Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Spacious Amish grandparents home completely updated

People14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,620 sq ft
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Peacefulness at its best

This home is located on 2 acres in Ohio Amish country. We are fully stocked for 12-14 people including all linens and towels. Water for drinking is provided due to having well water as well as snacks, coffee, teas, and hot chocolate. Laundry available and a gameroom for everyone. Sit on the patio by the firepit while you watch the Amish buggies clip clop by. Lots to do and see in the area. We have four bedrooms that include a queen bedroom on the first floor, a futon in the den on the first floor, a double bedroom and two twins in a bedroom on the second floor , and a set of bunks, two singles, and a futon on the lower level. We also have two full baths. If you have horses - they are welcome as well.


Owner
Tess Yurik
Member since: 2016
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
17 June, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse in Apple Creek in East Union

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1620 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Den
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 2 Cot , one crib and one pack and play
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 4 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
24% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Amish grandparents home completely updated
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 33 reviews
North Canton, Ohio
5

You could not get bored here if you tried!!

  • 5 of 5

We were so happy to get to stay at this house! Tess is such a wonderful hostess. There is not a thing you could want that you won't find tucked away in one of the cupboards, shelves or closets here. We didn't find the game cupboard in the laundry room until the second day! We had brought games and movies along not knowing that Tess had already

thought of everything. The beds were so comfortable. There was so much room here. Seeing all of the Amish buggies going by on the road by the house was such a treat. We also got to see Baltimore Orioles in the tree! Everything was so cozy and close to all of the stores we wanted to go to. We were so lucky that it happened to be strawberry time! We saw a sign for organic strawberries and bought 8 quarts! We can't wait to go back and visit this lovely home again!!

Thank you Tess!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect for our group

  • 4 of 5

Better being under one roof rather than individual motel rooms. Loved discovering the different sleeping areas. Had everything we needed.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southeastern Wisconsin
2

Well Water

  • 2 of 5

I found out that the property has well water on the day of our arrival. That would have been good to know up front (I don't recall any mention of well water in it overview when I was looking for a place to stay), and it was too late to make any changes. (Well water is a deal breaker for me.) The property is next door to an airport and we are warned not to trespass, but overall the place has a rustic appeal. One of the bedrooms is located in the partially finished basement, so it has a rather wet smell to it. Note that there is a bedroom in the attic space, which we didn't notice until the morning of our departure.

  • Review Submitted: 14-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello. I am sorry you had a poor experience. It is definitely noted that there is well water on the website. I also provide several gallons of drinking water for guests. I will check into a damp smell but I have not noticed this and it has never been reported. It is high rain season, so that may have attributed. There are no attic bedrooms. There are two bedrooms on the second floor, one on the main floor, and one on the lower level (but not basement level) so I do not know where you are referring to. This is all explained on the website and in pictures.Again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, comfortable house

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. The house was perfect for our extended family, with room for everyone.

  • Review Submitted: 05-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much - we enjoyed hosting you and your family!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, Ohio
5

Wonderful Experience!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a long spring break weekend over Easter weekend. There were 11 of us and we had plenty of space. The host provided anything and everything you could possibly need. We cooked Easter dinner and didn't want for anything. All the cookware and extras we needed were there. We took a nice walk and spoke with some Amish neighbors. They were so nice! We even had an Easter egg hunt in the yard! There is an amazing playground in Wooster at Cornerstone elementary school. All in all it was a wonderful experience. We will definitely be going back!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so happy your family had a wonderful Easter. We would certainly love to host you again at any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Parrish, Fl
5

Quaint and peaceful.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for Christmas 2017. The house has plenty of room and all the essentials that you could possibly need. We really enjoyed seeing snow for the first Time with our two-year-old and her great grandmother. What an experience watching the snow fall as horse and buggy’s clop on by. In the future when we return to Ohio, we know exactly where Home is.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Dawdi Haus. I loved having you and your family and hope you come again. Consider us your home away from home!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday farmhouse in Apple Creek, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£151
for 2 nights
From
£64
From
£68
Fri,Sat
£437
£1,830
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £22.59
Refundable Damage Deposit £75.29

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals