HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spacious House , Sleeps 8, Watkins Glen, Seneca Lake, Wine Trail

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps up to 8 max )

This gorgeous 2800 sq. foot house is the perfect house for large gatherings. It has a spacious living room which leads into a generous kitchen to easily accommodate eight.

Central air conditioning and hot air gas heat. New water treatment system that softens and purifies.

The Kitchen is fully equipped with dishes, cookware, new appliances: dishwasher, stove ,refrigerator, large microwave; as well as a blender, toaster and many other small appliances to make your stay feel like home.

This is the perfect reason to have a holiday or special occasion feast!

Living room has plenty of comfortable seating, cable television, WiFi and good cell phone service.

The views from every window overlooks either the mountains from across the lake or the lovely wooded area behind the house.

Four (4) bedrooms, (2) two queens, (1) double and (1) set of bunk beds---perfect for children or non-romantic friends. Also a modern crib and highchair can be provided for the asking at no extra charge.

There are 1.5 baths, full laundry with fresh linens and towels provided.

Covered Patio in the back with picnic table off to the side nestled under the pines, comfortable chairs and side tables for cocktails in the evening, while enjoying freshly grilled dinner from the grill.

The house is part of the winery property, so it's a two minute stroll to the tasting room. All guests also can enjoy our 30% off wine guest status.

Large circular drive to fit may cars, and or park your boat. There are boat launches within minutes of the Sir Jackson House.

More Details

Michael Lucent
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
16 August, 2017

About Michael Lucent

Michael & Donna were young childhood sweethearts and then parted ways shortly after high school graduation. They each led separate lives until a mere 25 years later Michael ran into Donna; and their romance started right up where it left off! They shortly married and honeymooned in the Finger Lakes.

After visiting some wineries, Donna & Michael decided this would be the perfect 'New Way of Life,' running a winery together. They figured working together would be a fabulous way to make up for lost time!

In 2000 they bought the winery property, and turned their life's mission into learning how to start a winery---Michael was already an accomplished winemaker for the past 25 years.

Fast forward to 2008 the Pompous Ass Winery opened. Both Michael & Donna are whimsical; which they wanted to portray in their theme. As you can see the picture above, they are posing with 'Sir Jackson' the handsome character also known as 'The Pompous Ass.'

Michael Lucent purchased this house in 2011

Why Michael Lucent chose New York

Last year in 2011, two house flanking either side of the winery property we put up for sale. Michael & Donna decided to purchase both to protect their investment; which now begs the question as what to do with these two houses?

After some deliberation, they decided to renovate and use them for weekly rentals; after all, they live in a tourist area and they are located right on the Seneca Lake Wine trail.

Every detail was by their design, having the importance of both convenience and comfort as their top priory. A house fit for a pompous ass was their motto; which is why they lovingly named the house 'Sir Jackson House.'

What makes this house unique

This is such an enchanting house to gather because of the way the floor plan is laid out. you enter into a bright and cheery expansive living room with plenty of seating and a large picture window facing the east side of the lake mountain view.

to the right is a large welcoming kitchen that can accommodate a seating of eight; has all new appliances and even a larger picture window which spans across the entire kitchen.

This house is the perfect gathering house for families to get together for holidays, birthdays, & summer vacations!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Rock Stream in Reading

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.5
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Baby crib and highchair upon request., Bunk Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Spacious House , Sleeps 8, Watkins Glen, Seneca Lake, Wine Trail
average rating of 4.730769 based on 26 reviews

Really nice house!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this house for 4 days. Our family consisted of 5 adults, 3 children. We were in NY for the solemn occasion of bringing my father-in-law home for the last time. We stayed in the Sir Jackson house and felt totally at ease. The children enjoyed watching movies on the wifi enabled tv and the adults enjoyed the comfortable outdoor chairs while sitting on the front of the house enjoying the view and the breeze.

The owner, Michael Lucient, came out right after our arrival and unlocked the full bath door that the maintenance guy accidentally locked. He was very cordial and accommodating.

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your house.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Definitely stay there again!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brooklyn, NY

Great Long Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Rented the house for 3 couples and one of the couple's adult son (who did not mind the bunk bed) - it was very spacious, very comfortable and very convenient to Seneca, Keuka and Cayuga Lakes as well as the town of Watkins Glen. We had no issues at all. The winery even accepted a suitcase from United that did make the connection for 1 of us who had to fly in. The picture of the living room doesn't show the 3rd couch. There's enough seating for everyone.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The perfect retreat for those looking to relax, work, or play!

  • 5 of 5

I am a physics professor at a private university in Pennsylvania and my colleagues and I rented both cabins owned by the Pompous Ass Winery for our student research retreat this year (3 professors and 8 students). Our four day stay was both productive and entertaining. The houses are both cozy and modern, with a whimsical mix of period decor and brand new appliances. We plugged our laptops into the large TV and gave research talks for one day and spent the rest enjoying the houses as well as nearby attractions including local Wineries, shopping in Watkins Glenn, and hiking on the gorgeous gorge trails of Watkins Glen State Park. There were amazing Mennonite food shops nearby with tons of delicious foodstuffs which we easily prepared in the well stocked and comfortable kitchens. Plus with the Pompous Ass Winery next door (and a discount on wine for guests) we were never lacking for delicious wine. We concluded with a cookout using the fantastic new gas grills at both houses. Both the owners as well as the friendly staff (especially Lauren!) at the Pompous Ass were very accommodating and helpful, directing us to local attractions and resources to make our stay the best it can be. This is the second year in a row that we have booked these properties for our academic retreat and the experience has become integral to kickstarting our summer research season. I highly recommend these homes to anybody looking for the perfect getaway allowing an ideal balance of work and play!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Weekend away with Friends.

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely house to stay while visiting the Seneca Lake and surrounding areas. Our group had zero issues. Between the initial booking and throughout the weekend stay, everything went smoothly. We arrived to a clean house and were pleasantly surprised with the assortment of kitchen supplies. We only made breakfast each morning but there are enough pots/pans, etc, to cook all meals if so desired. All of the bedrooms were nice. We would have preferred the 6th room not to be a bunk bed but we were aware of that going in. We found gathering room / living room cozy and accommodated the group. There was wifi internet and the typical cabled stations along with a smart TV. The bathrooms are small but functional and clean with adequate water pressure. We did not spend too much time there during the day as we were out and about enjoying the scenic area and wineries. The short trip to Watkins Glen was convenient, I recommend eating at Jerlado’s and The Wildflower Café. If you stick to the owner’s rules which are clearly stated, I don’t think you will have any issues. The only suggestion that I would have is that during colder months if someone could turn the heat up a little more when you know there will be guest checking in that day. When we first arrived, it was set at a standard winterized temperature. We moved our stuff in and set the temperature to 70 and headed out to find to dinner. When we returned, the temp was a little better but still chilly. We just snuggled a little closer that first night. By the morning and for the rest of the stay, the temperature was fine. We set the temperature back to where it was when checking out. I will be checking availability for future trips and hope to have the same experience as our last one. I have already recommended this place to friends and family members. Thanks again for allowing us to rent your house!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New England

Nice house, ill mannered owner

  • 2 of 5

While the house is spotless and spacious, beware the rude owner who might pop up at any time to lecture you about the septic system, a subject that he seems to have an odd obsession with.

We had 6 people staying there, but a few family members stopped in for a short while due to the house's central location. It wasn't long before a couple showed up. Among them was the owner, who was shouting about how many cars were parked there, and (if you can believe this) how many projected times we might flush the toilet.

I can understand having concerns about septic capacity and the possibility for out of control parties happening, but this was not the case at all. The trouble is that he was not at all interested in an explanation, and was dismissive and rude throughout the conversation. To her credit, his wife was polite, if quiet and seemed to be very embarrassed by his behavior. She should be.

As soon as he left, I looked up reviews of the property, and while most were positive, the VERY FIRST review I found was about this very subject...an indicator of the previously mentioned septic obsession.

If your septic borders on being inadequate, fix it. If pumping it out more frequently is occasionally needed, this is one cost of operation that you as the owner bears, and is NOT something that needs to be recited like some weird mantra in the middle of a family's vacation. Even if this discussion is necessary to avoid a problem, there is a way to communicate with a group of people that just gave you thousands of dollars. He chose the wrong way and we will not be returning to the house or the less than exciting winery.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, sometimes when a person recalls an event that has now passed, through the once inebriated state of the incident, the picture becomes either unclear, or peppered with hyperbole. The owner did approach the house, upon witnessing a number of cars, no less than 15, because of his concern of over taxing the septic. The “mantra” as was stated by the disgruntled guest, was a needed conversation to try to instill upon this person as to why he objected to having so many guests. The owner, then told the persons he was talking to, several large men, that he will not charge them any more money, even though in the contract he clearly could, and that the guests may remain, but requested that the people not stay more than a couple more hours…as they had already been there since the early afternoon, and it was now probably around 7pm. Obviously, we do not want this house rented for the purpose of having large parties, which is 1) deceptive and 2) could leave to damage, which would not only render the house out of commission for a while; this would also obviously, ruin the next person’s vacation! All seemed well, and the following day, the person who checked out mentioned the owner had come over, and there was no need to worry about the house being damaged in anyway; and that they had a nice stay. All was fine…until six weeks later, this review appears, offering a negative slam about the winery, for a nice malicious touch. We pride ourselves in our hospitality to our guests, in the rentals and in the winery!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Elmira International
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Many Bars located in Watkins Glen
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Watkins Glen Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
State Route 14
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
There are many restaurants in Watkins Glen
Nearest Ski
47 Miles
Bristal Mountain Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Clute Memorial Park in Watkins Glen
Car: necessary

The Sir Jackson House is located along the Seneca Lake Wine Trail. There are dozens of wineries just minutes away. The entire Seneca Lake Wine Trail has well over 35 wineries, and the closest is The Pompous Ass Winery located right on the property.

Watkins Glen State Park is a must see and a hike along the gorge is breath taking.

Watkins Glen International Raceway is a pleasant 25 minute drive.

There is also a Mennonite cheese factory/dairy 5 minutes away, where you can taste and purchase cheese of all types, right where they are made.

The Windmill Farm & Craft Market is a large Mennonite craft mall with 200 shops located on Rte 14A between Dundee and Penn Yan, approximately 25 minutes from The Sir Jackson House. Open every Saturday 8am to 4:30pm April through December.

There are many local artists which display their fine works of art in two galleries on the main street in Watkins Glen, as well as in some wineries as well.

Pompous Ass Winery features Robert O'Niell exclusively from the O'Neill Art Gallery.

Corning Museum of Glass is an absolute must see! Located about a 45 minute drive from Sir Jackson House. See the world's largest collection of glass art; glass-making demonstrations and the opportunity to blow your own glass!

Horse back riding at Painted Barr Stables in Burdett NY, less than 10 miles from Sir Jackson House

only a 12 minute scenic ride to the other side of Seneca Lake.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Rock Stream, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Prime Season
1 May 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Off season
1 Nov 2017 - 30 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
prime season 2018
1 May 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £69.03

Prime Season Rates: May thru Oct
$245/Any Night(3 Night Min)

Off Season Rates: Nov. thru April
$245/Any Night(2 Night Min)

$300/(4to7 Day Stay)
$200/(2to3 Day Stay)
there is a mandatory non refundable insurance flat rate fee of $89
Taxes not included

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

You might like these similar holiday rentals