We have a 2 bedroom cottage, located on Seneca Lake, on the wine trail
Stacey Parrish - Property Manager
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Had the place to ourselves everyone was at the race. What a nice place. Very private. I’ll be going back!
Nice place to stay
Rustic and pleasant. Small beach that got very crowded with folks and their company in next door cabin. But nice people.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding the beach. We have been thinking about building out the additional 100ft of lake frontage that we own and will see if that is an option for next year. Thanks again.
A Great Way to Enjoy the Autumn Foliage
Had a great time at this cozy little cabin, it was a beautiful place to watch the leaves turn over with the beautiful lake views and sunsets. The cabins heating source was a wood burning stove which we definitely found useful as it got rather chilly at night. The owners provided plenty of fire starter and wood for this making it easy to start up. Since we had been attending many winery events this weekend, we found the location of this cabin to be perfect for us as we spent a lot of time on the Seneca lake wine trail and over by Cayuga lake. Ended each day trying a new wine on the beach to watch the sunset. Enjoyed our little fall getaway and hope to return again.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to use the woodburning stove to stay warm! Hope to see you again next year!
Amy & Marc
Better luck next time
Seemed to be a nice place. But the parking spot was on a hill where you had to carry all your things down 24 steep stairs to the cabin. Beautiful views but to get to the lake was an even steeper and longer stairway. Unfortunately several things happened to make this experience less than a relaxing getaway. The television had been knocked out during a storm. Fixed next day. The septic backed up on our second of three days. We had to get a hotel which put us out more money than hoped. Not exactly the cleanest place we have stayed by far. And was the most expensive place we ever stayed and we have stayed in some beautiful resort areas. I know the owners tried hard to fix all problems. They were great. Just too rustic and remote for a romantic getaway.
We are sorry the cabin did not meet your expectations and are glad you were able to find an alternate place for your last night. That said, I would like to address your comments below:
1) You let us know that you had a drainage block to which we had our plumbing service come out immediately and resolve the issue. As we did not know the root cause of the issue initially, we gave you a refund for the last night as a make good. The plumber let us know that someone had flushed something down that blocked the drain. We have a sign in the bathroom that says to only flush toilet paper or there will be blockage. It appears you caused the blockage, which resulted in an emergency weekend plumbing visit and charge.
2) Steps: We note both in our description and in our pictures that there are stairs to the cabin and to the water, each approx. 15 steps. The stairs are built to code. We assume a prospective guest would read our description & view our pictures, reaching out with any questions ahead of booking. It is in both your interest and ours to a) give you the most accurate information as we want you to love our place and b) so that you rent a place you can thoroughly enjoy.
3) Cleanliness: We stand by the cleanliness of our cabins. We do not understand why you chose not to contact our property manager to immediately address any concerns, especially as she reached out to you upon your check-in.
4) Pricing: we have not raised our prices in years and as a result, are approximately 10% under market value, especially for a secluded, pet friendly property, in the heart of the Seneca wine trail. We wish you best on your future Seneca Lake visits.
Nice and peaceful. Perfect location to all the great wineries. Many even in walking distance :)
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to sample the local wineries!! ;) Hope we see you next year! Amy
A nice little cabin with a great view
I booked this cabin when I could not get a hotel during a race weekend at Watkins Glen. My brother and I stayed there. It was very roomy for 2 people, the views were very nice and parking was convenient. It offered a number of amenities we didn’t use as we spent our time at the track.
On the downside the drive to the cabin had been damaged in a recent heavy rain and it was genuinely scary in my two wheel drive Mazda. The road can be repaired but until it is I would not rent here again. Also the cabin was a bit stuffy when we first arrived. We cured this by turning off the ac and opening all the windows so not a big deal. Finally, if there is a beach I didn’t find it. Yes it’s waterfront and the water is accessible so you can certainly swim, it just isn’t a beach. I think that’s probably true of most camps on Seneca lake.
Thank you for your feedback! Our driveway did receive some minor road damage due to the State Emergency from record amounts of rain, causing massive flooding. That said, any AWD or 4WD vehicle, as we recommend in our description, will and would not have an issue. Heavy lake rain does happen on Seneca and we try and make a point of communicating the need for a vehicle that can handle rain runout on gravel. We also give 2WD cars the option of parking above the steep portion of our driveway if they do not own a AWD/4WD vehicle, but that does entail a 2-4 minute walk 😉�.
On the lake itself, we own 200 ft of lake front. Because of the cliff that is naturally formed in this 15-20 mile stretch of lake, most properties have a bulk head beach to allow folks to hang out down by the water or they just have a dock. The bulk-head beach is 100ft in our case and has a two-step staircase leading into the water. That said, we are always looking to give a clear representation of our property and to that end, have added 2 more beach pics to the rental site to ensure that what is offered is clear. Thanks again!
Seneca Secrets is situated in the middle of the Fingerlake Wine Trail, is 5 minutes from the FL National Forest and is located on Seneca Lake.