HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Private Jungle Cottage - Waterfalls, Natural Pools, Ocean Vistas

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Unit: 1BR Jungle Canopy Cottage | Maui Guidebook

Summary

Perfect for active people who enjoy uncrowded beaches, waterfalls, exploring, adventures, hiking, dramatic scenery and peace and quiet. Central enough for easy day-tripping into the resort areas. 30 minutes from the airport; 15-20 from Paia Town, Haiku, Makawao and a dozen great uncrowded North Shore beaches.

Earthy, peaceful and private; perfect for couples and a solid value.

The cottage sits on two acres directly adjacent to miles of undeveloped jungle, up on a ridge built on stilts overlooking the jungle canopy. Words can’t begin to describe how special it is to relax out on the lanai or in the livingroom listening to the sounds of nature.

Large windows are everywhere, bringing the outside inside. Bedroom with queen bed, plenty of light, large closet with shelves, hanging and luggage space. Open and airy living room; Full kitchen with granite counter tops. Bathroom with tub and shower.

Details

About five minutes down a narrow, windy, bumpily paved jungle road (any car can navigate it.) The area is largely undeveloped, but it is also not an isolated grass hut in the backcountry jungle!

This kind of lodging is perfect for nature lovers. While there is a ton of diversity in flora and fauna, the land is not heavily landscaped and this is the jungle – so stuff grows like…well…a jungle! (If things like the lawn getting tall between cuttings is something that horrifies you, well, we can show you loads of more tamed and manicured places!)

Pineapples grow next to the house. Hibiscus, plumeria, night blooming jasmine, heliconias, ginger, lilikoi, coconut, tangerine, and many other flowers and fruits are all around the property.

The cottage is environmentally designed with solar power, rainwater catchment & green/repurposed construction. The house was also designed and positioned to catch tradewinds and natural light perfectly.

Living room has a small TV with an extensive digital video library with plenty of content for both kids and adults. There is also a DVD & NetFlix. We do not have cable TV.

Large windows are everywhere, bringing the outside inside.

Tap water comes from rainwater catchment. This is a giant tank of rain water which is regularly treated to sanitary specifications, so washing dishes, toothbrushing, etc. are all fine. There is a reverse-osmosis filtered water spigot for drinking water.

The quality bath towels, linens, comforter and pillows are replaced very frequently to be keep in new condition. There is also wireless internet, and a CD player & small selection of excellent Hawaiian music provided.

Full kitchen with granite countertops, double-stainless-steel-sink & mid-size propane fridge. Fully stocked with amenities such as microwave, coffee maker, blender, dishes, glassware, tableware, pots, pans, knives, etc.

The lanai has two tables and the stars are spectacular at night. When evening rains come in, the lanai is such a special spot to watch the raindrops stream though the sunlight falling into the jungle. (Most of Maui’s rain comes from tradewind cycle, typically blowing in windward late afternoon or overnight. Since tradewind clouds come from the east, the afternoon sun often still shines brightly, giving Hawaii plenty of rainbows!)

If you can tear yourself away from the lanai, there is an inside dining table with high cafe style swivel chairs to bring you right into the view.

Location

The location is the perfect place for visitors who want to escape the pre-package touristy resort areas that for a more genuine experience, yet still be based centrally enough to day-trip all over our incredible island.

You can walk right into the jungle from the cottage, swim in natural pools and waterfalls, walk, hike or relax at dramatic cliff side ocean vistas, take yoga classes from our neighbors, world renowned yoga teachers, or even experience a guided hike of areas tourists rarely experience.

Very close to Twin Falls, a couple miles into the unofficial start of the famous Road to Hana, at the edge of the rainforest. Since Maui is small, and the resort areas are not centrally located, this private and “remote” area is ironically quite central for active people looking to experience the huge variety Maui has to offer.

This unique cottage is a great choice for those who want privacy, serenity and a peaceful off the beaten tourist path place to base their adventures around Maui.

More Details

Owner
Alexa Fischer
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
24 May, 2018

Why Alexa Fischer chose Huelo

The location is perfect for our active family of six. We can walk out our door and be swimming in waterfall pools or hiking jungle in minutes. We can drive to a dozen beautiful uncrowded beaches in 15-20 minutes. All the rest of this spectacularly perfect island is an easy reach.

What makes this cottage unique

Being an author and with four active kids - we're all over Maui, all the time. Having this location as our home base has been perfect for our busy family because it allows us to experience living in the serenity of the true, natural Hawaii while still being within easy reach of everything the island has to offer.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on Huelo on Maui

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • rural
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Tub & Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(36 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
19% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Private Jungle Cottage - Waterfalls, Natural Pools, Ocean Vistas
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 36 reviews
5

love this place

  • 5 of 5

It was magical very relaxing and private.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Private jungle oasis

  • 5 of 5

This house was amazing. Not only were we on a beautiful island with endless options to explore, but we also had this gem to come back to every day. The house was comfortable, clean, and welcoming. I would recommend this place to anyone who loves nature and wants to disconnect.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing adventure!

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend stayed here for 5 nights for my birthday and Valentine's Day. What an incredible experience! We enjoyed our stay so much that we were so sad to leave. The cottGe was just what we needed and the owners even left us chocolates when we got there! The lanai was breathtaking, we spent every morning on it and every evening we played cards and watched the stars... And the geckos! This cottage is exactly as advertised, if not even better. This place will always have a piece of my heart. The owners let you have your space and do not bother you whatsoever.. If you have any questions, they respond to your texts right away. I would ugly recommend this cottage... And the road to Hana drive!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exotic jungle location

  • 5 of 5

This is an excellent house for two or possibly three people. The drive in from the Hana Highway is a bit complicated but the instructions for finding the place are good. The living area is above the trees and there is a nice balcony with a view of the jungle. There are two good walks described in the literature in the house. Bring all you need. There are no stores nearby.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Poorly maintained, overpriced property

  • 2 of 5

It was definitely overpriced place with very poorly maintained property. The property wasn't gated if you are concerned about the security. Refrigerator was very very old!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so sorry you felt this way Kasem! We know our house isn't for everyone, and we do our very best to make sure everyone is a good fit. It sounds like we missed that here :( I'm not sure why you expected a gated property as we don't advertise it as such, but this area is extremely safe and the kind of security that you might expect is "normal" where you're from simply isn't needed out here :) To address your complaint about the refrigerator: it is a propane refrigerator required because of the off-grid setup. Propane refrigerators are designed for utility and functionality - and they are not fancy - and, yes this one is also over 10 years old - but has been rock-solid reliable and never given us any trouble and we hope to have it another 10 years! Finally, to address your complaint about how the property is maintained, I think that, like I said before, unfortunately you may just not have been a good fit, and the rural character of our simple off-grid jungle cottage was interpreted by you as not being well maintained? The fact is that the cottage is *very* well maintained, and if there were any issues at all with any aspect of the maintenance of the home, if you would have called me to let me know your complaint, you would have found that I would have come right over and attended to it immediately! All that said, we really hope you had a wonderful visit. Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Welcome to the Jungle!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED this cabin. It's 1.3 miles off of the main highway and we arrived at night - having read the reviews that it might have been a challenge to find, we were ready. It was not difficult to find at all. The road is not dirt - it is paved but has some bumps and it is winding. The cabin is extremely well marked with a big green sign with the address on it at the bottom of the driveway.

There are neighbors (in theory) so you know you're never "stranded" but you cannot see any neighbors (only forest) so you don't even have to close the drapes during your stay. The owners were very responsive over email and live several houses away, but we never saw them during our stay. The couch and bed are comfortable. The directions about appliances etc on the counter are clear and thorough. We had no power issues and enjoyed the solar living! There is no air conditioning but we didn't need it - the breeze through the open windows kept us cool. The guide magazines on the living room table were very helpful. The lanai is like an oasis floating in the jungle. We loved the gekkos (appreciated the warning about them in the kitchen counter documents) and we saw very few bugs.

It was a little slice of paradise. We were very comfortable in this house.

And Haiku is an absolutely lovely town. We look forward to our return!

  • Review Submitted: 17-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Kahului Airport
Nearest Barpub
13 Miles
Charlie's Restaurant and Saloon
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Pukalani Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Hana Highway
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Colleen's at the Cannery
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Hookipa Beach Park
Car: recommended

Dozens of natural pools and waterfalls make their way down the mountain to the ocean. These waterfalls and pools aren't in the tourist guidebooks, so you will almost always have them all to yourself!

The shoreline here is dramatic, there are several walks and hikes along the shoreline and down to the ocean.

Twin Falls is practically our neighbor.

The Bamboo Forest is just 4 miles away.

We're close to Pa'ia, and Makawao.

The Road to Hana begins here.

Closer + avoid traffic bottlenecks to Kula, Ulapalakua and Haleakala Park vs. staying in resort areas.

About the same drive-time to Iao Valley and Kahului as the resorts are.

About twenty minutes more to drive to either resort area vs. staying in one and driving to explore the other (and you should explore it all!)

Drives on this side of Maui are incredibly beautiful, enjoyable and scenic, making day-tripping all over the island an absolute pleasure and a must-do!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Notes

  • Contractual booking deposit: 20.00% rent
  • $188-$265
  • US Dollars
  • March - December*: $188/nt. 7+nts (2-6 nts: $219/nt.)
  • January* & February: $219/nt. 7+nts (2-6 nts: $249/nt.)
  • *Christmas/NY Time: $265/nt.
Available
Unavailable