HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Amazing Value in Hamilton Cove,CATALINA WITH ZERO STEPS and Golf Cart

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Barbecue
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome


About the property

2 Bedrooms + sofa bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Spacious villa located just steps away from the ocean, in a building that is the closest to the water, that one can be, in the Cove. The 1109 sq ft villa houses a master suite with a full bath, and a second bedroom right across the hall from the second bath with NEW SHOWER VALUES AND FIXTURES in both baths, as well as a fully equipped kitchen. French doors open from the living room to a private balcony. In addition one can use the second private balcony off of the master suite. Enjoy the limited ocean views from both the balconies. Take a quick walk to the beach and feel that sand between your toes! The villa may be accessed by using the walkway and elevator at the end of the building or by walking up the ramp (no steps) to the front door. A shared laundry room is one level below, to provide all the conveniences of home. Take advantage of the free wireless internet. Lay back on the over-sized sofa in the spacious living room, select one of 10,000 movies on hand from Netflix and indulge on the 55inch LG 3D TV.

Rental of a vacation home in Hamilton Cove includes use of the community’s amenities (pool, spa, health club, 18-hole putting course, tennis courts, croquet court, sand volleyball court and beach area with built in barbecues and picnic tables). Some restrictions may apply. Occupants subject to Hamilton Cove Homeowners Association Rules & Regulations.

November 1 -May 31 Winter Rate

June 1 - Oct 31 Summer Rate

20% premium charged for all holidays and event weekends

mandatory occupancy tax of 12% charged to City of Avalon

departure clean fee of $150

security deposit of $500 No Pets Please

2 night minimum (3 night during summer and special events/holidays)

children welcome at no additional fee

+++ Is this a good value? Catalina Golf Cart Rental Charges $80-$120 per hour to rent a golf cart alone, so 8 hours of cart use would cost between $640 and $960. Hamilton Cove Villa and is one of the only condo complexes that allows the owner's to provide cart usage during their guest visits.

More Details

Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
29 March, 2017

About Lamont

Since visiting Catalina Island over 20 years ago, I've always dreamt of owning anything on the Catalina Island. Allow me to share my dream with.

Lamont purchased this condo in 2012

Why Lamont chose Los Angeles area

This building is the closet to the beach you can get. With zero steps to climb to get to the front door, its convenient and comfy for people from 2 to 8. With two PRIVATE (non shared) balconies, you can truly enjoy your privacy.

What makes this condo unique

Two entries into the unit, one from the Kitchen/Livingroom and another from the master suite, so mom and dad can respark the romance in complete privacy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Lamont I just wanted to thank you again for your beautiful place and the whole family and friends had a time of our lives. Weather was a perfect 10!


Yes! It's was a five out of five!!
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Avalon in Los Angeles County

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis
  • 2 bicycles
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(50 traveller reviews)

Amazing Value in Hamilton Cove,CATALINA WITH ZERO STEPS and Golf Cart
average rating of 4.52 based on 51 reviews

Hamilton Cove is awesome!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great family visit to Hamilton Cove on Catalina Island. The property is as described: close to the beach though no ocean view, spacious accommodations, and a golf cart for six included! We had minor plumbing issues while we were there but the on-island help was prompt and effective. The unit has a well-equipped kitchen and comfortable beds. We'd go back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great vacation condo rental

  • 5 of 5

Great amenities within the rental that include the BBQ, pans, dishes, cooking amenities, and even a fishing pole. Very close to the beach for volleyball as well as to swim in ocean, and a quick walk to the pool and Jacuzzi. Very clean and nice furniture as well as large two bedroom, two bath, with comfortable couch. The six person golf cart is very valuable when you have a group larger than four due to Hamilton Cove restrictions on only four people to standard golf cart (4/5 seater). Owner answered phone calls and messages very timely. Would recommend this to anyone who is looking to stay in Hamilton Cove.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Bugs, Noisy and Rundown

  • 1 of 5

We were extremely dissatisfied with this property. Nothing was as it was presented and we have pictures of everything listed below and would be happy to share with anyone that has questions.

The issues we had were as follows:

1. Lamont never completed the paperwork required for my family to get into Hamilton Cove. I send him two e-mails reminding him and he never followed up. When we got to the gate, they would not let us in and made us wait a half an hour until they could contact him.

2. The condo was extremely hot and stuffy. There condo is situated a way in that there is no breeze or airflow. There was one fan for two bed rooms, the living room and the kitchen. Needless to say one old fan was worthless for this amount of space and number of rooms.

3. Their is no view, except for the other condos and golf carts.

4. There is absolutely no privacy. The front balconies of the condos next door look directly into your bedrooms and family room.

5. The condo kitchen is filled with ants. When we arrived the first night, there were ant trails which we sprayed with ant killer. Thank God there was ant spray, but it's obviously a common problem since it was readily available. On would think the place would be cleaned for arriving guests. Then, the morning after we arrived, there were more ant trails from under the oven and from the wall behind the coffee pot.

6. The beds are like rocks, you would be better off sleeping on the floor.

7. When we arrived, the condo did not have all of its towels, to which Lamont left a message stating, I'm sorry they aren't there, but my cleaning lady couldn't get there in time, so she, Rosie, will be bringing them by tomorrow.

8. The toilet seat in the master bathroom is cracked and the door does not lock.

I am surprised the home owners association hasn't made him clean the place up.


  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm not sure why your experience was such and negative one. I love staying in the unit when I come and so have the other over 300 guest that have stayed in the unit over the past 3 years that we've owned it. Have a fantastic week and take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Amazing house over looking the ocean. Pictures do not do it justice!

  • 5 of 5

Great host, super tidy, perfect location. Highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Diego, CA

Great location, but wouldn't return.

  • 2 of 5

This was our first time renting a condo in Catalina versus staying at a hotel. Hamilton Cove is a bit of a drive from the town. It was about $22 for a taxi from the boat dock.

When we got into the room it smelled very strong like cleaner; however after spending some time in the condo it was obvious it wasn't very clean. There was hair in the shower and the floors were dirty. Overall it felt a bit grubby.

We quickly discovered that there was only 3 bath towels (for 6 people). We called the number for the property manager and it went straight to voicemail. We did end up getting more towels within a few hours.

When we were getting ready to put the kids to bed we realized there were no extra sheets for the pull out bed and zero pillow cases on any of the beds. I called again..voicemail again. A couple hours later I emailed the owner. We heard nothing back from anyone until after 9am the next morning. Then around noon we got some pillow cases.

Additional negatives were the constantly running toilet in the main hall, ants EVRYWHERE, limited kitchenware (no measuring cups or spoons), no soap in the bathroom, LOUD (if you leave the windows open at night because you're right above the street where the golf carts are parked), no ocean view, early checkout, and to top it all off we got blamed for breaking something that was already broken when we got there.

The few positives were the fun golf cart, the comfy couch, the TV that had Netflix, and Hamilton Cove in general.

In summary...would stay at Hamilton Cove again, but not at this place and definitely with an ocean view.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was unfortunate that the property manager was on holiday during your stay, she had her staff filling in during that time. We never want to leave anyone with a negative view of the island, the complex nor our unit. Give me a call sometime so we can talk more about your experience. Cheers!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Awesome Stay!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time! The condo was just the right size for the six of us! and the view was amazing! And having the golf cart was great help as well! Thanks for the stay! i Definitely recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Avalon, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Non Peak
9 Nov 2016 - 31 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Fouth of July
1 Jul 2017 - 6 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £403 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £80
Refundable Damage Deposit £403
Cleaning Fee £121 + Tax
Management Fee £20 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

November 1 -May 31 Winter Rate of $299 ($1,593 per week = 6 nights)
June 1 - Oct 31 Summer Rate of $399 ($2,155 per week = 6 nights)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Catalina Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Descanso Beach Club
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Catalina Express
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Catalina Island Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Descanso Beach Club
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Hamilton Cove beach

Hamilton Cove is a resort like condominium unit. On the property of Hamilton Cove you can enjoy working out in a state of the art gym with ocean views. This gym has a spa and massage services available. The club house is adjoined with a large family pool and jacuzzi overlooking to private beach. The beach has sand volleyball, a playground for the kids, BBQs and a basketball court - all on the water with gorgeous views! The property also has tennis courts, boche ball, croquet and a full sized mini golf course. Aside from dining, there is no reason to leave the property!


Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties