HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 9 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 9 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Duluth - Little Pequaywan Cottage

Beautiful Swedish Cottage on 100' of private shoreline on Little Pequaywan Lake

**From early June through the end of August, we only rent from Saturday through Saturday to ensure solid bookings all summer long. Please contact us if you have any questions about this policy!**

This new construction is wonderfully appointed and a great space for your getaway. The interior is constructed with light bright aspen paneling & red oak flooring. The vaulted great room is terrific for entertaining and warming next to the woodstove. The custom kitchen boasts granite countertops, stainless appliances, a center island for gathering and is fully furnished. The full bath is finished off with black Vermont slate, granite countertops and aspen paneling. The two bedrooms and sleeping loft comfortably sleep 6-8 guests. The large deck overlooking the lake leads to a good sized flat yard perfect for playing catch or other outdoor games. From the yard there is set of stairs to the swimming area & dock. The swimming area has clear water with a solid gravel bottom.

Winter: For snowmobiling fanatics, this property is located w/in one mile of the Pequaywan & Brimson Trails! The lake offers a number of species for ice fishermen. The area also has significant public property available for cross country skiing and snowshoeing!

Summer: Our sauna is a great way to relax at the end of a hard day of vacationing. To add to your relaxing vacation, we also offer a patio with grill/patio furniture, kayaks, and many other amenities for you to enjoy! Little Pequaywan Lake (aka Smith Lake) contains walleye, crappies, pan fish, bass and northern pike for fishing enthusiasts.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Roxanne
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
2 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Roxanne

The cottage on Little Pequaywan is owned by a group of friends from the Duluth area who have maintained their friendship through their shared love of the outdoors. Throughout the last several years, we have completed some wild adventures together, such as: kayaking the Mississippi River, biking around Lake Superior and hiking the Grand Canyon from rim to rim to rim.

Lately, we have decided to spend more time enjoying the area we have all lived in for most of our lives, Northern Minnesota! In order to enjoy the area to the fullest extent, we decided to purchase a cabin on one of the most beautiful lakes in the area, Little Pequaywan Lake.

A little more about us:

Tony: Grew up in Chisholm, Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; is currently employed as an engineer in Duluth.

Chandra: Grew up in Minnesota; graduated from Lake Superior College; currently employed in the physical therapy field in the Duluth area.

Lucas: Grew up in Northern Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Twin Cities; currently making paper in Wisconsin.

Roxanne: Grew up in Sturgeon Lake, MN; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; currently employed in the human resources field in Wisconsin.

Roxanne purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Roxanne chose Minnesota

The first time we drove up to this property we knew it was the one for us (likely the reason why we made an offer to purchase the next day!).

The well built and beautifully furnished cottage is situated 100' from the waters edge with a panoramic view from the living room, dining room and front patio. At the waters edge you will find 100' of lakeshore with a hard gravel bottom and a dock to enjoy everything the lake has to offer.

What makes this cottage unique

The beautifully furnished living/dining area is a great place to relax and converse after a long day on the water or in the many acres of state owned forest just minutes from the cabin.

If the outdoors is your primary reason for visiting, you will really enjoy fishing on Little Pequaywan Lake (very little traffic, no public landing) or snowmobiling on the many miles of local trails (less than a mile from the Brimson and Pequaywan trails).

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just spent our first wedding anniversary here. Enjoyed the peace and quiet and seclusion. Didn't expect the snowy view, would like to enjoy the cabin in nicer weather. Thanks Lucas and Tony for the chance to stay here. We look forward to making more memories here.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 18

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(66 traveller reviews)

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
average rating of 4.742424 based on 84 reviews
5

Great cabin to rent!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the cabin and the property. The cabin was updated and beautiful inside. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook and prepare meals. The bed was comfortable. There were neighbors close by but that didn't bother us, we still felt like we had privacy and there aren't many lake homes that are truly secluded unless you want to go without running water. The firewood was all pre-cut and ready to be used in the wood stove...which was my favorite part of the cabin! It was a short 25 min drive to Duluth and similar to Two Harbors. I thought the location was great because the weather tends to be better a bit away from Lake Superior.

Recommendations would be a floor rug in the bathroom to help keep it clean and dry. More bath towels too.....however those may be provided on the number of guests that made the reservation. There was just the two of us for this stay. A water softener would be amazing! The water is very hard and I know it's a luxury but the summer prices are more expensive so it's a suggestion.

A bit of advise would be to print directions to Two Harbors or any other place you may want to visit because there is no cell service there so we had to wing it and took a longer route than needed. Next time I will plan ahead and do that.

Overall we had a great experience and want to come back next summer with the kids and make a family vacation out of it!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello there and thanks for the wonderful review and helpful suggestions. We haven't thought of a water softener before, we'll look into it! It's a great location and close to Duluth as well as Two Harbors, but directions would probably be helpful, we can even print some out and leave in the cabin. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely rental! We enjoyed the view of the water. The sauna was our favorite.

  • 5 of 5

The rental was comfortable and inviting. Plenty of room and the decor was nice with traditional Swedish wood. We will definitely be returning this summer if not before summer.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had time to enjoy the sauna, it's a treat! We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful Girls Weekend Trip!

  • 4 of 5

This place was exactly what we needed! Lots of space to just hang-out (inside and out.) Clean and well stocked.

Great that wood was onsite (instead of having to go off-site to get some for the fire pit.)

Location is far enough removed but close enough for day trips.

Only lesson learned the hard way was that tall people need to be careful coming down the stairs from the loft. If you don't tilt your head you will smack it on the slanted ceiling. (Oops!)

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It is a perfect spot for a girls weekend trip! We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely stunning and easy to feel like "home".

  • 5 of 5

Amazing property. Great stay. Well supplied and the owners were fast in responses and awesome to work with! Though some may feel that no internet or cell service is a negative, we LOVED it. How often do we really disconnect from all of that? Time here allows for that. The view of the Lake is STUNNING. We will be back, no doubt! :)

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review - well said, we agree! It's a stunning spot and the no internet is an added bonus. We'd be glad to have you back that's for sure!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5

Lovely cabin on a beautiful lake. Our only regret is we didn't spend enough time just enjoying this place. Thank you

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, it is very peaceful and relaxing!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

It was absolutely amazing. Close to the water, my kid learned and mastered fishing the week we were there. Woke up to a view every morning. Our cell phones didn't work so it was nice to disconnect from the world and just enjoy our surroundings and family!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Duluth International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Pequaywan Inn
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Spirit Mountain
Car: necessary

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Duluth, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Break
16 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£285
for 2 nights
From
£142
£926
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
12 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£302
for 2 nights
From
£151
£1,010
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
June 10 - June 17, 2017
10 Jun 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,347
 
 
June 17 - June 24, 2017
17 Jun 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,347
 
 
June 24 - July1, 2017
24 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,347
 
 
July 1 - July 8, 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,516
 
 
July 8 - July 15, 2017
8 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,431
 
 
July 15 - July 22, 2017
15 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,431
 
 
July 22 - July 29, 2017
22 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,431
 
 
July 29 - August 5, 2017
29 Jul 2017 - 4 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,516
 
 
August 5 - August 12, 2017
5 Aug 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,516
 
 
August 12 - August 19, 2017
12 Aug 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,516
 
 
August 19 - August 26, 2017
19 Aug 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,516
 
 
August 26 - September 4, 2017
26 Aug 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
9 night minimum stay
£1,684
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£251
for 2 nights
From
£126
From
£142
Fri,Sat
£842
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £394
Pet Fee £32 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.88%

-Maximum number of guests = 8
-Check-out time 10 am, check-in time 4 pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Duluth, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Towels are provided for each guest.
  • Towels and toilet paper are provided, shower with Vermont slate surround, Vermont slate flooring, granite countertop!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Bedroom 1 contains king bed, flat screen TV and dresser.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Bedroom 2 contains a double bed and two night stands.
    Bedroom 3 - 4 Single Bed , The loft contains four twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties