HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Vintage Outdoor Style, Park City And Sundance Resort Only 15 Minutes

Bedrooms 1
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

One bedroom with room for 6 guests, mountain and lake views

Just a two minute drive to Deer Creek State Park or the Provo River fisherman access, adventure beckons from this 1200 sq/ft historical cottage. Originally the area service station from the 1930's-60's, this unique property has been restored and updated to a one bedroom abode with custom barn wood floors and new tile throughout the kitchen and bath. Much of the original charm remains with original windows and cabinets, the former drive-through area has been enclosed and updated to a sunroom where guests can lounge on the full-sized futon and enjoy unobstructed views of Mt Timpanogos and the reservoir. There is a wood burning stove in the main living area along with a full-sized sofa bed. The bedroom features a queen bed, original wood flooring and walk-in closet. The spacious kitchen has everything you need to cook a cozy meal to eat in front of the fire. But, if cooking on vacation is not your thing, be sure to check out all the fine dining and quirky cafes in Midway and Heber both only five minutes away. Dining and adventure continue at the resorts Park City and Sundance, both only a short, 15 minute scenic drive away.

If vintage, outdoor style is your thing, this is the place for you!

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 April, 2018

About Chris

We are Meg, Chris, Lilikoi (5) and Magnolia (2). We love to be outside. No, really, we LOVE to be outside. Our Lilikoi was born in Hawaii and misses the island almost as much as we do. If we didn't love the outdoor variety of Utah so much, I think we would go back in a second! Our go-to comfort for Little Magnolia (we call her 'Noli') since birth has been to simply. . .take her outside!

Chris purchased this cottage in 2010

Why Chris chose Heber City

Chris did much of the restoration of this property along with is dad. In fact, the property was owned by his grandparents years and years ago. When Chris was born, his parents were living there and it was where they brought him home from to hospital to!

What makes this cottage unique

With mountains everywhere, this lake-side scene could not be better. Walk around the rurual neighborhood and you might see llamas, horses, chickens, and more! But, just five minutes away is the Swiss villiage of Midway with five star resorts and dining. Hiking trails, bird watching, cross-country and downhill skiing, mountain biking, sailing, windsurfing, kite-boarding, fly fishing, river rafting and snow tubing are just a few of things you can do within a 15 minute drive or less. This is an outdoorsman's paradise, right in the middle of Utah's premier resorts and wilderness areas.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Heber City in Wasatch County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
  • Porcelain tub and shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
  • One queen bed in private bedroom. One queen hide-a-bed in main living area and one queen convertible sofa and trundle daybed that will sleep 2 in sunroom. The house can accommodate 6-8 guests.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Due to septic system constraints, there is no on site washing machine. A laundromat is available in Heber City at 415 South Main Street.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Vintage Outdoor Style, Park City And Sundance Resort Only 15 Minutes
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews

Dirty but in a good location

  • 2 of 5

Overall it was ok. The place is in a good spot as far as convenience but there is a lot of traffic that goes by so you can't sit outside with your kids, you definitely have to go to the park across the street. It's at the corner, so people did burn outs and I was afraid of someone losing control and coming into the front room where my husband and son were sleeping. We ended up with two dings on our new car from rocks thrown from someone's tires.

When we first arrived I scooted my kids inside and went to grab a couple bags. The car was right by the front door. In the 30 seconds or less before I came in behind them I found my 3 year old daughter holding an axe (there were 2 and a hatchet in the second room) and my son (2 years old) holding a lighter. I had to do my best to secure what I could but there was no room I could lock to keep them out of. So be aware, you must do a safety sweep to make sure anything dangerous for little ones is where they can't get to it.

IT'S DIRTY!!!! The place looked like it hadn't been properly cleaned in over a year. The amount of dirt and animal hair on the floor, on the couch, on the chairs was disgusting. There was food all over the place when I lifted a couch cushion and when I pulled out the lower trundle for my son the edge was covered in dirt, dust and dead bugs. There were spider webs everywhere.

The front room had large gaps around the slider doors so bugs can easily get in, the curtains were dirty and again covered in dead bugs and spider webs. The front room was really cold at night despite running the heat. We tried the space heater the second night but it didn't work, only the fan worked. We were going to use the couch but that's when I found all the food.

When we went to put our food in the cupboards they were full of expired food, some years old. We weren't eating anything left anyway but it should be thrown out. We kept our food on the folding table. We had to wash every dish, utensil or pan before using them.

There were only three clean towels and one clean wash cloth. The kitchen towel and wash cloth appeared to be dirty.

We actually ended up leaving and going home early. We were really disappointed considering we could've stayed in a hotel or condo for the same price. I am giving it two stars only because of the view and the owner was very responsive to my emails and questions before we arrived.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. I feel bad that the cleanliness was not up to your liking. I was working with a time constraint from a long term renter that left the property in a state that even after 5 hours of cleaning I wasn't able to get every area as clean as I would have liked. Rest assured that all the area's that you were concerned with have been addressed and fixed. The house is 70 years old and as the listing describes it is a "Rustic retreat" I do my best to keep it clean and tidy and 4 years of positive reviews should show that I'm doing something right. Again, I''m sorry that you had a bad experience but I will take this as a learning opportunity so future guests don't feel the same way.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Lake City, UT

Idyllic setting with lots of charm

  • 4 of 5

This small home has plenty of character and made for an excellent weekend getaway. The owner was well organized, the home was clean and well taken care of, and the house is ideally situated. Great for kids and a place to stay when lots of sleeping spaces are needed.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quaint little abode, exactly what we were looking for

  • 5 of 5

Park City can be so over priced, what better way to enjoy the area than staying just a few miles away. This little abode is perfect for a young family of seven, like ours(we were minus one child for this trip), looking to enjoy the area without spending all of our budget on a hotel... or dining out. Very kid friendly, with a nice little park right across the street. It is also five minutes away from Deer Creek Reservoir State Park, which cost $10 for a carload to enjoy for the day.

This place would also be suitable for a group of adults looking to share a place on their adventure. Also as a nice little romantic get away spot. There is plenty to do in the area for all seasons.

We'll be back, for sure.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Beaverton, OR


  • 5 of 5

We contacted the owners at the last moment, as we had a traveling challenge and suddenly needed a place to stay for our family of 3 and 2 dogs. We were hoping for a quiet, clean place where we could have the flexibility to make our own meals. They were very accommodating and willing to rent that night. We were enjoying ourselves so much, and when we asked, the owners even granted us an extension on our stay! The home is very charming and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with any appliance needed to make a home-cooked meal. The location was fabulous for our outdoor exploration. We hiked, fished, and went ziplining! We have recommended this location to our family and friends. We will definitely try to stay again in the future!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Salt Lake City

Great weekend

  • 5 of 5

The place is exactly as described. Very clean and very nice with lots of room. We had a great weekend and would love to come back again.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2013
  • Date of Stay: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Las Vegas NV

Clean and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This is a great little place that can sleep 6 comfortably although we only had five in our party. We fished the Middle Provo which is two minutes away. The property is adjacent to Deer Creek Resovoir and also by a small city park. Everything that was needed to make meals is on hand minus the food of course. Plenty of hot water for showers and located in the quiet little hamlet of Charleston, Utah, It is very clean and comfortable and a great place to call a homebase while enjoying the many outdoor activities in the surrounding area. Thanks again Chris, We will be back!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: March 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Heber City, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay
for 30 nights

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £25
Property Damage Protection £42.14
Pet Fee £0

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals