About the property
- Villa4843 sq. ft.
- Separate WC's1
- Minimum Stay1 - 4 nights
4 + 1 Bedroom Villa to Sleep 10 (+2) on the beach at Porto de Mós
Highly acclaimed, multi award winning development including winner of 'Best Property Portugal' by The International Property Awards.
Porto De Mós overlooks the 1.5 km white sand beach of Porto De Mós which is amongst one of the most sought after areas in the Algarve.
All villas boasts exceptional specification overlooking the beach & the ocean, dolphins can frequently be seen crossing the bay from the veranda.
The bustling center of nearby Lagos is only 3 km drive and offers countless attractive restaurants, high quality shopping and a vibrant night life with clubs and bars to suit all tastes.
Porto De Mos is ideally situated to take advantage of the western Algarve's exceptional golf courses and facilities as well as other outdoor activities including surfing and fishing with sea fishing trips leaving from Lagos marina several times a day.
The beach offers first class facilities and is popular with the local and visiting Portuguese and it is home to two quality restaurants & a further Michelin guide restaurant; all within a few minutes walk of the development.
The villas are each totally walled in providing good security, there is a good sized swimming pool set in gardens with outside shower, ample non slip terracing with sun beds, large balcony with dining table & chairs with views down to the beach and out to the ocean. The beach is approx. a 3-4 minute walk away.
The beach offers first class facilities and is popular with the local and visiting Portuguese and it is home to many quality beach front restaurants, all within a few minutes walk of the development
Registo nº 5140/AL
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- English, Portuguese
- Calendar last updated:
- May 25, 2018
About John Griffiths
Having lived in Portugal most of my adult life & loving this part of the Algarve, especially Lagos, Porto de Mós was the obvious choice as it still retains its typical Portuguese charm and as this is where I live it seemed the right choice to provide high quality holidays right here
John Griffiths purchased this Villa in 2007
Why John Griffiths chose Porto de Mós
The 'location' - the Surveyor told me that there are no more than 100 properties along the whole Algarve Coastline in such a location
What makes this Villa unique
The views, changing hourly with all of the different boats, fishermen (day & night), yachts, dolphins & more frequently whales
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
We've recently returned from a 7 night stay in this lovely villa.
We were slightly apprehensive before arriving due to a recent negative review. However, our experience was completely the opposite as we felt everything about the villa was of a very high standard.
John and his team were very helpful during all steps of the booking process. Due to a late flight, we didn't arrive until 12.30 am and were very impressed that John came to meet us at such a late hour to show us around and answer any questions.
I highly recommend this villa if you want something special in a great location with superb sea views.
Luxury to a point
We were 10 people sharing the villa and loved the closeness to the beach and the view to the Atlantic. It's in a new sub division and there is still a lot of construction all around. The villa is spacious but lacks a few essentials and be prepared for Ikea furnishings throughout. No seating in the large kitchen and no info in regard to use of appliances.One large garbage bin, but no replacement bags. Not a roll of kitchen paper towels. 3 pugs for the dishwasher and 3 for the washing machine. You will have to bring your own. Also, only half rolls of toilet paper in each bathroom. Again, bring or buy your own. Rather flimsy towels and no pool towels. The mattresses for the lounges are rubber covered, were rather dirty and will get very hot in the sun. So, we bought our own towels.I believe you can get them from the owner for a fee. The heating and A/C were difficult to regulate. as we were early in the season, we would have liked some heat in the evenings. There was one hairdryer for 5 bedrooms. Again, as we came from overseas , we don't expect to travel with those.
There was BBQ by the pool side in poor repair; we didn't even try to use it. Overall we were disappointed and had expected some basic things would be provided, for the price charged.
One warning, if you are not well able to walk uphill you will have to drive to the beach and it will take longer than the walk.
Still, Lagos and the srrounding area is fabulous and we will return, but will look for other accommodation.
March 30 to April 8, 2017
Thank you for your comments
This is a self catering villa & not a hotel with a reception, we do not provide these services and I can't see us ever being able to do so
You did phone up on numerous occasions demanding more toilet paper etc which was supplied & you did threaten us with a negative review which is your prerogative
If something was dirty then we could have been informed & dealt with it accordingly
& yes a lot of our kitchen utensils, towels etc are from IKEA as they are just up the road and we get through a lot of items with all of our villas & apartments
These luxury beach front properties are not for you
Total Luxury!! Fantastic holiday!
All we can say is WOW!! We hired Casa Mar for a week, and we were certainly not disappointed. From start to finish, John was very easy to contact and answered any queries we had. Even while we were there he was always quick to answer any emails, and there is also a mobile contact number for himself and property agent. The villa itself is stunning and furnished to a very high standard. The views from the main balcony are breath taking. All in all, this will be a hard holiday to top! We were a group of 11(8 adults,3 kids) and the villa was the perfect size to accommodate us all comfortably. Casa Mar and Lagos are the perfect combination!
Very let down at last minute
All I will say is be very careful. We booked this villa for a party of 8 in September. 10 days before we were due to arrive we got a note saying due to technical difficulties we could no longer stay. No other explanation, nothing. No help with finding another villa or anything. We then had 10 days to find something else, which we did but ended up 40 mins away from this location which was not good as we had other friends staying the Lagos area who we were then unable to spend time with.
Our sincere apologies however sometimes, very rarely, we have a technical issue with a property due to previous or current guests or just wear & tear which has to be addressed. This is very seldom
Fantastic location and very spacious home
1. FANTASTIC location...perfect..walking distance to beach.
2. Kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, glasses, and silverware.
3. Washer/dryer is very convenient.
4. Plenty of seating both indoor and outdoor for dining.
5. Pool and pool deck is spacious and clean.
6. Bathrooms and kitchen are very nice and spacious.
7. Villa is very spacious.
1. Bath towels (2 per person) are thin and poor quality (we asked for more and got 2 more per person for the week).
2. Bedding is poor quality...very thin and worn sheets. Pillows were not great.
3. I hired a cleaning person for 85 euros (midweek) but later saw in the welcome book it should have been 15 euros per hour. I had 2 people for 2 hours. Also...they did not change the bedding.
4. WIFI was an extra charge (and it didn't work well)...40 euros. The WIFI that is included is only in the living room of the house.
5. The music system was an extra charge...40 euros
6. The ping pong table was an extra charge...40 euros
7. Beach towels were an extra charge...5 euros each
8. There were no beach chairs/umbrellas to bring to the beach.
9. No noodles or anything in the pool itself.
10. Beds are small...perhaps they are full size, not queen.
11. I called after 3 weeks for the security deposit refund and it was refunded immediately. Not sure if it would have happened if I didn't inquire.
All in all it was a fantastic villa to stay at because of the location and the house itself. I would rather pay more in the initial price and not have to pay extra charges once I arrive. I also would like more luxurious towels and bedding. However, I would stay here again...I would just be better prepared.
Thank you for your review, our extras if required (and they are optional) are;
Pool heating £295 per week
Beach towel £8
Extra Bed £50
Cot with high chair £30
Air hockey table £50
Ping Pong Table £50
Snooker/Pool Table £50 (90cm x 180cm)
Music Center with iphone/ipod connector £50
Baggage storage £50
Late check out (when possible) £100
Wifi Is Free
Pool inflatables are left from previous guests if usable
Beach chairs & umbrellas are available for rent on the beach
Bedding & towels are changed yearly
Security deposits are refunded via Home Away 7 days after departure
The Perfect Property
Our family of 4 had a lovely stay here. The house is beautifully planned & built, in a superb location. It is modern & as new, extremely spacious & is finished to a very high standard indeed. Lovely pool (did not need heating in July), big rooms/en suites & fully air conditioned throughout. The beach is on your doorstep, with lovely restaurants & Lagos just a mile away. If you want a holiday in the sun, with true quality accommodation, this is the one ! 10/10.
This luxury villa is located on & overlooking the beach of Porto de Mós and within a short distance of Lagos town centre, there are 2 restaurants on Porto de Mós beach and a further 2 within easy walking distance plus numerous cafés & restaurants around Lagos. International supermarkets are within a 5 minute drive as is Boa Vista golf course. Porto de Mós caters for scenic walks along the cliff tops to the nearby village of Luz. The beach is wind protected and at low tide there are many small rock pools ideal for children. Kayaking, boating & surfing is available on the beach & trips are all day from Lagos Marina & boulevard.
Kayaking is a must as there are many caves & smaller beaches within a short distance of Porto de Mós beach, great for snorkeling in inaccessible areas
Other Activities: Surf, Kite Surf, Jet Ski, Scuba
Golf: Penina, Boa Vista, Parque da Floresta, Palmares are all within 5-15mins of the villa, Oceanico Courses are 30-45mins away
Additional pricing information
CONTACT US FOR ANY DATES NOT ADVERTISED Mid stay linen & towel change, bathroom & kitchen clean included for holidays of more than 10 days Pool Heating, Cots & Highchairs, Internet, Ping Pong Table & extra cleaning available by request at extra cost