HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lisa Martin-Eatinger

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks English

Lake MacBride Cabin- State Park! 15 min to Iowa City or Cedar Rapids

37 Reviews
People12
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Solon

Sleeps 12! 2 bed, 2 bath, sleeping loft, family room with 3 futons couch/beds.

This incredible property has original beams and flooring from a 1800's church! Renew your spirit with state park hiking trails or a hammock. Walk down the 2 minute path to the Coralville Reservoir and enjoy the beach! Nestled between Lake MacBride State Park and the beautiful Coralville Reservoir, this retreat is a Godsend! Boat rentals 1 minute away! Located next to trails for hiking, cross-country skiing, or snowmobiling.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Lisa Martin-Eatinger (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Lisa Martin-Eatinger

I grew up in Iowa near here and enjoyed the family picnics at the state park. My extended family is still in the area! We now live in downtown Chicago, and this retreat is a great escape from our hectic lives.

Lisa Martin-Eatinger purchased this house in 2011

Why Lisa Martin-Eatinger chose Iowa

My family has been enjoying Lake MacBride since it first opened. My grandmother told me about her experiences growing up and enjoying the lake so she made sure to bring her children. My mother has great stories of Lake MacBride and the Coralville Reservoir and she made sure to bring me and my brothers! Now a fourth generation, my own daughters, are growing up with peace and tranquility because of this fabulous property.

What makes this house unique

We are next to cross-country ski and snowmobile trails!

Reviews

4.6
based on 37 holidaymaker reviews

Lake MacBride Cabin- State Park! 15 min to Iowa City or Cedar Rapids
average rating of 4.6216216 based on 37 reviews
5

Fun house, great location

  • 5 of 5

Rented the house with another family so had 4 adults / 5 kids. House was able to accommodate all of us easily. Has a unique layout with three levels with open concept from top to bottom. Very nice wrap around deck and has a lower screen porch which came in handy as the mosquitos were bad. Fun tree swing and play house for the kiddos out front. Walking distance to the state park, beach and boat rental areas. Not great access to the water from the house. Was severely overgrown so was not able to access the water from the house path. Didn't matter much since the beach was a close walk. Lisa was great to deal with throughout the entire rental process. Very responsive to my questions and kept me up to date with ongoings at the house. House was very clean and highly recommend it as a family or multi-family rental.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the overgrown trail! The area to the lake flooded this summer and the heat and humidity combined with flooding prevented trail maintenance. It was a crazy weed season! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Rustic cabin in a good location

  • 4 of 5

This would be a lovely property for a family or a weekend during an Iowa football game for a group who want to party and then fall into bed. It is close to the airport, Iowa City and Cedar Rapids which is a big plus. Solon has a very nice brewery/ restaurant which we enjoyed . However, we were a bunch of somewhat older ladies 😁򐑡nd the cabin has many stairs which made it hard to get around for some. It is very open to all noises making it difficult to get a good nights rest. There is only one shower. It's a cabin!!! Regardless of its drawbacks we had a great time.Lisa is friendly and very responsive.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kingsley, IA
4

A great family gathering place!

  • 4 of 5

Lisa's vacation home was a great central location for our annual family get together. Plenty of sleeping space. We enjoyed the well equipped kitchen with newer appliances. The deck was great for extra seating for meals and also for playing games. The only thing lacking was a second shower.

Lisa was so gracious and easy to work with.

Joyce & Floyd Pfaffle and family.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great 4th of July Weekend

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at the cabin over 4th of July weekend. The location was good for gathering family from Eastern and Central Iowa. We had a great time. The owners put a new deck on and it is really nice. A beautiful setting. The yard is nice for games. The firepit great for smores. Some of the more adventurous hiked down to the Coraville Resevoir though jeans and tennie shoes were required with the summer weeds. But they all enjoyed it that did it. The state park is very close. Within biking distance or a short drive. The marina at the state park is great for kayak, etc. rentals. Nice people. Cheap rates. This property has a great location and the only VRBO in the area.

The interior of the cabin was clean and fairly well maintained. There are two beds that are decent for sleeping but the futon and couch options are not as comfortable. Probably better for small children but not teens or adults which was a majority of our group. There is only a shower in the downstairs bathroom. The upstairs is smaller claw foot tub without a shower option. Although the shower on the main floor is newer it is fairly small. We are not large people by any means and it feels cramped when you are in there. The cabin has a lived in feel. Some people may like this others may not. I think for us, less is more in terms of decorations, owners stuff in closets, etc.

Given the level of the home, we felt the price was pretty expensive for Iowa. We have stayed in beautiful cabins on vacations across the US and payed the same amount we did for this cabin in Iowa. I think the price is a bit high.

The owners are great to work with and were very accommodating. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this place for a weekend if you need something in the area.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're putting in a 3rd full bathroom and sun room for an additional bedroom! Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, relaxing, clean with plenty of room.

  • 5 of 5

Was a beautiful property, recommend it is just like in the pictures, was perfect for our 2 families to get together. 4 adults and 7 kids with room to spare, 2 minute walk to the lake with beach access and fishing right there. With more great fishing and hiking just around the corner at Lake McBride state park. The kids loved using the kayaks that come to use with the rental. Wonderful time was had by all, quiet, relaxing and just what we were looking for. Thank you, would not think twice about coming back again!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful setting with a large yard.

  • 5 of 5

I loved the property! Plenty of room for sleeping. Plenty of linens for all of us. Nice deck. The walk to the lake was challenging for me after knee replacement surgery but not so much for someone more physically able.

The layout of the cabin was not good for the elderly members of the family. Stairs were a bit steep but again they were fine for most of the group.

The location was great. 15-20 minutes from Cornell College and easy to access. Glad we found this place. Perfect for my family during graduation weekend.

  • Review Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cedar Rapids, Eastern Iowa Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Solon Station
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lake MacBride Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Interstate 80
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
El Sol
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Cross Country Trails
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Coralville Reservoir, Lake MacBride Beaches
Car: necessary

We are located 15 minutes from Iowa City or Cedar Rapids, right next to Lake MacBride State park. There are hiking and biking trails, public beaches and boat rentals including paddleboats, canoes, kayaks, & pontoons. Enjoy Iowa City nightlife including shopping, Hawkeye football games & shows. Fossil hunting is nearby at the Devonian Fossil Gorge.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Solon, Iowa

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Fall weekends
9 Sep 2016 - 21 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
£655
for 3 nights
From
£193
 
 
Thanksgiving
21 Nov 2016 - 27 Nov 2016
7 night minimum stay
£1,695
 
 
Winter Break rates
21 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,522
for 5 nights
From
£289
 
 
Winter/excludes holidays
5 Jan 2017 - 28 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£347
for 2 nights
From
£135
 
 
Dr. King weekend
13 Jan 2017 - 15 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£655
 
 
President's weekend
17 Feb 2017 - 19 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£655
 
 
Spring Weekends
16 Mar 2017 - 24 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£655
for 3 nights
From
£193
 
 
Memorial Day wknd
25 May 2017 - 28 May 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,310
 
 
Summer
29 May 2017 - 30 Aug 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,233
for 4 nights
From
£289
£1,811
 
 
July 4th week
30 Jun 2017 - 6 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,004
 
 
Labor Day wknd
31 Aug 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,310
for 4 nights
From
£308
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£462
for 2 nights
From
£193
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £385
cleaning varies in price £77

Some weekends, holidays and time periods require a 3 night minimum or longer.
Cleaning fees are dependent on the number of beds needed for your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Solon, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size bed (1) In main floor bedroom, Double Beds (1) In top floor bedroom, 1 Sleeper Sofa in loft area, 1 sleeper sofa in main floor living room, 2 futon couches and 1 futon-chair bed that becomes a twin bed. All futons are in family room, bottom level.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Fire pit, hiking & biking trails, beach, lake, snowmobile trails, horseback riding down the road, watercraft rentals

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties