HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Thanksgiving Thru Jan Weeks still Available!!! Calling all snowbirds...

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
People
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday condo in Treasure Island - Tropic Terrace #40 2br/1ba

The Sand Dollar is NOT Granny's Condo, remodeled South Beach Style comfort!!

Welcome to the Sand Dollar!! New hurricane rated windows that block out any noise, fixtures, furniture, finishes and appliances make this a one of a kind vacation home. The designer thought of everything for your stay. The floors were totally replaced with large marble tiles. A brand new central air conditioning system was installed and the bathroom and kitchen fixtures were all replaced. The beds, toilet, sinks, chairs, sofa, tables, and linens are all New!!! The kitchen appliances are all stainless steel and everything from the cutlery to the cookware are perfect for cooking in if you prefer not to eat out at the many nearby restaurants. We have everything you need to cook for your group!

In the bedrooms, you will find plenty of storage and very comfortable bedding. Lighting has been totally replaced with modern fixtures. The South Beach Chic design resonates throughout this space, from the white leather folding sofa to the stainless dining table with high top chairs.

Walk out the door, down one flight of stairs and out onto the beach!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Shona Holden
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
14 November, 2016

About Shona Holden

We are a family of four who live in St. Petersburg and love boating, fishing and spending time on the beach. We live only 20 minutes away from the condo and we frequent Treasure Island Beach and the many restaurants between Treasure Island and Pass-a-Grille, just South of Treasure Island. We have two small children and time at the beach and on the water is a great way to spend time with them. Our close proximity also means that we can more promptly help you in the unlikely event that you find anything unsatisfactory about your stay.

Shona Holden purchased this condo in 2012

Why Shona Holden chose Florida Central Gulf Coast

We chose this property because of the brand new pool, the care with which this property is maintained, and the large kitchen and living area.

What makes this condo unique

As we walked into the inner courtyard of Tropic Terrace we immediately knew that this place was maintained like no other. Everything sparkled from the fresh paint everywhere to the tidy landscaping to the perfectly cleaned pool. We've spent a lot of time there while the renovations were being done on our unit and Tropic Terrace is always beautiful.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved the unit and the central a/c which apparently the other units do not have - window units only. The condo has been completely remodeled and well decorated without the kitch and clutter so common in vacation rentals. The pool and grounds are immaculate, and the beach and water were gorgeous. The bed was really comfortable and the kitchen had everything you could ever need on vacation! We will be back!
May 2014
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

Thanksgiving Thru Jan Weeks still Available!!! Calling all snowbirds...
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 25 reviews
5

Awesome Unit

  • 5 of 5

The pictures are true to this unit. Everything is updated and bright. The bathroom is smaller than I thought; but this was not an issue as I learned a trick from going on cruises. If you bring an over the door shoe holder, it make it great for small spaces and you can put your toiletries in all the little pockets. It worked out great! The rooms are large and spacious. Although all we did will basically sleep and take showers here, there is ample seating room with the large chaise/sofa that would sit at least 4-5 comfortably, combined with the 2 chairs in the L/R and 4 at the kitchen table it can seat a lot of people. The rooms have ample closet space and plenty of drawers. All appliances are stainless steel and very up to date. I gave my mom the Master BR and my son and I shared the 2nd room. Since my son is 6ft tall, I actually slept on the top bunk and he slept on the bottom. We have family that has a time share next door and has had their family stay at this property (Tropic Terrace) and have commented on how the other rooms aren't so nice. If you google Tropic Terrace there are many rooms that are individually owned, so at times you are at the mercy of who you book through, so I wanted to let everyone know if you book this unit #40 through Shonda (the owner), you won't be disappointed!!!! On a side note, check in is on a Saturday and they are closed on Sundays so be sure to check to make sure everything is in working order before the front office staff leaves. The batteries had died in the A/C thermostat so we couldn't adjust the air and it was very hot, but it was corrected right away and once the unit cooled down there were no other issues!! Thank you Shonda for the batteries :) We would book this unit again for sure!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are correct in that The units are individually owned. We put a lot of work into completely renovating our unit and adding central AC. I am sorry the batteries died, but glad we were able to get it resolved quickly for you. We hope to see you again soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
boston
4

Good location, quiet, great for families

  • 4 of 5

Once again, we rented this property for our April vacation. We love the bunk beds for the kids and the king size bed for the parents. Very comfortable and clean (although, we did find some pretzels under the couch and noticed under the kitchen cabinets looked like it had not be cleaned). There were also no extra garbage bags, bathroom tissue, or sponges to wash dishes. Perhaps we are responsible for such things, but it would be a nice gesture to include them. Like last time, there were beach chairs and toys for the kids and the pool was clean and warm. We really enjoy staying here and love the walkway between the bldg. and the beach and the close proximity to shopping. Quick note: The WiFi link we were given was not working but we noticed 2 other WiFi extensions we could use (both tropic terrace). Maybe include that in the paperwork. Great place, great stay. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
boston
5

Great place! Clean and comfy!

  • 5 of 5

The unit looked just like the pictures online. It was clean, bright, and comfy. We have 2 kids; 2 and 4.5 and they slept in the bunk bed with trundle. We had ample room for our clothes in the dressers and closet and there were even beach chairs, an umbrella, and beach toys for the kids! The beach was quiet and beautiful and the pool was clean. The other tenants in the building were very friendly, too. There is a nice walkway right behind the bldg. along the beach and a huge healthfood store just a few miles away. You can also walk to the Publix in one direction and shopping and restaurants in the other. I want to give a special thanks to Shona, the realtor for the unit, and the bldg. manager (his name escapes me). We had a problem with our fridge and the bldg. manager gave us the keys to the rec room fridge so our food wouldn't spoil and Shona refunded us a generous amount for the trouble. We would definitely be interested in returning next April. Great place, great location, and great interactions via phone and email regarding the rental from start to finish. Oh, and our 4.5 year old's favorite game is now shuffleboard!

  • Review Submitted: May 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed my unit! I am a realtor and own the unit with my husband. The fridge was under warranty and is all fixed and very cold, so sorry for the inconvenience, it took the repairman a few days to get the proper parts for the repair. We would love to have you back, we have a new bigger and more comfortable sectional and will be getting all new double paned windows later this summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Springfield, MO
5

2014

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in this condo! We even met the owner on the beach, pleasant women !

So clean and perfect for our family of three. I would recommend this one to anyone :)

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cole Harbour
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed this property. Would recommend it to others!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for visiting, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful holiday at the Tropic Terrace. We stayed the month of March til April 4/15. Our condo looked exactly like the pictures. Which is always a nice surprise!! The unit was well equipped, clean, and so bright and cheerful. I would have loved to have put the king bed in my suitcase, I have never slept better. What a treat to have a dishwasher. The floors were so nice as well. Our daughters and granddaughters came for a week and the 2nd bedroom with the bunk/trundle bed worked perfectly. We have booked again for next March and hardly wait to return, we met so many wonderful people there , that we now happily call our friends!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 15, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sandy, What a wonderful guest, we can't wait to have you back! Shona
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Tampa International (TPA)
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Ricky T's (rickytsbarandgrille.com)
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Interstate 275
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Middle Grounds Grill (www.middlegroundsgrill.com)
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Treasure Island Beach
Car: recommended

The pool is brand new! This beachfront property is a vintage, mid-century gem that has been restored to keep its original charm while offering guests a modern vacation. The area has everything from motorboat, bicycle, kayak, and scooter rentals to casual and fine dining all within walking distance of our unit! On property, one can play shuffleboard, grill out, picnic at one of several beachfront dining tables, swim in the pool, or just relax on the beach to the soft sound of the waves.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Treasure Island, Florida Central Gulf Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Value Season
26 Aug 2016 - 19 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£530
for 3 nights
From
£138
£926
 
 
Peak
20 Dec 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£597
for 3 nights
From
£160
£1,082
 

Additional pricing information

Damage Waiver, nonrefund £35
Cleaning £71 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

All Holidays will be charged at peak season rates

NONREFUNDABLE Deposit required to reserve the unit if reserved more than thirty days in advance, with full payment to be made one month prior to arrival. 100% payment required if reserved within thirty days of arrival. We accept checks, Visa, Mastercard and American Express.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Treasure Island in Florida

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Brand new bathroom with all new tile and fixtures!
  • Tub/Shower combo with new tile and fixtures, toilet and sink vanity.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Brand new king bed w/ new pillow top mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , Twin over Full Bunk with Pull out Twin Trundle
  • Both bedrooms have ample drawers in their dressers and the master has TWO closets!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties