HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Owner

Member since: 2012
Speaks English

Chesapeake Bay Beachhouse

15 Reviews
People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Virginia

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms With Direct Bay Access And One Block Off White Beach

Charming Bay Farmhouse, completely renovated, one block off white sand beach w/access. Three bedrooms, one with additional queen futon, Two full baths, covered porch, 2nd floor deck with amazing views and outdoor shower. Situated in Chesapeake Shores directly on the Chesapeake Bay, this small, intimate community gives you total peace and serenity.

Chesapeake Shores is the ideal retreat for those looking for the simple pleasures of nature. This is the perfect spot for beach lovers, kayakers (bring your own or rent locally), bird watchers, and those just looking to get away. Walk the white sandy beach through a nature preserve to view the New Point Comfort Lighthouse. If you’d like to do day trips, the house is close to Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown, as well as Busch Gardens and Water Country U.S.A. Check out visitmathews.com for more information about the quaint town of Mathews. You will also find information on kayak rentals, boating and boat tours.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks English

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 holidaymaker reviews

Chesapeake Bay Beachhouse
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

Beautiful, peaceful vacation - we loved the house and the location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the Beachhouse. The house was clean and cozy and the beach is beautiful and fantastic for swimming and evening walks. We really enjoyed our stay and had a wonderful "old fashioned" vacation that the whole family cherished and enjoyed. I would highly recommend it!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation. Thanks so much for staying with us,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Springfield, VA
5

Quiet, cozy, and convenient to the beach!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this cute farmhouse at the beach! The house was very quiet and comfortable. The beach was a very quick walk across the street, and the designated beach area was perfect! The sand was soft and the waves were gentle... Perfect for kids and relaxing! The house had an outdoor shower, which was great for removing sand before entering the house. The inside was spacious and had everything we needed. The top deck and front porch also offered great areas for enjoying the beach atmosphere. We had such a nice stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a nice trip. Thank you again for staying:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Russell, KY
5

ANOTHER GREAT VACATION!

  • 5 of 5

We tend to be repeat offenders, if we like a vacation house; and we love this one. This year we were lucky enough to stay l5 days in this vacation rental. Love the area. Peaceful without the worry of large crowds. The water is great, gentle surf, which allows for viewing aquatic life. Close enough for day trips, but we never make it out of Mathews. Great shops in town. Richardson's restaurant in town is a must!! Molly and Rick are wonderful to work with, and we love the house. We had NO mosquito problems, after yard was sprayed. The walk is less than 2 minutes to the beach. Walking toward the lighthouse and through the preserve is something you don't want to miss. Can't say enough concerning this updated beach rental. The outside shower is such an asset. Try this once, and you will be sold!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us AGAIN!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home on the Bay

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home. Very nicely updated. Molly was very knowledgeable about the area and always gets back to you with any question you may have in a very short time. The closest town with restaurants and grocery stores is about 15 minutes away but i enjoyed being in a quiet area. The house has plenty of room for a big family or a vacation with grandparents. We had 4 adults and 2 kids and still had plenty of room. We all enjoyed having WiFi thru out the house. The deck was nice to eat dinner on at night and it was great having access to a gas BBQ grill.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing Vacation on the Chesapeake Bay

  • 4 of 5

Our family of four recently enjoyed a four night stay at the Chesapeake Bay Beach House. The house was very clean and the owners, who live down the street, were wonderfully helpful and nice. Our two boys, ages 9 and 6, loved the beach...searching for crabs, fishing, and climbing the stone jetties.

Pros:

- Friendly and helpful owners.

- Quiet and peaceful community.

- Very clean house with a large kitchen.

- A one to two minute walk from the front door to the beach.

- Quiet beach with soft white sand and only a few other families in sight.

- Virtually no waves since you're on the bay with stone jetties along the beach.

- Outdoor shower with spacious covered porch.

- Richardson's Cafe located nearby which is a fabulous "small town" restaurant.

- Close to a Food Lion

Cons:

- Mosquitoes. Which are pretty common in the low areas around the bay. Just come prepared, as we did, with bug spray and citronella sticks.

- Lack of a driveway and front walkway. You'll need to carry your items through the front yard which isn't terrible.

- Outdated. Though the house is very clean and well maintained, it is outdated. Older bathrooms, laminate counters, etc.

Summary:

If you're looking for a laid back vacation home, which is off the beaten trail, then Chesapeake Bay Beach House is for you. It's an affordable house for young families with small kids. The beach is wonderful with it's soft sand, calm water, and only a handful of other beach goers.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. I wish we had known you had mosquito problems. They are a nuisance at the Bay, so we have the yard sprayed every three weeks by a mosquito company. They will come back and spray if there are any mosquitoes!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great beach home!

  • 4 of 5

The house was great and was right across the street from the beach, although there was better beach access right down the street. We rented the house for the weekend with a group of friends for a wedding. The house had plenty of room for everyone, and we had fun bringing groceries and enjoying the amenities of the home. However, there is no internet at the home and most of us had little to no reception at the home, so communication was limited. Also, we had a very rainy weekend, with not much break in the weather to enjoy the nearby beach. Because of all the rain, we learned the hard way that you are dependent on the tides for access to and from the home in case of inclement weather. We drove through standing water a few times and had to turn around and wait because of the water covering the access road. We missed the brunch the morning after the wedding because we made the unfortunate mistake at trying to leave exactly at high tide, even though the rain had stopped the night before. We had to turn around and wait 2 hours for the water to recede in order to be able to leave the weekend.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are truly sorry for any inconvenience that the water caused you. I should have been more clear when I contacted to let you know about the tides. That was not typical. The bay was encountering impacts from tropical storm Ida in conjunction with the Super Blood moon. We have been renting our house for three years, and this is the first time Mother Nature has impacted one of our guests. Thank you for your nice comments about the house, and we hope you will come back again and have nothing, but blue skies. Thanks, Rick and Molly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Mathews, Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
End of season special
21 Aug 2016 - 30 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
£453
for 3 nights
From
£151
£831
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£340
for 2 nights
From
£170
£982
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £151

Saturday to Saturday rental
Towels and linens provided for $75 per stay (optional)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Virginia, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2) Can be put together with adapter kit to make a king., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) queen size futon
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties