HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
villa
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday villa in Idra - Lemonia

4 bedroom 3 bathroom to sleep 8

This villa, built in the 1800s, is a fine example of Hydra’s unique and traditional architecture, with expansive views from the large shaded veranda of the picturesque houses on the surrounding hillsides.

The old villa was originally built for a wealthy sea captain, in early 2000 it was extensively restored and it is now one of the most comfortable homes on the island. The interior has contemporary functionality with all modern amenities but maintains the island’s traditional building style, including marble floors embellished with engravings on the ground floor and veranda and wooden floors on the first floor and high, beamed wooden ceilings.

It is fully air-conditioned, has sat TV, Hi-fi .The kitchen provides all modern facilities.

The villa is tastefully decorated with original antique furniture and original artwork.

It is located at the edge of Hydra town, a mere 300 metres from the sea front within easy walking distance on a gentle cobble stone road without steep steps

For further details view our own home site www.greekislandvillas.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
GreekIslandVillas
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, Greek
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
15 November, 2016

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
5

Proud history with modern luxury.

  • 5 of 5

Villa Lydia is a perfectly located historic villa fully updated to accommodate expectations of today's demanding travelers. Located along one of Hydra's main roads following a canyon's floor, it offers beautiful views of the hillsides, which can be enjoyed in the most sacred-like tranquility.

The Villa is located a very easy walk from Hydra Port, walking along a smooth and only gently sloping road. All excursions from here are easily initiated whether simply to go down to harbor for coffee, visiting one of Hydra's museums or galleries, walking to one of the many bays for a swim in the exquisitely beautiful Aegean Sea or walking to the top of one of Hydra's peaks to enjoy remarkable views or visit one of the island's monasteries.

The mornings on the generously sized terrace can be enjoyed in the shades of the surrounding hills, and during the afternoons the sun elaborately covers the terrace.

The thickness of the walls of this beautiful Villa reminds of its age and history. Never have we occupied a home with such muscular and impressive walls. While Villa Lydia's history is a constant and welcome - but discrete - reminder, the comfort of living with the Villa's present day's accommodations, like expresso coffee and Internet access, are simultaneously present to remind of the unique luxury of this home.

Lovers of walking have so many opportunities to find satisfaction for their passion on Hydra. Not only is the island's nature stunning, but the lack of motor transportation on the island allow walkers peace and quiet. Even during the colder months of the year, where few might be tempted to go for a swim, walking on Hydra is a terrific way to exercise and observe. The level of strain walkers can expose themselves to is nearly unlimited with the many steep inclines available on Hydra. Simply climbing the streets and walkways of Hydra is fascinating, while observing the extraordinary architecture of the village. Particularly the beauty and variation of the doors to the houses on Hydra is very special.

Restaurants on Hydra a plentiful and the food is generally very good. The small family run restaurants are wonderful with their offering of fresh fish and fresh produce salads.

This home is more than it is described to be. It has soul with history and luxury. The property is clean and exceptionally maintained and serviced by its owner. This is truly a luxury home, and we would happily recommend it to our friends and relatives.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A perfect world

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was delightful.The house was spotless, and complete with every appliance and accessory you could wish for (especially the high quality cappucino machine that gave us the best brew to relax with up on the patio). The atmosphere is enchanting, combining old-world design (we loved how one of the bedrooms is built into the rock!) with the comforts of modern living, The owners have managed blend it all into a perfect world, and a delightful stroll from everything on the island. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope you come again !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely villa in a convenient location

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at the house. It is light and airy, tastefully decorated, clean and well appointed. The owners were very attentive. We have stayed on Hydra many times. We have small children now and the hills are tough. Villa Lydia is close enough to the port for this not to be an issue and you can easily go back for the things you forget!

The upstairs terrace is particularly nice for lunch and dinner and the kitchen is well appointed and placed for dining on the terrace. In fact, the lay out generally is good for families. I would not hesitate to recommend.

Pauline and Glen and kids.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you next year !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house on a beautiful island

  • 5 of 5

In October 2011 we were four mature couples who rented Villa Lydia for a week. We had a great time: going for walks in the mountains, walking to the beaches, swimming from the town rocks, dining out, as well as cooking at "home", eating on the terrace in the warm evenings/nights. (We moved the dining room table outside. And back in again:)) The house is centrally located, large, beautifully furnished, clean, well kept, and well equipped. No working cableTV or internet though. We had great weather, but no need for the airconditioning. The peace and quiet on Hydra is wonderful (some dogs did bark...) A fifth couple stayed in a hotel, a steep walk from the house. Wish we had checked and found that the nice hotel Angelica (with a c, not k, there seem to be two hotels?) was across the street from the house. It would be easier/feel better if the final cleaning were included in the rental price. Families with small children will probably want to take taxi-boats to the beaches, but Hydra is great for people who think walking is ok, so bring good shoes. In contact with the owner everything functioned well, and was as described. We were met a the boat, etc. Villa Lydia hereby comes highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 30, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the review, Please note: The house is equipped with a free view sat which enables you view News and other information channels only, the system is fully functional and was not damaged by the gale winds which hit the island a few days prior to your arrival. However the phone/internet lines were affected.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chigwell
5

Villa Lydia was everything we expected and more !

  • 5 of 5

Not unfamiliar with Greek islands , we were excited to visit Hydra as it was one of the few we were yet to discover. So pleased we left the best til last. Wonderful! Pretty white washed houses lined cobbled streets, unencumbered by motor vehicles (fantastic ! ) . There was something for every taste in the beautiful restaurants, bars and terraces, all very competitively priced and for those looking for a little culture , galleries , museums and monasteries were easily accessible.

Villa Lydia was everything and more that the website described. Cool (air conditioning ) clean, spacious living areas and bedrooms were a

welcome retreat from the midday sun. The clean, fully equipped kitchen

lead onto a fabulous veranda which looked out over the village, only a short stroll to the centre and harbour. We would recommend this

property to any traveller who enjoys luxury and our reservation for next

year has already been confirmed. One week was simply not enough.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lydia -pity it's not looked after properly.

  • 3 of 5

Lovely house but not up to standard of cleanliness when we visited. Also tv not working for international programes as promised(unpaid subscription?) and cd player not working. Shower fixtures broken or not working. Cleaning charge beware is 150 euros extra which we did not pay but left it cleaner than when we arrived. Get all the booking details in full before you book. Nice roof terrace and position with great view.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: From the beginning of this booking we tried to accomodate a number of additional requests from these clients including a price reduction for early booking, four separate down payments and final payments in different currencies (which produced extra admin and exchange problems for us) and additional keys (not in fact provided in the end). With respect to the cleanliness, specifically they complained about the level of dust in the house on arrival, but there was no other complaint about any other items of cleanliness during their stay. We had left the windows open in order to air the house, but the clients did not appreciate that the wind in Greece brings red dust from the Sahara and within a short space of time dust accumulates. If we had not opened the windows in advance no doubt we would have received complaints that the house was stuffy! However, in future we will ensure that the house is cleaned a maximum of 24 hours prior to arrival of clients in order that any dust will be reduced. With respect to the tv, we have a fully operating satellite tv which was working for the previous tenants, and after, when we inspected the property (and which is free view so no subscription is necessary) . Possibly these clients did not understand the t.v operation (they also found the microwave difficult, as they indicated by annotating the contract!). The shower attachment (low level flexible hose attachment ) was broken during their stay and we have now fixed this. There is a permanent fixed shower head above which was working at all times. With respect to cleaning, we were disappointed that the clients did not contribute even to the laundry cost (even if they felt actual cleaning should not be paid for, the linen was in immaculate condition on arrival). This was fully stipulated on the website . Although we could have deducted this cleaning cost from the damage deposit in the interests of goodwill we chose not to. On the positive side, we thank the ladies for appreciating the quality of the villa and the lovely view. O
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Athens
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Many
Nearest Ferry
300 Metres
Hydra
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Many
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Kanoni
Car: not necessary

Though small in size, the island is huge in terms of beauty, charming scenery and the very friendly and warm locals. The island is perfect for those who are seeking a very relaxed and enjoyable holiday.

Simply taking a stroll around the harbour is an activity so simple yet so special. The hill above the harbour provides some magical views out towards the sea, and is ideal for enjoying a wonderful sunset.

Scattered all over Hydra are about 300 small churches, and 6 monasteries. These are well worth visiting if you have the chance, and offer a wonderful insight into the religious history and traditions of the island.

Hydra has some excellent beaches that are ideal for the summer months. These include the popular beaches of Spilia, Ydroneta, Avlaki, Kamini and Vlihos.

There is easy access to Hydra by ferry boat and flying dolphins to Pireaus. There is also a taxi boat service that can take you across to the charming area of Ermionin in the Peloponnese county of Argolida.

Other Activities: Excursions to mainland e.g Epidavros ancient theatre

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Idra, Saronic Islands

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Off peak
1 Oct 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£1,261
for 7 nights
£1,261
 
 
Christmas
24 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,850
for 7 nights
£1,850
 
 
Off Peak
7 Jan 2017 - 8 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,261
for 7 nights
£1,261
 
 
Easter
9 Apr 2017 - 22 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,102
for 7 nights
£2,102
 
 
Early summer
23 Apr 2017 - 31 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,682
for 7 nights
£1,682
 
 
June
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,850
for 7 nights
£1,850
 
 
Mid summer
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,102
for 7 nights
£2,102
 
 
Peak
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,775
for 7 nights
£2,775
 
 
Summer
1 Sep 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,018
for 7 nights
£2,018
 
 
Late September
16 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,514
for 7 nights
£1,514
 
 
Off peak
1 Oct 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,261
for 7 nights
£1,261
 
 
Christmas
18 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,850
for 7 nights
£1,850
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,261
for 7 nights
£1,261
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £420

Damage deposit of 500 Euro required, paid in cash on arrival, and refundable at end of stay. Visitors are responsible for paying for all damages.
Note there is no dry cleaning available in Hydra and no cleaning services are provided during stay, except for weekly linen change if your stay is two weeks or more.

40 % on booking and remaining 60 % six weeks prior to arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Idra in Europe

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 220 m²
Location Type:
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The two double bed bedrooms share one bathroom/toilet/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Garden
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties