HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

City Centre Courtyard Apartment sleep 6 (+1) only 1 minute from Princes Street!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,291 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Location! Location! 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms -beds can be 3 kingsize or 6 single

3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, *BEDS CAN BE 3 SUPERKING OR 6 SINGLES* our stunning 4 star courtyard apartment is only one minute from the world famous Princes Street with its spectacular castle, marvellous gardens and fabulous shops.

30 seconds to George Street which by day is 'retail heaven' and by night home to trendy bars, cafes and restaurants.

Ideal location for cinemas, theatres, art galleries & museums. Very close to all bus, train & airport links.

Three bedrooms, can be super king or twin. Two bedrooms are en suite, third bedroom is next to family bathroom. We have a quality Z-bed available at an extra cost (weekends are slightly higher than midweek) for a 7th guest, travel cot, high chair & toys available.

Comfortable, attractive lounge with brown leather corner sofa, 42' wall mounted TV, freeview + (CD & DVD) + surround sound. Dining table & chairs. Fabulous fully equipped kitchen including hob, double oven, fridge/freezer, washer dryer, microwave etc.

Courtyard areas to front and rear of property (ideal for smokers) with patio table and chairs.

More Details

Lisa Sweeney
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 August, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fab! Fab! Fab!

Superb apartment in a stunning location - we loved it!

Great bars, restaurants & shops right on our doorstep.

Fully equipped and spotlessly clean - you have thought of everything - enjoyed the extra touches!
May 2010
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in New Town in Stockbridge

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1291 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , family bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , en suite
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , en suite
  • The apartment has gas central heating and constant running hot water throughout. Bath & hand towels supplied.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , beds can also be 2 singles - En suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , beds can also be 2 singles - En suite
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , or 2 single beds
  • All beds are zip n' lock so can be made into 3 super-king or 6 single beds. One quality folding bed also available at an extra cost for a 7th guest. We provide all bed linen and towels. Each bedroom has a wall mounted television. Hand held hairdryer in each bedroom. Ample storage with lots of coat hangers.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Terrace
  • 2 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Eight outside steps from pavement to front door of courtyard apartment. Private courtyard at front of the apartment, private patio to rear both suitable for smokers or catching some sun! Special Events, Rugby Weekends etc please apply for the price. Complimentary 'welcome pack' provided.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(40 traveller reviews)

95% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
City Centre Courtyard Apartment sleep 6 (+1) only 1 minute from Princes Street!
average rating of 4.875 based on 41 reviews

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

This flat was superb. It was comfortable and spacious. Centrally located to everything. We had a great time in Edinburgh.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A+ Apartment

  • 5 of 5

What a perfect place to stay! We felt very welcomed, even before we arrived. Lisa, the owner, was in friendly contact with us, answering our questions and giving advice about Edinburgh. Our three-generation group of six quickly felt at home in this immaculate apartment with its tasteful furnishings and well-equipped kitchen. We especially liked the option of twin rooms or king-sized doubles. The apartment is just a short walk from Princes Street and was so convenient to all the city sights and transportation. The only drawback was that we couldn’t stay longer! Thank you, Lisa, for making our Edinburgh visit so wonderful!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A huge thank you Barb & family for firstly staying in our Apartment & thanks so much for taking time to write such a wonderful review - it honestly makes our jobs so much easier - we wish all our guests could be like you guys, it was lovely to meet you all - you are an amazing family. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & look forward to welcoming you back anytime - it was a real pleasure. Thanks again Love Lisa, Kev, Tom & Ava X
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Edinburgh experience

  • 5 of 5

After a less than ideal visit to London our family arrived for a few day stay in Edinburgh. The owner had given us all the appropriate information ahead of time and everything was as promised. Also, there was a welcome treat and instructions for things to do etc. The flat was ideally located in City Centre and it was clean, modern, and spacious.

It made for a very nice stay. I would highly recommend this flat for any visit to Edinburgh.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So nice to hear that after such a bad experience in London you enjoyed our apartment and Edinburgh so much. Many thanks for taking time to write us a review- it's really appreciated! 😀�
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great apartment. Great location.

  • 5 of 5

Just spent a great weekend in the beautiful city of Edinburgh. Trip was enhanced by staying in this lovely property. The location was perfect, easy to get to from Princess Street, and a lovely friendly welcome from Lisa. Flat was just as described and the bedrooms set up in the configuration we requested. The kitchen had everything you would need for a short or long stay. Having three bathrooms is a definite bonus if you have six people staying, so no hold ups getting ready to go out and see the many sights of the city. Would be happy to recommend this property to any friends or family visiting Edinburgh, and hope to use this property again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Judy, Neil, Lynn, Sean. Marni & Simon for taking the time to review No49a North Castle St, we really do appreciate it & for all your kind words & recommending us to others- it is a really great flat. It was so nice meeting you & thanks for being such great guests - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and time in Edinburgh & look forward to hosting you again ANYTIME Best Lisa.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place - not responsive; no deposit return; overcharged

  • 1 of 5

While it seemed that our visit was going great - once I returned from the stay I could not get the deposit returned or an accurate invoice provided. I was on a business trip with 2 other colleagues in Europe for a week and we opted to spend the weekend in Scotland. Edinburgh is a beautiful amazing town. All of the people were very nice and helpful with the exception of the owners of this flat. Right off the bat we were over charged by £100. It has been a full month and the owner is no longer responsive via email and not providing a refund to meet the actual agreed price nor refund the deposit. Don't stay here - you may lose money! Additionally the flat is clean and I would say average - the location is great, but not if you have a car. Street parking is not convenient. Don't be fooled by the pictures - It is not that modern and the pictures were taken with full light to make it look brighter and bigger. The beds are very uncomfortable and need to be updated. I am not sure if the service has gone down in the last year, but I did not have the same positive experience as others.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you have not had your deposit back and I can assure you that it will be addressed immediately. The temporary manager who was running the apartment in my absence did not make me aware of this issue and it has only come to my attention since I have returned. You were technically not overcharged the security deposit on other websites had been increased to £200 and that is where the discrepancy lay as it had not been increased on this site but the Manager requested the usual £200 - not a problem as you will receive your correct deposit in full. I appreciate your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the apartment and the location. Any City in the world has a parking problem, especially when the apartment is located one minute away from the most famous street in the Country - Princes Street! Most guests do not bring cars preferring to walk, or use the ready available taxis, trams, buses or trains all located minutes from the apartment. I must however disagree with you regarding the photographs and decor - they are all kept to a high standard. We have many 'glowing reviews' on other websites. The bed in the first bedroom has just been replaced and two new beds are following. I feel the one star rating is very, very unjust when your only complaint seems to lie with the deposit return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston, Massachusetts

Gorgeous and perfect location

  • 5 of 5

As all the other reviewers have noted, the apartment was beautiful, perfectly located for easy access to both the Old and New Town sides of the city and managed by lovely people. Both Pat and Martin were extremely kind, helpful and beyond accommodating (it was so nice to be able to drop the baggage off early and not lug it up to the castle). The apartment was a wonderful size to allow plenty of private and group space for 4 adult women - and the 3 separate baths made mornings much easier and quicker!

The apartment was fantastic - thank you Pat and Martin! I'll definitely be returning soon.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Nearest Barpub
50 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Waverley or Haymarket
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Car: not necessary

North Castle Street. Edinburgh EH2 3BG

Our fabulous 3 bedroom (beds can be 3 kingsize or 6 single) sleeps 6 (+1) 3 bathroom apartment looks up to the magnificent Edinburgh Castle. We are situated only one minute from world famous Princes Street where the Airport bus & tram stops. 30 seconds from George Street, which is retail heaven as it hosts numerous up-market shops, cafes, bars, & restaurants.

Waverly & Haymarket Rail Stations are a ten minute walk away. Most local & national buses stop thirty seconds away on George Street. Edinburgh's main bus station is a 5 minute walk away. There are museums, art galleries, theatres & cinemas all within easy walking distance.

Other Activities: cinemas, museums, art galleries, tourist attractions.

Two railway stations Waverley & Haymarket both approximately a 10 minute walk away. Edinburgh's main bus station is only a 5 minute walk away.

All prices quoted are for up to 6 guests.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in New Town, Edinburgh and Lothians

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
August 2017
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £80 per night, per additional guest
September - 21 December
1 Sep 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £40 per night, per additional guest
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £80 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £40
Additional Guest Fee £80 per person per night
Damage Deposit £100

Special Events, Rugby Weekends are priced at a higher rate - please apply directly for the cost.

One night bookings incur a surcharge as they involve the same cleaning and laundry as 2 or more nights.

Rugby, Christmas, New Year and special events prices vary - please apply for them.
Special Events i.e. Easter, Rugby Weekends etc will be charged at a higher rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.