HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Kensington Lux 1 bed apt in prestigious block on secluded square & private gdn

Bedrooms 1
Space 813 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Luxury apt in portered block in oasis of tranquility heart of Kensington

Luxury, recently renovated, one bedroom apartment on lower ground floor (with elevator if needed, although the staircase is very gentle) of historic Kensington apartment block with friendly porters and fierce looking security (but very polite and well mannered - he's ex Royal Marine!) from morning to evening.

Situated in the prestigious, secluded square of Iverna Court: Hidden in an oasis of serenity, yet less than 1 minute from the bustle and activities of Ken High st.

Private well kept communal garden.

Great location - Walking distances:

60 seconds to High Street Ken metro station (and “Boris Bike” public cycle hire station), shops and restaurants.

6 mins to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace (Former residence of Princess Diana; and if you are really lucky you might get a glimpse of current residents William and Kate).

8 mins walk to the new Design Museum (opening Sep 16, if no delays) and Holland Park (annual "Opera in the Park" music festival)

13 mins to Gloucester Road tube station (add 2-3 mins for Natural History, Science, Geological and Victoria and Albert Museums) and South Ken.

15 mins to Royal Albert Hall

Here is a mini-guide to Iverna Court (as well as the neighbourhood in general):


The guide was written by a local estate agent (real estate broker) so feel to bear this in mind, although it actually is pretty accurate.

Very spacious for a one bedroom apartment: 813 sq ft / 76 sq m and very well distributed. Floor plan attached.

New modern kitchen and bathroom. Kitchen has the usual equipment including Nutribullet, Nespresso, blue-tooth music speakers.

Most of the other furniture is antique (much of which is from our family so normal use is absolutely fine but please don't abuse!) except brand new (2016) King-sized pocket-sprung firm orthopedic mattress (by manufacturers who hold the Royal Warrant to make the mattresses for the Queen and Royal Household) and brand new (2016) sofa.

We have two brand new (2016) hotel-quality foldaway single guest beds with memory-foam mattresses. These are the most comfortable ones we could find on the market. They are perfectly fine for children (who seem to have a blessed ability to sleep soundly on any surface) but adults will notice the difference compared to a proper bed.

If preferred, we could supply a double inflatable aerobed instead of the single guest beds.

A travel cot can be arranged for infants;

(IE in total the flat could sleep four: two in the main bed and two in the guest beds)

Living room has smart 50inch 4k UHD flat screen TV, smart blu-ray / DVD player, WIFI-colour printer / copier / scanner.

WIFI broadband; NetFlix; Free phone calls (under 1 hour duration) to most major countries (US and EU included).

If you need something specific let us know and we will endeavour to accommodate all reasonable requests.

Plenty of storage space: Bedroom has walk in wardrobe and there are two wardrobes in the entrance hall.

Children are welcome.

No pets – they are unfortunately are against the rules of the block.

No smoking in the flat - but there is a patio, as well as the main square where a smoker can go.

The flat gets deep-cleaned between each stay. If you need maid, cleaning or laundry services during your stay we are happy to arrange (please contact for details).

We are happy to offer suggestions of activities, restaurants, places to visit too etc.

Iverna Court prides itself on its reputation for maintaining a respectful and friendly community. Some of our neighbours come from distinguished families (but don't worry they are very friendly and down-to-earth!).

We would be shocked were you to be disturbed by, or experience anti-social behaviour from, our friendly and discrete neighbours: Hence the only thing we (and the Porters too) will be STRICT on (we can be flexible on almost everything else) is that you reciprocate on this front.

Guests looking to for somewhere to hold raucous and /or late night parties are STRONGLY advised not to waste their time here and to look elsewhere. (NB this is British understatement!)

We can put our hands on our hearts and say this really is a lovely, spacious apartment in a fantastic location that we have endeavoured to kit out to a very high level of specification. We want our guests to be happy and recommend us to their friends. So in the spirit of maximum-sincerity, we’d like to point out that the only drawback we can think of is that as a lower ground floor residence, it does naturally get less sunlight than the flats higher up the block. We have decorated the flat in light colours and materials so we don’t think it is at all dark or gloomy and have reflected this via a discount in the price we are asking. We do hope that on the (unfortunately infrequent in the UK) days of glorious sunshine you are basking in our beautiful private communal garden or out and about seeing the many pleasures London has to offer, rather than cooped up at home!

(Of course, there are some advantages to being on the lower ground floor too: the flat is always very cosy in Winter and the central heating is rarely required; while in Summer it is naturally very fresh and cool).

This used to be our family home until a combination of a sprouting family and crazy London property prices forced us out of Kensington. We promise that we maintain the apartment in as good a condition as if we were still living there, and to aim to give as a good a service as we would expect to receive were we staying at someone else's. All we ask is that guests treat our apartment, and our neighbours, as they would were they staying at a friends' house.

Our hope is to help you have such a wonderful stay in our flat in London that you come back to visit us again and recommend us to your friends too!


Please note, that we require a fully refundable (7 days of checkout) security deposit of £500. This may sound like a lot of money so hopefully if I explain my rationale it will help you understand where I’m coming from.

The deposit is intended as both a protection for me from and (above all) as a deterrent for anyone looking for a boisterous holiday.

I’m new to listing on HomeAway. I’m not quite sure what to expect and, frankly, part of me is quite nervous about letting strangers stay in our apartment. The flat used to be our family’s home, it is fitted out to an high level of spec. Iverna Court has strict rules on maintaining a considerate and friendly community and I have zero desire to have to answer to the Residents’ Association for any anti-social behaviour on the part of someone else.

We made a deliberate decision to list this property on HomeAway rather than AirBnB as we have heard about some bad experiences of people letting their homes on AirBnB and HomeAway seems more oriented towards families and older (and hopefully more responsible) travelers. However, unlike AirBnB, HomeAway does not cover homeowners for any damage caused by the guests. IE by listing on HomeAway we believe we are minimising the chances of having problems; However if we are wrong, and there are problems, then we will be more exposed than if we had gone with AirBnB.

Although £500 may sound like a lot of money, given how expensive London is, if someone were to deliberately misuse or abuse the flat it frankly not go very far. However, it should be significantly in excess of what is necessary for any honest accidental damage. Hence the main purpose of the high level of security deposit is to deter the sorts of people who might be prone to mischief.

You should also be aware that the security deposit is held by HomeAway – as long I do not report any damage then I will not touch the security deposit and 7 days after check out HomeAway will refund it.

I can fully understand how any potential guests might worry (given that they, like me, are trusting someone they do not know me) that the security deposit is an underhand ploy for a deceitful landlord to seek to rip off their guests after their departure when they (presumably – I am not a lawyer) have restricted means of defending themselves from overseas.

All I can say to (hopefully) settle these concerns is that as a full-time mother of four (so far) lovely children, my main aim in life is to bring up my children to be good people. My second priority is to be a good person myself and help my husband to be the same. Cheating or defrauding our guests would be a big step backwards in these life-goals, as well as give my children (whose main source of behavioural learning is how the people around them act) completely the opposite example of how I would like them to grow up.

However, I am not naive and realise that while there are many, many lovely people in the World, sadly, there are also a very large number of people who do not place such an high emphasis on behaving well. Asking for a meaningful security deposit is one way to try and deter the latter from staying in my home.

Hopefully this will help you understand my reasoning, but if you would like to discuss in more detail please just drop me an email and I’m happy to chat more, including on the phone if necessary.

More Details

Estibaliz (feel free to call me Esti if it's easier!)
Member since: 2016
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2017

About Estibaliz (feel free to call me Esti if it's easier!)

Originally from Spain, many years ago (which have gone frighteningly quickly!) I went to visit my best-friend in Boston and ended up meeting my now husband. He was born and brought up in London of Italian parents, and that is where we decided to settle to bring up our family.

As a full-time mother of four (so far) lovely children, my main aim in life is to bring up my children to be good people.

My second priority is to be a good person myself and help my husband to be the same.

Cheating or defrauding our guests would be a big step backwards in these life-goals, as well as give my children (whose main source of behavioural learning is how the people around them act) completely the opposite example of how I would like them to grow up.

However, I am not naive and realise that while there are many, many lovely people in the World, sadly, there are also a very large number of people who do not place such an high emphasis on behaving well. I just hope that I can deter the latter from staying in my home.

You should expect me to be friendly, honest and reasonable. While we can all have Utopian dreams, in the real world even the best-laid plans can go wrong. If there are any issues then I am very confident that, at least from my end, they will be due to honest oversights rather than deliberate deceit or dishonesty - and I shall endeavour to amend them to the best of my abilities.

All I ask my guests is that they treat me and the other Iverna Court residents the way they would like to be treated themselves.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Kensington in London

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 813 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Kingsized bed with firm orthopaedic pocket-sprung mattress made by the holder of the Royal warrant to supply the Queen and Royal Household. Also we have two foldup single, hotel-quality, guest beds with memory foam mattresses. (These are fine for children but an adult will notice the difference vs. a proper bed) Alternatively we could supply a double inflatable air bed.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Garden ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Free fixed line telephone calls (up to 1 hour duration) to non-premium UK fixed line and mobile numbers and free international calls (if less than 1 hour call duration) to top 50 destinations (see list in additional information below) Australia Austria Bangladesh Belgium Brazil Bulgaria Canada Canary Islands China Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Germany Gilbraltar Greece Hong Kong Hungary India Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Madeira Malaysia Netherlands New Zealand Norway Pakistan Poland Portugal Romania Russian fed Singapore Slovak Republic Slovenia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland Thailand Turkey USA


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(51 traveller reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Kensington Lux 1 bed apt in prestigious block on secluded square & private gdn
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 51 reviews

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

I spent 9 nights at Iverna Court in October which provided a great base for me to explore London and the surrounding area. High St Kensington underground is a very short walk away along with many restaurants, shops etc.

The flat was extremely clean and provided everything I needed. It is in the basement which wasn't really a problem and I knew that before I booked it.

Esti and Fransesca were a delight to deal with as was Kevin the Manager who provided me with lots of helpful information especially in regards to transport. It was also comforting to know that there were 24 hour porters who were also very friendly

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5

This was a fantastic apartment for our trip to London. It is conveniently located just off High Street and about a short 2 minute walk to the underground. We loved how spacious and quiet the apartment was. It has everything you need during your stay. Esti even supplied shampoo and toothbrushes if you forget them. We would definitely recommend this apartment to family and friends.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing flat to explore London!

  • 5 of 5

This flat was awesome! Everything about our experience staying at this place was positive. It is located in the heart of Kensington, just a 2-3 minute walk from High Kensington station. Super easy access to everything you could need - grocery stores, coffee shops, shopping and restaurants. Esti, our host, was extremely helpful and gracious. She arranged transportation from Heathrow for us (highly recommend!) and made sure everything was perfect for our stay. The porters at the flat were also very friendly and helpful during our trip.

The flat is modern, in a lovely neighborhood and offered a nice "home away from home" for our family of four (two adults, two kids). We'll be recommending it to any friends who are headed to London!

Thanks, Esti, for making our trip so comfortable!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burnaby BC

Lovely flat in a great location

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect flat for two in the Kensington area of London. Two minutes from High Street Kensington tube station yet so quiet and a 20 minute walk to the Science, Natural History and Victoria and Albert museums. Three grocery stores within a 8 minute walk. The managers office is right out the door and he was so friendly and ready to answer any questions. We loved taking a glass of wine across the street to the private garden Everything was clean and well looked after and kitchen was well supplied. Only negative was not too much natural light as it is a basement flat, but is was perfect for us as we got over jet lag- not too bright is we were trying to sleep in! We will stay here again when we return to London.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilmington, Delaware

Wonderful find in London!

  • 5 of 5

Dear Esti,

We found your apartment to be a wonderful home away from home! Iverna Court was an ideal location, very quiet but close to everything. Your flat was comfortable, clean, spacious, and well equipped. The response from Simon regarding the incident with the cabinet was timely and taken care of efficiently. The dimmer switch was not a problem for us but thought you should know for future guests. The porters and Kevin, the manager, were very pleasant,friendly and helpful. Upon your advice, we had dinner at Pizzacotto and met Mariana and James, your brother-in-law, who were very welcoming. The food was delicious and the complimentary glass of Prosecco was a nice treat! We had dinner at the flat with our family twice during the week and they thought our accommodations were wonderful. Our daughter's mother-in-law would like to book your flat for her next trip to London and we would highly recommend it to anyone we know who is traveling to London. Everything combined to make our stay in London perfect!

Kind regards, Lani and Jay Gibson

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here! The flat is so perfectly located-- the tube is just steps away, stores and restaurants very close. We didn't see Esti in person but, her brother in law, James, met us when we arrived with the keys (even though it was quite late). Esti was checking in with us via email to make sure everything was perfect. James gave us some great restaurant tips, including a Lebanese restaurant that was open for dinner with our kids at midnight! We also went to Pizzacotto for dinner-- twice! Our kids loved it. The flat itself is so comfortable and well-appointed for our family of four. It was super clean, nice linens, thoughtful touches everywhere. More like staying at a friend's house than a regular rental. Having a kitchen for quick breakfasts in the flat before heading out was really helpful, as was the washer and dryer for doing laundry. We didn't do much cooking other than coffee and cereal, but the kitchen was nicely put together for cooking. Netflix and wifi even. The neighborhood and flat were very quiet. We would come back to this flat in a heartbeat. Ten minutes walk to Kensington Park for long evening strolls-- can you tell we loved it? Thanks for a great time!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Susan, thanks so much for your kind words - you were an impeccable guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: not necessary

In the heart of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea - it would be difficult to get a better location (unless you are a guest of either Her Majesty, or Mr Cameron)!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Kensington, London

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
25 Sep 2017 - 18 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
19 Nov 2017 - 3 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas 2017
15 Dec 2017 - 12 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £500

For guests coming with more than 2 people, we politely ask for a contribution of £20 per extra person (fixed - ie irrespective of for how long you are staying) to cover the additional expense of putting out / putting away the guest beds, extra washing and ironing of bed linen and towels and extra cleaning. Thank you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals