HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway.

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 30 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom, 2 bath cottage surrounded by tropical gardens

Enjoy year-round comfortable climate with lots of sunshine, surf and ocean breeze. A short walk to sunrise over the Atlantic or sunset over the Halifax River, (Intercoastal Waterway).

Filtered soft water throughout house flows from city main though our purification system.

Livingroom is open to well equipped kitchen and dinette with 4 chairs. Sliding glass doors seperate the kitchen from Florida room, which has a drop-leaf table and 4 more chairs, queen pull-out sofa, leather chair and ottoman.

One bedroom has king bed, dresser and 2 chests of drawers, TV, dvd player. The second bedroom has queen bed, dresser, chest of drawers, desk, chair and TV.

One bath has tub with shower, the other bath has walk-in shower. Towels are furnished.

Roomy laundry & utility room features front load washer and dryer, iron,vacuum, steam mop, more.

Outdoor furniture is provided, along with 3 bicycles a utility wagon, beach umbrellas, rafts, beach towels for enjoying the outdoors and ocean.

A variety of books, games, dvd collections are provided for your enjoyment also.

Tropical gardens surround the cottage, adding to the cozy, relaxed atmosphere and privacy.

More Details

Owner
Mary Ann Silvey
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2018

About Mary Ann Silvey

A native of Western NC, I grew up in Asheville and spent summers in Lake Lure where my parents built a summer home, which became the family hideaway for relaxation and recreation. Eventually the Lake Lure hideaway became my year-round home. In 1999, my time share week in Ormond Beach became my new hideaway which I enjoyed so much that I never exchanged for another location.

After raising four children and spending 33 years as a school teacher and counselor, I retired, but spent another 7 years working in schools part-time and currently serving as a town commissioner in Lake Lure.

In 2010 I married my husband, Bill who is retired from US Air Force and US Postal Service. Together we enjoy working in crafts and community activities. Bill is a woodworker who specializes in converting obsolete and antique post office box doors into coin banks and handgun safes. I create unique hand-braided wool rugs and demonstrate at historic landmarks and the Village of Yesteryear at the NC State Fair. We enjoy escapes to Ormond Beach, and have furnished the cottage to provide a restful reflection of our enjoyment of seascapes and tropical plants. We personally planted and maintain palms, ornamentals, and tropical plants, beginning with a habiscus which was a Mother's Day gift and made the trip from NC in 2009! The cottage is our current hideaway, where we look forward to spending more time soon and sharing with family, friends, and guests who will enjoy and find comfort and renewal.

Mary Ann Silvey purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Mary Ann Silvey chose Ormond Shores Estates

For three years I looked at condos and houses for a place where I could spend more time in Florida during my retirement years. Ormond was my choice because the climate is comfortable year-round. Cold days are rare in winter, and the ocean breeze provides relief from Summer's heat. Since my family included 'Diva', a sweet, loving Doberman Pinccher, the cottage had room, inside and out to provide privacy and allow pets to be included. The fenced back yard was a definite plus for us. We have cultivated flowering jasmine vines which have covered the fence, creating privacy for outdoor living, dining and sunning. The garage and storage shed provide ample storage for lawn furniture, bicycles, beach gear, utility wagon and even the fully decorated Christmas tree.

What makes this cottage unique

2016 New custom built wooden gates replaced the chain link ones, and keep pets more secure in back yard.

2015 addition: New HP printer.

2014 updates: Full service digital cable TV service, flat screen HDTV, unlimited cable internet, new roof, digital conrol for irrigation system with battery backup.

Save your drinking water money! City water passes though our purification system and results in pure, soft water throughout the cottage. Plumbing and hot water system were replaced in 2010.

A well provides irrigation for the lawn and gardens automatically. A timer controls the sprinkler system after dark, while you sleep.

Located between Flagler and Daytona Beaches, surrounded by state parks & recreation areas on the Halifax River and a short drive to ocean piers, the cottage is only a short walk to the quiet, non-commercial beach. Restaurants, shopping, theaters,art museum, library and family entertainment or nite spots are conveniently located a short drive away.

Historic St. Augustine, shopping outlets, Ponce Lighthouse, Casino Cruises, Kennedy Space Center, Daytona Speedway are nearby attractions. Drive an hour

southwest of Daytona on I-4 to Orlando or Sanford Airports and central Florida attractions, including Disney, Seaworld, Universal Studios, LeggoLand and more. Jacksonville airport is 1 1/2 hours North on I-95.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Ormond Shores Estates in Ormond-by-the-Sea

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6 ...
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Please use outdoor shower or hose to wash off salt and sand from bicycles and wagon if used at beach. Also shake out sand from beach towels outside.
  • Minimum stay is 30 days due to zoning restrictions at this time in the R-4 residential zone in Volusia County, until further notice.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • near the sea
  • Oceanfront ...
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Front bathroom convenient to livingroom and both bedrooms.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Walk-in shower, vanity, hair dryer, digital scale.
  • Towels are supplied, with extas stored under the vanity in each bathroom. A hairdryer is provided. Extra soaps and cleaning supplies are stored in the laundry room.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , TV, Cedar-lined closet, chest of drawers, dresser, desk
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , TV, DVD,VCR, Cedar-lined closet, dresser, chests of drawers
  • Both bedrooms are furnished with two sets of sheets for your convenience. Additional bedding is stored in the laundry room for the queen pullout located in the Florida room. This pullout is a comfortable bed with memory foam pad added to mattress.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
There are public parks and a state park, golf course, art museum, private beach, ocean pier and Daytona Beach or Flagler Beach within minutes. Wireless printer in house. Fresh fruit from trees on site when in season: Oranges, lemons, limes, grapefruit, pomegranate, figs

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway.
average rating of 4.625 based on 32 reviews
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our winter vacation here. Everything we needed was here and we were quite comfortable during our stay! Mary Ann was wonderful about keeping me up to date about our rental and wanting to know if there was anything we needed. We would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I would welcome you back! Sharing my “hideaway” with others has been a pleasure and made friends from near and far. I value your review, as I keep a “to do” list to make improvements. Happy New Year❗️🎉?🌴?⛱😎?
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

We had terrible experience Case #13194748

  • 1 of 5

We had a terrible experience we opened a case with HomeAway! Please make sure you walk in and check the appliances, smell the bedding, and check the bathrooms because when you walk-in it looks clean and organized but when you start to try to use things it’s that you realize that is dirty. Also, don’t leave without calling HomeAway customer Service and/or the owner because you will not get a refund even when you provide pictures to support your complaint. The microwave, the toaster, the range, the oven, the plate mats…. were all dirty. The bathroom was also dirty and we didn’t unpack the bathroom stuff because the cabinets were old rusty and dirty. The bedding and furniture didn’t smell pleasant either. We have used HomeAway before and this is the first time we have this experience.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: After more than five years of all very positive reviews and many repeat guests, I was in shock and disbelief when these guests left without notice after 3 days of their 4 night reservation and asked for a refund! They had not responded to their check-in welcome, and there was no complaint or communication at all from them during the three days they occupied the house. On the 3rd day, they sent a message saying they had found an available cabin on the beach, had moved there, and asked for a refund for 2 nights and cleaning fee. They said a video was taken before they left (not when they arrived),which could be sent to show me the house was "very dirty". Further communication was vague and not very clear regarding problem details. There was no opportunity for housekeeper to go act on their complaint before they left, and they said perhaps she was not honest! I have a strict policy of "no refunds" and a 3 night minimum clearly stated on website and rental agreement. However, in order to be fair, I decided to not act hastily, look into the situation further and told them I would get back to them. I spoke with the housekeeper, a customer service person at Homeaway and a friend who operates a B & B and rents cabins for their experienced input. I then waited until my next guests arrived on December 26. They checked in and did a walk through inspection, as requested in check-in information. They sent a very positive message and reported no problems or questions. Having taken time to consider all the circumstances, I felt confident in letting them know that I had decided a refund was not justified. I now understand the importance of rating travelers, as well as property reviews. These ratings can help homeowners to avoid unpleasant situations and scams. In addition good ratings can give assurance and promote good matches.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Walking distance from the beach.

  • 5 of 5

Very nice and quiet area. Peaceful.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Cozy

  • 5 of 5

It's perfect located close to everything and still allows you a sense of privacy and serenity.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. Hope you return soon‼️🌴�⛱🐬�🌺�🌸�🌻�🌴�
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Like Being at Home

  • 4 of 5

When you go on vacation there is that fine line of packing way too much to packing too little. For me it is not a vacation if I can't do things with my hands, some type of craft, etc. But doing a craft at home and doing a craft somewhere else can almost cause stress for me. I mean, what if I forget to pack something. But, perhaps my favorite thing about going to this house is it was "like being at home."

I needed reading glasses, which I don't usually wear, but there they were in a glass bowl waiting for me to put them on. "Boy, I wish I had a little school glue!" And there it is in the laundry room! "If I had a piece of tape to hold the corner of this paper down." And there it is, in that glass bowl!

But it was more like home than that! The beds were comfortable! There was some type of breeze in the house no matter where we were as long as we had a ceiling fan on. Sometimes it's not about how cool it is in the house but the air moving that is more important to us.

We were allowed to take our dogs and one of my dogs seemed extremely happy to be there. Not sure what that was about but it was good to see. I was able to just open the back door and let them out into the securely fenced in yard. (They are 12 and 14 pounds.)

We were close enough to the beach to walk and enjoyed the beach breeze every day. The week we were there the weather was beautiful!

A few times I walked through the neighborhood with one of my dogs. The neighbors seem very friendly and I even met a few furry friends while out.

The flowers there are also beautiful! There was one day that I went out and picked several varieties of flowers and made a lovely arrangement. I wish I could upload at picture of it on this review.

We usually go to Ormond once a year and this house has been one of our favorites. I recommend it to any family that has between 2-4 members. I promise you, you will enjoy your stay.

Melanie

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

48 Camellia Dr Ormond Beach Vacation Home

  • 4 of 5

This is a wonderfully comfortable 2 bedroom house, with everything in it that you could possibly want for a vacation, including bicycles and beach gear and if it's not there, Mary Anne the owner will get it for you! On a quiet friendly street close to the beach and a lovely garden as well, which our dog really enjoyed! The perfect place to come and relax and spend time on the beach.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Daytona
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Multi
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Ormond
Nearest Motorway
Ocean Drive, A1A
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Betty's & Alphie's***
Nearest Beach
Ormond-by-the-Sea
Car: recommended

Two State Parks nearby with multiple public parks and recreation areas on Halifax River and Oceanside.

Drive-on-beach access in Ormond to Daytona is 5 miles south.

Ocean pier on Flagler Beach is 10 miles north.

Historic St Augustine and shopping outlets are 40-50 miles north

Daytona Beach and Speedway are 10-15 miles south. Art Museum 5 miles south.

Orlando Airport and Disney, Seaword, LeggoLand, and Universal theme parks are approximately 1- 1 1/2 hour drive on I-4 southwest.

Jacksonville Airport is about 75 miles north.

Notebook and brochures of a variety of area attractions and activities is provided.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Ormond Shores Estates, Florida Central Atlantic Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay
£2,299
for 30 nights
£2,299
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £3 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

1-time pro cleaning fee £74.26 + Tax
Pet Fee £33.42 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £43.81

Winter months usually are booked a year in advance.

Please call to discuss any questions or concerns about fees or terms. 828-243-3787. Flexible arrangements can be made for payment. Initial deposit to reserve property is not refundable unless cancellation allows time to rent the time you reserved to another guest. Owner prefers payments by personal or bank check, but also accepts booking by credit card. Payments on website also offer travel cancellation insurance and damage insurance options.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals