Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Lakefront cottage, dock, kayaks, swimspa firepit! Great for family with kids.

Bedrooms 1
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

This cottage has a great view and on one of the best 2 lakes Campau and Kettle Lake near Grand Rapids and just minutes from Kent County Airport (grr) and we can pick you up with our car service.

You will stay in our cottage on the water lake level which has a full kitchen dining room living room bathroom 1 bedrooms with bunk bed full over full and 2 couch futons open floor plan and 50-55 inch tv with streaming wifi, and Netflix and maybe basic cable.

Patio deck, grill and access to the dock and water areas with kayaks and pontoon boat rental options you can book this on our site.

This will also include the volleyball net use, horseshoes, yard games, fire pit, fish and great view and swim spa use after it has been installed this Spring /summer 2018

We also offer great venue option with DezziRides app and our shuttle service DADDS Magic Bus and Limousine $12 per person min 6 people each way to Grand Rapids, MI downtown

This lake is stocked with Muske (must be 36 inches to keep) and has plenty of pan fish and is on a culdesac with no neighbors accross the street and is located next to a seperate but larger 4 story 9 bedroom (found on homeaway #155529) that rents with options for 1 or 3 levels in case you want to add this on the the larger one or vise versa.

There is a basketball court at the school on the corner and plenty of kids playground fun items for a walk to the corner. We also have a great restraunt just upon corner the Nighthawk and the Pizza Place Paradise pizza will give you a special get the large pizza discount just mention the blue roof. Find these places on our DezziRides app also an see specials they offer as they will change.

Parking in 4 spots on the rental and boat launch across the lake (Note that Campau Lake and Kettle Lake adjoin to make one big lake) unit is at 8770 Garbow Drive Alto Mi 49302 not at 407 Turner that's our corporate office for the limousine services.

Please drive slow and respect our neighbors and remember your visiting the lake that is peoples back yard, please show respect, boat safely counterclockwise and 100 feet from docks and boats.

One complaint will result in issues that may result in a request for early departure. So if this is understandable we want you to stay and if not please choose another location politely requested. We love our lake, neighbors and everyones safety.

More Details

Property Manager
Frank or Ron
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 September, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage around the Grand Rapids around the Kent County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • No loud music after 10pm, no party groups 8 max unless you rent house next door. Drive slow on way to property and when leaving. Drive safely on water
  • Pontoon boat rental available on our site, kayaks and water toys are shared
  • Swim pool spa is shared and extra expense to use is $25 added to total or checki, and our grill is pay it forward as far as propane is concerned.
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 8
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool


2/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
100% Complete
0% Complete
Lakefront cottage, dock, kayaks, swimspa firepit! Great for family with kids.
average rating of 2.0 based on 2 reviews

Michigan vacation cottage that could use some work

  • 2 of 5

Spent 3 nights at this cottage and had some issues. The shower handle came apart in my hand that lead to not being able to use the water (including toilet) at all for 1 day and did not have any hot water for 2 days. The bathroom door was off one hinge and could not be completely shut. The couch was very nice in its day but the padding was very worn and the reclining chairs did not function. The hot tub was spacious, but did lose temperature very quickly. The lake was very nice and the cottage had a small boat and a couple kayaks it shared with the neighboring house. I felt the cottage was over priced, but with a few repairs and a new couch could be a nice 1 bedroom cottage. There is a $50 linen fee that is not disclosed until you get onsite. Take cash for that fee.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes we rent this as advertised a cottage with a great location and we really want to allow guests to use both locations for the same group. However we have 1 swim pool spa its brand new and keep the temp about air temp as its summer. The 1200-1400 gallons of water will take at least 1hour to get 4-6 degrees, im sure you cant find this within 45 miles if this property and so close to Grand Rapids. The beaches are shared with 3 docks kayaks and swim platform row boatand optional pontoon boat rental as seen on our site 4rentus fir a moderate rate also not available in the area. The other ussues are handled with a quick text or call to our team we monitor this we respond rather quickly. The plumbing company had just installed $3500 in new plumbing to include new toilet parts. The handle on the shower worked prior to guest arrival and then was broken. We assume from wear but at least this guest gave us a call to inform us and a text. We dispatched repair they fixed temporarily with and left a wrench as they stated it was broke off not wear. The guest left it running and tiok off instead of turning off the well pump right in plain site, so it ran for 2 hours before technician could arrive....really? Either way we will move on with a new part its part of the bussiness. The sliding door for the bathroom is i assume wear? The place is ausome large 8 burner gas grill private firepit, swim pool spa and 55 inch television, volleyball, water toys and picnic tables with umbrellas and yard games. Its a cottage and it has a lot of potential for somone that can find some joy in a get away. Sometimes joy is in a raindrop you just need to be aware of its souroundings. Like the 4 story we rent right next door you can book both places and have a great time with up to 60 guests. We will do our best to have everyone happy with everything working, and were i ly a phone call ir text away incase you break something or it wears out. We have over 50 places we manage please look for your special memory. We also have transportation services DADDS MAGIC bus and LIMOUSINE and a cool app with venues and special discounts Dezzirides app Thanks Frank Roberts 4rentus
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tired property

  • 2 of 5

I never received check in instructions prior to arrival even though I messaged the morning prior to arrival. I finally placed a call because I did not have the proper address which was my fault because it was buried in an description which included the other properties they had listed. Prior to getting to the cottage, I received a call from the cleaning person that she had not been notified earlier so the unit would not be cleaned until around 5:30; check in was 3:00. I asked if we could wait at the property until she came to clean so my dad and nephew could fish. This was agreeable. The property is older which is not a problem except the bathroom door is a pocket door which doesn't close all the way because it can't stay on its track. She said the owner offered to upgrade us to the nicer unit next door at no cost; it also needed to be cleaned. We said we would take the upgrade because the bathroom was more handicap accessible and the door actually closed. We left to have dinner. While at dinner, she called to tell me the unit was ready but I would need to make the beds. Also, there was a cleaning fee (not disclosed prior) that I could leave on the table in cash. Also, the TV was not working so they opened the unit above us for that. My nephew is in a wheelchair, my parents are elderly and none of them can climb the stairs. We went to bed and left early the next day. Very disappointed with the experience. I did not leave the fee.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, We provide text check in for 2 years the text is shared with the cleaner check in person, our general manager our maintenance person and the guest. We provide this on a group text, this way any needs can be met asap. We are a vacation rental home service 4rentus and not a hotel with handicap requirements. We try to please everyone and it's tough, however this location on the water at the end if a culdesac with breathtaking sunrises and ausome sunsets with a great layout between 2 houses sits a pool spa and volleyball court shared for great family reunions is the best in Grand Rapids area. We offer our free DezziRides app and transportation with DADDS MAGIC BUS AND LIMOUSINE for $12 to anywhere in Grand Rapids for groups to include other areas. We have a pontoon rental on site you can book on our web pages along with yachts and other requests we tried to accomodate So we will offer Free upgrades as she stated and we provided (still not good enough) and if you have to check in early or out late typically if no other guests are arriving or departing it's no charge. Hey we appreciate your business and aim to please, if we missed the mark please accept our apology. Let's plan ahead next time and talk maybe the technology texting isn't for everyone. Thanks Frank Roberts 4rentus
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Additional Guest Fee £30.5
Pet Fee £38.12

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.