HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Dalgety Bay, very near Edinburgh, Detached, Free Internet, SKY HD+ TV

8 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday home in Dalgety Bay - Dalgety Bay

5 bed detached house in Dalgety Bay, Near Edinburgh, FREE INTERNET, SKY HD+

Detached house close to Edinburgh in Dalgety Bay, all mod. cons, everything required for a holiday.

TV, gas central heating, 2 bathrooms. private parking for 3-4 cars - large gardens and views.

easy / short drive to Edinburgh/Glasgow and St. Andrews - easy access to the highlands.

from 20.8.2015 - This house now has - Satallite TV - SKY HD+ with all Channels including ALL Movies, Sport, Disney etc ALL premium channels - this will be available Free of charge until for the foreseeable future ( min of 12 months ahead ). New large Screen LED/LCD installed in Living room.

Dec 2013: TV upgraded in En-Suite bedroom 42' Flat-screen with HD satellite TV

4 bed rooms also have satallite TV installed into;. A new Ultra High Effiecent Boiler was fitted 10.12.2013;

Bedrooms: The house has 5 Double Bed rooms all with Double beds, two of these rooms also have single mattresses stowed under the double beds - but no frames - There is also a large 3/4 seat sofa in living room

I can now supply many items to support stay of children/baby. please ask for details.

from Feb 2012 - the Forth Rail Bridge renovation were complete after 10 years long work.

The view of this during the day is stunning from this house. At night the bridge is also lite up and makes for a incredible

landscape while enjoying a dram in the evening.

23 Aug 2016 update: As prior note indicated building works & risk to access of garden. The rear garden is still impacted - although a lot flatter it has no lawn laid yet & will not be fully complete. it is possible to walk through garden to access Fife Coastal Path. The decking has also been reduced in size & impacted. There has been a large extension built between the south of the property & the coast which has impacted windows - bathroom ( window removed - extractor fan fitted ), Master bedroom - new larger window installed to east, south window is removed & replaced with temp timber covered with blinds & curtains, smallest bed room - window opens into new extension to provide light. - Many Additional photos are available via Weblink to show uptodate status - please ask for details.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 August, 2016

About Mike

I have been letting property and holiday homes for 15+ years. I am a licenced & registered landlord and I also own an IT consulting company. I will do my very best to assist with any/all aspect of your visit/holiday.

Mike purchased this house in 2000

Why Mike chose Fife & St Andrews

The location is perfect - I own property in various locations, though I choose to live in Dalgety Bay. It has very easy transport links to Edinburgh city center and is a great base to explore the whole of Scotland as the house is near the M90 motorway. Aberdour golf course is walking distance - its a very friendly town, where most people know each other. I can describle the house as a home from home - ready to go. It also boasts stunning views of the historic Forth Rail Bridge and has a south facing decked area which is great for al fresco dining and BBQs.

What makes this house unique

Amazing coastal view towards Edinburgh and the bridges, please see photos ! Really I think the house will tick all the boxes for a great holiday. Please let me know if you have any additional questions.


based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

Dalgety Bay, very near Edinburgh, Detached, Free Internet, SKY HD+ TV
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews


  • 1 of 5

This property was terrible. It was a construction site that was unsafe to live in. The dirt and dust in the home was shocking, the windows were boarded up, there were nails all over the ground outside, the kitchen lights exploded, the bedding was stained and moldy, there was moldy on the ceilings and in the bathrooms. It just goes on and on. BEWARE OF THIS PROPERTY AND OWNER. I HAVE LOTS OF PICS TO SHARE.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a malicious review - I have made clear on listing, contract with granular detail of any works with photos & regular updates. This guest is a relation of the cleaner of the property; the house was heavily discount for them due to this at a peak time for a period of two weeks; I didn't receive a single complaint until day 12 of the booking in relation to a GU10 lightbulb which had died ( not exploded - have photos of bulb and said bulb still available). I went to the house to assist guests to replace the blub - took all of 2 mins - I was then told guests had decided to leave regardless and didn't feel they should have to pay for any of the stay - including the 12 nights already used. The tenants then left removing items from the property & the police were involved ( police reference available). I cant really say much more - the house had been let frequently in 2016 post building works - agree its hot 5 star but based on a 5 bed room house with Wifi - SKY TV - new appliances and such a great area I'm still lost by these guests behaviour. I have little doubt the entire episode was nothing more than an attempt to get something for nothing & when the threats of negative reviews & involving "forensic scientists " failed the guest has carried out said threat. 130 additional photos are available of the property including upto date ones - I don't want anyone to book and have expectations of 5 star accommodation or have any negative surprises so please ask - the weblink is available on the booking for and via email. My Cleaner cleans to a high standard and always has; again if there had been an issue it could and should been raised on day 1 of arrival and any issue could of and would been easily addressed or the guest could of opted to terminate the lease then. Again the guests used the property without complaint for 12 days and I am happy to share all correspondence proving this. We are always very keen to help in anyway we can; but not easy if not aware there is an issue. If any clarity is needed on impact of extension please ask and all info will be shared - currently all ongoing works are very minor as photos show - I would be very happy for my own family and friends to use the house as they currently frequently do. ( perhaps next time out of for a meal - will take this guests tip - run huge bill up and refuse to pay by complaining only at the end and I'm ready to depart ) Best Wishes Mike & Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 5

Residential beauty.

  • 5 of 5

This property is spacious and comfortable, easily accommodating 10 people or more. We were a party of six, and we luxuriated in the space.

Dalgetty bay is a residential estate, not a holiday resort. If you are happy to travel and explore the area, and have a car, even if it's only to take you to the railway station, (trains are regular, lots of parking space,) I would recommend staying here. I would suggest it would be rather more difficult without one.

However, do take some time to stay in Dalgetty Bay and walk along the coastal path. It's beautiful. No amount of searches on google maps, or browsing through photographs that other people have taken will give you an idea of how lovely it is. We watched the sun rise every morning, and the sun set each evening, either from the enormous windows in the sitting room, the decking, the garden, or the coastal path.

The sitting room was my favourite part of the house. Bright during the day with an open aspect, cosy at night, curtains drawn, lamps on. Or we would put the cinema screen down and watch movies, from a lap top. (We bought an audio adaptor from Asda, so the sound was great too.)

The master bedroom is very large, with a King Size bed, and has an en-suite bathroom. It's situated at the end of the corridor, just off the dining room. There are then three other good sized double bedrooms, and a family bathroom, (with Jacuzzi bath.). The corridor leads to the dining room, off which is the sitting room, kitchen, hallway to wc and a further large, double bedroom. This room also has a lovely view of the Forth railway Bridge.

Although a holiday home, it is well equipped, and there is everything you need if you stay at home and cook. The kitchen is modern and attractive with a huge cooker, and there is a utility room just off it.

Dalgetty Bay has a local centre, about 1 mile from the property. There's a small Tesco, a Hairdressers, Post Office, Mcolls, a coffee shop and Indian Restaurant and one or two more shops, and a Pub, The Bay, (which we did not use.). A little closer is a nice children's play park.

We ate at The Clubhouse, and enjoyed the atmosphere, friendly service and good food. If you stay here, don't miss an evening at The Peony. Wonderful. Lots of local restaurants offer take-away/delivery service.

We loved it and as we travelled each day, always looked forward to coming 'home.' Thank you Mike.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Paula, Thanks you so much for taking the time & effort to do a review, its greatly appreciated ! I hope your trip home was a good one & we hope to see you all again soon ! please pass on our regards to your family it was very nice to meet everyone. Kind Regards & Thanks mike
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

booked for 5 but extended to 9 ! Brilliant Times !

  • 5 of 5

we originally booked for 5 nights but were so happy most of our party ended staying for 9. The host offered additional nights on a flexible basis as was available though also gave at a discount. Very happy with brilliant value we got. effectively costs over all were at 80% discount to lowest cost hotel in area for our party of 9.

We have already booked to return in the summer & hope to make best of some of Scotland's festivals - cant wait to go back - also planning to visit a few whisky distillery's - cant wait ! The house was very warm - new boiler was also easy to operate. Having SKY HD+ was a real luxury & first holiday home used that has provided this - it did have all sport/fim channels. One of main benefits for our party was the beautiful walk that is available from the garden gate along the Fife coastal path - we made to Aberdour we we had a lunch break one of oldy-worldy pub/restaurants there...... it was a brilliant day. Wifi internet worked very well & was great speed - could stream/download films for journey back home. Also made a very nice day of walk to the local train station (Dalgety Bay ) & train into Edinburgh was really nice to go over the Forth Rail Bridge - which we had a great view of from the house. Dalgety Bay is a very nice place & was handy to have no hassle with parking anywhere & Tesco & Asda near by.......... We mainly cooked but can definitely recommend the Indian, Dalgety Bay Fish Bar & Simons Kitchen Chinese which are walking distance from house. Over all we found the house very spacious & for a party of 9 never felt crowed at all....... we also took hosts advice & made use of a boat trip from Queensferry - a very memorable trip - the host seemed very happy to provide any & all answers to any questions & found very friendly & helpful. The only regret we have is one of taking so many other holidays to hotels & missing a real "home from home" experience. To all of us Dalgety Bay has a good atmosphere every one seemed friendly & had a relaxed & happy feeling when visiting local pubs etc. there are many open/green spaces inc a sandy beach & some swing parks. We only had one problem which was we needed some extra bits for kitchen - glasses/tea pot - we just texted host on 2nd day & he had dropped off the same day. We did make use of the projector huge screen & really was like being at the cinema ! Thanks again for everything ! A brilliant time was had by all & will cherish the memories for a long long time

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words & taking the time to add advice & recommendations on the area. We all look forward to seeing you all again soon; will always be very welcome ! I definately agree on dalgety bay & as you know live here ! Kind Regards mike, nicola, baby harrison & burt the dog :)
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Mikes house for a week while visiting our family and friends. The house was the perfect size for us and our 2 kids and gave us the flexibility to have relatives stay over. Mike was very helpful and arranged a nice new travel cot for our youngest as well high chair for a visit.

The kids loved being able to watch their DVD's supersized on the cinema projector screen.

The views of the bridges are amazing especially when the sunset and at night when they are all lit up.

The house is located very near to local amenities, shops, restaurants and takeaways.

We'll be back next time we are home.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking time to do a review ! will also look forward to seeing you all again ! Kind Regards & Thanks Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Top Hole!

  • 5 of 5

Myself and nine of my buddies stayed here during our golfing trip around Scotland between May 12 and May 19th 2012. The photos on the website really don't do justice to this brilliant, spacious and well laid-out house. The cinema screen was a huge hit with everyone - great touch. The facilities were just great, and the views across the Forth river are spectacular, especially at night when you can see all the way across to Edinburgh. We also enjoyed relaxing on the decking area in the early evenings doing the same.

We used the house as a base to play courses around Fife, and also do some sightseeing in Edinburgh. We also visited the nearby sailing club and enjoyed a great night there. -The band were awesome! It was a local man's 40th and we were made very welcome.

The owner, Mike, is a great guy. We did make some beyond normal requests of him (such as where we could get hold of a barbecue!) and he very kindly drove us to the new ASDA supermarket in Dalgety Bay so we could pick one up AND he stayed to help us cook! -Thanks Mike!

We're going to come back next year to play some more of Scotland's fantastic golf courses and will certainly be back. This place really was a highlight for us.

Simon, London

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Simon, Thanks for taking time to do a review; it was great to meet you and friends and looking forward to seeing you all again next year; same with all at the sailing club ! I can confirm that I now have a spare/loan set of golf clubs for anyone that needs. Im also trying to arrange a perference green fee with the team along at Aberdour golf course - this is still my favourite course in the world - not least as walking distance from Dalgety Bay. Please pay on my regards to all. mike
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Great house, highly recommend!!

  • 5 of 5

Myself and 8 other girls visited this beautiful house on the May holiday weekend. We couldn't have asked for a nicer location with stunning gardens and a spectacular view. We made use of the projector screen which felt like we were at the cinema. Dalgety Bay is very relaxing but if your looking for something extra Edinburgh is only a short drive away. The owner was very down to earth, laid back and helped with any enquiries. We are hopefully going to return to this great house in the near future.

Thanks again Mike!

Claire and the Hens

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2010
  • Date of Stay: May 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to do a review; hope to see you in the future. Thanks Mike x
Did you find this review helpful?
15 0


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
The Compass - Bar & Resturant
Nearest Ferry
4 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Aberdour Golf club
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Dalgety Bay
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
The Compass - Bar & Resturant
Nearest Ski
15 Kilometres
Edinburgh Ski Center
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Dalgety Bay and surrounding area has everything you need for a great holiday. There are excellent restaurants within walking distance as well as supermarkets, train station, bus stop. There are also award winning beaches, fantastic parks and golf courses nearby. Please note the property is being improved/increased in size from September 2015 due to complete Spring 2016 but there is small risk will over run. worst case current house internally will not be impacted but rear garden access might be. please ask for futher information.

Sailing Club, Fife Coastal Path ( please check on internet ) this has 20+ mile walking / bike routes. short Journey to Edinburgh 15 min or Glasgow (35-40mins)


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Dalgety Bay, Fife & St Andrews

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Please note the minimum price for booking will be £550, Last min booking min booking rate is £350. Please note rate will depend on length of booking, number in party & season. cleaning is not included though available at cost of £12 per hour. gas/elec which will be charged on metered use. Average cost for this is £27 per week. Towels & Bedding is provided & laundered free of charge. Internet is included free of charge as is SKY High Defintion TV with movies etc. thanks

Minimum of £200 holding deposit - refunded on departure. minus gas.electricty used on meter - average £30 total per week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Dalgety Bay in Scotland

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 500 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • village
  • waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Computer Available
  • Dialup Access
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
    En-Suite - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • All modern bathrooms. I have separate website with many more photos & info. Baby Bed & othe baby items availible on request.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Satallite TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Satallite TV
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , Satallite TV
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , Satallite TV
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed , TV
  • All rooms of 5 bed house have WiFi Internet. ALL have TVs. 4 of having Satallite TV - with 100s of channels. All Bed rooms have a double bed, three of the rooms have also have a single mattress stored under the double bed for temp use - these do not have frames but are comfortable to use. The living room also has a Large 3/4 seat sofa and a 2/3 seat sofa. If needed I may be able to supply auto inflating double airbed - though Im on bout 5th one of these as keep being damaged by tenants - please ask for more info. if needed. I will do whatever i can to make you stay as comfortable as possible.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Towels & bed linen provided & cleaned free of charge.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties