HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Historic Southwest Gardens Neighborhood, Convenient To Everything

70 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Southwest Garden - Southwest Gardens Apartment 1W

Large 1 Bedroom Apartment with a Bonus Room (Sleeps 5)

The Southwest Gardens Apartment is a large one-bedroom, one-bathroom home with a bonus room located just one-block west from the Missouri Botanical Gardens, three-blocks north of the historic Tower Grove Park and less than a mile from the Hill neighborhood. This apartment comes with everything you would need for daily life and comfort. I have laundry machines located in the basement, WiFi and a fenced back yard for your enjoyment. This apartment can sleep up to five guests: one king-sized bed with a memory foam mattress, one queen-sized sleeper sofa with a three inch gel-infused memory foam mattress topper, a full-sized sleeper sofa with three inch gel-infused memory foam mattress topper and linens. The building is located in the heart of the city, making it a perfect location for getting out and about in St. Louis.


Q: Will you take a single night reservation?

A: Yes, if I have a single day gap in my calendar or if it is the day before and I have the night available. Otherwise it is a two night minimum reservation.

Q: How far are you from downtown St. Louis and the Edward Jones Dome aka America's Center?

A: 5-6 Miles or about 10-12 minute car ride depending on where you are going.

Q: Is there public transportation close to the apartment?

A: Yes there is a bus stop one block away. However St. Louis is a car city and there is usually free parking or at the most $5.00 parking in most areas.

Q: When can I check in and how do I get the keys for the apartment?

A: You can arrive anytime after 3:00pm. I can do earlier check in times for no extra charge if the apartment is ready, contact me the day of your check in. There is a lock box next to the main entrance of the building with your keys inside.

Q: What time is check out?

A: (10:00am) However I can do later check out times for no charge if I do not have another guest checking in the same day. Contact me the night before you check out.

Q: Is the neighborhood safe?

A: Yes, I have been living in this building since 2009 with no problems of any kind.

Q: Where is parking and does it cost anything?

A: Parking is on the street in front of the building, it is free and there is plenty for everyone.

Q: What do you provide in the apartment?

A: Please review this entire advertisement, I am very detailed in what I DO and DO NOT provide with updated pictures of everything.

Q: Can we bring our pet if it stays in a cage, is really small, house broken or any other reason you could possibly come up with?

A: NO and if I find that you have a pet in my building I will ask you to leave and you will not get a refund. Also I live in the building so do not try to sneak one in, this includes visiting pets of local friends and family members.

Q: What is your cancellation policy?

A: 60-days to receive a refund from me. However the website offers separate cancellation insurance that can be purchased for a small fee. You will be offered this when you make your reservation.

Q: Do you accept paypal, cash or paper check?

A: No, I accept payments through the website in the form of credit card or E check.

Q: Will you waive the service fee and/or cleaning fee?

A: The service fee is charged by the website, I have no control over this fee and I do not get it. NO I will not waive the cleaning fee.

Q: Are large parties allowed?

A: NO, the apartment has a maximum limit for the amount of guest that can stay. Family and friends are welcome to visit but nothing excessive. This includes family reunions, children's birthday parties, retirement parties, adult birthday parties, ETC.

If there is anything at all wrong with your apartment or something that needs to be addressed during your stay please contact me. I live in the building and can take care of any needs you might have at a moment’s notice.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Mike York
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Mike York

I bought this historic property in 2010 and have been working to upgrade it over the years. I was born and raised in the St. Louis area and enjoy getting out and about in the city by foot, bike and car. Most of my vacations are spent in the mountains either skiing or down-hill mountain biking. I prefer using VRBO for my vacations and have used my experiences to help shape my own. Feel free to ask me for recommendations of good local eats and key attractions on your visit.

Mike York purchased this apartment in 2010

Why Mike York chose Missouri

I bought this building because it is in a quiet, safe, and historic neighborhood. The centrality of the location allows you to drive, walk or bike easily around the city.

What makes this apartment unique

Location, location, location. The apartment is just one-block west of the Missouri Botanical Gardens and three-blocks north of Tower Grove Park. You can walk to several restaurants, shops, parks, the Missouri Botanical Gardens, grocery stores and so much more. Some of the close by neighborhoods that you can walk or bike to include: South Grand, The Hill, Tower Grove South, Shaw, Central West End & The Grove. Also, you have easy freeway access to 64/40, 70, 55 and 44.

Guestbook comments from the owner


I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for our wonderful stay in St. Louis this past weekend. Your place was just as expected, clean and spacious, and the location was magnificent for our needs. We left your unit the gifts of a simple cheese grater and small cutting board:).

If we head back to St. Louis I will definitely think of you again.

Best Regards,

B. D.
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 4


based on 70 holidaymaker reviews

Historic Southwest Gardens Neighborhood, Convenient To Everything
average rating of 4.6714287 based on 74 reviews

Great location; super host

  • 5 of 5

My week-long vacation to my home town could not have been better! The Garden Neighborhood was delightful and my apartment perfect. Shaw's Gardens, Tower Grove Park, fun shopping and a multitude of unusual, great restaurants were within the neighborhood. Forest Park, The Hill, the Central West End, and even super yoga classes were a ten minute drive away. Mike was available immediately for any questions (initially I had difficulty operating the lockbox for the key - Mike was out the door to help literally two seconds after I hit "send" on my text to him!). The apartment is darling - historic with the arched doorways and detail. Amazingly for a building of the period, there was ample closet and pantry space - AND with plenty of hangers! The kitchen was supplied with far more than Mike had indicated in the "supply list" - even full ice trays. The bedroom mattress was incredibly comfortable and there were sufficient linens and foam mattress tops for extra bedding on the couches. Parking within one building of the apartment was available at all times of day and night. Mike was friendly, informative and added to my stay. I definitely will stay in this property again. Thanks , Mike, for making this such a great trip for me.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little apartment

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I brought our toddler to St. Louis for our first family vacation last month. After searching for hotels in the Forest Park area that would offer space for our little one to move about, we quickly realized that was going to cost us a small fortune. I am so glad my husband found this place!!! This was our first time renting a place on VRBO and we'll definitely plan to do it for future trips! Awesome experience.The location was very easy to find, close to all the attractions we were planning to visit and the perfect size for our family of 3 (although there was plenty of space for more). There was even a nice little patio and back yard to let the little one run instead of being cooped up when we were not out and about the city. The streets in this area are narrow, but we never had any trouble driving or parking our SUV- always got a spot right in front of the house. When we ran into the owner and chatted, he said his goal was to be cheaper and cleaner than a hotel and I'd say he definitely accomplished that! I would definitely recommend this rental.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review and please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This was a perfect spot in St Louis!! Near all the tourist spots and Wash. U & St Louis University!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this little cottage. Close to all the wonderful tourist spots. Very cozy and comfortable. Extremely clean!! We are looking forward to our next stay in May!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review and please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis. ALSO: for anyone reading this review this property is an apartment in a four unit apartment building, NOT a cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Desoto, MO

Unique, cozy & centralized!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I live an hour outside the city and needed a weekend getaway spot that had a reasonable price point, privacy and that wouldn't be too far from our STL fave spots and we surely found it here! It is a beautiful and charming space to relax in. The kitchen had everything I needed to cook a few meals for us, the apartment has plenty of natural light and clean! We will recommend to any and all! The owner was responsive to my messages and I appreciated that. We had a great stay here and plan to come back for sure.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review and please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy home with everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

We were in town for a 5 day convention at the Americas Center and this location was spot on. The neighborhood is quiet and very safe. Close to most everything you would need and Mike was extremely helpful with all the pointers to anything we had questions about; whether it was good local places to eat or must see attractions. We stayed on the first floor which was very convenient with all our luggage. Everything was nicely decorated and the home appeared actually larger than we even anticipated. The only downfall (if that) I would say is with it being an older building (which I actually love) and with hard wood floors, the slightest noise does travel, so my pointer for future renters would be to make sure that all staying with you are aware of this and to keep in mind the quiet hours as remarked in the agreement. We were made aware of this and even the second night, we kept it way down (even went to bed early lol) but it seemed the noise still traveled. So just be mindful of this with your family or group so that you can be respectful of other renters in the building as well as to Mike too :-) aside from that, it was a pleasant stay and we really enjoyed the home. Thanks Mike!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review and please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great area and apartment

  • 5 of 5

Very nice area and the apartment was very clean and nice and had everything we needed. Mike was very helpful. Would stay here again for sure

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review and please come stay again on your next trip to Saint Louis.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15.6 Miles
Lambert International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sasha's Wine Bar
Nearest Golf
4.8 Miles
Forest Park Golf Course
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.8 Miles
Interstate 44
Nearest Restaurant
0.06 Miles
Nearest Ski
26.9 Miles
Hidden Valley Ski Resort
Car: not necessary

Must See Sites: Missouri Botanical Gardens, St. Louis Zoo, Tower Grove Park, The Arch, St. Louis Science Center, Missouri History Museum, Art Museum, City Museum, Union Station, Busch Stadium, Budweiser Brewery, Schlafly Bottle Works, 6 Flags Over Mid America, Forest Park, The Hill, University City Loop, and many more.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Southwest Garden, Missouri

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £20

Sun - Thurs $99.00 per night
Fri - Sat $110.00 per night
$25.00 Cleaning fee
Minimum 2 night stay
Credit Card Accepted

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Southwest Garden, USA

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 875 sq. ft.
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • One roll of toilet paper, hand soap, towels, travel-sized shampoo, travel-sized conditioner, and travel-sized bar soap. You will need to supply any additional toilet paper, soaps or personal items.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Memory Foam Mattress
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen pullout sleeper sofa with 3" gel-memory foam topper
    Bonus Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Full pullout sleeper sofa with 3" gel-memory foam topper
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • gambling casinos
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • tennis
You are welcome to bring your own bicycles and store them in the basement, it is a great way to tour the city and/or the surrounding neighborhoods.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties