HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Relax in Luxury & Privacy Kailua on a Gated Property

Bedrooms 1
Space 590 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom with Queen Bed & 1 Queen Memory Foam Pullout Sofa

Come stay at Hale `Awapuhi the house of red ginger. A luxurious, semi detached from the main home, large one bedroom apartment on the Windward side of Kailua. New for 2015, we just finished construction on a beautiful white fence and gate system surrounding the perimeter of the property for added privacy for our guests! We also recently added a new couch with a queen size memory foam mattress for guest comfort.

This rental apartment is the best of both worlds close to the beach and the mountains. Located just a 5 minute ride to the world famous Kailua and Lanikai beaches, and set in a lush, private tropical paradise with hundreds of walking and hiking trails. You can even walk to the golf course and community park featuring 6 tennis courts, a basketball court, and playground.

This apartment is located in a private and quiet section of Kailua something not usually found in our small beachtown. It is a tropical paradise, once home to the ancient Hawaiians. Discover the many archeological artifacts and ruins in the area on one your many hikes. Try the Maunawili trail hike to the water and swimming hole. Locate the Queens Bath, frequented by Hawaiian royalty in the 1800’s, or marvel at the ancient heiau and petroglyphs located along the banks of the four streams which feed into Kailua Bay – all within walking distance from your apartment.

Situated on a corner lot, with a separate entrance, you can relax on the lanai (patio) side your unit and listen to the sounds of the birds while you enjoy your morning coffee.

Inside the newly renovated, double wall construction apartment you will find hand scraped bamboo floors with a comfortable, spacious seating area and large windows . A sofa with a pull out bed beckons you to put your feet up after a long day at the beach, hiking, or shopping in Kailua town. Enjoy the flat screen TV or curl up with a good book.

Prepare meals in the new kitchen complete with solid quartz countertops; it has everything you need, going well beyond the kitchenette provided in most Kailua units including:

1. full size sink

2. full size refrigerator

3. coffee maker with self grinder

4. toaster

5. convection and microwave oven

6. induction cooktop

7. large nonstick plug in skillet

The bathroom contains a large, tiled walk in shower with a rainhead and ample storage. Perfect for washing off the sand or getting ready to go to some of the islands best restaurants in Kailua town.

The bedroom is furnished with teak furniture, and contains a top of the line, queen size foam mattress and Egyptian cotton linens.

The apartment is cool and breezy, but also comes equipped with ceiling fans in every room and air conditioning for the warmer, summer months.

Everything is provided for a comfortable and relaxing stay including free cable and wireless internet (WiFi), IPod dock, DVD player, DVDs, linens, towels, all the bathroom and kitchen basics and beach including chairs, a cooler, and toys for the little ones. Ideal for a couple or a family of four, come enjoy the Windward side of the island at Hale `Awapuhi.

*** Please note this property is not suited to accommodate large parties or events such as weddings or receptions. Mahalo!***

In accordance with the State of Hawaii City and County laws this property is only rented one time every 30 days.

More Details

Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 May, 2018

About Jay

Our family has called Hawai'i home for over a decade. We are avid hikers, and we love the beach - many of the photos you see we took on one of our family hikes. Our hobby is renovating properties with beautiful finishings and details. This is the 2nd property we purchased and renovated from the ground up.

Jay purchased this apartment in 2010

Why Jay chose Maunawili

Once you come and stay you'll understand why we chose this property, the location is convenient and the beauty of the area unparalleled. Come experience old Hawai'i at Hale 'Awapuhi.

What makes this apartment unique

Close to the beach, the mountains, hiking, biking and shopping.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks so much for your hospitality and accommodation. really wonderful home, and hope to see you again soon.
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 3


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Maunawili in O'ahu

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 590 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • 1. Queen bed in main bedroom with a top quality foam mattress; 2. Queen pull out sofa with also with a memory foam mattress as, very comfortable for a pull out couch. 3. Twin size fold up Futon in the closet - best for young kids if needed
  • Books
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Tennis courts and golf within walking distance Rainhead walk in shower Laundromat within 5 minutes Beach- (2.5 miles) - 5 minutes Whole Foods and downtown shopping - (2 miles) - 4 minutes Honolulu - 12 miles (20 minutes)


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(39 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
20% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Relax in Luxury & Privacy Kailua on a Gated Property
average rating of 4.5897436 based on 42 reviews
Peoria, AZ

Great home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect place for us to stay while exploring Kailua a bit more in depth and exploring the local culture away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu. The home was clean, well stocked and Jay & Alyson were very accommodating.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clarkdale, Az.

Bright, mostly comfortable.

  • 3 of 5

This 1 bedroom apartment is on the ground floor, attached to the main house. It is spacious and bright. The Mauniwili area is a small community that is not walk-able to Kailua town, or to any amenities, you must use the bus or have a car. The bedroom windows face a busy street that includes a very bright street light; since the window curtains are sheer and do not cover the windows sufficiently it is difficult to sleep if you are noise or light sensitive. The queen size bed was comfortable, but was covered with a water proof mattress pad that made us feel we were sleeping wrapped in plastic wrap (I finally removed it so we could sleep). The microwave in the adequate kitchenette was on top of the full size refrigerator, unreachable to anyone under 5 1/2 feet tall, and a hazard to everyone removing hot food from it. Some dishes were dirty, available food (probably left from previous guests) was stale and should have been disposed. The printed warnings about not using some appliances at the same time to avoid risk of blowing a fuse should have been remedied by properly wiring AC and microwave outlets. Electric to city code? The ceiling room fan pull chain was frustrating to use, seems to catch or be worn.

Would not recommend until issues are remedied.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
South Haven, MI

Clean, roomy and comfortable!

  • 4 of 5

This was a great 'center of operations' for visiting the north side of Oahu. Very roomy, clean and comfortable. Slept great, didn't need the air conditioning once. Love the big walk-in shower and the large vanity sink in the bathroom. Well supplied, good wifi and TV service. Not really walking distance to anything, but that's why we had a car. Easy to find, a quiet neighborhood and a lovely town (Kailua).

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and found it roomy and comfortable, we enjoyed hosting you! You are correct a car is needed to access the island of O`ahu. Luckily we are only a five minute drive from Kailua town and the beach. There are some wonderful parks and hiking trails within walking distance from the unit that you should visit if you decided to stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

Never been so disappointed and mislead.the minute we arrived we found a cab to come back and get us and we left.

It shouldn't even get one star...

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There was clearly an issue with this couple which we can't even begin to understand. In the five years we've been in business, and many couples and families hosted, we've never had an experience like this. It began on Christmas Day, the day they were due to arrive, we received a string of rude, anxious, and berating emails from the guest stating they couldn't locate the rental unit after arriving at the airport. This was odd to us considering we send a detailed information packet with directions to the unit once a guest books. This is in addition to the online VRBO access which also includes the address and directions. Once I saw the emails, I immediately called the number provided and no one answered. I left a voicemail and then also emailed back offering to guide them to the rental. I then received another email approximately 20 minutes later stating they found the directions and questioned who had prepared the packet with a list of other profanities I won't mention here. Several hours later they arrived. I don't believe they were expecting the owners, the very people they were berating over email, to live next door - they were clearly embarrassed. A little while later we could hear the woman angrily screaming at someone from outside the unit. The next day, I went over to check in with them to see how things were (this is something we routinely do to ensure guests have everything they need) to find the unit door slightly open and unlocked, all the windows open in the rain, the lights and fans on, but clearly no guests or luggage. They never contacted us to let us know they were leaving or that they were dissatisfied. I'm not sure what they thought was misleading - the pictures and description of the unit are very detailed and we aim to ensure guests are not only happy and satisfied with their accommodations, but they have the opportunity to know exactly what to expect when deciding to stay at Hale Awapuhi. This is why we answer any questions about the unit prior to booking as well. We encourage potential renters to read our many other positive reviews when considering our unit.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Clean, Quiet and Close to Everything

  • 5 of 5

Excellent place to visit and experience the real Kailua. The unit was clean and well keptin an absolutely beautiful setting. It was just the right size for us to relax after a fun filled day at the beach. The owners have thought of everything - we especially appreciated the lavender products in the bathroom and the large shower to wash off in as well. We cooked on several days, it was nice to be able to do that vs. going out for every single meal. We are avid walkers and hikers so we really enjoyed the many hikes and walks available right in the neighborhood. It was close to everything in Kailua shops, beaches, site-seeing, restaurants, and we even went over to Honolulu since it was only about a 15 minute drive. Will be back again!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Spot and Minutes Away from the Best Beach on Oahu

  • 5 of 5

Lived in Waikiki, Diamond Head, and the Kahala side years ago. So this was the 1st time I stayed on the Windward Side (except for an overcast experience years ago in Kaneohe Bay). My family had a wonderful experience!!! My 2 younger children (7 & 2) crashed out on the pull out couch and enjoyed sharing a place to sleep. The rest of the place was great! The bathroom was spacious and could be easily cleaned upon returning with remnants of sand on our bodies. The owners were very accommodating...and as previously mentioned...will wash/dry your towels/linens when they get too soiled. In case you have to do a full blown laundry, the laundromat is not far away. The owners were so quiet, that I often wondered if my loud child (especially my crying son) was inconveniencing them. When we headed out to the beach, we often found ourselves enjoying our favorite beach of all Hawaiian shores...Lanikai Beach. Overall...I would recommend this place to anyone. Didn't realize how key their location was to heading anywhere on the island. Finally, easy trip to and from airport.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £74.45
Damage Insurance £43.93

We accept credit cards (3% fee) and e-checks via Paypal. You can also mail us a personal check. An invoice will be sent to you via Paypal once you are ready to book. Please note, as of 2/16/16, VRBO/Home Away charges the guest what we believe is an unfair and large fee for online booking. As such, we prefer to use Paypal as the preferred method of payment to secure you stay, and we will deduct the service fee portion included in the quote generated by the instant, online booking quote feature in our Paypal invoice to you.
Sixty day (60) cancellation policy.
In accordance with the State of Hawaii City and County laws this property is only rented one time every 30 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals