HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Your Group's Winter Headquarters!! Indoor Hot Tub, 360° Views, 1000' to Ski Area

27 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Crested Butte - The Alpenglow Chalet

4 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 8-24) with Mountain Views on Hiking/Bicycling Path

* Winter is coming! Book now for snow sports and cozy nights by the fire! *

Our spacious Crested Butte home comfortably sleeps up to 18 in beds and 24 with sleeper sofas and can accommodate up to 5 families. The free shuttle bus stops across the street every 30 minutes and we are 1 stop away from the ski resort and on the new recreation path for easy access to town & activities throughout the year. We have magnificent views from every room in the house, an indoor hot tub, an oversized kitchen, two large family rooms with fireplaces and well stocked with dvds/books/family games, and convenient access to everything. It's perfect for your family vacation, reunion, ski club outing, corporate gathering, church group, spiritual or marriage retreat.

Please click the link to our website under Owner Info for more photos & information. No Pets & No Smoking.


Whether it's after a great day of skiing or hiking, the Alpenglow Chalet's bedrooms have been comfortably outfitted to give you a relaxing night's sleep.

The luxurious master suite sleeps 6, has 2 king beds with memory foam mattresses, a futon sofa, TV, 2 large walk-in closets, a private deck with a gas fire pit and 4 chairs with magnificent views of Mt Crested Butte and the Maroon Bell.

The 'Mountain Bedroom' sleeps 4 with its warm rustic décor has a king size log bed with pillow top mattress, a set of log bunk beds with memory foam mattresses, a table with chairs, 4 closets, and a private deck with views of the West Elk Mountains.

The 'Wildflower Bedroom' sleeps 6 and has a king bed, a set of bunks with a full size futon plus twin trundle, a dinette set, 3 closets and a private deck with views of Mt Crested Butte.

The 'Maroon Bells bedroom' sleeps 2 and has a comfortable queen bed with memory foam mattress, flatscreen TV with AppleTV, and expansive views of the Maroon Bells Mountain range.

OTHER SLEEPING: Ground floor can sleep up to 6 in the family room (sleeper sofa, futon/trundle/bunk). Main level living room can sleep up to 2 with sleeper sofa.


The ground floor features the family room, indoor hot tub, full bathroom with steam shower, heated 2 car garage, and one of the laundry rooms. The family room has a gas fireplace, large sectional sofa with sleeper, window reading nook, and a full-size futon bunk bed with trundle, a piano, 50” TV, Apple TV, Blu-Ray DVD player, a family-friendly DVD library, Wii game system, iPod player, dart board, board games, and toddler toys. This room can sleep up to 6.


On the main level you will find the living room, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom & bathroom. The oversize windows and 12 foot ceilings of the living room bring the magnificent views outside right to you while you relax in comfort. This room is stocked with board games, a small library, iPod player, bumper pool/poker game table, TV, and features a large copper-hooded wood burning fireplace. The deck off the living room has built-in seating, a gas grill, and a gas fire pit. The dining room comfortably seats 16.

The funky retro oversized kitchen is fun to prepare meals in! It has a gas oven and cooktop, an electric wall oven, an electric cooktop with built-in griddle, 2 microwaves, 2 refrigerators (a 3rd fridge is in the garage), a wet bar, 3 crockpots, 2 additional griddles, roasting pans, and enough cookware to prepare an elaborate meal for everyone.


The top floor has three bedrooms, three bathrooms, and the second laundry facility.


5,500 sq ft Crested Butte rental home on .75 acres

Panoramic views of the Maroon Bells, Mt Crested Butte, and West Elk mountains

4 bedrooms (3 with private decks)

5 bathrooms (1 with steam shower)

Family room with bunks & walk-out patio

Indoor custom hot tub that seats 8

Oversize kitchen with 2 prep areas & wet bar

Dining room seats 16, seating for 8 more in adjacent rooms

Living room with deck

One stop from ski area on the free shuttle bus

Shuttle bus stop across the street

10 minute walk to ski base area

Hike & bike from the front door

2 outdoor gas fire pits with seating

Oversized yard

Gas grill


Flat panel TVs

Cable TV, Blu-ray/DVD, Wii

Apple TV on 50 inch TV to wirelessly share photos and videos from iPhones & iPads

Desk area with printer


Large driveway to accommodate multiple cars

Heated 2 car garage with ski racks

2 laundry rooms (3 washers & 3 dryers)

Stocked with DVDs, board games, and books for guests of all ages

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Cary Stephan
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
26 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Cary Stephan

We are long-time residents of Colorado Springs who always wanted a home in the mountains. Cary used to ski Crested Butte when he was in high school. We honeymooned in Crested Butte after we got married and fell in love with the quaint town, the friendly laid-back atmosphere, and the incredible outdoor activities.

Cary Stephan purchased this house in 2012

Why Cary Stephan chose Southwestern Colorado

We wanted something to share with our family and friends. This is our future retirement home where we want our children to bring their future families/our future grandchildren and have everyone be able to stay in one place with everything fun to do right outside the door! This Crested Butte vacation rental home has a unique history with the original owner building it to showcase the ski area to visitors from Europe and hosted numerous foreign exchange students and ski teams.

What makes this house unique

The views are amazing: from every window you see mountains and wilderness. Even though the house is quite large, every room feels cozy. Having family rooms on 2 floors allows us to have the kids play on one level and allows the adults to socialize on the other level.

With the bus stop across the street and the road for mountain biking outside the door, we can leave our cars at the house and easily get everywhere we want to go. When we bought the chalet our children were 13, 14 and 16 and we loved that they had the freedom to take the bus to go skiing, or go to the summer activity center to bike, zip line, etc. and we felt safe. Every child can bring their friends and each group has their own room to stay in while adults still have our own room and there's plenty of space for everyone.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed for 3 weeks with over a dozen family and friends visiting during that time:

1. Very quiet--wonderful for lots of people.

2. The women really love the kitchen layout; also, you have good pots and pans--everything we needed!

3. Great closets.

4. We loved the house!
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 2


based on 27 holidaymaker reviews

Your Group's Winter Headquarters!! Indoor Hot Tub, 360° Views, 1000' to Ski Area
average rating of 4.888889 based on 29 reviews

More than ample space for 12 women or multiple families vacationing together.

  • 4 of 5

This home is spacious and the adjoining kitchens provided us with 2 large refrigerators, 2 stove tops and ovens (gas and electric), 2 sinks and a dishwasher and microwave. We never ran out of dishes, wine glasses, and silverware. Very well-stocked kitchen utensils and supplies. We were able to seat everyone at one large table for meals. We enjoyed our views from the decks of the snow-covered mountains surrounding the aspen forest which was at the height of its Fall colors as well as deer grazing in our backyard.

During our stay there was municipal construction in front of our home which made it difficult for low-clearance vehicles to avoid scraping bottom when using the driveway. The owner informed us about this construction prior to our arrival. Once the construction of the recreational path is completed, I am sure this problem will be resolved. Also the front door lock was not working properly. We had to call maintenance once to help us get into the home. They responded quickly to help us.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Alpenglow Chalet.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The 70's ski chalet is awesome, I wish I had my one piece ski suit!

  • 5 of 5

This was our home base for our wedding with many of our friends staying there. When we showed up the city was working on the new bike path in front of the house, which caused access delays. No worries until we found out they crushed the sewer line to the house, causing challenges for the folks prepping food and children needing to use the toilet. No worries, we still loved the place. The owners were wonderful, the city was very helpful and we can't wait to return with our friends for another fun time. The hot tub is classic, the copper above the fireplace is timeless, we didn't get a chance to enjoy the multitude of games available or the fireplace but we hope to again down the road. The kitchen is huge and worthy of any size group along with the many tables for large group dinners. This is a great spot for a group ski trip.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic, very large house for big family/friend gathering in beautiful Crested Butte

  • 5 of 5

We frequent Crested Butte as a family and with extended family. We often rent in town as we love the town vibe, walking and biking everywhere, etc. This time we stayed in Mt. Crested Butte and had our extended family for a summer gathering, which meant finding a spot for all or parts of 5 families....ages ranged from 5 to 81! This is a wonderful home and a great location. Room for everyone, a fabulous kitchen, 2 huge family rooms, fireplaces, multiple decks, great views, quick access to trails, the mountain and the town of CB. The house is very well stocked with everything you need for cooking large meals, 2 large refrigerators, plenty of seating, multiples sinks, etc. The owners (Cary) were awesome to work with. They were prompt with communications and flexible. We all had a wonderful trip and we'd strongly recommend this house if you have a large group. Matt

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful house, lots of room, very clean, welcome feeling, and loads of amenities

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house. We used it as "base camp" for our daughter's wedding. The huge kitchen and eating areas were perfect for creating a relaxing rehearsal dinner and morning brunch. Lots of living space, closet space, bedroom space, and bathrooms. We used the indoor hot tub and fire pit on the front deck. They were great! Everyone was very pleased to gather before and hang out after the wedding at this house. Our 18 month old grandson loved running around on the front lawn and playing with several of the toys at the house. We even found a cookbook that was written by the bride's grandmother!! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this past spring break. The house had everything we needed and was close to the mountain and mountain square. We would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Big group weekend trip

  • 4 of 5

This place would of been 5/5 if stuff was working on arrival...1 fridge/freezer wasn't working and one was turned off. Hot tub felt like a Luke warm bath, steam room next to kitchen did not work.

Otherwise the place was fantastic! They had a poker table with chips and cards that everyone played, near the slopes and a big house that 15 guys shared with no issues of over crowding.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re sorry the house didn’t earn your fifth star but we’re glad you liked everything else. The refrigerators being turned off was a surprise to us too, glad we were about to fix that the night you arrived and there was a third fridge for you to put your stuff in while those two got cold. The master bath steam room is unrepairable which is why we do not list or advertise it as a feature anywhere, we hope you used the advertised steam shower in the ground floor bathroom instead. While we’re glad you did use the hot tub despite the cooler temperature, had we been informed it wasn’t hot enough we would have sent someone out to fix it while you were there. Thanks for the feedback and thank you for renting our vacation home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Secret Stash
"Best. Pizza. Ever. Highly recommend the Figalicious, Mac Daddy and the Spicy Wais. And the ..."
Camp 4 Coffee
"Great coffee and spicy chai."
Ryce Asian Bistro
"Great food--we love the Drunken Noodles and the Jalapeño Sirloin stir-fry. "
Montanya Distillers
"They make their own rum (with free tastings) and also has kid-friendly drinks. We love the M..."
The Dogwood Cocktail Cabin
"Simply some of the best and most unique drinks you will ever experience. We love the Beetnik..."
Ginger Cafe
"Delicious Indian and Thai cuisine; good happy hour."
LE Bosquet Restaurant
"Fine French cuisine by long-time residents. The Hazelnut Chicken is fantastic!"
Sweet Spot
"In Mountaineer Square (ski base area) only 1/5 mile from the house. The Sweet Spot is both a..."
Third Bowl Homemade Ice Cream
"Offering a variety of delicious and unique homemade ice cream."
"A small place serving big portions. The wait can be long but the food's good."
Ice Skating/Tubing
Sherpa Cafe
Pitas In Paradise
Crested Butte Mountain Resort
"Skiing in the winter, mountain biking in the summer!"
Crested Butte Nordic Center
"Great snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. The moonlight excursions are magical."
Kebler Pass
"Some of the most beautiful scenery in Colorado."
Django's Restaurant & Wine Bar
Avalanche Bar & Grill
Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
The Sweet Spot
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Crested Butte
Nearest Ski
0.2 Miles
Mt Crested Butte
Car: not necessary

Crested Butte is the last great Colorado ski town--it's an actual historic mining town founded in the 1860s, not a manufactured resort. The town is quaint, the locals are friendly, and the activities too numerous to list them all. Designated as the Wildflower Capital of Colorado, it has a laid-back attitude and you feel welcome to stay & linger, not rushed out for the next visitor. One of the things we love is how safe we feel with our kids there: they can take the bus right outside the house to going skiing, mountain biking, or to town to get ice cream and we know they'll be okay.

Hiking and mountain biking in the area simply can't be beat and the road to the trailheads goes right by the house. You can even take a bus to the trailhead from the stop across the street. We highly recommend the wildflower hikes and the West Maroon Pass trails where you can hike up to look over the mountains at Aspen. We have hiking trail guidebooks at the house for you to use.

Likewise, the ski area is only 1/5 mile down the road and the bus stop across the street will take you there. We're only one stop away from the ski area so it's like the convenience of ski-in/out without the cost! The skiing at Crested Butte is really phenomenal, it has runs for people of all ability levels and amazing extreme terrain if you're up for it. It still feels like the small, cozy ski resort we remember from our youth but it has expanded greatly. And the slopes get the afternoon sun which is really nice--you don't get the shadows and ice that most resorts do.

Crested Butte is also a place where artisans come to practice their craft, whether it's in traditional art or in food and drink. And for dining there are so many great restaurants! We recommend The Secret Stash (pizza), Pitas in Paradise, Ginger Cafe (asian), Le Bosquet (french), Sherpa Cafe (indian/nepalese), Ryce (asian), and Lobar's (sushi). There are several places that serve excellent artisan drinks and cocktails--our favorites are the Dogwood Cocktail Cabin (you have to try the Beetnik and Poco Loco drinks and the tostada appetizers are out-of-this-world) and Montanya Distillers which makes their own rum and has a wonderful concoction in the Maharaja plus non-alcoholic drinks for the kids.

If you want a memorable vacation in the heart of the Rocky Mountains then Crested Butte is the place to visit and we'd love to have you stay at the Alpenglow Chalet!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Crested Butte, Southwestern Colorado

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
5 Sep 2016 - 21 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
23 Nov 2016 - 1 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Winter - Early Season
2 Dec 2016 - 20 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Winter - Holiday
21 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Winter - Regular
3 Jan 2017 - 8 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Winter - Spring Break
9 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Winter - Last Ski Week
1 Apr 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
8 Apr 2017 - 8 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Summer - Early Season
9 Jun 2017 - 28 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
29 Jun 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
5 Sep 2017 - 21 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £65
Refundable Security Fee £409
Cleaning Fee £286
Tax Rate 13.5%

Event fee: $1000

We cater to discerning guests who expect more from their vacation homes and are respectful of them in return. Violation of any of the following is grounds for immediate eviction without refund:
• Only registered guests are allowed overnight on the property 10PM-8AM.
• No large gatherings, weddings, receptions, etc. on the premises without prior approval.
• No bachelor/bachelorette parties.
• No smoking inside the house.
• No pets.

The $500 security deposit fee is fully refundable barring any extra post-stay costs or services required, this may include extra house cleaning, extra hot tub cleaning, Pay Per View, repositioning of furniture, violation of the usage rules, etc.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Crested Butte in Colorado

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 5500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 24 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Mountain bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Double vanity
    Wildflower bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Double vanity
    Maroon Bells bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet , Double vanity
    Ground floor bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Steam shower
    Master (main floor) bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Double vanity, shower area for 2 people.
  • We have plenty of comfy towels for you and the indoor hot tub has its own set of towels too.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Wildflower bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , 1 Bunk Bed , 3 closets & private deck with view of Mt Crested Butte
    Mountain bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , 4 closets & private deck with views of West Elk Mtns.
    Master Suite - 2 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , 2 walk-in closets & private deck with view of Maroon Bells
    Family Room - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , 1 Bunk Bed , Gas fireplace. This is an overflow sleeping area.
    Maroon Bells bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Views of the Maroon Bells mountains, TV with AppleTV
  • We have overflow sleeping to accommodate an extra 6 people on sleeper sofas for a total capacity of 24. We love a good night's sleep and we know you do too so we've put soft, comfortable jersey sheets on each bed and made sure there's plenty of blankets for those special winter nights when you want to snuggle in and watch the snow fall!
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Book with us and our concierge can arrange discounted ski rentals, grocery delivery, private chef, in-home massage, transportation from the Gunnison airport and more.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties