HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Noel Botha

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks English

Beautifully appointed barn conversion with great views close to Hawkshead

31 Reviews
People6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday barn in Hawkshead - Rose Barn, Outgate

3 bedroom property to sleep 6 (plus cot) with stunning master bedroom.

Rose Barn welcomes you with a spacious entrance hall with luxurious underfloor heating - ideal for drying off your outdoor gear. On this level there are two bedrooms, one double and one twin, both beautifully styled with quality furnishings and co-coordinating fabrics. To serve these two bedrooms is a high quality contemporary shower room with power shower, WC and basin.

On the first floor is the very well equipped kitchen with granite worktops and rear door leading on to the patio for outdoor dining. From the kitchen enter through a glass door to the attractive lounge/dining room with leather sofas, modern wall mounted gas fire, wide screen TV, DVD with a selection of DVDs and music system and picturesque countryside views from the deep set windows. Wifi available.

On the second floor is the master bedroom suite with a 5 foot king-size bed, TV, character vaulted ceiling and additional seating - ideal for a quiet read. Adjacent is the en-suite, refurbished in 2010, with a shower, bath, basin and toilet.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Noel Botha (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Noel Botha

Rose Barn is owned by Alison, Darren, Noel and Stuart who have been friends for over 10 years, and business partners for the same period. We bought the property as we love the Lake District and wanted to have somewhere we could go with our family and friends to get away from work and the stresses of daily life. We use Rose Barn regularly ourselves and continue to appreciate the beauty and tranquillity of the Lakes.

Noel Botha purchased this barn in 2006

Why Noel Botha chose England

We looked at many, but Rose Barn was the perfect location, and finished to a high quality with all the amenities we required - and therefore we knew would be attractive to our guests.

What makes this barn unique

Views and walks direct from the property, walking distance to a pub and great central location to access all parts of the Lake District.

Reviews

4.9
based on 31 holidaymaker reviews

Beautifully appointed barn conversion with great views close to Hawkshead
average rating of 4.935484 based on 31 reviews
Manchester, England
5

Rose Barn Review

  • 5 of 5

We were all so very relaxed and comfortable in this lovely accomodation. It was very well appointed, clean and welcoming. We did lots of research before we settled on Rose Barn and we were not disappointed. There was plenty of room for all six of us (four teenagers and two adults) and no fighting over rooms as they were all super. Having the top floor as a sort of private retreat is inspired. There are places of interest near-by and lots of helpful recommendations in the visitors book and plentiful leaflets. Only 400 metres or so to the local pub which was warm and friendly and served good but not fancy food. Lots of snow, walking, drinking, eating and fun for everyone. A great place to unwind. Hoping to visit again soon.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 4, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Its so nice to hear that our guests continue to enjoy Rose Barn, and the local pub! The footpath down to the pub has been recently reopened, and we put it to good use ourselves when we were up there this weekend.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Comfortable and attractive accommodation and excellent location in Lake District

  • 4 of 5

Comfortable and attractive accommodation and excellent location in Lake District

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Merelbeke (Belgium)
5

Beautiful house: clean, spacious, very well equipped kitchen, tasteful and good location!

  • 5 of 5

The view from the livingroom (on 1ST FLOOR, on the front) is superb! It is only a pity that the terrace is on the backside where there is little view and or sun.. But we didn't really have the weather to sit outside during during breakfast or dining hours, so it didn't really matter for us.. :)

The house is very comfortable and clean, the kitchen is fabulous!! We enjoyed it a lot! Also the milkman bringing milk and other things every day, (just leaving it on the doorstep) was very handy!

The bedrooms (2 on floor 0 and the masterbedroom on 2nd floor) are also very nice and very handy to have the nice bathrooms on these floors)

The location is very good!: nice and quiet and still close enough to the nice little town of Hawkshead for grocerys or dining! Also a good location for hikers; from there it is not far to the start of a lot of beautiful hikes !! We did several amazing hikes! very beautiful!!

We enjoyed it a lot and would certainly recommand it to our friends! :)

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that visitors continue to enjoy Rose Barn. The terrace at the back of the house gets sun in the afternoon and early evening ... when it is available. Sadly that cannot be guaranteed in the Lakes even in July. It never rains in the pubs and cafes though!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super barn in a great location

  • 5 of 5

Rose Barn was and surpassed our expectations. The layout of the barn worked very well for us with two teenagers and the wi-fii was much appreciated, it gave us all the space we all needed to! The barn was very clean and maintained to a high standard. The Owners were extremely helpful and answered any questions we had very promptly. We will definitely be recommending to friends and family, we couldn't fault it.

Being located in Outgate meant we were well positioned to visit many local attractions including Ashness Bridge, Aira Force, Tarn Hows and Windermere.

We enjoyed a lovely train ride from Ravenglass to Eskdale and had a great cruise on Lake Windermere hopping on and off at Wray Castle and Brockhole. The walk from Coniston to Tarn Hows was beautiful and well worth the end result with the most amazing views of the lake at Tarn Hows. Aira Force is amazing, most wonderful waterfalls to be seen.

Restaurants, Outgate Inn from the outside doesn't look like much but inside a warm welcome awaits and a very good meal. Dodds Restaurant in Amblesde (Italian) was very good, get there early, by 6.30pm, very popular!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that visitors continue to enjoy Rose Barn. There is a lovely walk to Tarn Hows from the house via Knipe Fold. It is then possible to take the suggested walk on towards Coniston. Allow about an hour and a half for the walk and an hour for tea and cake at the Bluebird Cafe by the steamer pier in Coniston. Don't forget that you will need to make the return journey!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The best place we have rented throughout Cumbria

  • 5 of 5

Clean, spacious and excellent value for money. We have holidayed all over Cumbria and as a family were all in agreement that this property outstripped all our previous rental properties. We have used all the recognisable companies that the District has to offer and Rose Barn was by far the best. The booking process direct with the owners was trouble free. On our arrival the place was immaculate throughout and we simply have no complaints on any front. It gives you easy access to Hawkshead, Ambleside and the Windermere Ferry. As fellwalkers it gave us direct access to the Langdales and the Southern Fells. Cannot recommend Rose Barn enough. Just book it. Don't worry about anything. It will be everything that it is described as being. We will be back and we have never done that before. We are very fussy.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that others enjoy Rose Barn as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, fabulous walks from the doorstep.

  • 5 of 5

Accommodation was perfect for our week long holiday - 4 teenagers with us so wifi was a bonus! Pubs in Outgate and Hawkshead were great for food. However, the kitchen was very well equipped which meant we could spend time together in the cottage.

Rose Barn was exactly as described and the photographs gave a true representation of the property. The owners were helpful from the initial enquiry right through to returning the deposit. Directions to the property were easy to follow and information about local amenities was very useful.

Teenagers loved the zip wire trek at Grizedale Forest (book ahead as it's cheaper) and hiring canoes from Low Wood Bay.

Make sure you take a walk around Tarn Hows - it's idyllic!

I would have no hesitation in recommending Rose Barn for a holiday in the Lakes - great accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that visitors continue to enjoy Rose Barn and all that the Lake District has to offer. We never tire of visiting ourselves.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
97 Miles
Manchester
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Outgate
Nearest Ferry
6 Kilometres
Bowness on Windemere
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Windemere
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
M6 Jn 36
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Outgate
Nearest Beach
23 Miles
Barrow in Furness
Car: necessary

Rose Barn is a beautifully appointed barn conversion created from 200 year old former farm buildings about a mile from Hawkshead village and offers the perfect setting for exploring the Lake District National Park. Situated close to the Langdale and Furness Fells, and not far from the Helvellyn range, it is a perfect setting for outdoor activities including hiking, climbing and mountain biking. There are plenty of opportunities to enjoy water sports including sailing, windsurfing and canoeing on Lake Windermere or Coniston.

The property oozes style and character and the old combined with the new works effortlessly. There is plenty of walking to be done from the door, with country lanes to Wray, Tarn Hows and Grizedale Forest. Hawkshead (5 min drive) offers a variety of places to eat/drink and individual village shops for provisions, and the famous 'Drunken Duck Inn' is nearby to offer fine dining. The nearest pub is a 5 minute walk into Outgate.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday barn in Hawkshead, Windermere & Central Lakes

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Mid
17 Sep 2016 - 21 Oct 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£635
for 7 nights
£635
 
 
Off Peak
22 Oct 2016 - 28 Oct 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£895
for 7 nights
£895
 
 
Low
29 Oct 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£535
 
 
Peak
17 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£990
for 7 nights
£990
 
 
Low
7 Jan 2017 - 10 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£545
 
 
Mid
11 Feb 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
Low
18 Feb 2017 - 24 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£545
for 7 nights
£545
 
 
Mid
25 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
Off Peak
1 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£915
for 7 nights
£915
 
 
Mid
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
Peak
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,010
for 7 nights
£1,010
 
 
High
3 Jun 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£805
for 7 nights
£805
 
 
Peak
15 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,010
for 7 nights
£1,010
 
 
High
26 Aug 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£805
for 7 nights
£805
 
 
Mid
16 Sep 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
Off Peak
14 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£915
for 7 nights
£915
 
 
Low
28 Oct 2017 - 20 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£545
 
 
Peak
21 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,010
for 7 nights
£1,010
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

A 25 % deposit is required on booking. Payment in full is required 8 weeks in advance of the booking. A £100 security deposit is required in addition to the final payment and will be refunded within 5 working days of departure.

PLEASE NOTE: OUR CHANGEOVER DAY IS A SATURDAY AND WE DO NOT OFFER SHORT BREAKS THAT STRADDLE THE WEEKEND, OTHER THAN IN THE LOW SEASON.

Changeover day is Saturday. The property will be available from 3.00 p.m. on the day of arrival. We ask that departing customers vacate the property by 10.00 a.m on their final day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn in Hawkshead, United Kingdom

Property Type:
  • barn (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 1 is en suite to to the Master Bedroom and refurbished in April 2010 to include a bath with over shower. Bathroom 2 is located on the gound floor between Bedrooms 1 and 2.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Patio
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The property is furnished and decorated to the highest standard with co-coordinating soft furnishings and flooring throughout, and great thought has been given to the holidaymakers every need. Gas central heating and hot water on demand make Rose Barn the perfect place to stay in any season. Wifi installed in November 2012. BT Vision TV recently installed providing on demand TV such as BBC iPlayer and BT Sports (from Sept 2013). Outside: Patio with garden table and seating. Two named parking spaces to the front of the property. Duvets/beds made up for arrival; towels included. Travel cot and high chair available - please order. Sorry, we are unable to accept dogs at Rose Barn.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot