HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Plan A Winter Getaway & Come Snuggle Up In Front Of The Fireplace!

Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom

Cabin on the Creek is located on the Cumberland Plateau and is approximately 9 miles from Fall Creek Falls State Park. It is situated on 3 1/2 acres of land that backs up to a private 800 acre wildlife area. The Cabin is two bedrooms / one bath with a fireplace, 2nd story loft and two large porches with rocking chairs for your enjoyment. The front lawn has a circle driveway and the creek runs along the side and back of the property. The side lawn has a fire pit for sitting around the campfire and plenty of foliage that surrounds the property.

The Cabin offers a unique variety of stylish, comfortable accommodations. The main floor bedroom has a queen size sleigh bed located just off the living room. The 2nd floor loft is accessed with an oak staircase and has two full size beds with Cable TV and wireless internet. The living room has a love seat and two full size recliners with slate end tables. The kitchen table will seat 6 comfortably.

Cabin Info:

* Two bedrooms

* One bathroom

* Central A/C and heat

* Living room with fireplace

* Cable TV and wireless internet throughout the cabin

* Kitchen fully supplied with microwave,

oven/stove, refrigerator, dishes, pots/pans

* Bath and bed linens

* Laundry room with full size washer and dryer

* Front porch with rocking chairs

* Back porch with table and chairs

* Outside fire pit with chairs

Weekly Rates Available. Contact us.

More Details

Terri Douglas
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 January, 2017

About Terri Douglas

Our family moved to Tennessee in 2004. We chose this part of Tennessee because of its 4 distinct seasons, beautiful weather, mild winter season, undeveloped land and friendly people.

Our goal is to provide vacationers with a comfortable cabin atmosphere for an opportunity to experience Middle Tennessee the way we know it! We are only 2.5 miles from the cabin and can be of assistance for anything you might need. Thank you for viewing our site and we hope you visit with us soon!

Terri Douglas purchased this cabin in 2012

What makes this cabin unique

There are four beautiful seasons to enjoy here in Middle Tennessee. Fall offers the most vibrant colors of all seasons with the turning of the leaves. The best time to enjoy the colors is mid-late October through mid-November. Winter is beautiful with the evergreen trees and a chance of snow now and then. Spring is awesome with many flowers and the Red Bud Trees in bloom. Summer is a great time to enjoy outdoor activities in the area.

Regardless of the season, many of our activities like Hiking, Biking, Kayaking and Golf can be enjoyed almost year round. If you have any questions, call us or send us an email and we will answer just as soon as possible.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(79 traveller reviews)

Plan A Winter Getaway & Come Snuggle Up In Front Of The Fireplace!
average rating of 4.835443 based on 79 reviews
Charlotte, NC

Nice cozy cabin / great value

  • 5 of 5

My family of 3 from Charlotte met my sister and her family (of 3) from Kansas at this cabin in TN and it worked out great for us. We enjoyed the peace & quiet - wish it was a little farther from the road - but still it was peaceful. Our young daughter couldn't get enough of the porch swing, ha. The accommodations were great; had everything we needed to cook a few meals, cook out, have a campfire, etc. Shower water pressure was great too (it beats most hotels). Enjoyed the distance it is to Fall Creek Falls Park as hiking there was also one of our favorite things of the trip. We enjoyed the few days in the cabin more than we enjoyed Nashville.

Thanks Hank & Terri! God Bless!

The Thomsens

  • Review Submitted: May 31, 2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Great little cabin on a beautiful property!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the Cabin on the Creek! The cabin was very cozy and inviting and the property beautiful! We would stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Memphis, TN

Great cabin perfect for my small family

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was flawless and had stunning amenities. The cabin/bear theme was a nice touch. It was incredibly easy to find and was so peaceful. My wife, 2 year old daughter, and I absolutely loved how quaint the property was. The homemade fudge was delicious! We would absolutely stay here again when we come back to the area next summer. Very close to Fall Creek Falls and my wife and I enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evenings relaxing and soaking in the surrounding scenery. We even had a small herd of deer that would pop into the back yard close to the creek! All in all a fabulous place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, Clean, Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Met up with some friends at this quiet little cabin. It was so inviting and comfortable you felt at home right away. The location of the cabin to Fall Creek Falls state park is great, just a few minute drive. Would defiantly stay here again and again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming cabin! Clean and well kept!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the feeling of being away on this charming piece of property. The porches and fire pit were great for the experience. The loft was perfect for our children. We would definitely recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty, toxic chemical smell

  • 1 of 5

My husband, 2 young children, and I had hoped to stay three nights over labor day weekend. We've rented from VRBO for years and have always had excellent experiences in beautiful cabins. The condition of this cabin was disgusting. We had to leave first thing in the morning after one night, cutting our long weekend plans short.

Pros: Near fall creek falls, fire pit

Cons: As soon as we entered the home, we were overwhelmed by a strong chemical smell. The owner later told us it was Fabuloso, a chemical cleaner containing cancer-causing compounds that causing respiratory problems and headaches. (Google the reviews for this product). Although we opened the windows as soon as we arrived in the afternoon and kept them open all night, we were unable to breathe or to sleep at night. Around midnight, we got terrible headaches. We had trouble breathing, we were coughing, and our throat and nasal passages were irritated. We were concerned about the effects of this chemical on our young children and we left after calling the property manager first thing in the morning.

The cabin was filthy. There was hair on the sheets in the bed in the master bedroom. It was revolting. There was hair in the tub. It appears that the sheets weren't changed and the tub hadn't been adequately cleaned before we arrived. After I cleaned the tub and our children took a bath, they ran around on the floors. Their feet became filthy after a few minutes because the floors were so dirty. Even the kitchen was dirty - I had to wash most of the dishes and pots and pans prior to use. Some were covered with dirt, others had leftover food stuck to them, and others were covered in black flecks and cob webs. After cleaning up after both meals, ants would appear all over the counter, stove, and sink. In a cabin, one expects some spiders or bugs, but not this level of dirtiness.

We tried to resolve our concerns with the owner multiple times, but they were unwilling to completely refund the money for the 2 evenings that we were unable to stay. We even had to pay the cleaning fee - for a cabin that we had to clean when we arrived! Our stay was incredibly disappointing. I would never recommend this place to anyone who wants a clean, safe, place to relax.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Like a lot of VRBO properties in this area, we have a minimum stay of 2 nights and a cancellation policy. We are not a Hotel and do not allow booking for one night. This was Labor Day weekend, it appears that the guest all along had intentions of only staying one night. However, our property was comfortable enough for them to sleep, shower and leave the odor of a really nice breakfast that was lingering upon my arrival. I know that they continued their vacation plans to visit Fall Creek Falls because that is stated in my messaging with this guest. Unfortunately, I think we have been scammed. I know that Fall Creek Falls was booked on Friday and Saturday nights but had openings on Sunday. I know this because I called Fall Creek Falls for a guest that was traveling and looking for a one-night place to stay. While I cannot control the conditions of our worst “Rag Weed” season in TN; and opening the windows is also the worst thing you can do under these conditions; we do have a notice in the cabin that if there is anything of concern, please contact me immediately. As an owner, I appreciate the opportunity to learn from our guests but in this case it’s an overload of embellished accusations. It is unfortunate that our guest packed up and left without giving me the opportunity to make them happy but had the time to detail all the things they could find wrong, hit the send button on their message and pull out of the driveway. This is because they only intended to stay one night. The guest repeatedly stated that I refund their money all except for the one night stay or they would publish a negative review. Out of respect for our past guests and future guests, I will honor the fact that YOU have paid for a minimum 2 night stay and that the guidelines are fair and equal for everyone. It does not matter to me if you are a Professor/Attorney, everyone is treated the same and I do not threaten easily. Most likely, this guest chose to stay at our property based on our excellent reviews and ratings. Our past guests have given us an overall 4.9 out of 5 rating. This experience turns into a positive for our property team because it’s another opportunity to insure that we continue to provide a positive experience. To my future guests and readers, when you look at the reviews as a whole, we must be doing something right. This one review will make some guests cautious and to others, it will look like the scam that it really was! Respectfully the owner
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Old Times Cafe
"The owners serve a big breakfast and big lunch. Dinner is lighter and ordered off the menu...."
Cumberland Caverns
"Awesome experience. Tours are great and convenient open hours. About 12 miles from "Cabin ..."
Tennessee Aquarium
"This is a must see! Very Clean, indoor facility with an amazing variety of animals. The Pe..."
Fall Creek Falls State Park: Headquarters
"One of the nicest State Parks in Tennessee. The restaurant food is very good. Large dinnin..."
Nearest Airport
67 Miles
Chattanooga, TN - CHA / 1 hour 15 minute
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Fall Creek Falls State Park
Nearest Motorway
32 Miles
Interstate 40
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Good Times Café – Spencer, TN
Car: necessary

Seasonal Activity for Kids....Baker Mountain Farm is only 3 miles from Cabin on the Creek, located at 351 Pioneer Lane in Hawks Bluff. It's great for kids and adults, with hiking, barnyard animals, picnic area, homemade goodies and a hayride.


Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £81
Cleaning Fee £65
Tax Rate 16.75%

Cleaning fee $80.00.
$100.00 Refundable damage deposit with no damage.
Applicable local and state taxes.
$10.00 per guest, per night for more than 4 guests.
Owner reserves the right to require damage insurance for large groups.
There is a $25.00 fee for all reservation cancellations.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin near Spencer near Tennessee

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The Bathroom has a shower/tub with linen closet, full size sink and toilet.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Loft Bedroom - 2 Double Bed , There are two full size beds in the loft.
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2) Two full size beds in upstairs loft.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties