HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Cheeky cottage chic in the thick of Lakeland's attractions

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Backbarrow - Jazzberry Cottage, sleeps 4

Close to all of South Lakeland attractions

A perfect rural holiday retreats with comfortable and modern luxury throughout. The cottage more reminiscent of a contemporary hotel than what you would expect from Lakeland cottages - with the 'cheeky cottage chic' styling proving a winning combination.

Occupying an enviable position in the heart of the Southern Lake District, in the village of Back barrow - one of a handful of small villages clustered close by and around the south western reach of Lake Windermere. Either immerse yourself in the many varied attractions within 10 mins of the property or lose yourself in the surrounding stunningly beautiful countryside and woodlands of the Rusland Valley and Furness Fells.

Jazzberry boast two comfortable, contemporary furnished bedrooms sleeping four people in a twin and a king double, making it perfect for a romantic getaway or just a chance to chill in company of friends.

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Mrs Emma Carrick
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
5 December, 2016
Call Owner


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

Cheeky cottage chic in the thick of Lakeland's attractions
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews

Very clean and tidy and welcoming

  • 5 of 5

The property was very clean and tidy and luxurious. We had a great welcoming note from Emma with muffins, bread, butter and milk. Everything we needed was in the house. We were very impressed with the bath and powerful shower and will miss that part of the property the most. There is a busy road running behind the cottage which is in the description of the property but as we spent little time at the cottage during the day and indoors during the evening, this didn't bother us or kept us awake. The cottage was in a good location and 2mins away from the steam train station that takes you to the ferry terminal and from there to Bowness and Ambleside. Both these towns were very pretty and definitely worth a visit. Lakeside (Fell foot country park) is about a 10min drive from the cottage and well worth a visit. Beautiful sight and a lovely big green picnic area. I would definitely recommend Jazzberry cottage and would not want to stay anywhere else if we come to visit again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice But Noisy

  • 3 of 5

A nice house, lovely roll top bath, just right for a soak after a hard days walking, being on three floors could be a problem, was disappointed with cleanliness as we seemed to have an infestation of those daddy long leg spiders which like dust, my husband had to hoover all around Windows and ceilings on arrival, l'm afraid to say the matress on the master bedroom bed was really badly stained with was very off putting, but the most disappointing thing was the traffic, we live on a busy main road but this was constant 24/7 totally impossible to sit out for a Drink or Coffee as you couldn't here each other talk, couldn't have the windows open far too noisy and difficult to get the car out, saying all that we manage to have a very nice holiday, the neighbors where lovely. Would not return.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry hear you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. I would like to think that all our guests had a lovely experience when staying in Jazzberry; however I am a realist and know that this will not always be the case. We endeavour to learn and improve from all feed back whether that be good or bad, and the vast majority of our guests do enjoy what Jazzberry offers. Firstly and for me the most disappointing aspect was the stained mattress. This is not the norm. The cleaner is supposed to inform of any stains. If you had called when you discovered the oversight and I would have popped by with a freshly laundered topper. The owner assessed and agreed that it had been badly stained and a new topper has been ordered and will be in place for the next guests. I agree the road is a contentious issue and the location is not to everyone's taste. I think it depends on how accustomed you are road noise. I would say that 5% of our guests mention it, but we have a high number of loyal returnees and many guests leave very positive reviews and comments in the visitor book. I really wish we could please all the people all of the time. You must have stayed during the heat wave and had the windows open? As a previous review states "The location at first looks to be busy and noisy....but once the doors are closed it is very peaceful" We do not hide the location of the property and it is clearly shown on the map as being located next to an 'A' road. In the online description it states "The cottage has a small decked yard area, however this leads out onto the A590 and the front door leads directly onto the road. I wish that I could wave a magic wand and ask guests to let us know what they are looking for / not looking for when they book. We know how important being happy in accommodation is, so if people ask about the road and the noise, I never fabricate the truth and suggest that perhaps Jazzberry isn't for them. I also suggest people use the street view option on google maps to get a feel for the cottage. But we also know that many people appreciate the other amenities such as the modern, comfortable interior, the roll top bath and walk in shower, log burner etc and as people have reviewed ... a "good location with ... access to main roads and the many beauty spots that the South Lakes has to offer" I am glad that you did manage to have a nice holiday. We do take feedback very seriously and will act on all we can. Thank you, Emma
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from Home!

  • 5 of 5

Myself, my fiancé and our two children stayed in Jazzberry Cottage for 4 nights during the school holidays. It was beautifully clean and tidy with everything we needed included in the house. The email we received from HomeAway informed us that there was a keysafe so that we could let ourselves in when we arrived which was easy - especially as we arrived nearly 2 hours behind our schedule! So there was no need to arrange this with anyone. We loved the little 'welcome pack' of fresh bread, scones and a beautiful bunch of flowers that was in the kitchen when we arrived. Emma was easy to get in touch with and promptly arranged for the sky box to be fixed straight away when it unfortunately broke during our stay. Wonderful service! The cottage was in a great location and so close to many family activities in the Lake District. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to return next year!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely cottage

  • 5 of 5

Great cottage with everything we needed for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home from home

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful cottage with a great location to explore the Lake District. Very spacious living area with a very modern and well equipped kitchen and stunning bathroom

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful cottage,great location.

  • 5 of 5

Directions were easy to follow and the description of the cottage was spot on, it was 5*. The décor in every room was sympathetically done and the furnishings were top quality. Parking at the front was fine, to the rear there is a small seating area with a table and chairs, have to say it was a little noisy from the traffic, but not a problem. The welcome pack again was a nice touch from Emma, and there was everything you would need in the kitchen. Great area for dog walking, the Anglers Arms is a lovely pub, great beers and a nice walk, not far to Newby Bridge and the Swan Hotel, again a nice walk and a lovely setting to have a drink and food.

Emma was a great host and a pleasure to deal with, the info we received about the cottage and things to do in the surrounding area was very useful. We have visited many cottages and Jazzberry Cottage is by far the nicest we have stayed in.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Haverthwaite / Newby Bridge
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Grange over Sands
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Whitewater Hotel
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Car: necessary

The South Lakes and South West Cumbria have the best of both worlds – quiet, beautiful open countryside yet within easy reach of the Lake District’s ‘Hot Spots’.

Family days out include the South Lakes Animal Park at nearby Dalton, where you can see Amur and Sumatran Tigers, Muncaster Castle with its owl sanctuary and adventure playground, either the Eskdale miniature railway or Haverthwaite Steam Trains, The Lakes Aquarium, boat trips on Windermere or Coniston Water, Furness Abbey, The Beatrix Potter Gallery, the award winning gardens of Holker Hall or Grizedale Forest with it's sculpture trails, way marked mountain bike tracks and high wire rope course provided by Go Ape - the list of attractions within the area is endless.

Leisure activities close by include lake swimming at Fell Foot, golfing, fishing, adrenalin sports, canoing and horse riding. During the summer local villages put on annual agricultural shows. These are well worth a visit to get a real feel for local life.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Backbarrow, Windermere & Central Lakes

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
29 Oct 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas/New Year
17 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

We include a welcome pack for all our guests - everyone needs to be able to have a cup of tea and a treat after a long drive!.

Cleaning, linen - bath mats, hand and bath towels and tea towels, heat, light and unlimited hot water are included in the rental. All essential items such as toilet roll, dishwasher tablets, cleaning items & essential store cupboard ingredients (sugar, condiments etc)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Backbarrow in Cumbria & Lake District National Park

Property Type:
  • cottage (terraced)
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Luxury bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Towels are provided.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Twin - 2 Single Bed
  • Linen and towels are provided.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Wood Decking
  • 2 garden chairs
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot