HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Welcome to Paradise!! Golf Cart Included!!

50 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
7 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday condo in Placida - Rutherford's Condo

2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Island Condo W/Pool Unit #C-2

Our Condo is 3 stories high. The ground floor is a garage for the golf cart, charcoal grill and beach chairs & umbrella and has a storage closet for your use. The second floor (main living area) is comprised of the living room, kitchen, master bedroom, bathroom and screened in porch. The Living Room is equipped with a 52' LED HD Television which has a DVR Dish Network Satellite along with a DVD player & DVD's. The kitchen is complete with microwave, dish washer, coffee maker, blender, and of course everything needed for cooking & serving except your food. The master bedroom has a king sized bed and a 42' LED HD Television. The screen in porch has a round table and 4 chairs along with a full-sized washer & dryer, Iron & Ironing board located behind folding doors. The second floor is a loft which as 2 queen sized beds, television, and it's own bath.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Kim Rutherford
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Kim Rutherford

My husband, Brad & I are true Florida Crackers, both born in Central Florida. We were High School Sweethearts, dating for 7 years, and now have been married for 36 years. We grew up in Bradenton, Fl and once married moved around Central Florida ending up in Winter Haven.

Kim Rutherford purchased this condo in 1997

Why Kim Rutherford chose Florida South Central Gulf Coast

Some good friends of ours invited my husband to stay with them at their HBBC Condo during a fishing weekend back in 1997. He instantly fell in love with the Island and came home and was excitedly insistent that I go the next weekend with him to see about buying a place for our own. It didn't take much convincing on his part...I was hooked the minute a saw it.

What makes this condo unique

My husband & I love the condo for different reasons. He is an avid fisherman.. and a legend in his own mind:) No, he really is a good fisherman... you know they say practice makes perfect...well he get's plenty of that...This area, along with being the Tarpon Capital of the World, is also beeming with Snook, Redfish, Snapper, Flounder, Permit, Grouper, just to name a few of my husband quest. What made me fall in love with the island was that it was a secluded island only assessable by boat. There a virtually no vehicles on the island except golf carts. This makes it safe for your kids to have fun and explore without you having to worry. You can go down to the beach at almost any time of year and almost have the whole beach to yourselves. This place makes you forget all the hustle & bustle of your every day life...it is a true oasis of relaxation.


based on 50 holidaymaker reviews

Welcome to Paradise!! Golf Cart Included!!
average rating of 4.86 based on 50 reviews

A week of pure relaxation and time to connect as a family!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a week at Rutherford condo. We had a totally relaxing weekend. The condo was clean and fully furnished with everything we needed. The water at the beach was crystal clear and calm. We did a lot of snorkeling and found a lot of beautiful shells. The beach was very quiet with only about ten families as far as you could see at one time. The captains of the ferry were very friendly and punctual. Everyone we met was very nice, creating a close community feeling and safe environment. There was a grocery store a few blocks from the ferry dock, which made getting groceries very convenient. Having the golf card provided was a nice perk, we used it to lug all our beach toys to the beach and explored the unique island. Our kids, 6 and 8, did not want to leave and are already asking when we can go back. We were disappointed we were not able to meet Brad and Kim, but Kim was very responsive and replied to any questions we had right away. We will definitely return in the future!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family of Four

  • 5 of 5

We had a blast ready to come back already..... husband even wants to come back but wants a boat next time. Found lots of sharks teeth, eat great fresh caught fish on the grill and slept late some mornings. Loved the condo it had everything we needed and then some. Kim was very helpful and quick to respond to questions. I can't rave over our vacation any more than to say it was fabulous great condo and great location. I didn't want to leave island time. thanks for letting us enjoy your little piece of heaven.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Recommend this rental!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most fabulous vacation!! This rental was ideal, the furnishings excellent, location was great! We enjoyed beach combing, boating, fishing swimming in the beautiful gulf, on low tide stop on a new "beach" and just explore. We were kept informed by the owners of every detail, BUT, I did forget to print out the slip for the shuttle, so if you take the shuttle, follow the directions given by the owners. Thanks to you for a beautiful condo!! Oh, and thank you for the golf cart, also

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincoln, IL.

Nice Condo, Very Clean and Great Location~Excellent People to Rent From!

  • 5 of 5

This is the 2nd year we have stayed in Brad & Kim's condo. The condo is terrific, the owners are very nice people & it is in a great location. This condo comes with a golf cart which is a HUGE must have for the island, without an extra expense. We will be booking for next year. The condo comes with all the comforts of home and has been well cared for. I highly recommend this property and it's owners for a stress free Island Vacation! 5*****! Forgot to mention their rapid deposit refund which is awesome! See you next year Brad & Kim!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ginny, I love hearing that my renters have had a great time. It never gets old:). Thanks for taking such good care of my condo. Look forward to having you back next year! Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time on the island. The condo was well equipped with all we needed during our stay. We had a good time riding around the island on the golf cart. The beach was incredible! We would definitely go back.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Evelyn, I'm always glad to hear that my renters have enjoyed their stay. We love being on the island and love to be able to share it with others. Thanks for keeing such good care of our place and we look forward to having you back anytime:) Brad & Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful as always

  • 5 of 5

Kim and her husband are extremely kind. They are always so welcoming to my young daughter and myself. The condo is great as always. Not to mention the locals that lice on the island. We have made many friends there. We wI'll continue to stay with Kim. See you next year

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Sarasota Internt'l Airport or Fort Myers Internt'l
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
The Water's Edge
Nearest Ferry
Hideaway Beach Club Condo's has it's own ferry
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Gasparilla Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Hwy 776
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
'The Fishery' or 'The Water's Edge'
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Little Gasparilla Beach
Car: necessary

Little Gasparilla Island is located in Charlotte County, Fl. It is only assessable by boat. You can either bring your own boat and use one of the slips at our private community dock or you can use the free Hideaway Bay Beach Club's private ferry. It runs every 2 or 3 hours depending on the day of the week (see picture for ferry schedule).

Whether you are interested in fishing...We ARE the Tarpon Fishing Capital of the World.....or just wanting to relax like you never have before either laying by the pool or reading a book sitting on a very quiet 7 mile stretch of beach (remember it's only assessable by boat) or strolling down the beach collecting amazing shells and sharks teeth. This serene place is like few others....made for total relaxing.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Placida, Florida South Central Gulf Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Off Season
10 Sep 2016 - 17 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £205
Cleaning Fee £70 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

$75 for cleaning fee
NO additional charge for Golf Cart
Weeks Run from Saturday to Saturday
1/2 Rental Fee due when reservation is made
remaining balance due 1 month prior to arrival
The service fee now being charged is a fee that HomeAway.com-VRBO.com is charging and is paid directly to them. The companies were sold to Expedia.com and Expedia.com added the service fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in the Placida in the Florida

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 980 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Downstairs
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Upstairs
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Located on main floor
    Loft Bedroom - 2 Large Double Bed , Located upstairs
  • King size beds (1) In Master Bedroom, Queen size Beds (2) 2 queens in upstairs loft, Baby Cribs (1) portacrib
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace
  • Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties