HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Magnificent bay view, watch the wildlife & amazing sunsets

Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property

Watch the dolphins, walk the 8 mile beach, watch the sunset and wildlife of the Bay on the porch, bring your horses (stables below) and ride the beach or use the kayak. Fish or crab right on the beach or off the pier or go out on the numerous fishing boats and be amazed with your catch. Trout, Flounder and Redfish are more than plentiful. Take yourself away from the bustle of city life and enjoy island living only 2 hours away from New Orleans. Ideal space to have retreats, Bring your students and teach art, yoga or meditation or just book it for a fun week or month with friends or family. Book summer months early June July August to avoid disapointment. Available all year round.

The Island is aprox. 8 miles long and 1 mile wide.

Fully furnished 2 Bedrooms, one with bunks and Queen bed, and master with Queen bed and fireplace. I bathroom and large spacious living/kitchen with panoramic windows all around. Enjoy the large deck to lounge or the covered balcony and watch the amazing birdlife, sunsets and Bay waters. Walk to the beach in 1 minute over the dune, and bring your fishing rods or deck chairs provided

More Details

Owner
Michele Claiborne
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
21 June, 2017

About Michele Claiborne

I am a healer and use this place as my retreat for myself and workshops when guests are not there.

Why Michele Claiborne chose Louisiana

The magnificent sunsets over the bay yet close to the beach and room for my horses below to take them swimming in the ocean. Great for fishing and nothing is too far away on the island

What makes this house unique

Bird watchers Paridise due to the marshes before the Bay

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Grand Isle in Plaquemines Parish

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , 2 Bunk Bed , 2 queen futon beds and 2 Bunkbeds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
A unique opportunity to have somewhere you can bring your horses to ride on the beach, spend time relaxing, fishing or bring some friends or use as a yoga/art retreat.

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(30 traveller reviews)

Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
average rating of 3.7666667 based on 30 reviews
4

Great camp for the price

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. We love Grand Isle. We enjoyed the beautiful Sunset from the back porch. We wish that it would have had access to the bay, but none of the camps near it had access. The property is dated and needs some repairs but for the price I would definitely stay again. The grill outside needs to be replaced and was out of propane. Thank you for letting us stay in your home.

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and you can't beat that sunset on the porch. There is a fishermans path to the bay for future reference (but your ankles will get wet) and the policy for propane on all rentals on the island is to fill the tank if empty(as mentioned in the papers) but grills do get a bit battered on the island and we replace and renovate all the time. However did you get a chance to have a little bonfire with the wood provided as that's magical on a starry night. Hope to see you again Michele
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fun Getaway

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for a few days. We loved the view and how close it is to the beaches. It is only a short walk across the street to the beach. The deck provides great stargazing.

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Cabin in Need of Repairs

  • 1 of 5

We were disappointed by the condition of the cabin. Our first impression was the "Island Inspirations" sign that we were directed to look for. Well, it was lying on the ground and the paint on it was so faded that we could barely read it. Half of the light bulbs were out, the air conditioner in the spare bedroom did not cool well at all (can't imagine being there during the summer) and the floor was rotting in some areas (caution needed near the shower since the floor was very soft). There was mouse/rat dander on the couch, but thankfully we did not see any rodents. There was a dryer on the porch (not sure why since the W/D in the cabin worked). Caution was needed when sitting at the picnic table on the patio to prevent the seat from breaking. There were no outside bins to put our trash in, so we had to leave it on the porch. The outside of the cabin could really benefit from a coat of paint.

Prior to arriving, the only method of communication with the owner (Michelle) was by email. She never responded to the second message that I sent to her. When we arrived, her cell number was provided. Would have been nice to have this prior to the stay (although it is my understanding that she was out of the country). Perhaps someone else could have been available to those renting from her in her absence.

The positives are the view from the porch as well as a fairly well stocked kitchen (pots, pans, utensils, etc). Also, other than the dander on the couch, the cabin was clean. Towels were provided.

We were not expecting a five star resort, but it was really unacceptable that our guests were miserable during the night due to the poor AC in the spare bedroom.

Grand Isle was really nice and we do intend to return. But we would not recommend this cabin. We will be looking for a place that has been better taken care of.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I can only apologize as I was away looking after my sick mother in England and as everyone knows the island is not kind to properties and within one storm many things can happen but I can only assure the next guest that these things will be taken care of...did not know about the ac
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not Prepared for Guests-No Heat

  • 1 of 5

We were scheduled for a couple of days of relaxation on our first trip to Grand Isle. When we arrived at the camp, the temperature inside was 50 degrees. We found a thermostat on the wall and turned it on. We could find no information about what to do about the heat so after several minutes of nothing happening with the thermostat, we contacted the person whom we were told to contact in case we needed something. She explained that there was no central heat and where to find space heaters. There was also a wall heating unit in one of the bedrooms. We turned on the heaters and after about an hour the temperature had only risen 3 degrees. The furniture, including the beds, was too cold to sit on and we realized the furniture would warm up much more slowly than the air. Reluctantly, we decided to leave since it was now late in the day and we had a 3 plus hour drive home.

We knew this was a “camp” and not a beach house so did not expect “all of the comforts of home.” We basically liked what we saw. I will say though that we did not take time to check things out very thoroughly since we mostly were tending to the issue of heat. The location at the end of the road was nice since we expected little or no traffic or other interruptions.

We were quite disappointed about what happened. From our perspective part of having a place prepared for guests is having the place warm enough to be inhabited. We would have been fine if it was 65 degrees and the furniture was comfortable enough to sit on. In addition, the lack of information about the heat was frustrating and part of the place not being prepared for guests.

We emailed the owner to let her know what happened but have not heard back from her so decided to go ahead and write a review.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that this was the case and usually have the heaters out to see and hoped the person looking after the place while I am volunteering in Africa but clearly not. I also did not receive your email but can only apologize and compensate you for your ordeal..it really is a wonderful camp and a beautiful location if the temperature is right. Will be in touch
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for Tarpon 2016 and it was the perfect place for young adults. Great price, and we were honestly just there to have a place to stay. We didn't fish much but they had poles there for us if we wanted too. They had a few things ducked taped together, like the bed, shower head, and a couple of other things. The board walk to the camp that is over the ditch needs to be redone. Very simple fixer-uppers. I would stay here again, especially for the price and view. I did have a hard time getting in touch with her which made me nervous leading up the stay but later found out she had been out of the country for personal reasons which is understandable.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet and peaceful

  • 4 of 5

The camp was dated but clean. We felt right at home. Nice and cozy and a great deal. Loved the porch and sun deck overlooking the bay. Huge comfy couch and large windows. I don't have any complaints.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
New Orleans International
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Ciscos
Nearest Ferry
100 Miles
New Orleans Port
Nearest Golf
24 Miles
Golf and Country club
Nearest Train
100 Miles
New Orleans
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Starfish
Nearest Beach
8 miles of it
Car: necessary

Watch the dolphins, walk the 8 mile beach, watch the sunset and wildlife of the Bay on the porch, bring your horses (stables below) and ride the beach or rent a kayak. Fish or crab right on the beach or off the pier or go out on the numerous fishing boats and be amazed with your catch. Trout, Flounder and Redfish are more than plentiful. Take yourself away from the bustle of city life and enjoy island living only 2 hours away from New Orleans. Ideal space to have retreats, Bring your students and teach art, yoga or meditation or just book it for a fun week or month with friends or family. Book summer months early June July August to avoid disappointment. Available all year round.

The Island is approx. 8 miles long and 1 mile wide.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Grand Isle, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£325
for 2 nights
From
£116
From
£116
Fri,Sat
£711
£1,871
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £23.19
Damage Insurance £34.79
cleaning £57.98

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable