Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992


Bedrooms 2
Space 150 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Two bedroom apartment; sleeps four in the centre of Windsor; lift and parking.


9 The Courtyard is a well-appointed apartment situated in a secluded courtyard setting, with direct access to Windsor High Street. Just opposite is the Guildhall and a few steps away is the entrance to Windsor Castle, the largest castle in occupation. A short walk further on is the Theatre Royal which has many plays before they transfer to London. Cross the River Thames by pedestrian bridge and visit Eton – home of the famous College, which has educated many of the country’s Prime Ministers. Two miles out of town is Legoland, easily accessible by car, or use the shuttle bus from just outside the apartment on the High Street. The Changing of the Guard for the Castle can also be enjoyed from just outside your front door.

This is a NO SMOKING apartment. If you are a smoker please consider other guests and smoke outside.

The accommodation is on the second floor of a purpose built block, although there is a lift to save tired feet after exploring the superb shopping that Windsor has to offer. There is an attractively furnished living/dining room with views across the nearby roof tops and over the quiet courtyard which gives the property its name. The galley kitchen is superbly fitted with new cupboards and granite worksurfaces. There is a full oven and hob, integrated washer/dryer and concealed fridge with freezer compartment, a microwave oven, coffee machine and all the equipment you’d expect at home complete the facilities, although the close proximity of numerous excellent restaurants mean you need never cook unless you want to! There are two bedrooms sleeping four people in comfort – one is a double with crisp linens and lovely fabrics, dressing table and wardrobe whilst the second has twin beds, again with wardrobe and pretty fabrics. The large bathroom has a thermostatic shower over the bath, and a shaver point and heated towel rail. To the rear of the apartment is a park which is well equipped with a children’s play area, trees and seating – a green oasis in the centre of the town.

Our apartment has its own private secure parking space although a car is not necessary if you wish to have a holiday with us without driving around the area. Windsor is well served with public transport and access to London and Oxford is very easy.

More Details

Helen Hitchcock
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 September, 2018

About Helen Hitchcock

We have been providing holiday accommodation for Windsor guests for nearly thirty years now and enjoy meeting new people and ensuring they have a comfortable stay in our apartment.

We are now retired but were previously teachers.

Helen Hitchcock purchased this apartment in 1990

Why Helen Hitchcock chose Windsor

Our apartment is superbly located right in the centre of the town but quietly located in a courtyard just off the High Street. The bus for Legoland stops just outside, so although there is a private, secure car parking space, there is no need to use your car unless you want to explore further afield. Easy to take the train into central London if you also want to visit the capital.

What makes this apartment unique

The apartment backs onto Batchelor's Acre a green area with children's play zone. It is only a short walk to the entrance to the Long Walk and the private etrance to Windsor Castle - you might even see the Queen drive past.

Excellent shopping opportunities in the town - some of the best outside London!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed at "9 The Courtyard" last week of March 2012. Fabulous, clean, quiet, compact, all you need on a holiday, close to everything, easy easy access to London via train, and owners great and extremely helpful. Can't fault it, had a fabulous stay in Windsor.
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 6


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment around the Windsor around the Windsor and Maidenhead

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 150 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • town
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
  • churches
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • swimming
Second floor apartment overlooking the roofs of Windsor, served by a lift. Direct access to the High Street, opposite the Guildhall. Shops, Windsor Castle and restaurants just steps from your front door. Watch the Changing of the Guard at 11am from just outside the apartment. Secure private parking behind a card-operated barrier. No need for a car if you don't want to use one. Park and play area for children (swings, slides etc) just steps away behind the main building.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
average rating of 4.2 based on 16 reviews

Perfect flat for time in Windsor & Royal Wedding!

  • 5 of 5

My family of four adults LOVED Helen and Nick's flat. It was perfectly suited for our needs during our time in Windsor visiting my sister and partaking in events during the Royal Wedding. Helen was very accommodating and welcoming on our arrival, providing a bottle of wine, flowers, and a great reference binder on how to use the equipment in the flat. Also local maps/guidebooks were available. The flat was very clean, had a well-equipped kitchen with a good size refrigerator and clothes washer that was easy to use. The bath had clean towels and good storage. Sitting room with TV was comfortable. Bedrooms worked for our family, but beds were a little too firm. Flat had great natural light and it was quiet. WiFi was adequate. Couldn't ask for better location, as it was easily accessible via an alley to the High Street for shopping, groceries, pubs, and the train. Also was nice to have a parking space available. Hope to have an opportunity to stay here again. Would highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again if you need accommodation in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and well situated

  • 4 of 5

This was an ideal holiday flat. It was clean and well equipped and the situation in Windsor was perfect. We didn't need a parking place but one was available. The owner was helpful but not intrusive. For our party of 3, the space was ideal.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the apartment was ideal for your needs. We hope you'd like to stay with us again in the future. With best regards, Helen and Nick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice apartment on a excellent spot

  • 4 of 5

Very neat and well equipped apartment. On one of the best spots of Windsor and with free parking!

My children aged 2 and 8 enjoyed the playground near the building and we loved to stroll through Windsor and Eton.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially appreciated the location of the apartment and its proximity to the town centre amenities, together with all the facilities needed to make your stay comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

Had to climb up nearly 40 stairs as the lift did not work .sitting room chair and settee badly need replacing. Nearly sitting on floor padding on them wafer thin would not recommend this place .people ringing wrong flat number to get in .

Sarah fulton

July 23rd till 30th did not stay full week booked into castle hotel

Sarah fulton

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are extremely sorry that the lift was not working during your stay. As my husband explained on your arrival, unfortunately the problem was more than a minor fault and he said he would chase the maintenance company and let you know the situation. After a receiving a response from the company he phoned, as promised, to say that regrettably the lift was unlikely to be repaired during your stay and to see if everything else was alright. If we had known, at the time, that you were finding some of the furniture low we could have discussed the matter and made alternative arrangements or moved the furniture around so that, say, the higher armchair was facing the television. The door bell pushes are clearly labelled with apartment numbers so I can only assume some visitors to another apartment were unsure of their number. I am sorry for any disturbance thereby caused and the problems you experienced. The issues you had were regrettably beyond our control.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Lovely apartment, pity about the smoke smell...

  • 4 of 5

THIS IS A SMOKING APARTMENT. Awesome awesome AWESOME location. Extremely clean. Met and greeted and shown around. Owners go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Information booklet thorough and useful. Flowers on arrival and a small milk. Dish soap and some foodstuffs provided. The place is small but suitable. Living room furniture is very dated and uncomfortable. Decor dated but fitting. The sheets, best sheets ever! Even the knives were recently sharpened. Biggest let down was the smell of cigarettes consistently throughout...

  • Review Submitted: 29-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. As you stated we do go out of our way to make our guests' stay as pleasant as we can manage with flowers and basic food supplies. We do not allow smoking in the apartment. Therefore, I am sorry you were bothered by the smell of smoke during your stay - unfortunately, you did not tell us of the problem at any point. The apartment below ours has been the cause of the smoke smell coming up to ours, even though that is also a non-smoking apartment. If you had informed us of the problem, we would have contacted the owner so he could have spoken to his tenant. Our apartment is thoroughly cleaned, as you note, and we will make every effort to eliminate any possible smell by talking to the owner of the apartment below. Our décor comprises antiques and good quality linens and fabrics, it had also just been painted before your arrival, so maybe that is just question of personal taste if you found it dated. As a base for visiting Windsor, our apartment does have an unrivalled position, right in the town centre.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

Ideal to explore Windsor thoroughly.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have enjoyed the facilities at No. 9 for many years, now, visiting 4/5 times each year giving us time to explore and get to know the area thoughly. A five minute walk takes us to the castle and/or the shops and ten minutes takes us to the riverside. We are within easy reach of glorious walks in and around Windsor Great Park including the famous Polo grounds and Royal Lodge. The Long Walk takes us from the castle gates to the Copper Horse, if you can manage the six miles or so there and back. So many other places could be mentioned ~ places only seen in travel brochures.

We are within easy reach of London by train or bus (with the help of our national bus passes) as well as being able to get to know many other interesting places. The facilities at the flat are ideal for such a stay and, as long our health and strength allows, I can't think of any reason why we should look elsewhere.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: July 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you think so highly of us and the apartment that you want to keep coming back. Windsor does have much to offer visitors and 9 The Courtyard is ideally placed to make the most of the town and its surrounds. Best regards, Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
On the High Street
Nearest Ferry
145 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Datchet Golf Club
Nearest Train
0.5 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
M4 junction 6
Nearest Restaurant
25 Metres
On High Street
Nearest Ski
20 Kilometres
Hemel Snow centre
Nearest Beach
100 Kilometres
South coast
Car: not necessary

Windsor is a popular tourist town and the site of the Queen's favourite residence - the largest inhabited castle in the world. Situated on the River Thames, there are many opportunities to partake of river pursuits, including trips on private boats or the public Steamers. Nearby is Legoland, accessible by free shuttle bus from the town centre, open from March to October. The town boasts numerous facilities, with excellent shopping and superb restaurants. Transport links include two railway stations to London Waterloo or Paddington via the Slough shuttle train.

Other Activities: Theatre Royal - Windsor Castle - Legoland


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

All bookings are from Saturday to Saturday. Short lets are available a few days before a week that's still free - email for late availability rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar holiday rentals