HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Kristie Powell-Patterson

Member since: 2002
Call Manager
Speaks English

Enjoy 'Cloud Nine' Charming Cottage-Downtown McCloud!

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Shasta Cascade - Cloud Nine

Original Mill Workers House, renovated with all the modern conveniences!

Historical Mill home completely remodeled and restored! You will love this charming and tastefully decorated home just steps away from the MCCloud Mercantile in downtown McCloud! Nine foot ceilings with crown molding in most rooms, original hardwood floors, cozy woodstove for snowy evenings - comfortable leather sofa's, spacious, open kitchen with marble counters, breakfast nook, built in desk area (has internet).

You will love the bedrooms - 2 bedrooms have Qeeens, 3rd a Double. Master suite includes a classic and beautiful designed bath complete with travertine shower and original McCloud claw foot tub/shower.

Deck off the kitchen area is spacious and includes BBQ and patio furniture for summer. Don't forget the Must-have front porch with wicker furniture to just sit and relax and enjoy the quiet of McCloud.

Conveniently located in the center of town and just steps down the street from the McCloud Mercantile Hotel with shops, gallery, and restaurants. Enjoy direct Views of the majestic 14,162 ft Mt Shasta from front and rear yards. . This home maintains many of the Period details of the original 1928 Mc Cloud “lumber millworker’s bungalow” but now has been refurbished with many of today’s modern conveniences.

Home details: The kitchen has been renovated and includes large eat-in dining area, new marble counter-tops, dishwasher, convection broiler oven, and abundant workspace areas for cooking. The kitchen is furnished with complete complement of cooking amenities to make vacation home cooking a pleasure. The combination living room/dining area includes wood burning stove and beautiful softwood floors. Spacious master suite with bathroom features original McCloud claw foot tub & shower, sitting bench, new travertine tile floors, new double sink vanity with granite counter top. Second bath is located off living room and bedrooms features spacious new marble shower with sitting bench and travertine tile floors. Inside washer and dryer conveniently located in mudroom off kitchen. Rear yard has a deck, landscaped garden and patio area with propane BBQ.

Area Details: The McCloud area is known for World Class fly fishing, breathtaking waterfalls, great golf, mountain climbing, and relaxation. Venture out to surrounding communities and recreation areas of Bernie Falls, Dunsmuir, Mt Shasta, and Mt Lassen Volcanic Park. Just want to hang out and stay in Mc Cloud? You may want to stroll down to Mc Cloud’s own “Hoo Hoo Park” with picnic areas, festivals, and new Bocce Ball Courts just a short distance away. The towns of Mt Shasta and Dunsmuir are close by and offer a variety of shops and restaurants for your dining pleasure. During the winter months, there is downhill and cross country skiing just a few miles away at the Mt Shasta Ski Resort.

Need a massage and a hot soak? Mt Shasta and Steward Hot Springs offer a variety of spa packages designed for relaxation and rejuvenation.

Location: McCloud, California, USA (12 miles East from Mt. Shasta ~ 6 miles from Mt Shasta Ski park - 9 miles to Dunsmuir- 40 miles north of Shasta Lake/ Redding- 1.5 hours to Ashland, Oregon)

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kristie Powell-Patterson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2002
Call Manager
Speaks English

About Kristie Powell-Patterson

Owners:

Tom Carlson

Dale and Linda Simpson

What makes this house unique

The convenience of being close to downtown, without feeling in the center of activity

Reviews

4.3
based on 10 holidaymaker reviews

Enjoy 'Cloud Nine' Charming Cottage-Downtown McCloud!
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews
4

Nice comfortable house, perfect location, close to everything

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonder white snowy visit, the house had every thing we needed including a well equipped kitchen. Its right across the street for the old merchant building and restaurants. The parking due to the snow was limited as the garage is locked, covered parking would have made loading and unloading in the snow nice but not a deal breaker. I would rent this again in summer or winter!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

The house is very cute and comfortable! We were in McCloud for a wedding that was held at the Mercantile across the street, so this was the PERFECT location for us.

We've rented several vacation rentals through VRBO before, so the only thing that was confusing for us was that this rental is managed by a rental company. That was not made clear in the description (or if it was, I missed it). We received emails from several different "agents" from the company, and I was never sure who I was dealing with.

In the end, everything worked out great! Loved the house, loved the location! Would definitely come back if we're ever in the area again

The only suggestions I would give are: 1) The instructions included for the lockbox operation were not correct (the code was correct, but how to use the lockbox was not) - so clearer instructions would be helpful. 2) The instructions to turn on the gas heater (that are attached to the heater) are not clear either...it took us several tries to get it turned on. and 3) Directions on how to use all the remotes would have been helpful - not all of us are familiar with Dish systems, so the multitude of remote controls was confusing!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Santa Rosa, Ca
5

Perfect Blend

  • 5 of 5

Cloud 9 was perfect for me and my roommates. The kitchen was so well stocked with everything we needed to prepare our meals. The comfort and proximity to the dance hall was ideal!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Birthday Party

  • 5 of 5

Our cottage was perfect for our visit. The accommodations met our needs. The event we attended was at the Mercantile which is across the street from our cottage. The residents of McCloud are warm and friendly. This was not our first visit and will not be our last.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 22, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy Home in Central Location

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had a really comfortable stay at Cloud 9 while attending a wedding in the area. The house was immaculate and updated. We didn't spend a lot of time in the house, as we were out and about, but appreciated the location - 50 yrds from the main McCloud town building with a cafe and shopping, and 3 blocks from the grocery store. Also walking distance to the McCloud Guest House, where we attending a wedding.

Only negative was no outdoor dining furniture (but there is a bbq); we would have hosted friends for dinner but opted not to since there was no table outside, only chairs.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Turlock Ca USA
1

Friend reunion

  • 1 of 5

6 adults arrived for 6 day stay. The place wasn't stocked very well. First night we had to buy toilet paper. Then discovered they only gave us 1 garbage bag. Then they said compliments of them we were given soap, shampoo and lotion which consisted of 2 motel bars of soap and 1 tiny motel size shampoo and lotion. When we asked for garbage bags, they brought 5-less than one a day. When told about lack of soap- response was well we only stock for 1-2 days! That's great, but we rented for 6. She never offered to bring any more. Next purchase, paper towels. 1 roll just didn't cut it. Very little water pressure making showering a long ordeal to get soap off. It says living room seats 8-that's if 3 of us sat in kitchen chairs. Not comfy for older guests. We have been coming to McCloud for over 20 years n this was the worst. Slippery throw rugs with curled edges and uneven flooring made for dangerous moving about, especially at night. There were signs up, WATCH YOUR STEP! I can see why.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Patty - We are sorry you did not understand that vacation rentals differ a bit from staying in a Hotel. Guests will usually bring shampoo/toiletries even tho we set some out as a gift. Your home was completely stocked and we were more than happy to bring your more provisions throughout your stay. For longer stays, we encourage guests to buy extra provisions such as toilet paper. It was nice to meet you and we hope you stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in McCloud, Shasta Cascade

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Memorial Day
27 May 2016 - 30 May 2016
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Independence Day
1 Jul 2016 - 4 Jul 2016
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Labor Day
2 Sep 2016 - 5 Sep 2016
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Thanksgiving
23 Nov 2016 - 26 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
New Year's
30 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£313
for 2 nights
From
£124
 
 
President's Day
17 Feb 2017 - 20 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Easter
14 Apr 2017 - 17 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Memorial Day
26 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Indepedence Day
1 Jul 2017 - 4 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Labor Day
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Thanksgiving
22 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 26 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£437
for 3 nights
From
£124
 
 
New Year's
29 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£313
for 2 nights
From
£124
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£283
for 2 nights
From
£109
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £27
Cleaning £65
Tax Rate 10.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Shasta Cascade in California

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Large renovated master with double sink, clawfoot tub
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Large travertine walk in shower with bench
  • Light and Bright. Both bathrooms have been renovated with travertine floors, and granite counter tops on new vanities.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Large Master Suite with original McCloud clawfoot tub/shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Off of living room, with dresser and closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Has a dresser
  • Clean comfortable bedrooms, nicely furnished. All linens and bedding provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Notes:
This property has internet service, cable TV and blue ray DVD player. Many spas in the area including, Stewart Hot Spring, Mt. Shasta Resort, Sacred Mountain Spa. Just blocks away from Hoo Hoo Park. One block to the dance hall, and the McCloud Mercantile Hotel and shops are just across the street.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

Contact the Manager

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote