HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Trout Creek Camp - a Rustic Get-away in the Williamette Valley

People6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Trout Creek Camp is a family-owned property of over 200 forested acres, streams and waterfalls located in the foothills of the Willamette Valley, about a one-hour drive from Portland.

Your rustic cabin is located directly on the confluence of rushing Trout Creek and the sparking Molalla River, a tributary of the majestic Columbia.

The cabin has panoramic views of the clean, clear river, teeming with salmon and trout. Birds abound. You may frequently see river otters or beavers building their homes. Old-growth and second-growth fir, pine and cedar trees surround you.

Over 100 years old, the cabin has a large master bedroom, living room, large kitchen/dining room, a sleeping loft and large bathroom. A broad sitting porch looks over scenic Trout Creek, perfect for reading, writing or relaxing. The cabin easily sleeps four.

The soothing sounds of the river and creek will wash away your everyday cares. Plunge into the crystal clear water to swim in the natural pools, or hike up the river to the rapids and waterfalls.

Enjoy rhododendron blooming in the spring or pick blackberries in the summer. Try your luck fishing for the salmon lazily circling in the river (license required). Hike the trails on the property or through the adjacent conservation lands.

This rustic retreat is ideal for nature lovers, writers, hikers, fishermen and contemplative types.

If you require all the modern conveniences, this beautiful property may not be the best fit for you. Cell phone service is spotty. But there are two wood-burning stoves, refrigerator, hot-plate, microwave, washer and dryer, a landline phone and internet access.

Welcome the evening sitting beside a fire in one of two outdoor fire pits, one with the creek view and one with the river view.

More Details

Owner
Bill Rowan
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
10 August, 2017

About Bill Rowan

This rustic retreat is a place to sit and read on the porch overlooking Trout Creek all day long. You can fish for the salmon that swim in lazy circles in the deep cool water of the Molalla River. You can take long walks around the property and the adjacent conservation areas. As a day comes to a close, you can watch the stars from around the campfire, or snuggle up inside near the wood burning stove.

Bill Rowan purchased this cabin in 1910

Why Bill Rowan chose Oregon

This property has been in our family for generations. My feisty grandmother resisted many efforts by logging concerns to buy the lumber rights, or to build logging roads through the property. As a result, it is now a rare example of virgin first and second growth forest. The home is extremely private. Except for the caretaker who lives on site, the closest neighbor is over a mile away. It is rustic, comfortable, and truly away from it all.

What makes this cabin unique

Trout Creek Camp is not fancy and not modern. But if you, like us, appreciate simplicity, and enjoy nature in all its wonder, your needs and expectations will be more than met.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Molalla in Marion County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • library
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

68% Complete
18% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Trout Creek Camp - a Rustic Get-away in the Williamette Valley
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
5

swimming paradise

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the rustic cabin. The cabin overlooks a beautiful swimming hole that a babbling creek feeds into. They even had a float for us to use. Cooked out by the fire every night. Would highly recommend. We visited Silver Falls 1 hour away one of the days and was the perfect location.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is a diamond in the rough!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is cozy and charmingly quirky. Rustic is an apt description, but we found it to be perfectly comfortable and with just the right amount of cenveniences. Out of cell range and with no shortage of beautiful scenery, it's a perfect and restorative get away from the city. The manager, Ian, and groundskeeper, Zeph, were super friendly and accommodating, and very responsive to all my questions prior to arrival. Even though the groundskeeper house is right next door (like you share a driveway), they're very respectful of your privacy -- we never felt imposed upon or watched over. And you can't beat the hot tub!! If you're looking for something that's a bit rugged, but a few notches up from camping, this is the place for you.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The best 'remote getaway' spot we've ever been to!

  • 5 of 5

Arrival was easy, we were welcomed in an extremely friendly manner by Ian, he even gave us a tour of the place. And what a place they have there! It was bigger than we expected, the photos don't do it justice, although with one bathroom it might feel cramped with 5/6 guests. That's not to say however, that it won't sleep 5/6 guests, the loft can sleep 3 comfortably with 2 in the master and then maybe another on the couch at a push, if you don't mind sharing the bathroom it would happily serve as a family getaway.

With it just being the two of us though it was more than comfortable! The master leads out to a little porch covering (perfect to keep fishing gear) and then down to the hot tub (which can get really hot!!!)

We fished the river sadly with no luck, but that didn't detract from the views, the location is phenomenal, right on a fork where a rushing creek flows into the river, if it were warmer you could happily swim in the river where it pools mostly, just down behind the cabin. To the side the creek more resembles rapids, although again there's a very slight pool you could dip your feet into. Again, scenically, it can't be beaten, the fire pit is a bonus and while there is an outdoor grill, the caretaker (Zef) brought us the charcoal BBQ to use for our stay, the large overhang was great as it rained a little but we could still sip drinks and relax outside, with all the trees surrounding it's quite insulated from the wind so even in colder weather it just feels 'crisp' outside and you don't really get cold.

Service was amazing, we weren't interrupted at all by Zef and Jess (who were fantastic hosts) and enjoyed an amazing short getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. No TV was welcomed, books by the wood stove fire place make you appreciate your surroundings, evenings with no signal (so no phones going off) were blissful.

There is wifi however so if you choose to check email/check news or stream some tv to a tablet then you can.

I almost don't want to give it as good a review as we are certain to book this again and I don't want competition for bookings.

To sum it up, if you want a fast paced vacation, go to vegas, but if you want the beauty of nature, serenity and seclusion or just top quality time with family without the tv and social media then this is the place to get it!

  • Review Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect seclusion and serenity.

  • 5 of 5

Had an absolutely wonderful stay. The epitome of relaxation. The Last night involved the hot tub in the rain. An amazing experience!

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brother Dale you are welcome back anytime. Remind me to send some photos of all the chanterelles we'll be eatin' in the Fall!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very nice

  • 3 of 5

This place was great !! Only complaint there were bed bugs !!!! Please do something about this .. maybe wash sheets better and more often ive never been bitten by bed bugs and its not a fun experience at all they itch like crazy!! And maybe clean the hot tub better and put down some gravel around it and getting down to it would be a lot better and cheap fix;) .. otherwise great location and stay

  • Review Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To recount: We tried the beds and inspected and cleaned the entire place and found no evidence of bed bugs. And then we did the whole process again....and again. Our clean hospitable rental is not where you contracted your issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Portland, Oregon
5

Heaven!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED the wooded seclusion such a short drive from home (PDX)! Thanks to the caretaker for being responsive to our needs, helpful while unobtrusive! The cabin is rustic but has everything needed to be comfortable. Amazing views overlooking the river.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
42 Miles
Portland International Airport
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
The Tap Room, The Spot, White Horse Saloon,
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
Arrowhead Golf Club
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Mt Hood Ski Bowl, Timberline Lodge and Ski Area
Car: necessary

The closest town, Mollala, is eight miles away by a newly paved road, for those times when you want groceries, a hearty lumberjack breakfast, excellent Mexican food, or to start a day of antiquing and exploring. Wonderful wineries, hiking trails, hot springs, and Mount Hood are within easy driving distance for day trips.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Molalla, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£291
for 2 nights
From
£117
From
£136
Fri,Sat,Sun
£738
£2,777
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £12 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £38.84
Additional Guest Fee £11.65 per person per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable