HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Reflection Cabin a unique experience

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin

Overview

About the property

This brand new 1800 style cabin is 480 square feet of beauty. It is one room that includes a kitchen, eating area, living area, bedroom, wood burning stove, and separate bathroom area. Beds can be set up as 2 extra long twins or king bed with a queen size futon. There is a small deck for grilling,and a table and chairs for outdoor eating. Wildlife viewing happens daily and calls to the wildlife photographer, journalist or individuals looking for a complete relaxed get-a-way. The property may be rented with or without a personal chef serving breakfast and dinner. All linens and needs are provided for the cabin as well as daily housekeeping.


Owner
Melissa
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
19 July, 2017

About Melissa

Dave and Melissa Shipek are both retired from their careers as a firefighter and teacher. Born and raised in California they decided to live in the wilderness and share their experiences with all who wished to have an extreme contrast from urban life. They live on the same 30 acres and offer a wide variety of activities plus gourmet meals.

Melissa purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Melissa chose Wyoming

This property is one of a kind with the combination of solitude, nature, a personal chef and access to Jackson Hole to enjoy the towns' many diverse offerings. It was a dream come true for Dave and Melissa and we hope it is for you too.

What makes this cabin unique

Reflection Cabin is dedicated to Melissa's grandfather who lived during the same time as Geronimo and was a pioneer in every sense of the word. It is also dedicated to her father who is 95 years old. It carries the antique feel of a wood burning stove and ice box and is decorated in western and Native American style.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Bondurant in Sublette County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Also can be made into twin beds., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Alternative Lifestyle
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
There is a teepee located on the property for use and also a firepit area for roasting marshmallows etc. Snowmobile rides, ATV rides and guided hikes are also available.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Reflection Cabin a unique experience
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
dianedel45@gmail.com
5

A chance to step back in time and savor nature

  • 5 of 5

There are few people better than Melisa and Dave at turning their vision into a first-rate property--Reflection Cabin. Expertly crafted and decorated, you just can't beat the experience of being off the grid, but in luxury. The king size bed was wonderful....loved sitting in front of the picture window watching wildlife in the woods and birds on the feeder.....the grill on the porch enabled us to cook some fantastic meals....and your hospitality can't be matched. Loved our stay!

Diane and Don

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a joy to meet you folks. We have great memories of your stay and hope so much that we'll hear from you down the road. Our best Dave and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

We're from Florida I and decided to take my daughter out west for a father/daughter trip. I booked three nights Reflection Cabin and then another four at another location. I wish I'd have booked the Reflection for the entire time! The natural beauty of this place is simply overwhelming, and the serenity of the cabin and the woods which surround it bring peace to the spirit... I woke up each morning and sipped my coffee on the porch amidst the cool, fresh breezes and with the sounds of birds chirping and squirrels rustling; not a sound except for the ones from the woodland inhabitants!

The cabin itself is a work of art. Hand-hewn beams culled from fallen timbers on the property recall a bygone era, and the décor within compliments and enhances that rustic, yet simply elegant feel. Every piece of furniture, every item adorning the walls--from the copper cooking pots to the 19th century wood stove to the artwork and antique curios--seems perfectly fitted to the setting. Nestled amongst the animals' homes in the trees outside, Reflection Cabin is the 'human nest' for all lucky enough to rest in it.

But even more special than this place are the owners themselves, who live but a short walk away. Dave and Melissa could not have been more welcoming. They made my daughter and I feel like family from the day we arrived...a real comfort for travelers coming from far away, as we were!

For the most part folks come to this gorgeous part of the country for one reason...to see the natural beauty and pristine wilderness which surround it. So why on earth do they congregate in Jackson Hole, elbow to elbow, when there is a place like this so closeby? To each their own but I will take Reflection Cabin over a crowded tourist trap any day. Spending the day in town and picking up a few items to take back home is fine, but beyond that give me the peace and quiet a place like Reflection Cabin brings... it is truly food for the soul.

Do yourself a favor--stay here. You'll take home a memory which will last a lifetime.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

It was cozy and peaceful but the unique experience was more than I bargained for.

  • 2 of 5

When I made the decision to stay it wasn't clear enough to me that I would be without water and electricity. I was hoping to just adapt but the longer I was there the harder it became. My challenge was more Dave than anything.

When I arrived at the cafe Dave couldn't leave until he closed. Melissa left on a family emergency so he is the only one around to help me. When I get to my cabin Dave did help me get my stuff inside. I planned on staying a month so I had plenty to unload. He shows me how to operate all the solar lights, fireplace, camp stove, compost toilet, shower, etc. The shower is 50 feet or so from the cabin. One of the first things I noticed is water standing on the shower floor. Dave tells me it will not be up and running until Monday afternoon. I was supposed to be at the cabin on Thursday, but because of a snowstorm I didn't arrive until Saturday. Those are not words you want to hear.

The shower experience was not the best. The water was lukewarm at best so I had Dave adjust it. He did tell me the temperature was good enough for the last person. Ugh! Because it was colder the second time I showered I adjust the water temperature myself. It still took a couple tries before I got it right. The mat I stepped onto after I showered did not feel the cleanest so it was an unpleasant experience.

This was the first time I had ever used an icebox. It is located on the deck. It actually seemed to work okay but there is no way of knowing what the temperature is. I kept asking for ice but Dave didn't always give it to me when I asked for things. The last bag Dave brought came 4 days after the last one he gave me. My voice needed to be heard.

Because I felt I was at Dave's mercy I was concerned when I ran out of toilet paper. When I asked for some he wanted to know if I looked in the cabinet. I'd been there 9 or 10 days by then. I was annoyed and frustrated. This was not the experience I was hoping for.

I chose to take my dirty clothes to a laundry mat in town rather than use Dave and Melissa's. I was also glad I could charge my phone and iPad in my car whenever I was traveling. The compost toilet actually works better than you would imagine.

Leaving early was a good decision. However, I don't believe vacation rentals work like a hotel. If you give hotels a 24 hour notice you won't get charged for the days you aren't there. Really makes me think about the next place I stay.

Deb Petersen

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Deb, We sincerely apologize for your less than delighted stay with us. We had no idea you were unhappy as you never revealed that to us. We thought everything was fine. I wish you would have at least called me and we could have discussed what your thoughts were. As it was, our son was hospitalized and we were extremely worried about his health otherwise I would have been there to assist. When you left without telling us, we were completely confused. The wilderness is a special place but not for everyone, which is fine. You did have water to drink and wash by and people have always said the 92-105 temp. in the shower was great. At any rate, we wish you well and we're very sorry. David and Melissa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lenoir City, TN
5

Happy trails

  • 5 of 5

A quiet oasis in a true wilderness. We were so impressed with our visit. Our cabin was cute, immaculately clean and very private. Our hosts were accommodating and very friendly. Wildlife everywhere, mule deer, moose, snow-shoe hare, the list goes on and on. Although we came to visit the parks we felt even more in the wilderness during our stay at reflection cabin. Such a peaceful experience.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Brevard, NC
5

Excellent Getaway from Reality

  • 5 of 5

Coming out here, I was not sure what to expect, but as soon as I stepped foot in the cabin I immediately fell in love with the scenery, rustic lifestyle, and the the feeling that I was the only person in the world. There is so much privacy and allows for one to meditate and relieve all of their worldly stresses. The owners some of the nicest people I have ever met! They are very accommodating and make sure that you have what you need. Dave, the owner, is an expert chef and owns a cafe just down the road from the ranch- called Branding Iron Cafe. The food is the best in the area and, in fact, the best I have ever had anywhere. I highly recommend this for anyone that needs to escape reality or just needs to relax for a while.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Luxuriously Rustic

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent two nights at Reflections Cabin and we enjoyed every minute of it. The cabin itself offers comfortable bedding--a queen, I think, and a futon--as well as plenty of space for food and clothing storage. Lots of candles and lamps allow for more than enough light after dark. The sawdust toilet was a hit with our 10 year old son, who marveled at this natural and ingenious sanitation. Cabin is decorated with beautiful artwork and there are shelves jammed with books. Plenty to do right outside your door--ATVs to ride, a teepee to investigate, friendly squirrels that will eat peanuts right out of your hand, and some great hiking both at nearby Tetons and the Wind River Range--but the best thing about this cabin will no doubt be your interactions with its owners, two of the nicest, friendliest and funniest people you'll have the privilege of meeting. Do yourself a favor and request some of Dave's cooking--the mini breakfast souffles, meatloaf, & sliders were absolutely exquisite. I can't think of a better place to stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

This property is amazing. Nestled amidst apens and fir trees at the end of a 6 mile dirt road you will experience a beautiful new cabin following an 1800's theme. You can be secluded away from everyone and everything or enjoy the attractions in Jackson Hole. This cabin is not like any other.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Bondurant, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£96
for 1 night
From
£96
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals