HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming Secluded Cottage & Lake, True Waterfront, Near to Boston & the Seacoast

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Golden Deer is A Charming, Secluded, Private, Two Bedroom, Seasonal NH Rental

Golden Deer Cottage is your private vacation get-away. This property offers an updated, charming, open concept style cottage on a true waterfront, and unique seclusion at the end of a private road, nearby one of the town's natural areas and many lovely upscale neighborhoods. Cottage amenities include WiFi, washer & dryer, south-side patio overlooking the water, kayaks, and much more!

** BOOK NOW FOR YOUR 2018 VACATION (2017 is now Full) **

This peaceful and natural setting is ideal for couples and small families seeking to get away and relax. Only non-motorized boats are allowed on the lake, enhancing the natural atmosphere and offering worry-free, enjoyable swimming for both children and adults absent the turbidity, wake and noise caused by fast-moving motorized watercraft. The lake is spring-fed with refreshing, therapeutic, clean water. And the property has a crystal-clear flowing artisan well.

Located on the premier side of the lake, you can also enjoy long afternoons of sunbathing and fun on your own lawn and private sandy beach, swimming, fishing, canoeing, pedal boat riding, hiking, walking, rock climbing, wildlife & bird watching, and viewing foliage, followed by spectacular sunsets!

Conveniently located just 35 miles north of Boston off Route 93, it is the perfect place to enjoy and explore New England. Enjoy the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere, yet just minutes away are family-friendly, affordable and award-winning restaurants, Canobie Lake Amusement Park and tax free shopping at NH's Rockingham Park Mall. The cottage is also 30 minutes to Manchester and the seacoast, Hampton and Salisbury beaches, and is less than an hour to Portsmouth and Maine outlets.

More Details

Owner
Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 August, 2017

About Owner/Property Manager

Our family has owned and offered this preferred Southern New Hampshire vacation rental property since 2004. Lifelong New Englanders, we are design professionals who appreciate the lakeside lifestyle and charm of the era in which this cottage was built, yet we have updated the space with modern amenities and other enhancements that give it today's comfort and convenience. In raising our children at the lake, we understand what our guests may want or need to have an enjoyable stay here. The proof is in the kind thank-you notes that families write us in addition to their guestbook entries, the great reviews we receive year after year, and the many returning guests.

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Merrimack Valley

Located just a short distance from the MA/NH border, the cottage is a quick 30 minute drive to Manchester and the Seacoast, and under an hour to Boston.

Nearby are Malls, Golf Courses, Canobie Lake Amusement Park, Verizon Wireless Arena, Museums, Award-Winning Restaurants, Cinemas and other entertainment and shoppes.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Windham in Rockingham County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Custom Italian marble shower with a handheld shower head (30 x 30 square)
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , 2017 Stearns & Foster Luxury Plush Hybrid Mattress
    2nd Bedroom: - 1 Child Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , (Full-size Standard Twins bunked)
  • Fans in both bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • Rock Climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Golden Deer has all the comforts of home, including fresh linens and bedding, the above amenities, free Wi-Fi and more, including: Private/on water deck w/patio furniture; UV-block umbrellas; private sandy beach and upland beach; boat dock; swimming raft; BBQ-grill; lobster pot; cable/TV/DVD/Stereo surround sound entertainment system with Bluetooth; portable fans; wood stove; fireplace at water's edge w/complimentary firewood. Available (no charge): pedal boat, row boat, kayaks, stand up paddle board

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Charming Secluded Cottage & Lake, True Waterfront, Near to Boston & the Seacoast
average rating of 4.681818 based on 22 reviews
5

Cottage was Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you very much for helping me and my family have a wonderful vacation in NH! The cottage was amazing! The whole family could not get enough of all the lake had to offer. The boats, fishing, raft and private beach were spectacular. The fire pits on the beautifully landscaped back yard were perfect. The kids and I will not be able to forget this place and we hope to come back when we return from overseas. Your support and appreciation meant a lot. Thank you for your flexibility and hospitality.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
29 0
5

Wonderful property with lots to do!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! There is lots to do at the lake house... swimming, kayaking, fishing, hiking and more! My family had a great time enjoying all it has to offer.

The house is extremely functional too... the kitchen has a refrigerator, stove, microwave, Keurig or traditional coffee pot and a nice island as well as table to eat at. The bathroom was simple but all you need for a lake vacation, yes the shower is small but very nice tile work. There is a washer and dryer in the basement which was great to have access to. You do have to go outside to get to it though.

We enjoyed the secluded location as well as the look of the house. It is not far from stores and restaurants too. It was a wonderful vacation and we will possibly return for future visits.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Davidsonville, MD
5

Perfect location. Helpful owner.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a lovely few days on the lake. Your place was the perfect location to explore the best of New Hampshire. While we were out and about much of our time here, we loved coming back to the sanctuary of the cottage and celebrated some family time. Although it was too chilly to swim we made great use of the boats (every single one!) and the fishing gear. Our son had great luck and caught (and released!) three fish in rapid succession. Made his day! Based on this trip, we may end up being neighbors... Many Thanks! Team Richards

  • Review Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

Wonderful home in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We were amazed to find such a comfortable cozy cottage on the lake with a nice combination of sun and shade, the seating areas on the deck and near the water are perfect for enjoying the spot. The views from inside the house as you cook and eat are nice too. My family was grateful for the thoughtful accommodations with many extras such as the grill, outdoor fire and firewood, two docks, choice of boats, lifejackets, fishing gear, beach towels, washer and dryer and Wi-Fi to name a few. It was clean and had extra linens. We enjoyed this private area and lake, sunrises and colorful sunsets, nice walking trails, and everything is very peaceful, you can sit and read a walk and quiet anytime of day. The location is also great with shopping and restaurants close by and a short ride to the beach which we really loved. The owners are very nice couple. They were there to meet us and helped us know where all the local stores were. We have not seen this at other owner rental homes. They care about your stay and have something special here. We planned our vacation for some much needed family time and this place checked all the boxes for us to do that and we plan on coming back next year! We will recommend the cottage to family and friends.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Having stayed in rental properties as a couple and with our children prior to renting our own cottage, along with raising our children on the lake, we understand what our guests may want or need to have an enjoyable stay here. The proof is in the kind thank-you notes that families write us, the great reviews, and the many returning guests. We look forward to seeing this family in 2017 and welcoming them back for the same week as their 2016 stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
5

A special place with welcoming owners

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was one of our favorite get-aways in New England! We love the peaceful, quiet atmosphere and the beautiful setting nestled near woods but has lots of light. It is secluded on a private road with no traffic. The owners are friendly, flexible and have gone beyond our expectations. Our arrival was late and the stores were closed. The owner met us and provided us with coffee and cream for the morning along with bagels and cream cheese and jams. It was really kind of her and such a nice touch. You can see all the attention they put into the amenities, like a Bluetooth device and iPhone charging cord in case you forgot yours, and into the property as well. The accommodations are comfortable and very clean, with a cozy wood stove. Outside, on the deck there is a nice patio set with a large umbrella to enjoy the weather and your meals, and near the water is a seating area and chiminea with plenty of firewood. We love to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening by the water. The sunsets were beautiful over the water and the mornings so quiet and conducive to meditation; I liked to put my chair on the dock and read and listen to the birds and other nature sounds that surround you. My husband liked to fish off the dock. We also loved the option of being able to kayak or take the pedal-boat or rowboat around the pond. Another feature that you don't always find is a full laundry room. This is perfect for a weeklong stay. Everyone has a different idea about how and where they like to spend their leisure time. Although we took advantage of the great restaurants nearby and spent some time in Boston, for us, the cottage was everything we needed, a peaceful and beautiful place that we intend to return to. I recommend it to anyone!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoy welcoming guests from across the country (and internationally), and it is always gratifying to hear that the cottage provided a memorable New England experience for them. With a number of bustling historic cities to tour so close to our cottage, a quiet bucolic lake offers the best of both worlds.
Did you find this review helpful?
26 0
1

troublesome owner

  • 1 of 5

There is no direct access to the lake from the house. You

exit from a side door, walk around the house and down several stairs to the

beach. There are 5 windows that face the lake but 3 of them do not open

as the latches are broken. This hinders any breeze coming off the lake and the latches should be repaired.

The house has a strong smell of mildew and moth

balls which is disconcerting, especially in the cooking area. There is no tub and

the smallest shower I have ever seen, the entry measures about 18 inches

so it's a tight fit for an adult and then showering is uncomfortable. The dock

is rickety and shakes when you walk on it. The dock should be replaced

or removed as it is a safety hazard. The raft in the pond is nice and peaceful

and the area is quiet. The washer and drier are very old and at check in,

the owner told the washer door doesn't latch properly, and so the washer

may not work. She said they "came with the house" and doesn't appear

they plant to replace/fix it. The house is plagued by large black ants that stumble inside and then die, so there must be poison inside the walls or around the foundation of the house. The owner was difficult to work with late refunding my deposit.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: One of the best features the property offers is its location: private and secluded yet near to so much. Due to concerns for how secluded the area is, April’s husband wasn’t able to travel with her to the lake. Two days prior to arrival, she phoned very upset about the privacy policy that is a courtesy to our guests and helps to ensure that, in this remote setting, there are no intrusions while guests are enjoying their vacation. It was a shame we didn’t have more notice; we really would have liked to be able to help them. We are always willing to be as flexible as possible and want all our guests to be comfortable at the cottage in every way. Naturally, we had concern with this reservation after the call. We did our best to accommodate April, including late arrival. During your booking, we encourage questions so that we may be able to help you make the most of what this property offers for your stay. In the items mentioned, there’s some conjecture about our practices, professionalism and intentions, so we offer some clarification here: Access is from the south-side deck, 30ft from the shore; The mechanism on 1 of 7 lakeside casement windows in the main living space was recently damaged and needs to be replaced but is a discontinued part–cranks are clockwise and counterclockwise; Cleaning is a policy and commitment to guests–our professional service uses environmentally safe products. There’s no use/odor of mothballs, or mildew; Noted on our listing, we offer a custom Italian marble standup w/a handheld shower head; Dock is engineered as a long-span with normal deflection–the beams and support structure were replaced last year. It’s been in this current configuration for 30+ years and is valued in its charm and grandfathered status; We offer the front-loading W&D because it cleans clothes very well–both machines run fine. Some have found the latch to be tight as it’s a new part, and it’s why we mention it at check-in. Guests find it helpful to understand the functionality of our equipment/amenities. We also mention the AV system, grill, fire alarms, etc., & NH/Windham safety rules; Our home is professionally exterminated–the strategy involves bait, trap and diminish, including a CO2 mosquito trap. We are very mindful of the health and well-being of our children, your children and the lake and require products designed to be safe for humans. Our policies are noted in the rental agreement and listing. Overall, we continually enhance the property year-to-year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 29

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Boston Logan Int'l at 40 miles / Manchester•Boston
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Windham, New Hampshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2017
28 May 2017 - 9 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,463
for 7 nights
From
£200
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,231
for 7 nights
£1,231
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £66.03
Damage Deposit £233.04

SPECIAL RATE ANY SEASON: As a preferred vacation rental in Southern New Hampshire for over a decade, each year we offer a 5% discount to guests staying longer than one week. So, visit with family or explore New England longer, and save at Golden Deer Cottage!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rentals are from Saturday to Saturday.
We are unable to accommodate pets.
Golden Deer is a smoke-free cottage.
Leaf Peeping Season: September & October - $500/2 night minimum, weekend stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals