Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

50 acre private farm, less than an hour away from the Tryon Equestrian Games

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, Study, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Enjoy views of moores pond and little pisgah mountain from this 2 bedroom/one bath guest house. Recently remodeled, your vacation retreat has a fully equipped kitchen, wood floor in the living area, air/heat. Amenities include WiFi, cable HD tv, DVD, gas outdoor grill, outdoor furniture. A two+ acre pond is ready for sitting and enjoying watching herons and a variety of birds or feeding the resident mallards. There are miles of hiking trails in the woods on this 50-acre property, from moderate to strenuous. There is a fenced-in yard for dogs.

Located in Fairview, only 11 miles southeast of downtown Asheville (6 miles from city limits) and 6 miles from I-40 and the Blue Ridge Parkway, this private residence is in the country, yet very convenient to the many attractions of the area, including the Biltmore Estate, Lake Lure, Chimney Rock State Park, and (of course) the mountains with their spectacular views, waterfalls, and tourist attractions. Every season has its gifts, from summer festivals and craft fairs to fall color, winter holidays at the Biltmore House, and spring blossoms. There is an Amish market (bakery, fresh eggs, and other goodies) next door...Across the pasture.

The houses are NON-SMOKING. We ask that if you are smoking on the property please do so away from the houses and clean after yourself.

More Details

Owner
Brandy Honeycutt
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 July, 2018

About Brandy Honeycutt

Joseph Sabbag lives down the road at 40 Moores Pond Road. Joseph is now learning to farm (John Deere therapy) and to pull weeds.

Brandy Honeycutt purchased this cottage in 1986

Why Brandy Honeycutt chose Fairview

The mountains of Western North Carolina, near Asheville, are one of most beautiful and relaxing places in the world, if you exclude pulling weeds.

What makes this cottage unique

The views from the 50+ acre property and lake are wonderful.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Fairview in Buncombe County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • Children are not permitted around the pond or barn without an adult
  • Houses are non-smoking. Guests that do smoke please smoke away from the houses and clean after themselves
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • tiled bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Queen size bed, in bedroom 1, 2 twin beds in bedroom 2, Queen size sofa-bed in living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • Horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(56 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
16% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
50 acre private farm, less than an hour away from the Tryon Equestrian Games
average rating of 4.732143 based on 56 reviews
5

Absolutely amazing experience

  • 5 of 5

We spent almost a week here while we explored the area for a future move. The house is very well stocked if you want to cook and close to all of the Asheville attractions if you want to go out. Chuck and Sarah go above and beyond to make this feel like your home away from home. The goats and Llama were also great along with their new pup Panda. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Review Submitted: 11-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful guests, who enjoyed the Asheville experience!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Disappointing! Falsely advertised

  • 1 of 5

If you’re going to advertise yourself as a goat farm and agritourism, you should let people know that you have NO ANIMALS part of the year! It was the reason we chose this house. My daughter cried when we got there and found out they had no animals.

Also, the house looks good in the photos but there’s a lot of shoddy workmanship. And the kitchen was not adequately stocked. Only 3 bowls. Pretty inconvenient for a family of 4. I ate cereal out of a pot all week. Would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: 10-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alyson, I'm truly sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. When I checked in with you your response was "everything is fine. Hoping the weather clears off soon". I wish you would have communicated with me. It is true that we didn't have goats during your stay, BUT that is noted on the listing. If you had let me know that we had inadequate supplies I would have made every effort to rectify that issue immediately. At this point all I can do is take your feedback as an opportunity to make sure the kitchen inventory is replenished for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis
3

I was a little disappointed that the goats were no longer there. Didn't seem to be a "farm" anymore.

  • 3 of 5

Didn't seem to be a "farm" anymore. Checkout is at 10am and there seems to be no leeway. There was a guy sitting outside in his car at 9:30 am waiting for me to leave. Which is fine. It's their place, their rules. Great location, quiet, peaceful. If you're into hiking it's close to Chimney Rock / Lake Lure and many other places.

  • Review Submitted: 02-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback Alfredo. We noted in our listing that we don't have goats on the farm at this time. However, we are looking forward to having new goat residents on the farm in the next few weeks. We do offer an option for a late check out, if guests give us a call and if we do not have a same day turn over. So glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

Great house with beautiful Mountain View’s. House was very clean with nice furnishings. It had everything we needed. Brandy was a pleasure to work with and I appreciate her checking on us. I hope I get a chance to visit again soon.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jill! So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location! Beautiful Views

  • 4 of 5

We stayed the week of Christmas. We were disappointed that the area around seemed to shut down for Christmas and the goats were on their own holiday. Had issues with electrical outlets and refrigerator that the Owners were very quick to fix. Loved the homeyness of the house. Very comfortable. I think we would re-book just a different time of year.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful mini vacation

  • 4 of 5

What a peaceful, quiet place to get away from it all-and only a 15 minute drive into Asheville. While we did not have the best weather, we enjoyed our stay in the country. We loved meeting the goats and enjoyed the view of the pasture, pond, and mountains in the distance.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That is exectly what is supposed to happen, relax, relax, relax and enjoy Asheville!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Asheville, NC (AVL)
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Piazza,
Nearest Ferry
unknown
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Asheville Muni
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Greenville, SC
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
I-40
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Local Joint
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Various Resorts
Nearest Beach
250 Miles
Charleston, SC
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £82.98
Pet Fee £57.62

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals