HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Spring/Summer in the Catskills-You won't believe the shooting stars!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Delancey - THE BROKEN ARROW

3 Bedroom 3.5 baths with Mountains, Water View, Sleeps 8

A Little Piece of Heaven in the Catskill Mountains of New York. Leave the noise and traffic behind as you drive approximately two and a half hours north of NYC to the Broken Arrow. Nestled on 50 acres, 1/2 mile off the main road leads you to your private getaway for relaxing and enjoying all that nature has to offer. Whether it's getting together for adventures like hiking, kayaking, skiing (located within a short drive away). Or just sitting on the 12x36 foot covered deck looking at the million dollar view of the Pepacton Reservior, there is something for everyone at the Broken Arrow. Our home is perfect for anyone wanting to relax and unwind, or using the home as a base to explore all that this area has to offer. This home is also great for several couples, family reunions, girls/guys only weekends, spiritual retreats, artists, writers, painters or anyone looking for the peace and quiet of a few days or a few weeks in the crisp mountain air.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Dan & Maureen
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
6 December, 2016
Call Manager

About Dan & Maureen

Dan, an avid outdoorsman bought this property in 2003. The area has held special meaning to Dan as he came to the Catskills with his father, uncles and cousins since the early 70's to hunt. Fulfilling his lifelong dream of having a home in the Catskills, the cabin was built and finished in November of 2004. Decorating and furnishing the cabin has been lots of fun, and keeps us busy. Dan takes great pride in his craftsmanship; his tables, hunting and fishing trophies are displayed throughout the cabin. I enjoy antiquing with my sister and our treasures can be found throughout our home as well.

Dan & Maureen purchased this house in 2004

Why Dan & Maureen chose New York

This is the quintissential family vacation home. When you leave the city and arrive here surrounded by this natural beauty, the spirit soars! Our home is nestled amongst tall pines and blue skies where eagles soar above and deer and turkey roam freely in front of us. With a six mile view of the Pepacton Reservoir, the view never gets old. Enjoy a morning cup of coffee while listening to the symphony offered by our resident songbirds and at night you can gaze into the heavens where each star seems to tell a story of it's own.

What makes this house unique

Our kitchen is fully equipped for the discerning cook, and our open floor plan is perfect so no one misses out on conversations or laughter and aromas coming from the kitchen or the sound of family gathered around the roaring fire in the living room.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

Spring/Summer in the Catskills-You won't believe the shooting stars!
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
Brewster, MA
5

A beautiful hideaway

  • 5 of 5

Dan has a beautiful cabin tucked away on 40 acres. It comfortably houses 3-4 couples. The decor is authentic hunting lodge with several stuffed animals including a huge bear that greets you as you come in the front door. A very comfortable rear porch looks out over a vast woodland and reservoir. it is a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and bustle! It is vey clean and well maintained with a complete kitchen and dining room.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family get away....

  • 5 of 5

This was our family's second stay... We love the property... We enjoy the privacy and peace that comes along with it... The home itself is beautifully decorated and everything you need is there.... Dan, the owner is very helpful and a pleasure to work with... I would highly recommend this property to anyone who enjoys the county cabin type get away...

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The best! Loved it.

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful rental. It was as quiet and peaceful as we hoped for with the town of Downsville just a short drive away. The screen porch is huge and comfortable with a beautiful view. The cabin is large and well decorated with many interesting touches. Dan, the owner, is very accommodating and really seemed to want to ensure that we had a great stay - which we did. In short, we can't wait to go back!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent get away off the grid...

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed for a week, the last week of July into August.. The house and property are absolutely breathtaking. The marksmanship of the way the home was built, furnished, and decorated cannot be matched... Everything you need is right there on site... My wife and I enjoyed getting away from the normal rat race... Our two teenage kids both brought a friend and they all had a blast...There was even enough room for my parents to stop up and spend two nights with us.. It turned out to be one of our best family get aways ever.. We were even fortune enough to see a bear one morning emerge from the wood line at the bottom of the property..(As for the last post complaining about the security cameras.. I too was taken back when I first arrived by them.... But then I thought logically about them and looked where they were all located.. The cameras are only located in common areas of the home, not in or near any bedrooms or bathrooms...If I owned a second property hours away from my home, I would want the ability to observe any activity going on at the home myself.. Specifically while no one was staying there for long periods at a time..) In any event, Dan, was very helpful and just a phone call away for any questions we may have had... My family is hoping to plan a trip once again next summer... I highly recommend the place if your looking for a quiet and breathtaking getaway off the grid...

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Renters beware

  • 1 of 5

We rented this property for a family getaway. Upon arriving, we noticed security cameras located all over the house. This was very unnerving. I personally felt watched all the time. Needless to say, we had limited our presence at the house, despite having paid quite a bit of money.

To top this off, the owner claimed damage to a recliner no one had touched. Very disappointing.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Eliza, The security system is turned off during any rentals for privacy reasons. As for the recliner, there were 8 of you and someone broke the handle that allows the chair to recline. You had purchased Travelers Insurance just in case an incident like the recliner happened. When I put the claim in you denied having broken it and I was denied compensation. There was no deductible so all you had to do was to come clean. It was the first time I have ever had to put a claim in. Sorry you felt watched. You should have called me. Also, you wanted to give a security deposit instead of paying for the non refundable Travelers Insurance Policy. Had I taken a deposit of $500.00 I would have kept it for the broken recliner which will cost roughly $700.00 to replace. Bottom line is someone in your party broke the chair and probably did not tell you. You are the first person in three years that has given us less then a 5 Star review. I'm sorry that I did not take the cash deposit that you were insisting on. Wish you much luck in renting future houses. Dan.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

beautiful getaway with plenty of privacy

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for seclusion and we found it. At night we could not see any lights from neighboring properties. The house itself is a masterpiece in wood. Without a doubt the best place that we have stayed at in years. The decorating with "re-purposed" items was a nice touch. Though it was just the two of us, there was plenty of room for more, without losing the cozy feel. No doubt that when our traveling takes us in that direction, we will be staying again. Oh, I almost forgot. Dan was great. He made sure that we had everything we needed. If you go during winter, 4-wheel drive is an absolute must. which makes it even better.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Duke's
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
SchoolHouse
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Bellayre Mountain
Car: necessary

State Hiking Trails:

Bear Spring Mountain Park Route 30 & Shinhopple

Cambell Brook Trails

Russell Brook Trails

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Delancey, Delaware River Valley

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£460
for 2 nights
From
£199
From
£258
Fri,Sat
£1,176
£4,834
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £63

HOLIDAYS require a three night minimum, please call for rates

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Delancey, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.25
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Sleep sofa in lower level w/private bath Futon in master bedroom can be shared by family w/private bath
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
Canoe/Kayak rentals @ Al's Sport Swimming @ Bear Spring Mountain State Park Downsville Town Pool on Route 30 - Free swimming 1-5pm 6-8pm Restaurants: Old School House Annual Delaware County Fair. Skiing/Snowboarding @ Bellayre Mountain (30 mins) & Hunter Mountain approx 50 mins away

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties