Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Palazzino In the heart of Valletta!

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Space 2,690 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom 200m2, Own Entrance & Roof Garden.

Combine modern facilities with 400 year old character. Our Pallazino is spread over 4 floors and consists of 200m2 of floor space. Three bedrooms, a kitchen and a roof garden with bar.

Fast wifi throughout the property, modern bathrooms, ipad, netflix tv's and a fully equipped kitchen. The roof garden grows a variety of herbs and vegetables for your potential culinary adventures.

With its own entrance and without any shared spaces make this pallazino a true home away from home and different from the regular -airbnb style - Valletta apartment rentals. Majestic 16th century architecture features 4 meter high sealings and copper chandeliers fitted throughout the property. This is a great family home or authentic luxury holiday stay for people who like a spacious modern home combined with character and need a great location.

With 2 Double bedrooms and 1 twin room make this property ideal for families or groups.

Situated in the heart of the city, yet located in a quiet alley close to all mayor attractions in Valletta. This alley is featured in many historic films including the recent Game of Thrones series. Many small good restaurants are just around the corner of this property and a custom guide is available at the property to guide you to the best places in town!

More Details

owner/property manager
Member since: 2017
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
26 May, 2018

Why owner/property manager chose Valletta

This property conserves the original characteristics of the 400 year old house and is fully renovated to suit a family or groups.

What makes this townhome unique

Historical building in a great location.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Valletta, Malta

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2690 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Outdoor Shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Over 450 years old historical property protected by UNESCO World Heritage.


Good! 3.9/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

42% Complete
35% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Palazzino In the heart of Valletta!
average rating of 3.9285715 based on 14 reviews

Terribly disappointing!

  • 1 of 5

We booked this apartment because it looked fabulous and and had good reviews. However, it did not live up to expectation in any shape or form. Unfortunately, the trip started badly because we struggled to get information about the access code from the owner and despite Owner's Direct also contacting him twice on our behalf, we arrived at 7:30pm not knowing whether we would be able to get in to the property or not. Gijs did in fact meet us and told us that they had been bombarded with messages about access, so had not replied because of concerns about security. I found this odd, given that Owner's Direct themselves had contacted him.He also said that he had rung us but we did not receive this.

After Gijs had showed us around the property, we started to unpack and discovered that the towels he had placed in the wardrobe for our use were so damp they had to be draped over the stair rail to dry.

2 of the 3 bathrooms were unlocked for our use; both had heaters but neither of these worked and one of the toilet flushes was broken so you had to pull 2 levers inside the wall.

The property has only one communal area other than the rooftop terrace and this is the kitchen,where there is no comfortable seating and it is very cold; one night we put the oven on with the door open in order to keep warm! There is insufficient crockery and cutlery and only 2 dishwasher tablets were provided. We did not find any information about how any of the appliances worked, nor did we find any leaflets recommending local sites of interest or restaurants to try, which is unusual.

The property itself is situated in the middle of a hazardous building site. Building work started at 7:30 each morning and lasted all day, but no-one had warned us about this or we might have reconsidered our stay. We would be surprised if this work is going to be finished any time soon.

At this time of year, the property is very cold and most early evenings were spent under bed covers; there are 2 portable heaters, one for each bedroom, but unfortunately, due to the very high ceilings and amount of glass, do little to improve the temperature, whereas I imagine, in summer, the coolness of the building is welcome. It also seems odd that there are TVs in the bedrooms (again with no instructions), rather than in a communal sitting area. Having rented many properties previously, both from this company and others, we have always received a welcome pack of water, milk etc but this was not provided.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. we are sorry to hear you did not have a good time in our property. I have to highlight though that we never communicate the access code more then 1 day prior to arrival. We were very intimidated by the flood of mails asking for the code and even a case at HomeAway was opened saying you could not get in even after you checked in already. The rest of your complaints we could have easily solved during your stay if you would have communicated those to us directly. I also had informed you at check in that you could always contact me or HomeAway if there is anything, but you decided not to. Especially the heating or kitchen appliances and so on could have easily solved on the spot. Our property is really not a 1 star stay and we are sad to receive such a harsh rating. Kind regards, Gijs & Amanda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great town house in a fabulous location

  • 4 of 5

This is a great house in a fabulous location in Valletta, it is close to the heart of this historic city with a useful shop just close by. It is a tall house with 60 steps from the bottom to the top (the kitchen is at the top) so might not be perfect for those with lower mobility. There are also glass floors on some parts of the staircase which is great for letting in light but took a bit of getting used to when we first arrived!

We were there at a time when there was some building work next door which was noisy quite early in the day but but it looks as if that is quietening down now. It was lovely and quiet at night.

At the time of year we visited the weather was quite cool so we did need to use the heaters provided in the bedrooms but I think this house would be deliciously cool in the summer months.

Gijs and Amanda are great hosts and gave us a lot of advice on places to eat and the best way to see the island.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very Disappointing House in a Beautiful City

  • 1 of 5

Malta is an interesting and varied island but our stay was very much spoilt by our experience in this holiday home and with its owner. The house is in a great location but if you are holidaying in winter, be warned that it is incredibly cold. Heating the whole house is not necessary - just the bedrooms would suffice but the owner seemed very reluctant to provide even basic heating - and this despite knowing that we travelled with children and an elderly parent. He did eventually (on our 5th day, after repeated requests) provide 2 electric radiators and a gas fire. The gas fire smelled of fumes and was unsafe. We did not use it. The owner's rather unhelpful recommendation was that we should 'stay active outside'. Coming back in the evening to a cold, damp and dusty house that had no heating anywhere was extremely unpleasant. One member of our family had severe bronchospasm and two others had flares of their skin conditions due to the cold and damp.

Further, whilst nothing can be done about the construction work that is being conducted in the immediate locality of the property, its nature and duration is extensive. You have to walk under scaffolding to reach the property and the works consistently woke us up between 7-8am. Although we were out for most of the day, it was apparent that work continued every day until the early evening. Given the number of properties that were being renovated in its immediate vicinity the works look like they will go on for many months.

In addition, there are numerous additional problems - e.g. the showers are erratically scalding hot to freezing cold; whilst the house is advertised for 6, it is very poorly equipped (particularly the kitchen) for 6 people.

I did write to the owner upon on our return to the UK highlighting these and other problems, inviting him to respond and to compensate us for some of these issues. I've detailed his only response below so that you get a flavour of his general approach:

'I cannot fully understand why you decided to write such a long complaint, therefore I decided not to react-in-depth to your letter as it is best to take steps in this world with peace.'

That is all he's responded with. In other words he is not interested in engaging with us. I've directly approached Owners Direct to try and get some acknowledgement and response from the owner but have yet had a response from him.

We are used to travelling over winter in Europe but this is easily the worst experience we have ever had

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gosh, this man gave us a headache. Mr Sanjeev has been bombarding us with unfair complaints only after he left. I asked him to leave us in peace after his messages took a negative tone, insisting on a refund. He made calculations that he was entitled to hundreds of euros of refund according to him. Leaving us with no other conclusion that the sole purpose of his complaints were financial gain. We supplied this guests with all he needed and extra during his stay. We have now taken the policy that heating in every bedroom is now standard. Further inquiries learn that the works on the hotel next door are said to be finished by April according to the builder. This is all we can say in a polite way about this guest but we hope he does not return to the island.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Artfully and cleverly designed VERY vertical property with wonderful roof garden.

  • 4 of 5

Loved how the space had been used in the property. It did feel a bit damp and dusty (possible due to building work next door?) but that didn't distract from our stay. The many stairs would not be for the faint hearted or unfit(?). Great location to enjoy the wonderful city of Valletta. The rooftop garden really topped it all - great to sit out in the morning and evening. Apartment was well equipped and great to have WifI and Spotify on hand. Gijs was a great host and sorted out some initial miscommunications about arrival promptly and graciously.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Clean & spacious character property.

  • 4 of 5

The property was clean & spacious with free wifi, comfy beds & nice toiletries.

The kitchen & bathrooms were modern & there was plenty of hot water.

We think it should be emphasised that there are 60 stairs from the front door up to the kitchen & as such may be unsuitable for young children or people with limited mobility.

At the moment there is very noisy building work going on in the adjoining property which starts at 7am every morning & looks like it will continue for quite a few weeks.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Beautiful apartment in a beautiful city

  • 5 of 5

I recently visited the property as a party of 6. The property as a whole is very spacious, all 3 bedrooms were large each sleeping 2. The rooftop area is fantastic. Lots of amenities. Great hospitality from the owners. We had an extremely pleasant stay and would definitely recommend for anyone wishing to stay in the heart of Valetta in a property full of character.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Luqa Malta International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Strait Street
Nearest Ferry
2 Kilometres
Ferry to Sliema or Birgu
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
0.5 Kilometres
Seaside Valletta
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £32.41
Pet Fee £8.76
Damage Deposit £87.59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals