Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Bears Den - A Taste of Heaven from a Bearly Rustic Point of View

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Mountain Views - Rest, Relax & Renew!

Serenity, tranquility, beautiful views and lasting memories with family and friends - The Bears Den Cabin is the ultimate getaway!

Experience an exhilarating time at a superb cabin mountain retreat located in Shenandoah Valley, located near Luray, Virginia. Take in and enjoy the panoramic breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains all from the expansive decking of the cabin. The Cabin is situated on the borders of the Shenandoah National Park with river access to the Shenandoah River.

This luxurious 5 bedroom cabin loaded with amenities has something for everyone. It is equipped with satellite TVs, high speed internet, courtesy lap top, and free local calling. An entertainment room that has a 42” LCD TV, blue ray DVD, PS2, large movie selection, regulation size pool table, foosball, dart board, and many board games to choose from. For those that enjoying cuddling by the fire there is a free standing wood burning stove for those cool nights.

The main level has an open floor plan, a grand stone fireplace, 47” LCD/HD TV. The bedrooms are furnished with log style furniture, queen size beds, luxury bedding, flat panel LCD HD TV’s. There is also a queen size sleeper sofa in the lower level. The master suite has a king size bed, 32” LCD HD TV, luxurious 1000 TC sheets. In the master bath there is a large Jacuzzi whirlpool tub, heated floors, and walk-in shower.

Step outdoors onto the expansive full length deck with beautiful mountain views, and custom log furniture. Enjoy outdoor dining prepared gas grill for that perfect meal. On the lower deck there is a wonderfully soothing 6 person hot tub under the stars, and a fire pit area great for late night gatherings and unforgettable mountain memories.

Luxuriously appointed yet rustically located allows for privacy, relaxation, and the perfect setting for making unforgettable cherished memories.

With its high quality amenities, The Bears Den is high on the “best” places to stay list in the Shenandoah Valley!

(We also have another cabin on the same street that is very similar. Please take a look at property number 609691 if the Bears Den is booked.)

More Details

Owner
Ghada Culler
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2018

About Ghada Culler

My husband and I live in Virginia Beach, VA...just a few hours away from the cabin. We have always wanted a place to escape to in the mountains and we found it at the Bears Den. We fell in love with the serenity and quaintness of the area and wanted to own this beautiful cabin from the moment we walked in the door.

We are always looking for ways to improve the property and make it exactly what a guest would want for an unforgettable get-a-way. Since purchasing the cabin, we have built a brand new deck on the lower level, upgraded the downstairs bathroom and renovated the fire pit area (among many other smaller projects).

We try to head up to our retreat every couple of months and always have a hard time leaving to come back to reality! We also love bring along our family and friends and always make lasting memories during our stays. Some of our favorite moments is watching the sunset over the mountain while we enjoy enjoy a cocktail. And, of course, the hot tub is a magnificent place to relax while gazing at the stars! We couldn't have dreamt of a better place to escape to.

Ghada Culler purchased this cabin in 2010

Guestbook comments from the owner

OMG where do I even begin?! I booked the Bears Den for a bachelorette weekend in the woods and I was so nervous about it for many reasons .BUT as soon as we walked into the cabin all my worries were gone ! It had everything we needed from all the kitchen utensils to the amazing hot tub and fire pit ! We spent most of our 3 days just going from relaxing in the cabin during day to spending the evenings in the hot tub and around the fire pit :) we felt so relaxed, which is so easy to do at the Bears den , I had a lot of DIY projects planned to keep the girls entertained that we didn't even do them Bc we were soooo relaxed ; we didn't even take advantage of the impressive basement filled with games , a pool table and a dart board ! We did spend an afternoon tubing ( just Bc i booked a reservation ) , which was conveniently only 15 mins away and shopped at the little shops on the way back to the cabin. All in all everyone was happy with the weekend and cabin that some of the girls wanted to come back with other friends for other celebrations and I KNOW i want to as well ! OH and what also made the Bear den so great was Ghada! She was so nice and easy to work with between booking to questions we had along the way ! You can tell her and her family really paid attention to detail regarding the cabin from cute little decorations to all the supplies you may need for a weekend in the woods ! You do need to bring your own wood for the fire pit but after paying our last portion to the cabin , Ghada provided contact person who can deliver the wood straight to the cabin ( who btw was also really nice and easy to work with .) All in all the bear den was the PERFECT! Definitely a great getaway cabin for families, couples , and friends !!!!
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 35

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Shenandoah in Page County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • At checkout: -Leave the home in the condition it was in when you arrived -Put away all the items in correct location -Load & run dishwasher
  • -Remove all used bed linens along with all towels & place in hampers -Replace blankets & comforters back in their drawers/hangers -Empty out fridge
  • -Clean grill -Lock up -ALL trash (indoors & out) is to be removed from the property. Dump site is closed on Sundays - you must plan accordingly.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    lower level den - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom, Queen size Beds (4) One queen size bed in each of the 4 other bedrooms ('winter' 'spring' 'summer' and 'fall') and a Sleep Sofa located in the lower level
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
3% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Bears Den - A Taste of Heaven from a Bearly Rustic Point of View
average rating of 4.827586 based on 64 reviews
5

Great cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this cabin and Bear Crossing next door for a family reunion --- along with a third cabin right by the river. Both Bear Crossing and Bear Den were perfect choices: lots of space, lots of amenities (huge kitchen, lots of deck space with tables and a grill, a hot tub, a pool table, fire ring, and more), and nicely laid out --- as well as close to plenty of hiking, river, and cave destinations. There were a couple of small drawbacks: (1) internet availability in the area is spotty, so don't plan to binge watch Netflix instead of enjoying the outdoors, (2) the kitchen knives are extremely dull even with honing, as in most rentals. These small drawbacks were definitely minor: we had a great time at the cabin and would definitely rent these again for another stay in Shenandoah.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, perfectly hospitable, better than I’d hoped for!

  • 5 of 5

The Bear’s Den was the ideal get away for my friends and family for my birthday around the Fourth of July. With plenty of space to stretch out across the two floors, we were never on top of each other. The kitchen is what stole my heart in the photos and it lived up to my hype! Everything you need is there in terms of gadgets, and all appliances worked flawlessly. All of the seating around the island, couches, and dining table made for the perfect gathering place I desired. But listen people, it gets better— there are no compromises with this place! The beds and sheets were super comfy and adequately sized and the bathrooms were all spic and span. The back porch access from the kitchen was large and lovely for yoga and coffee in the mornings, and just as lovely for a night cap as the sun sets perfectly over the ridge. Though the basement could get chilly, we had plenty of blankets and thoroughly enjoyed the pool/fooseball/darts tournament that ensued. As for outside, the hot tub was clean and ran perfectly, and the fire pit was another perfect place to gather. The final road leading to the house is very uphill, but my company and I enjoyed hiking to and from the river access throughout the day since it is a short 0.75 mile walk from the Bear’s Den. There is also a public boat launch about 2 miles up the road paralleling the river which made for ideal floating opportunities! My family, friends, and I were plotting how we could create our own Bear’s Den and have this experience every summer. Stay in a beautiful home in nature and recharge, it’s worth it!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Average but needs some attention

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was clean and in a very beautiful setting. There are some improvements that would make it better, the light bulbs in several rooms needs changed they are out, the ceiling fan did not work in one of the upper bedrooms, spray for bugs lots of ants and bugs crawling across the floors. You need better reflective numbers to be seen at night we had problems locating it because the numbers do not reflect. Also the cabin is in bad need of new stain job and upkeep around it. Lots of leaves piled up at the decks a good place for the snakes to be and copperheads are extremely hard to spot in these leaves. Also the dirt road is in bad need of maintenance and gravel applied. If you could make all the corrections it would be a better vacation rental.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback on the cabin. We were sad to see that you only thought our cabin as a 3 star accomodation because of a few minor issues that should not have directly affected your stay or enjoyment at the Bears Den. As you can tell from our other reviews, we work very hard to be sure that our guest can easily book their vacation with all their questions answered and that they have a great time in a beautiful and clean cabin. The Bears Den is our family cabin and we keep it up as if we lived there. We wanted to address some of the issues you mentioned - The gravel road leading to the cabin is a public road and is re-graveled 3-4 times a year. We have had an extreme amount of rain this last month which flooded most of the surrounding counties and that is why the road looked as it did. We have extra bulbs located in the kitchen in case lights go out and there are at least 3 lamps in every room of the cabin (including overhead lights) that can be used if needed. The cabins physical address is located on the tree directly out by the driveway (with reflective numbers) and also by the front door. As you stated, the cabin was meticulously cleaned and we are very particular about that and it's upkeep. Unfortunately, bugs are part of being in the woods and although we professionally spray a few times a year, they are a part of nature that we can't always control. We want to let our future guests know that we have a phone number listed in multiple places at the cabin and sent via email in case they need to contact us. Guests can either call or text if they have any issues or questions during their stay and we are happy to help out any way we can. We have and will continue to make the Bears Den a place where anyone can get away and unplug from the world ... to rest, relax and renew!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful long weekend at Bear's Den. It was quiet and relaxing while being close to plenty of activities. The house was clean and well stocked. The five bedrooms gave us plenty of room and the common areas were great for time together. We did bring our own food in because there are only a few choices for eating out in close proximity, however, Luray and Harrisonburg are not far. Don't be alarmed by the gravel road leading up the mountain, the house has all the modern conveniences that you need. Owners were very responsive and provided all the information we needed. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Review Submitted: 08-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Rustic with all the modern amenities for a large group or family

  • 4 of 5

Private and remote location, which at first blush made us wonder, but once inside we were greeted to a spacious open living/dining/kitchen area making it conducive to comfortable gatherings and meals. The bedrooms were also spacious with comfortable beds. There were many modern amenities for such a rustic setting including a large outdoor hot tub, which needed maintenance but with one text to the owner, it was taken care of in a few hours (very responsive!). A great view from the deck made it a relaxing place to hang out. It was a 30 minute drive to the national park and 10 minutes to nice golf courses. Everyone in our group said they would come back.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

New Year

  • 5 of 5

Hi!!We were here in New Year Eve!!We liked this amazing place. Very comfortable house, there is very beautiful view from the hot tub. Not far from there is a river where you can go with children walk along and make photos!! Thank you Owners!!! I reccomend this place!!!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
95 Miles
Dulles

The cabin is located in the Blue Ridge Mountains and lies on the border of the Shenandoah National Park. This area provides an abundant amount of sightseeing and outdoor recreational activities. Popular outdoor activities include skiing, hiking, fishing, canoeing, and horseback riding. There are also wonderful sights to see including Luray Caverns, civil war battelfields, and fantastic wineries wineries. Massanutten Ski Resort, which is only 30 minutes away, also has numerous activities that include skiing, tubing, an indoor & outdoor waterpark, a golf course that has breathtaking views and a day spa.

Whether your looking for an action filled or quiet relaxing getaway, the area has something for everyone!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Shenandoah, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
summer
14 Jul 2018 - 30 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
£495
for 2 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2018
31 Jul 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£743
for 3 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
labor day
31 Aug 2018 - 5 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£743
for 3 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2018
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£743
for 3 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
veterans day
8 Nov 2018 - 13 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£743
for 3 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
thanksgiving
21 Nov 2018 - 26 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
£991
for 4 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2018 - 26 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£991
for 4 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
new year
27 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
£991
for 4 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Break
11 Apr 2019 - 24 Apr 2019
4 night minimum stay
£991
for 4 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Grad weekend
1 May 2019 - 7 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
£743
for 3 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£495
for 2 nights
From
£248
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £41.88 + Tax

Rate based on 2 person occupancy. Additional guest charge of $25 per person per night beyond the first two guests. 2 children (under 16) free. A 8 adult minimum is charged unless it's a midweek stay during non-peak season.

Federal Holidays & October bookings are a 3 night minimum, Easter (spring break), Thanksgiving & Christmas are a 4 night minimum, mid-June thru Labor Day there is a 5 night minimum unless check-in is less than 2 weeks away. (Exceptions are made for the minimum stay depending on availability and current bookings)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals