HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake MacBride Cabin- State Park! 15 min to Iowa City, Cedar Rapids, or Amanas!

People15
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 15! 3 bed, 3 bath, sleeping loft, family room with 3 futons couch/beds.

This incredible property has original beams and flooring from a 1800's church! Renew your spirit with state park hiking trails or a hammock. Walk down the 2 minute path to the Coralville Reservoir and enjoy the beach! Nestled between Lake MacBride State Park and the beautiful Coralville Reservoir, this retreat is a Godsend! Boat rentals 1 minute away! Located next to trails for hiking, cross-country skiing, or snowmobiling.


Owner
Lisa Martin-Eatinger
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 September, 2017

About Lisa Martin-Eatinger

I grew up in Iowa near here and enjoyed the family picnics at the state park. My extended family is still in the area! We now live in downtown Chicago, and this retreat is a great escape from our hectic lives.

Lisa Martin-Eatinger purchased this house in 2011

Why Lisa Martin-Eatinger chose Iowa

My family has been enjoying Lake MacBride since it first opened. My grandmother told me about her experiences growing up and enjoying the lake so she made sure to bring her children. My mother has great stories of Lake MacBride and the Coralville Reservoir and she made sure to bring me and my brothers! Now a fourth generation, my own daughters, are growing up with peace and tranquility because of this fabulous property.

What makes this house unique

We are next to cross-country ski and snowmobile trails!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Solon in Johnson County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Min. age of primary renter: 23
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • We've added a 3rd full bathroom! Now every level of living has its own full bathroom. Hooray!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , New Sunroom Bedroom has a Queen sofa futon
    Loft - 1 Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • King size bed In main floor bedroom, Double Bed in top floor bedroom, 1 Sleeper Sofa in loft area, 1 sleeper sofa in main floor living room, Sunroom-bedroom has a deluxe Queen sofa-futon, also in the family room we have 2 futon couches and 1 futon-chair bed that becomes a twin bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Alternative Lifestyle
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Fire pit, hiking & biking trails, beach, lake, snowmobile trails, horseback riding down the road, watercraft rentals

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(51 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
19% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Lake MacBride Cabin- State Park! 15 min to Iowa City, Cedar Rapids, or Amanas!
average rating of 4.627451 based on 51 reviews
4

Property was as advertised.

  • 4 of 5

Rustic but modern. Owner was extremely responsive. Location is just the right blend of seclusion and access to all the comforts of civilization.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family of 15 and Fit Us All!

  • 5 of 5

Rented this cozy cabin for 1 week during the hottest week of the summer for a family reunion. Because we are family (9 adults, 5 children) we made it work!! The air conditioning blew cold for us, so being inside on the steamiest of days made it bearable. We enjoyed the outside patio right off the kitchen where we gathered at night to play cards and games with all of us. We even made s'mores for the kids by the fire pit! Early morning coffee with the view was superb! All within walking distance were hiking and biking trails, the beach and boat docks and fishing right off the shore. It was perfect for all our needs and we would definitely re-book this cabin again. Lisa was a very attentive owner and answered any questions I had. Thanks Lisa for having all of us!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location for a get-together

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is in the perfect location for a get-away with friends or family. The deck and main room are set up for an open flow, the town of Solon has a few fab restaurants (hit Salt Fork, for sure), you're close to Iowa City, Cedar Rapids and North Branch so great little excursion destinations around. Plenty of sleeping spots with lots of linens, plenty of bathrooms, quirky little cabin details inside and out. Very sweet.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Rustic Cabin in the Woods

  • 3 of 5

Directions were accurate and the place was clean (except for the refrigerator). There were only 2 beds, and one of those was a daybed, but they were comfortable. There were lots of futons, not so comfortable. It took us 24 hrs. to cool the cabin after arriving because the thermostat was set at 80, the showers did not have a. place to put the soap or shampoo. They provided plenty of mismatched towels, and there weren't many closets. There are lots of steps here and they are pretty narrow and steep.

Some of the electrical hook-ups were a little scary. The 10 minute hike to the water was on an overgrown trail with a lot of tree roots, so be careful. And don't try it after a rain because you just slide in the mud. We saw deer, rabbits, a beaver, snake and a variety of birds from the deck. And a crazy rooster crowed all day. All the appliances worked and the kitchen was stocked (only had 3 coffee cups). It was okay, but a little disappointing especially considering the high nightly price. That's why it received only 3 stars.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you didn't thoroughly enjoy your time at the cabin. If I had known you were having any issues, I would have addressed them right away because we want our guests to have a great experience. If you can't find the coffee mug shelf or are having difficulty operating the thermostat, we are happy to assist. We also have a beautiful Welcome Booklet on the counter for our guests, explaining the different hiking trails around the cabin so you have a variety of options to choose from. The crushed limestone paths are the easiest. Our website photos and descriptions accurately describe our sleeping accommodations. Again I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. We aim to please everyone, but it isn't always possible if we don't know of any issues you are having.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great place for a girls weekend.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the property. The location is fantastic and it slept 10 women really well. You are the front steps of the park and five minutes from great restaurants.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fishing weekend/family reunion

  • 5 of 5

Charming cabin with a fantastic location. Host was easy to work with. We look forward to staying again!

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cedar Rapids, Eastern Iowa Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Solon Station
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lake MacBride Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Interstate 80
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Big Grove Brewery
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Cross Country Trails
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Coralville Reservoir, Lake MacBride Beaches
Car: necessary

We are located 15 minutes from Iowa City, Cedar Rapids or Amana Colonies! We are also right next to Lake MacBride State park. There are hiking and biking trails, public beaches and boat rentals including paddleboats, canoes, kayaks, & pontoons. Enjoy Iowa City nightlife including shopping, Hawkeye football games & shows. Fossil hunting is nearby at the Devonian Fossil Gorge.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Solon, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Fall weekends
7 Sep 2017 - 19 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£626
for 3 nights
From
£184
 
 
Thanksgiving week
20 Nov 2017 - 27 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,621
for 7 nights
£1,621
 
 
Winter Break rates
18 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,455
for 5 nights
From
£276
 
 
Spring Weekends
16 Mar 2018 - 28 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£626
for 3 nights
From
£184
 
 
Easter
29 Mar 2018 - 4 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,547
for 5 nights
From
£295
£1,547
 
 
Spring Weekends
5 Apr 2018 - 23 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£626
for 3 nights
From
£184
 
 
Memorial Day pricing
24 May 2018 - 29 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,252
for 4 nights
From
£295
 
 
Summer
30 May 2018 - 29 Aug 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,179
for 4 nights
From
£276
 
 
Labor Day
30 Aug 2018 - 4 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,547
for 5 nights
From
£295
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£442
for 2 nights
From
£184
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £73.67
Damage Deposit £368.35

Some weekends, holidays and time periods require a 3 night minimum or longer.
Cleaning fees are dependent on the number of beds needed for your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals