HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Jim Woodward

Member since: 2012
Speaks English, French

Woodward Cabin #2 with boat house

40 Reviews
People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Kansas

Come and relax while you discover nature at its finest at our cabins at Lake Wabaunsee. Lake Wabaunsee is a beautiful, clear, spring-fed lake in Northeast Kansas.

This cabin is a completely furnished luxury cabin that sleeps six on the upper level. The upper level features three bedrooms, two full bathrooms (including an in-suite bathroom in the master bedroom), a spacious living room, an eat-in kitchen, a laundry room with a full-size washer and dryer, a front entry porch, and a spacious back deck with a scenic lake view.

An added bonus for this cabin is the boat house. This space has a rustic feel to it and features a loft with three queen-sized air mattresses. This makes an for ideal location in which teenagers can hang out.

Have more than six in your group? No problem-- the lower level features an additional bedroom and bathroom, as well as a living, dining, and kitchen area. It also features covered and open-air decks which overlook the lake. The lower level can accommodate an additional four people comfortably.

This cabin is located at an ideal spot on the lake to watch the slow parade of boats that cruise around the lake. This cabin and boathouse are in a 'no wake' cove across from the free swimming beach. The docks provide easy access to boats for the passengers.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jim Woodward (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, French

About Jim Woodward

(Picture to the left is a Spring motorcycle ride on Skyline Road)

My wife, Mary, and I enjoy outdoor activities, meeting people, and sharing our place. We love the Flint Hills and Lake Wabaunsee.

We have the cabin to help us create good memories. We hope you will come visit and create some good memories of your own.

Jim Woodward purchased this house in 2000

Why Jim Woodward chose Kansas

Lake Wabaunsee is 30 minutes from our home. I first went to the lake on a fishing trip with my dad when I was 10. I had a great time and caught my fill of sunfish. It continues to be a good place to create great memories. There is something enchanting about the lake. It renews us both mentally and physically when we spend time here; it is the perfect break from the stress of everyday life.

What makes this house unique

A trip to Lake Wabaunsee is like going back in time, a more simple and peaceful time.

Reviews

4.7
based on 40 holidaymaker reviews

Woodward Cabin #2 with boat house
average rating of 4.675 based on 40 reviews
5

We love this lake Wabunsee lake house

  • 5 of 5

We had stayed at one of Jim's other rentals next door a few years back. We also loved that property when it was just our family of 3. This time we had extra family along, 4 adults and 2 young children. We had plenty of room and it was nice to have separate living areas as well as 2 kitchens. We really loved the boat house and spent a lot of time down there. Swimming, floating and taking our canoe out. We will be back again!! The sunsets and sunrises are just amazing from the boat house!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words about the cabin/house on the lake. To say boat house really doesn't say how cool the "like a living room on the water". We are glad you enjoyed it like we do!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZING location!!

  • 5 of 5

Jim was SO amazing to work with!!! The houses were perfectly located, well stocked, beautifully furnished, very honey, inviting, neighbors were great!!! This was an AWESOME getaway!!! We will definitely be returning!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lindsay, It really pleases me that you and your 29 female guests were so happy with all 4 of our cabins! Thanks for your great comments. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Spot for Family Time!

  • 5 of 5

The space is great. Well set up to grill and prep meals. The boathouse and kayaks made for easy access to the water. Jim was extremely accommodating – from getting our dates set to bringing in a firepit for our stay. I would definitely recommend this spot!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Haysville, KS
4

Great place for an

  • 4 of 5

A well set up cabin with plenty of room. 3 full bathrooms make it a great place for medium sized groups. We spent a lot of time outside on 1 of the 2 decks. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and meal prep essentials.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful getaway

  • 5 of 5

Took our staff retreat here - Jim was very accommodating and the perfect host. We hope to be back year after year!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Therese, Thanks so much! I hope you bring your staff back again next year! Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nebraska
2

Underwhelming

  • 2 of 5

Unique location for a getaway. Cabin and area was quiet and nice. We had limited information about the cabin and few pictures to prep for expectations. (a good website could do wonders for your advertising business).. There was an extensive water leak in the plumbing from an upstairs bathroom cause a huge mess in the basement when we arrived. The owner made no effort to clean it up, give us a reduced rate or even warn us of it... fans running in standing water with the stink of mildew/mold... ridiculous... we made the best of that...

We were told there was a fire pit, so we brought wood... No fire pit... there is over 100 steps (wooden stairway)to the water/boat house, that is quite a trek up and down for anyone hoping to have easy access (not exactly what we were expecting). We spent the majority of our time at the boat house near the water which was pretty cool... But the boat house was quite dirty, and not in any condition to sleep in... (not well maintained) Just several things that were not really disclosed anywhere and came to a surprise to us I guess.

We made the best of our visit. The lake was very pleasant, we caught fish, skied, floated, tubed, kayaked and had a good time. Just be sure you inquire about any questions you have, DON'T ASSUME ANYTHING.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry we had a busy summer and had a plumbing problem that two local workers couldn't solve. We had to get my plumber from Topeka to come out on the weekend to solve it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
kci
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
north shore
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
wabaunsee pines
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
north shore
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
across the cove
Car: recommended

Lake Wabaunsee is located on Kansas 4 highway. This is locally known as a scenic, native stone highway; it is popular for motorcyclists as the highway winds through the beautiful flint hills.

Lake Wabaunsee is 40 miles southwest of Topeka. It is also about 40 miles from Manhattan and Emporia.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house on Lake Wabaunsee, Kansas

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer time
1 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£635
for 3 nights
From
£171
 
 
Fourth of July
1 Jul 2017 - 4 Jul 2017
4 night minimum stay
£882
for 4 nights
From
£190
 
 
Summer Time 2
5 Jul 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£635
for 3 nights
From
£171
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£578
for 3 nights
From
£152
 

Additional pricing information

refundable clean up fee £76
maintenance repaair £46

There is a lower level that is available for $50/night for groups larger than 6. The lower level has a another master bedroom with a queen bed and bath. There is an additional living room with a queen size pull out couch. It has a see-through gas fire place, separate kitchen and pool table. It is essentially another apartment. It is available if you need the room.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Kansas, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , with master bathroom attatched
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , a shared bathroom adjacent
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , bathroom adjacent
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , This bedroom is on the lower level
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot