HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Peptide at Cape Meares Looks Great in the Fall!

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)

The Peptide is a 2 bdrm./1 bath cottage in the quiet community of Cape Meares which is located on the South end of the Tillamook Bay and Lake Cape Meares. Enjoy the 7 mile drive from Tillamook as you follow the spectacular Bay to our home. When you arrive you will find a queen size pillow topped mattress in each bedroom covered with 100% cotton sheets. The kitchen is well equipped with what you should need to create your meals including the convenience of a microwave. The livingroom is a cozy place to read, play a game or watch one of our many movies on the DVD player and also has a wood burning stove to heat up those cool mornings and evenings. There is a laundry room for your convenience and a mud room in back for a sandy entry. Our newest addition is the wood deck! A great place to hang out, read, surf the web, enjoy happy hour, stargaze or eat a meal.


Owner
Sara Klobas
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 December, 2017

About Sara Klobas

We are Ryan and Sara Klobas. We have two boys, Preston (12) and Vance (9). Both of us are native Oregonians and grew up walking the sands and playing in the great waters of the Oregon Coast. Our parents moved here in the 60's and settled in to have a family. We now reside in NE Portland and LOVE Oregon!!

Sara Klobas purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Sara Klobas chose Cape Meares

We found this little pink cottage through our sister in law, who lives in Cape Meares full time. We put the word out that we were looking, and after about a year, this little gem popped up as a potential purchase. We spoke to the owner several times and soon shook hands and made a deal. Since then, we have made this place our home away from home.

What makes this cottage unique

There is so much to love about Cape Meares. The 4 miles of uncrowded beach, the drive up the bay, the birds singing as you walk past the lake on the way to the beach, the friendly neighbors, the bright beautiful stars on a clear nite, riding bikes on the spit and beyond, the tidepools if you're there when the tide is LOW, the deck, the wood stove, the great meals on the BBQ, walking forever on the beach or picking blackberries late in Summer. It's just a great place to get away from the craziness of being home.

Location

Car: necessary

The Peptide is located in Cape Meares. Cape Meares is one of the 3 capes on the Scenic Route on the Oregon coast and sits on the south end of the Tillamook Bay. There are 4 miles of uncrowded beach to enjoy as you stroll, play or relax on on the shore. Fishing, biking, kayaking, canoeing, birdwatching and hiking are just some of the great activities to do while visiting CM and if you would like to venture into town (aprox. 7 miles), you may like to get some ice cream at the Tillamook Cheese Factory, pick up some fresh Netarts Bay oysters at JAndy's Oyster Co. (call first and ask what's available 503-812-0253), check out the vintage planes at the Air Museum, sample some cheese and wine at the Blue Heron Cheese Factory and take a train ride on a Steam Engine from Garibaldi to Rockaway and back.

There are many species of birds who make Cape Meares and the Bay their home. Blue Herons are a common site, as well as Bald Eagles, Osprey and smaller birds such as Red Winged Black Birds. There have been sightings of deer, elk, porcupine, beaver, bear and more.

Cape Meares is a wooded area. There are no stores, restaurants or gas stations. It is a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. So if you are looking for a small town feel, come here and experience Cape Meares at the Peptide!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Cape Meares in Tillamook County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower only. Heater, fan, exhaust combo.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Garbage bin with bag and Recycle bins are provided, but there is no garbage or recycling service. Please bring home with you or bring to dump south of Cape Meares for recycling program. If any garbage or recycling is left at the house a $50.00 fee will be deducted from your refundable security deposit. There is a $50 cleaning fee. A separate check is required for refundable security deposit of $150-$250.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(57 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
12% Complete
5% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
The Peptide at Cape Meares Looks Great in the Fall!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 57 reviews
Gresham, Oregon
5

A family favorite destination for nearly a decade!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful rental and awesome owners.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We''re always happy to have you at our home. Your home away from home! Enjoy your fall and i look forward to hearing from you again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
The Dalles, OR
3

Great location, could use some improvements

  • 3 of 5

The location is beautiful with a short walk to a great beach. The home fit our needs well. The key is difficult to find in the dark with no lighting at night around the back of the house. The home was very cold when we arrived (AC was on for some reason), the heater alone is not enough to heat the home. The firewood is wet so hard to start a fire. Having to take your garage with you is a pain when there is dogs there but manageable. Wifi worked well and the home is quiet.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is a light in the shed where the lock box is and lights on the back of the house. They are not left on 24/7 though so they need to be turned on once you enter the mudroom. We do not have AC in the house. There is a dehumidifier that should be on constantly as this is a beach house and the constant humidity in the home can cause problems. Not sure why the firewood was wet??? The wood is stored in the shed and has been seasoned. We will look into the heat problem ASAP. We depend on our guests to communicate with us if there is something that needs attention. Calling, texting or emailing is great! Reviewing with this information does not help resolve problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
5

clean, bright, and cosy

  • 5 of 5

a lovely spot to unwind and enjoy a beautiful part of the coast.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Have a wonderful rest of your fall😁
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
4

The Cape Meares area is very special for it quiet. Period. I look for that.

  • 4 of 5

Wee little place, very grateful most of land around was natural. No mown lawn, no just so stuff. House was clean, just enough charm to be able to relax.

Three things that merit attention tho:

Coffee maker didn't work

Mattress in west bedroom needs replacing.

Cadet heater isn't near enough heat. I was afraid to use the scary extra heater. Wood stove works great but didn't want to use it in the morning when we were leaving. Very cold.

All in all wound come to Peptide again

Thanks for sharing it.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sounds like you had a good time at our Beachhouse. Not sure what could've happened with the coffee maker as it's brand new. I ordered one off of Amazon that had 4 1/2 stars and it's only been at the house for possibly 2 weeks. Regarding the mattress, we've been thinking probably needs to be replaced soon. That will be addressed. Unsure why the heaters are not working properly. I will have to send someone out to take a look.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, Az.
5

Enjoyed !!!!

  • 5 of 5

Great location and just neat home ... will return ....

  • Review Submitted: 21-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our home. Please come again!😁
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet place to enjoy the beach.

  • 5 of 5

House was extremely cozy, clean, and incredibly close to the beach. We were able to walk from the house to the water in about 5 minutes. The owners were prompt at getting back to me, and I definitely recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear that you enjoyed our cozy beach cottage. Please come and stay again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £37.23
Pet Fee £7.45

Refunds due to cancellation 30 days or more before your check in date are 100% refunded WITH THE EXCEPTION OF VRBO.COM/HOMEAWAY SERVICE CHARGES. The amount deposited into the Peptide's checking account plus the VRBO.com service fee will be refunded only.
Summertime Holiday rate (4/1-10/31) is $100.00 with a 3 nite minimum
Holiday rate (11/1-3/31) $100 with a 3 nite minimum
Max. stay per visit is 2 weeks (the cleaning fee will double if over 1 week stay to $100)
Refundable Security Deposit $150-$250 based on # dogs staying (payable by check, cash or PayPal only (3% fee)
Dog fee is $10.00 per dog (max. 2 small-med dogs) per stay unless otherwise noted by owner
Check in time is at 4:00 pm and check out is at 11 am. For early or late check in or out, you must okay with owner ahead of time. Not allowed during peak season as we have back to back reservations and housekeeper needs time to clean.
Please strip the sheets of the beds used and run them thru the washing machine before your departure. No need to dry them. Just trying to give the housekeeper a little help with time limits.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals