HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 9 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • children welcome

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 9 nights

Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • children welcome

About the property

Beautiful Swedish Cottage on 100' of private shoreline on Little Pequaywan Lake

**From early June through the end of August, we only rent from Saturday through Saturday to ensure solid bookings all summer long. Please contact us if you have any questions about this policy!**

This new construction is wonderfully appointed and a great space for your getaway. The interior is constructed with light bright aspen paneling & red oak flooring. The vaulted great room is terrific for entertaining and warming next to the woodstove. The custom kitchen boasts granite countertops, stainless appliances, a center island for gathering and is fully furnished. The full bath is finished off with black Vermont slate, granite countertops and aspen paneling. The two bedrooms and sleeping loft comfortably sleep 6-8 guests. The large deck overlooking the lake leads to a good sized flat yard perfect for playing catch or other outdoor games. From the yard there is set of stairs to the swimming area & dock. The swimming area has clear water with a solid gravel bottom.

Winter: For snowmobiling fanatics, this property is located w/in one mile of the Pequaywan & Brimson Trails! The lake offers a number of species for ice fishermen. The area also has significant public property available for cross country skiing and snowshoeing! We keep the sauna open all winter to allow as many guests as possible to use the amenity. When there are extremely cold temperatures, the sauna may not heat up to the desired temperature. Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

Summer: Our sauna is a great way to relax at the end of a hard day of vacationing. To add to your relaxing vacation, we also offer a patio with grill/patio furniture, kayaks, and many other amenities for you to enjoy! Little Pequaywan Lake (aka Smith Lake) contains walleye, crappies, pan fish, bass and northern pike for fishing enthusiasts.

More Details

Owner
Roxanne
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 February, 2017

About Roxanne

The cottage on Little Pequaywan is owned by a group of friends from the Duluth area who have maintained their friendship through their shared love of the outdoors. Throughout the last several years, we have completed some wild adventures together, such as: kayaking the Mississippi River, biking around Lake Superior and hiking the Grand Canyon from rim to rim to rim.

Lately, we have decided to spend more time enjoying the area we have all lived in for most of our lives, Northern Minnesota! In order to enjoy the area to the fullest extent, we decided to purchase a cabin on one of the most beautiful lakes in the area, Little Pequaywan Lake.

A little more about us:

Tony: Grew up in Chisholm, Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; is currently employed as an engineer in Duluth.

Chandra: Grew up in Minnesota; graduated from Lake Superior College; currently employed in the physical therapy field in the Duluth area.

Lucas: Grew up in Northern Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Twin Cities; currently making paper in Wisconsin.

Roxanne: Grew up in Sturgeon Lake, MN; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; currently employed in the human resources field in Wisconsin.

Roxanne purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Roxanne chose Minnesota

The first time we drove up to this property we knew it was the one for us (likely the reason why we made an offer to purchase the next day!).

The well built and beautifully furnished cottage is situated 100' from the waters edge with a panoramic view from the living room, dining room and front patio. At the waters edge you will find 100' of lakeshore with a hard gravel bottom and a dock to enjoy everything the lake has to offer.

What makes this cottage unique

The beautifully furnished living/dining area is a great place to relax and converse after a long day on the water or in the many acres of state owned forest just minutes from the cabin.

If the outdoors is your primary reason for visiting, you will really enjoy fishing on Little Pequaywan Lake (very little traffic, no public landing) or snowmobiling on the many miles of local trails (less than a mile from the Brimson and Pequaywan trails).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just spent our first wedding anniversary here. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and seclusion. Didn't expect the snowy view, would like to enjoy the cabin in nicer weather. Thanks Lucas and Tony for the chance to stay here. We look forward to making more memories here.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 18

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Duluth, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Towels are provided for each guest.
  • Towels and toilet paper are provided, shower with Vermont slate surround, Vermont slate flooring, granite countertop!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Bedroom 1 contains king bed, flat screen TV and dresser.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Bedroom 2 contains a double bed and two night stands.
    Bedroom 3 - 4 Single Bed , The loft contains four twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(75 traveller reviews)

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
average rating of 4.76 based on 93 reviews
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was so beautiful! It was fully stocked with everything we needed for a weekend of cooking, playing games, and enjoying each other's company. The hosts were easy to communicate with and even allowed us to bring our dogs. Highly recommend this property and would return over and over again!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed our stay! It's or goal to make sure each and every guests has a wonderful stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Brighton, MN
5

Relaxing get away

  • 5 of 5

The rental was clean and easy to access. We loved this cozy place and had a great girls weekend getaway and will definitely be returning.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the cabin to your liking. Please come back and stay with us sometime, we'd love to have you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice and confortable. We were impressed with the interior and privacy.

  • 5 of 5

Overall it was a great place to stay and would come back again.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, it's a beautiful place for a winter and summer getaway.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Minneapolis
4

Beautiful secluded cabin

  • 4 of 5

This is a review for renting in the winter. Group of four over a weekend in December with temps around or below 0.

Overall it was a nice place to stay but there are a few small things that could easily be improved.

Pros:

Great kitchen for cooking

Comfortable beds

Right on the lake

Beautiful and warm wood stove

Lots of sleep arrangements to choose from

Lots of windows to let the light in

Cons:

NO wi-fi or cell access so plan accordingly (and this is not mentioned posting)

Only one towel was provided for our group of four so bring your own towels to be on the safe side

Sauna did not work well in the cold temps

Driveway was not well plowed

Conflicting check-out times between the website and the welcome booklet

  • Review Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We certainly apologize about the towels. Our house cleaner must have read the guest information wrong. We will put out extras just to make sure this doesn't happen again. We do not have wi-fi and some cell carriers do not work well at our cabin, AT&T for example works well, so it just depends on which carrier you have. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your enjoyed our cabin! Hopefully you can come back when the weather is a bit nicer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NYA, MN
5

Perfect little getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at this cabin and it was wonderful again! Love the cozy wood-burning fire place as well as the beautiful view. We'll continue to return!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a cold and snowy stay in the north woods. We played in the snow with our two young kids, but stayed warm in this cozy cabin. Enjoyed the sauna and the wood burning stove. Kitchen was great. Our stay was perfectly enjoyable.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! The fireplace sure gets good use in the winter. Thanks for the review, we hope you can come back again in the future sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Duluth International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Spirit Mountain
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Duluth, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Summer
12 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£307
for 2 nights
From
£153
£1,027
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
June 3 - June 10, 2017
3 Jun 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,199
 
 
June 10 - June 17, 2017
10 Jun 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,370
 
 
June 24 - July1, 2017
24 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,370
 
 
July 1 - July 8, 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,542
 
 
July 8 - July 15, 2017
8 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,456
 
 
July 15 - July 22, 2017
15 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,456
 
 
July 22 - July 29, 2017
22 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,456
 
 
July 29 - August 5, 2017
29 Jul 2017 - 4 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,542
 
 
August 5 - August 12, 2017
5 Aug 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,542
 
 
August 12 - August 19, 2017
12 Aug 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,542
 
 
August 19 - August 26, 2017
19 Aug 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,542
 
 
August 26 - September 4, 2017
26 Aug 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
9 night minimum stay
£1,713
 
 
Fall Colors!
4 Sep 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£272
for 2 nights
From
£136
£942
 
 
Winter Break
22 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£290
for 2 nights
From
£145
£942
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£255
for 2 nights
From
£128
From
£145
Fri,Sat
£856
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £32 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £401
Tax Rate 6.88%

-Maximum number of guests = 8
-Check-out time 10 am, check-in time 4 pm.
-no Wi-Fi available, cell phone coverage quality depends on the provider, some have no reception, be prepared
-If folks need to contact you at the cabin or you need to make a call, there is a land line available for (218) 848-2601 for urgent or emergency use.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties