every 30 minutes and we are 1 stop away from the ski resort and hiking & biking routes in the summer. We have magnificent views from every room in the house, an indoor hot tub, an oversized kitchen, two large family rooms with fireplaces and well stocked with dvds/books/family games, and convenient access to everything. It's perfect for your family vacation, reunion, ski club outing, corporate gathering, church group, spiritual or marriage retreat.

Please click the link to our website under Owner Info for more photos & information. No Pets & No Smoking.

BEDROOM DESCRIPTIONS:

Whether it's after a great day of skiing or hiking, the Alpenglow Chalet's bedrooms have been comfortably outfitted to give you a relaxing night's sleep.

The luxurious master suite sleeps 6, has 2 king beds with memory foam mattresses, a futon sofa, TV, 2 large walk-in closets, a private deck with a gas fire pit and 4 chairs with magnificent views of Mt Crested Butte and the Maroon Bell.

The 'Mountain Bedroom' sleeps 4 with its warm rustic décor has a king size log bed with pillow top mattress, a set of log bunk beds with memory foam mattresses, a table with chairs, 4 closets, and a private deck with views of the West Elk Mountains.

The 'Wildflower Bedroom' sleeps 6 and has a king bed, a set of bunks with a full size futon plus twin trundle, a dinette set, 3 closets and a private deck with views of Mt Crested Butte.

The 'Maroon Bells bedroom' sleeps 2 and has a comfortable queen bed with memory foam mattress, flatscreen TV with AppleTV, and expansive views of the Maroon Bells Mountain range.

OTHER SLEEPING: Ground floor can sleep up to 6 in the family room (sleeper sofa, futon/trundle/bunk). Main level living room can sleep up to 2 with sleeper sofa.

GROUND FLOOR

The ground floor features the family room, indoor hot tub, full bathroom with steam shower, heated 2 car garage, and one of the laundry rooms. The family room has a gas fireplace, large sectional sofa with sleeper, window reading nook, and a full-size futon bunk bed with trundle, a piano, 50” TV, Apple TV, Blu-Ray DVD player, a family-friendly DVD library, Wii game system, iPod player, dart board, board games, and toddler toys. This room can sleep up to 6.

MAIN FLOOR

On the main level you will find the living room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom & bathroom. The oversize windows and 12 foot ceilings of the living room bring the magnificent views outside right to you while you relax in comfort. This room is stocked with board games, a small library, iPod player, bumper pool/poker game table, TV, and features a large copper-hooded wood burning fireplace. The deck off the living room has built-in seating, a gas grill, and a gas fire pit. The dining room comfortably seats 16.

The funky retro oversized kitchen is fun to prepare meals in! It has a gas oven and cooktop, an electric wall oven, an electric cooktop with built-in griddle, 2 microwaves, 2 refrigerators (a 3rd fridge is in the garage), a wet bar, 3 crockpots, 2 additional griddles, roasting pans, and enough cookware to prepare an elaborate meal for everyone.

TOP FLOOR

The top floor has three bedrooms, three bathrooms, and the second laundry facility.

AMENITIES

5,500 sq ft Crested Butte rental home on .75 acres

Panoramic views of the Maroon Bells, Mt Crested Butte, and West Elk mountains

4 bedrooms (3 with private decks)

5 bathrooms (1 with steam shower)

Family room with bunks & walk-out patio

Indoor custom hot tub that seats 8

Oversize kitchen with 2 prep areas & wet bar

Dining room seats 16, seating for 8 more in adjacent rooms

Living room with deck

One stop from ski area on the free shuttle bus

Shuttle bus stop across the street

10 minute walk to ski base area

Hike & bike from the front door

2 outdoor gas fire pits with seating

Oversized yard

Gas grill

WiFi

Flat panel TVs

Cable TV, Blu-ray/DVD, Wii

Apple TV on 50 inch TV to wirelessly share photos and videos from iPhones & iPads

Desk area with printer

Piano

Large driveway to accommodate multiple cars

Heated 2 car garage with ski racks

2 laundry rooms (3 washers & 3 dryers)

Stocked with DVDs, board games, and books for guests of all ages

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Cary Stephan (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Cary Stephan

We are long-time residents of Colorado Springs who always wanted a home in the mountains. Cary used to ski Crested Butte when he was in high school. We honeymooned in Crested Butte after we got married and fell in love with the quaint town, the friendly laid-back atmosphere, and the incredible outdoor activities.

Cary Stephan purchased this house in 2012

Why Cary Stephan chose Southwestern Colorado

We wanted something to share with our family and friends. This is our future retirement home where we want our children to bring their future families/our future grandchildren and have everyone be able to stay in one place with everything fun to do right outside the door! This Crested Butte vacation rental home has a unique history with the original owner building it to showcase the ski area to visitors from Europe and hosted numerous foreign exchange students and ski teams.

What makes this house unique

The views are amazing: from every window you see mountains and wilderness. Even though the house is quite large, every room feels cozy. Having family rooms on 2 floors allows us to have the kids play on one level and allows the adults to socialize on the other level.

With the bus stop across the street and the road for mountain biking outside the door, we can leave our cars at the house and easily get everywhere we want to go. When we bought the chalet our children were 13, 14 and 16 and we loved that they had the freedom to take the bus to go skiing, or go to the summer activity center to bike, zip line, etc. and we felt safe. Every child can bring their friends and each group has their own room to stay in while adults still have our own room and there's plenty of space for everyone.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed for 3 weeks with over a dozen family and friends visiting during that time:

1. Very quiet--wonderful for lots of people.

2. The women really love the kitchen layout; also, you have good pots and pans--everything we needed!

3. Great closets.

4. We loved the house!
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.9
based on 24 holidaymaker reviews

Your Group's Wildflower Hiking Headquarters!! Indoor Hot Tub, 360° Views
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 26 reviews
5

Wonderful house, lots of room, very clean, welcome feeling, and loads of amenities

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house. We used it as "base camp" for our daughter's wedding. The huge kitchen and eating areas were perfect for creating a relaxing rehearsal dinner and morning brunch. Lots of living space, closet space, bedroom space, and bathrooms. We used the indoor hot tub and fire pit on the front deck. They were great! Everyone was very pleased to gather before and hang out after the wedding at this house. Our 18 month old grandson loved running around on the front lawn and playing with several of the toys at the house. We even found a cookbook that was written by the bride's grandmother!! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this past spring break. The house had everything we needed and was close to the mountain and mountain square. We would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Big group weekend trip

  • 4 of 5

This place would of been 5/5 if stuff was working on arrival...1 fridge/freezer wasn't working and one was turned off. Hot tub felt like a Luke warm bath, steam room next to kitchen did not work.

Otherwise the place was fantastic! They had a poker table with chips and cards that everyone played, near the slopes and a big house that 15 guys shared with no issues of over crowding.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re sorry the house didn’t earn your fifth star but we’re glad you liked everything else. The refrigerators being turned off was a surprise to us too, glad we were about to fix that the night you arrived and there was a third fridge for you to put your stuff in while those two got cold. The master bath steam room is unrepairable which is why we do not list or advertise it as a feature anywhere, we hope you used the advertised steam shower in the ground floor bathroom instead. While we’re glad you did use the hot tub despite the cooler temperature, had we been informed it wasn’t hot enough we would have sent someone out to fix it while you were there. Thanks for the feedback and thank you for renting our vacation home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boulder CO
5

Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5

Amazing house in an amazing location! Beautiful space perfect for a large group. Tons of private and public space, great kitchen...great everything!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We hope you'll stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home!

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful home for my ski trip with 7 adults and 6 kids ( from 7 to 18). Bedrooms and baths for each family, great kitchen supplied with everything you could want. A "stones throw" from the shuttle to downtown or the slopes. Gorgeous views from every window. Cary, and his wife, were the best - easy to contact and pleasant to talk to about anything. They bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a group setting

  • 5 of 5

I rented this wonderful property for the bridal party of a wedding. There were 20 people in the party and everyone staying at the house was comfortable and impressed with all of the amenities. There was never a shortage of beds or bathrooms, fridge or oven space. Since most of the rooms have multiple beds, in them, it feels a bit like summer camp. That was perfect for our group.

We also used the house to host the rehearsal dinner, post wedding brunch, and several barbecues, with about 100 people mingling over breakfast. Again, no issues with space.

Cary was a fantastic host, promptly answering questions and making it a really enjoyable experience for us. Thanks for everything, highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Gunnison
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
The Sweet Spot
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Crested Butte
Nearest Ski
0.2 Miles
Mt Crested Butte
Car: not necessary

Crested Butte is the last great Colorado ski town--it's an actual historic mining town founded in the 1860s, not a manufactured resort. The town is quaint, the locals are friendly, and the activities too numerous to list them all. Designated as the Wildflower Capital of Colorado, it has a laid-back attitude and you feel welcome to stay & linger, not rushed out for the next visitor. One of the things we love is how safe we feel with our kids there: they can take the bus right outside the house to going skiing, mountain biking, or to town to get ice cream and we know they'll be okay.

Hiking and mountain biking in the area simply can't be beat and the road to the trailheads goes right by the house. You can even take a bus to the trailhead from the stop across the street. We highly recommend the wildflower hikes and the West Maroon Pass trails where you can hike up to look over the mountains at Aspen. We have hiking trail guidebooks at the house for you to use.

Likewise, the ski area is only 1/5 mile down the road and the bus stop across the street will take you there. We're only one stop away from the ski area so it's like the convenience of ski-in/out without the cost! The skiing at Crested Butte is really phenomenal, it has runs for people of all ability levels and amazing extreme terrain if you're up for it. It still feels like the small, cozy ski resort we remember from our youth but it has expanded greatly. And the slopes get the afternoon sun which is really nice--you don't get the shadows and ice that most resorts do.

Crested Butte is also a place where artisans come to practice their craft, whether it's in traditional art or in food and drink. And for dining there are so many great restaurants! We recommend The Secret Stash (pizza), Pitas in Paradise, Ginger Cafe (asian), Le Bosquet (french), Sherpa Cafe (indian/nepalese), Ryce (asian), and Lobar's (sushi). There are several places that serve excellent artisan drinks and cocktails--our favorites are the Dogwood Cocktail Cabin (you have to try the Beetnik and Poco Loco drinks and the tostada appetizers are out-of-this-world) and Montanya Distillers which makes their own rum and has a wonderful concoction in the Maharaja plus non-alcoholic drinks for the kids.

If you want a memorable vacation in the heart of the Rocky Mountains then Crested Butte is the place to visit and we'd love to have you stay at the Alpenglow Chalet!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Mount Crested Butte, Southwestern Colorado

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
29 Jun 2016 - 4 Sep 2016
5 night minimum stay
£3,949
for 5 nights
From
£648
 
 
Fall
5 Sep 2016 - 21 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
£1,875
for 3 nights
From
£389
£2,868
 
 
Thanksgiving
23 Nov 2016 - 1 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
£3,517
for 5 nights
From
£562
 
 
Winter - Early Season
2 Dec 2016 - 20 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£2,393
for 3 nights
From
£562
£4,079
 
 
Winter - Holiday
21 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£4,598
for 5 nights
From
£778
 
 
Winter - Regular
3 Jan 2017 - 8 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,523
for 3 nights
From
£605
£4,338
 
 
Winter - Spring Break
9 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
5 night minimum stay
£4,166
for 5 nights
From
£692
 
 
Winter - Last Ski Week
1 Apr 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,393
for 3 nights
From
£562
£4,079
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£2,393
for 3 nights
From
£562
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Deposit £381
Property Damage Protection £60
Cleaning fee £267
Tax Rate 13.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Southwestern Colorado in Colorado

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 5500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 24 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Mountain bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Double vanity
    Wildflower bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Double vanity
    Maroon Bells bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet , Double vanity
    Ground floor bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Steam shower
    Master (main floor) bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Double vanity, shower area for 2 people.
  • We have plenty of comfy towels for you and the indoor hot tub has its own set of towels too.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Wildflower bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , 1 Bunk Bed , 3 closets & private deck with view of Mt Crested Butte
    Mountain bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , 4 closets & private deck with views of West Elk Mtns.
    Master Suite - 2 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , 2 walk-in closets & private deck with view of Maroon Bells
    Family Room - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , 1 Bunk Bed , Gas fireplace. This is an overflow sleeping area.
    Maroon Bells bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Views of the Maroon Bells mountains, TV with AppleTV
  • We have overflow sleeping to accommodate an extra 6 people on sleeper sofas for a total capacity of 24. We love a good night's sleep and we know you do too so we've put soft, comfortable jersey sheets on each bed and made sure there's plenty of blankets for those special winter nights when you want to snuggle in and watch the snow fall!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Book with us and our concierge can arrange discounted ski rentals, grocery delivery, private chef, in-home massage, transportation from the Gunnison airport and more.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot