Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Free Wifi. Ski Out/(Almost)Ski In. Sleeps 4+. Now Booking 2018/19!

Bedrooms 1
Space 247 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Close to Centre of Val Thorens Yet In a Tranquil Location with Mountain Views


This 23m², extremely comfortable, apartment sleeps 4 adults but would also be suitable for a larger family with children, as it can sleep up to 6. The apartment is ski-out & (almost) ski-in; & is ideally located near to the centre of Val Thorens, with every amenity you need located less than 5 minutes away. It is light & airy, tastefully decorated & has solid pine furniture throughout. The apartment has a double bedroom containing twin bunks & the open plan living area contains a further set of twin bunks, together with a double sofa bed. The quiet, south facing balcony offers a lovely mountain view and a combined TV/DVD player (please note that this does not work as a TV) is provided for your entertainment, with a large selection of DVDs. Complimentary wi-fi is available.

There is a well stocked kitchen and the dining suite seats 6. The bathroom contains a bath with over-bath shower & WC.

You will also find lots of storage space, including a double wardrobe, 2 sets of drawers, wall shelves, coat hooks & under-bed storage boxes.

Extremely Convenient Location: This apartment is the ultimate in skiing/snowboarding convenience as you can usually ski/ride from the door at the start of the day and then ski/ride back afterwards to within 100 metres of the door. The apartment has its own ski/snowboard locker, located a few steps from the apartment on the ground floor, so you don’t have to travel far to pick up your gear each day. And from there it’s only a few steps further to the snow.

There is a small supermarket opposite the apartment, which means you’ll have only a 90 second round trip for your freshly baked croissants and bread each morning. Larger supermarkets are located less than 2 minutes’ walk away.

The nearest sports shop for equipment rental is directly opposite the apartment and the town’s main shops, bars, restaurants and leisure centre (with indoor swimming pool) are less than 2 minutes’ walk. For the night owls the nearest night club is under 4 minutes’ walk away.

The nearest covered car park is only 100 metres from the apartment and guests arriving by coach will be dropped off at the coach station - also 100 metres from the apartment door.

Cleaning: A cleaning deposit of €50 is payable in Val Thorens when you collect the apartment keys. If you choose to clean the apartment yourself before you leave, and provided that no additional cleaning is necessary after your stay, the cleaning deposit will be refunded to you at the end of your stay following an inspection of the apartment. Cleaning products are provided, as well as a vacuum cleaner and carpet sweeper, for those who prefer to do their own cleaning. The maximum charge for cleaning is ordinarily €50, with the actual cost to be determined by our keyholder on inspection of the apartment.

No Smoking: For the comfort of future guests the apartment is no smoking. We therefore request that smoking is restricted to the balcony.

More Details

About Us

John Crawford
120 Brougham Court
SR8 1PZ Peterlee
VAT Reg No

John & Sharon Crawford
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
10 May, 2018

About John & Sharon Crawford

When we are not travelling we live in County Durham, England - a stunning part of the world. We feel lucky to live here!

We were formerly a HR professional and primary school teacher but now spend our time enjoying the great outdoors, whether it be mountain biking, hiking or skiing.

John & Sharon Crawford purchased this apartment in 2008

Why John & Sharon Crawford chose Saint-Martin-de-Belleville

We chose a holiday home in the world's biggest ski area after being repeat visitors there for over 20 years. The 3 Valleys is somewhere we will never tire of skiing, no matter how many times we visit or how long we spend there.

We chose this property due to its central, yet quiet, location, the attraction of being able to ski from the door (& almost ski-in) and the lovely south facing balcony with its mountain views.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville in Savoie

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 247 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • 1. A cleaning deposit of €50 is payable when you collect the keys. This is refunded if you choose to clean the apartment.
  • 2. A full range of cleaning products and equipment is provided by the owners.
  • 3. Skis snowboards are NOT allowed in the apartment but storage facilities are provided in the apartment for ski/snowboard boots.
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • resort
  • Sports & Activities
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Free Wifi
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • The tiled bathroom contains a bath, with over-bath shower, and a generously-sized unit under the washbasin for the storage of your toiletries.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , Bunks
  • The double bedroom contains twin bunks, a pine drawer unit, shelf unit and large under-bed boxes for additional storage. The bedroom has its own window, with mountain view, and each bunk has its own reading lamp. The open plan living area contains a further set of twin bunks in an alcove, a pine drawer unit, shelf unit and large under-bed boxes for additional storage. Again, each bunk has its own reading lamp. The living area has a double sofa bed. Although single duvets and pillows are provided in the apartment please note that you are required to provide bed linen (ie sheets or duvet covers plus pillow cases), which may be hired locally if you prefer.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • ski
  • swimming
The apartment is warm & cosy, with under-floor heating & supplementary electric wall heaters in the living area, bedroom & bathroom. For your entertainment the apartment contains a combined TV/DVD player (NB this does not work as a TV & can be used only to play DVDs), together with a wide selection of DVDs & some novels. Guests are welcome to operate a book swap with those provided. The apartment is situated less than 1 minute's walk from the bus station & on the ground floor - so you do not have to carry luggage into lifts or up stairs. It is usually possible to ski/ride from the door of the apartment block to join the main pistes & then later to ski/ride back to the other side of the road, 45 seconds walk away. In most years both have been possible on the last weekend of the season in May! Alternatively, if you are too tired for the last run back, you can rest your weary limbs in the Cairn gondola, which will drop you 100m from the apartment door.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Free Wifi. Ski Out/(Almost)Ski In. Sleeps 4+. Now Booking 2018/19!
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews

Excellent apartment

  • 5 of 5

Excellent ski apartment conveniently located for the town and the slopes. Ideal for 4 people, 'tight' for 6. Very warm & cosy and John & Sharon have added some useful touches such as a ski boot tray, a slow cooker, an 'english' kettle and toaster, plenty of cutlery & crockery, a hoover, a DVD player, cleaning materials and spare light bulbs, good storage. Great view from the small balcony. John & Sharon are very friendly / excellent customer service. We have already rebooked for 2019!".

  • Review Submitted: 28-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you back for 2 weeks next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Super Location, Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5

Had a fantastic stay, the apartment is a good size for 4 and as there were only 3 of us we had loads of room, being on the ground floor and close to the ski locker was a bonus. The owners were superb at supplying all the required information for arrival etc. and very easy to deal with. The location is spot on and still able to ski out in April, with only a very short walk to get back. Facilities in the apartment are excellent with all the cooking equipment and utensils you could possibly require. Only possible negative was we ran out of hot water on a couple of occasions, but that was really down to us, not many hot water tanks can accommodate 3 long showers one after the other! Would recommend to friends and family and hopefully will return again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We are pleased that you found us easy to deal with and that all went well with your booking. Thank you very much for your comments. They are much appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great apartment in the perfect location

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time that I've stayed at this great apartment and I only have positive things to say. The location is perfect, in the centre of town but still very quiet. It is truly ski in/out for all those that are not complete beginners. For those that enjoy a few après ski drinks up at the Folie, you can pretty much ski straight back to your door - perfect!

The kitchen is well equipped at the place is surprisingly spacious. John and Sharon are easy to contact and a great help throughout. I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Feb-2015
  • Date of Stay: January 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate your comments and hope to see you back at the apartment again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Well designed, clean and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

A very nice apartment, ideally designed and situated, just as described on the website and definately ski in / ski out. There was ample storage space and all necessary mod cons. Having previously been very disappointed by an apartment in Val Thorens, we were impressed by the high standard of maintainance and cleanliness.

John and Sharon were very easy to deal with and gave us loads of useful information about the area.

I would certainly recommend this apartment to any of my friends who were planning a trip to the French Alps.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: March 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your comments and are very pleased that you found everything to be in order with the apartment and found us easy to deal with. We are pleased that the information on the area was useful and it is also great news that you would recommend the apartment to friends! Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


  • 2 of 5

The accommodation is more suited to four guests not six if you want to be reasonably comfortable. The sofa bed is positioned in such a way that moving from the bedroom to the main area is very difficult, making late night trips to the toilet almost impossible. It is a very small apartment so I guess you get what you pay for. It's on the ground floor so there can be noise late at night from other guests. Hot water is rare even when only two guests showering, one night we had no hot water at all! And I had to chase the security deposit refund which was late in being paid back. Positives, clean and well maintained, great position in the town, easy access to slopes, nearby restaurants and shops. Beware that on arrival the trek to the key holder involves an escalator and stairs, neither of which are easy with luggage, so send one person and leave everyone else with the bags! Would have booked again if smaller group, but the security deposit issue means we will look elsewhere next time.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: February 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate the time that guests take to review the apartment and on this occasion are pleased with the positive comments provided about the condition and upkeep of the apartment and its location - not least as the guest has advised us that he would book the apartment again but for the problem he encountered regarding the security deposit. We are however disappointed to hear that the guest was unhappy with the apartment size, particularly as this is the first complaint that we have had about its size in 6 years of renting. The size of the apartment (23 square metres) is clearly specified on the websites and in our booking documentation. The walk to collect the keys takes approximately 3 minutes from the apartment door (or 2 minutes from the coach drop off point) and is a dsitance of less than 200 metres. As the reviewer points out, there is no need to carry luggage when you go to collect the keys. After the (short) escalator, the keys can be collected after negotiating a flight of 6 steps. Unfortunately we were abroad on holiday ourselves (without e-mail access) and did return the security deposit late - which we explained to the guest and apologised for when we spoke on the telephone. While we always appreciate personal feedback it is also disappointing that there was no mention of any other complaints when we spoke. The apartment contains its own hot water tank and (prior to this report and also afterwards) we have not been made aware of it failing to produce any hot water, or for there being only enough hot water for two showers. We will of course look into that now that we are aware of it. It appears that the guest has been unfortunate with noise (as this is not usually an issue), as the apartment is in a quiet spot with no external passing pedestrians (or traffic). We are a couple that rents out or holiday home and, as regular travellers ourselves, we try to offer a booking experience that surpasses what we have encountered in booking similar properties in France ourselves. We are always available at the end of the phone and are happy to assist guests in any way we can.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great location. Would definitely book this again.

  • 4 of 5

This apartment was perfect for our party of 3. Sharon and John were extremely helpful and provided all the information we needed with regards the resort, property, transfers etc. The apartment was clean and well maintained, and the managers within the resort were easily available if we encountered any problems.

We had a lovely christmas dinner in Les Petit Ferme. Our 11 yr old loved the sports centre where he played table tennis, basketball and went trampolining on the days when it was difficult to ski (or when he still had energy to burn in the evenings!). The Shamrock Irish bar was a great place for apres ski, offering wi fi, good music, relaxed atmosphere, and board games such as draughts and ludo. Perfect for all of us!

Val Thorens is a great resort, and this apartment is in an ideal location for the slopes but also for everything else Val Thorens has to offer.

Whilst the apartment could sleep 6, it may be a squeeze, but I would expect this of any apartment in the French Alps in such a great location within this price range.

Thank you Sharon and John, we had a fantastic holiday.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jan-2014
  • Date of Stay: December 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you had a great time in Val Thorens and enjoyed your stay in our apartment. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the DVD selection (that you mentioned in your separate e-mail to us) and that the apartment/resort information that we provided to you was useful. We are always glad to help.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
110 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
850 Kilometres
Nearest Train
39 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
38 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Situated at 2300m above sea level, Val Thorens is Europe’s highest ski resort, with a winter season that runs from the end of November until mid-May. It lies in the world’s biggest ski area, “the Three Valleys,” which offers 600km of inter-linked ski runs and 200 ski lifts – all on one lift pass!

Guests staying here will be spoilt for choice as it is usually possible to ski directly to 15 ski lifts from the apartment door!

The skiing and snowboarding here is suitable for all standards of skier and snowboarder. Beginners can progress to a variety of long runs in the vicinity, whilst intermediates and above can use the fast and very efficient lift system to enjoy trips further afield – where they can sample the hundreds of miles of piste in the numerous other villages of the 3 Valleys. These include Les Menuires, St. Martin de Belleville, Meribel and Courchevel. Experts are also well catered for, with steep runs offering both on piste and off piste (recommended with a guide) challenges aplenty.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, Savoie

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Opening 2018/19
24 Nov 2018 - 7 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
8 Dec 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
22 Dec 2018 - 28 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
New Year
29 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Main Season 1
3 Jan 2019 - 25 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Main Season 2
26 Jan 2019 - 8 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Mid Feb 1
9 Feb 2019 - 15 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Mid Feb 2
16 Feb 2019 - 22 Feb 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Main Season 3
23 Feb 2019 - 5 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
6 Apr 2019 - 19 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late (but great!)
20 Apr 2019 - 6 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

We will reimburse you 50% of the booking fee charged by this website (none of which is passed on to us). The reimbursement will be made via Paypal or bank transfer within 14 days of you vacating the apartment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals