HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sunny apartment with terrace overlooking countryside and private pool

People3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 430 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1Bedroom apartment for up to 3 persons, between sea and mountain

In the heart of the small village of Saint-Pargoire, in the Herault valley, surrounded by a countryside made of garrigue, pine trees and vineyards, this very nice apartment offers a complete open view to the surrounding landscape from its terrace that overlooks the 10x5 m swimming pool (The heating system guarantees 27 degrees from May to September). South-west oriented, it is fully furnished and equipped. Bbq in the garden. Very quiet area.

All facilities in the village (2 Bakeries, 2 Groceries, Newsdealer, Pharmacy, Butcher, Doctors...). Supermarkets and all kinds of shops in Pezenas and Clermont l'Hérault (15 km both).

Good restaurants and wine cellars everywhere in the region. Seafood restaurants in Sète, Mèze, Bouzigues and Balaruc. Numerous local markets in the villages and many interesting sites to visit around: Montpellier, Pézénas, Béziers, Sète, Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert, Salagou lake, Clamouse caves, and the cirques de Mourèze and Navacelles...

Swimming Pool: The 5x10 m private pool with additional 1.5 m roman stairs (Depth from 1 m to 1.8 m) is heated at 27 degrees with a Heat pump pool heater. We use Salt water Electrolyser which gives a cleaner and softer water and eliminates inconveniences, such as eyes irritation, dry skin, unpleasant taste…

Shops in the village: All facilities (2 Bakeries, 2 Groceries, 1 Newsdealer, 1 Pharmacy, 1 Butcher, 1 Bar, 1 Pizzeria, 1 Restaurant, 1 Caterer...) are located at 200 m from the apartment.

June & September: Dear All, I would like to inform / remind you that June & September Months (even May actually) are quite pleasant in South of France. The weather is warm and the nights cooler than in July & August. There are less tourists, as kids are at school. The swimming pool will be at 27 degrees ! Therefore, do not hesitate to take your holidays off-season.

To reply to the most frequently asked questions. There is no additional cost for whatsoever related to the apartment rental (Parking, water, electricity, cleaning at the end of the stay, access to the pool,… are included.). There is only one apartment for rent (Upper level with the terrace on the pictures). The apartment is adjacent to my parents‘ house, and except both of them, there will be no more people/families at the address during your stay.

More Details

Owner
Patrick Soulier
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Saint-Pargoire in Hérault

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 430 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Sunbed
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Child Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

93% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Sunny apartment with terrace overlooking countryside and private pool
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
1

Nice location but ...

  • 1 of 5

Sleep deprivation and verbal abuse but first things first. The location is ideal for touring, set in a pleasant village with all the essential amenities including a friendly cafe and good restaurants. The flat is clean and reasonably equipped, although guest parking is two hundred metres away and insecure.

On arrival we were welcomed and invited to comment on anything unsatisfactory. It was agreed that, being a retired teacher of French, I would accompany Mme (the owner) to her next English class.

After two nights’ sleep very badly disturbed by a vibrating sound permeating the fabric of the flat caused by the pool filtration machinery in an attached annex; I politely asked Mme if anything could be done. She said we should buy earplugs and sleeping tablets! I remained polite at this unpleasantness and after further discussion Mme insisted that the filtration system would continue to operate for some time during the night. We attempted sleep with earplugs but this was ineffective due to the penetrative quality of the noise. Following four further sleepless nights, I again approached Mme and gently asked if anything further could be done about the noise. Mme flew into a rage and told me that I had a personality problem. Despite this comment, I calmly and politely reiterated that I was merely seeking a solution. Then, ignoring my presence, Mme began to discuss with her husband our allegedly poor mental health and her claimed perception of my defects. I returned to the flat extremely upset and referring to the guests’ comments book we discovered that we were not the first visitors whose sleep had been so disrupted. Despite this upsetting incident we remained polite and cordial. Nevertheless, on the day that we had set aside for Mme’s English class, she left alone without collecting me. No explanation or apology was offered.

In summary, other concerns aside, for the whole of the two weeks’ vacation the only chance to sleep peacefully was after 6.00 a.m., once the pool maintenance equipment had ceased operating. This led to our increasing exhaustion and progressively later rising, resulting in our worst holiday ever.

At no time did we transgress the owners’ rules of conduct nor those of common courtesy and good manners. The flat was thoroughly cleaned and tidied by us on departure.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mrs Hadfield, I will reply on behalf of my parents. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at our place, and to read this most uncomplimentary review. Since we started to operate with HomeAway / Abritel in 2009, we now have 13 Five Stars reviews and, unfortunately, your one Star review. As you left a quite nice comment in the Guests’ book that you concluded with ''Marie-Claude and Gaby were quite helpful, and I am very grateful'', I am really surprised with your review and hope that it didn't come as a mere retaliation to have rated you ''Worst Guests Ever'' on the HomeAway website. But, first thing first. The municipal free parking is equipped with CCTV, and hasn't registered a single incident since its creation ; it is perfectly secure. We are running the pool filtration system 18 hours a day to assure the best quality of the pool water ; further to your request, we reduced the number of filtration hours, but sorry again that it was difficult for you to understand that we cannot shut it down completely. And, except to you, the noise is quite imperceptible, even inaudible, in the bedroom. That's the way that all our guests describe it. I am also very sorry that my parents couldn't do anything for the roads which are too narrow in our area for your car, and couldn't stop the local festival which music bothered you until 2am this night. My mum didn't take you to her English class, simply because of your erratic behavior. She should have informed you. My apologies for that. In conclusion, I deeply regret all the details which have made your holidays not enjoyable and led to this negative review. I also wish to reassure our future guests about the kindness and friendliness of my parents who do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and that there is no issue with the noise of the pool filtration system. I kindly invite them to trust the positive reviews, and we look forward to receiving you for wonderful holidays in St Pargoire.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Billingshurst, West Sussex, UK
5

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay in St Pargoire

  • 5 of 5

Can only echo all the other excellent reviews of this property. Not only are Marie-Claude and Gabriel great hosts, they are also great company, we really loved getting to know them. Also, Patrick was the epitome of efficiency and helpfulness during the booking process, promptly answering any question we threw at him!

St Pargoire itself is a delightful village, a fair selection of shops and a weekly market just a 2 minute walk away. Both Boulangeries are superb, with a wide selection of fresh breads, pastries, cakes etc and friendly service. We couldn't choose between them, so alternated between them! The staff in both of the small grocery stores are also very helpful and friendly and between them offer a wide range of good quality merchandise.

We have no hesitation in recommending this property to other travellers.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Just back from a wonderful stay in Saint Pargoire with my husband and nineteen month old son. Marie Claude and Gabriel are excellent hosts, wonderful hospitality, and really made us feel so welcome. We had the wonderful pool all to ourselves and the location is ideal. Our little boy is asking to go back to the pool everyday. Highly recommend this property, and check out the local restaurant Lou Regalou. We will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Excellent apartment well equipped with superb pool

  • 5 of 5

An excellent location for a quiet break away from it all. The apartment is comfortable and well equipped and the pool is very well maintained. The owners were very helpful and welcoming. The village facilities are close at hand and the restaurant is definitely worth a visit. I'm sure we will return.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
5

Our second visit

  • 5 of 5

Was it as lovely as last time? Yes Where the owners as friendly and helpful? Yes Did we enjoy it as much? Yes.

What can I say that I did not say last time? The pool house. This is fitted out with a table and chairs, a ceiling fan and lights. A perfect place to catch some lunchtime shade if you can not tear yourself away from the pool. The poolside furniture. There are tables and chairs. Trolleys for your drinks. There are reclining chairs, sun beds and reclining sun beds and all fitted out with comfortable cushions. The quantity, quality and diversity of the poolside furniture would put many a so called "luxury" villa to shame.

This place is a must for pool and sun lovers.

Will we be coming back? Try and stop us!

Edward and Lynne. England

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
5

A Gem in St Pargoire

  • 5 of 5

We, my husband and 10 year old son have just returned from a wonderful stay in St Pargoire. The apartment is exactly like the description and photos, really clean with a superb pool and has everything you need plus it's in a great location in the village, walking distance from the shop, restaurant, bar, post office and weekly market. The reservation process was very smooth and any questions answered promptly. We were welcomed by the owners who were lovely and immediately made us feel at home and yet left us to relax and enjoy our holiday. The terrace is great for breakfast and evening meals and has a great view of the countryside.... Saint Pargoire is in a great location for the sites of caves, lakes, rivers for canoeing, Abbeys, wine tasting, art and pretty villages so much to see and with the beach at Meze only 20 minutes away..with all the delicious sea food (the oysters are a must) one week is not enough. We will be back and would recommend this "gem" for all who would like to relax in village life knowing that the sites and cities of Beziers and Montpellier are not far with stunning scenery en route...

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Montpellier Airport
Nearest Train
30 Kilometres
Beziers
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Paulhan
Nearest Beach
25 Kilometres
Car: recommended

Very close are the cities of Montpelier, Pézénas, Béziers, Sète, Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert, Salagou lake, Clamouse caves, and the cirques de Mourèze and Navacelles ... One hour drive away are the Haut Languedoc natural park with its lakes and forests, the famous Millau bridge, la Couvertoirade, a small secluded village built by the Templar knights. Numerous festivals all summer long in the region.

Access : A75 motorway at 5 km, Paulhan exit.

Airport and TGV high speed train at 40 km in Montpellier.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Saint-Pargoire, Herault

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 1
24 Jun 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£404
for 7 nights
£404
 
 
Rate 2
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£359
for 7 nights
£359
 
 
Rate 3
30 Sep 2017 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
£90
for 2 nights
From
£45
£314
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

50% down payment required at the time of booking, 50% balance to be paid 3 months before stay.

JUNE & SEPTEMBER - SPECIAL RATES FOR 2 WEEKS RENTAL:
Save 100 Euros if you rent 2 weeks in June & September. Pay 700 instead of 800. And the water of the swimming pool will still be at 27 degrees !

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals