HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Simon Warner-Bore

Member since: 2009
Speaks English

A wonderful railway carriage house on the beach with garden and sea views

33 Reviews
People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in West Sussex

3 bedroom railway carriage house sleeps 6, near Selsey, West Sussex

Step back in time and enjoy nostalgia mixed with modern comforts in this unusual property, constructed over two 1926 railway carriages. The railway carriages in their original form run either side of the good-sized lounge/dining room. Situated on the beach at Selsey with fantastic sea views from the first floor lounge & balcony to as far as Brighton. Within easy walking distance of the local Bakers, Butchers and Gourmet Fish and Chips or fresh fish from the local fishermen just a two minute walk away.

All the bedrooms in our 3 bedroom home are contained within the railway carriages with original carriage doors. Lounge/Dining Room with stairs to first floor Lounge and Balcony overlooking the sea. Ground floor walk in power shower.

Enclosed garden with rotary clothes line and private steps onto the beach.

Unlimited Broadband Internet Access.

You are welcome to bring your own linen (duvet covers/sheets/pillow cases/towels) or hire this locally. Linen should be booked at least 7 days prior to your stay. Details of a local company for linen hire will be provided on enquiry or placing a booking.

Fishing: East beach (at the top of the garden steps!) has some popular fishing spots. The experts sit for hours trying to catch the bass, the novices wait until the summer and until the fish are jumping (you will see them from the balcony) and catch some mackerel for the barbecue.

Diving: If you are interested in scuba diving, Selsey has an active aqua club who can give lots of friendly advice. Their website intro says:

The Selsey Bill branch is a relatively new branch of the BSAC, formed in 1997 by a group of very experienced divers from the local area. Our most experienced divers can date their diving history back to the early 1970’s; some still even have their twin hose regulators hidden away. As a result we have many years of experience of diving in the local area and further afield..

We play an active part in supporting the local community through various activities and have very good contacts with both the local fishermen and the Selsey lifeboat crew; several having trained as divers with our group.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Simon Warner-Bore (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks English

Reviews

4.8
based on 33 holidaymaker reviews

A wonderful railway carriage house on the beach with garden and sea views
average rating of 4.787879 based on 33 reviews
Bucks, England
5

Eccentric but delightful beachside cottage

  • 5 of 5

What a fantastic place!

I booked this for my wife and I for some time away by the sea without children nagging us - and it was a great choice. The place is roomy and warm with a great decking area and garden on the ground floor. The balcony area on the first floor is simply delighful - sitting with the lights off listening to the waves on the pebble beach in front of you, very relaxing. You are not overlooked by the house on the right hand side (and there isn't a house on the left). People walking along the coastal path do peer in jealously and you can't help feeling a bit smug.

All the facilities were in top-notch order, a great shower and a comfortable bed. The kitchen is perhaps a bit low for 2 people over 6 feet but we were eating out anyway. Loads of seating, and even wifi for a sneaky couple of Facebook updates!

The other bedrooms were also well furnished.

The owner was always fast at email responses and helpful.

...and did I say it was right on the beach... excellent!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear BigR, thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you had a good stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope very much that you will come back soon. Thank you again. Best wishes, Simon
Did you find this review helpful?
12 3
3

A quirky home with a Perfect location

  • 3 of 5

We booked this as a couple but with the idea that friends would stay over from time to time and enjoy quality time at the beach. We are regular visitors to Selsey and know the area well as we scuba dive here a lot. The accommodation was well appointed right on the beach and the view from the room upstairs was stunning. We expected the house to be rather cramped but in the end it was pretty spacious. The only down side was the bath room and shower. The bathroom smelt rather damp and we couldn't seem to improve the ventilation. The shower took a bit of working out but actually was fairly effective. We ate in most nights, particularly when friends visited. We also had a bbq in the garden which was very successful.

It's a shame the rooms aren't geared towards more adults staying. It would have made it more affordable if we had known that there was space for our retired friends to stay a couple of nights. The double bed was not so comfy.

All in all a lovely place to stay and fairly unique in terms of accommodation. Thanks to Emma the cleaner for spotting the camera we had left behind. Would we book again - yes!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we are really glad you found The Cormorant to be lovely, unique and with stunning views. Also very glad you found the railway carriage house to be more spacious than you had expected. The Cormorant is primarily a family destination and not set up to take groups of adults - this is described in detail in the 'facilities' section on the property details. We are puzzled about the damp smell in the bathroom. We were down with the cleaners on the Friday you arrived and checked all rooms after cleaning - we will ask the cleaner to especially check this on there next clean. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to you staying again at The Cormorant. Best regards, Simon and Jocelyn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful location

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at The Cormorant, we found the building really interesting and comfortable. We loved sitting on the balcony and having the sea so close. The description of the property was accurate as were all the instructions about the facilities and amenities. The property was clean and well-maintained, except there was a strong damp smell in the bathroom which probably needs some attention, but didn't affect its functionality. When contacting the owner with any questions he was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed visiting Bosham, Arundel and Chichester although the weather was very changeable and we would have enjoyed more local sea walks but I was restricted mobility-wise having a broken foot.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review and we are very pleased you had a good stay at The Cormorant. Thank you for letting us know about the damp smell in the bathroom, we will look into this immediately. With best regards, Simon and Jocelyn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simple pleasures,beautiful location , special memories

  • 5 of 5

A very special property - we have retuned o n several occasions and have many wonderful memories!

Thank you !

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We hope that we will see you again soon. With best regards, Simon and Jocelyn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely, unique family stay right by the beach

  • 5 of 5

Brilliant location, steps away from the beach, short walk to the local pub, shops, kids play area etc. Even had a massive storm come in overnight but we were all snug in bed in the train carriages! Recommended for a unique, beach side get-away - great for the dog too (she slept for a week afterwards!)

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a good stay. It certainly was a big storm! Some of our best memories are being in the warm watching the wind and waves. We hope you will come and stay again. Best wishes, Simon and Joss
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

OUTSTANDING

  • 5 of 5

omg i was taken to stay here as a surprise cpl of days we arrived fri eve and left sun i have never heard or seen of this place and when i walked thru the door and saw the trains i burst with excitement and cried as i was so overwhelmed with it.

totally querky, fun,everything you need perfect, then as it was dark i didnt know what was outside and i ddnt really know the area, so when i got upstairs even in the dark and went out on the balcony to see the beach basically in my back garden and then watched the storm making huge waves crash like mad was AMAZING.

I would highly recommend to anyone, and an experience i will NEVER forget i would happily go and stay again anytime no problem at all.

The people that walk past with their dogs etc or jogging are all lovely happy n friendly and the beach walks are so relaxing.

PEOPLE READING THIS REVIEW DO IT DO IT DO IT YOU WILL LOVE IT.

Hope who ever you are reading this about to go or thinking about booking have an incredible time like i did and enjoy the experience as much as i did.

from Steph & Manda Portsmouth UK

Jan 2016

  • Review Submitted: Feb 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Steph and Manda, We are so delighted you had a wonderful stay. When we first stayed at The Cormorant there was a huge storm and we sat on the balcony until the early hours of the morning listening the the wind and sea. Very memorable! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we really hope you will come and stay again soon. Best wishes, Simon and Jocelyn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
57 Miles
Gatwick
Nearest Ferry
24 Miles
Portsmouth
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Chichester
Nearest Motorway
19 Miles
A3 (M) Junction 5
Nearest Beach
1 Metres
East Beach
Car: not necessary

The Cormorant's rear garden wall is the sea wall! You are right next to the sea with your own gate leading to the beach. The Lifeboat Pub is 5 minutes walk along the sea wall in one direction and the best fresh fish in town are found at Julie's Hut five minutes walk the other way. A 10 minute walk away are the best fish and chips for miles around. A 15 minute walk, or short drive is Selsey with lots of shops, pubs and restaurants.

Further afield is the sandy beache of East Witterings, the beautiful bay of Bosham Harbour, Chichester and all the delights of West Sussex.

Other Activities: skateboard ramp.

Golf: The nearest golf course is Chichester Golf Club. The website introduction says: Welcome to West Sussex's Chichester Golf Club for all you need to know about membership, pay and play and society golf on our two 18 hole golf courses, 9 hole short course, driving range and Golf Academy. We have a sister club, Hill Barn Golf Club, in Worthing, a beautiful 18 hole golf course on the South Downs in West Sussex. Ideally situated close to Sussex's beautiful coastline, both Chichester and Hill Barn Golf Clubs' delightful golf courses offer superb golfing facilities to members, visiting golfers, and golf societies alike.

Each of our golf courses offer excellent playing conditions year-round, and with 36 holes plus our 9 hole Par 3 golf course, you'll find the ideal golf course facility right here in West Sussex.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Chichester, West Sussex

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer holiday
22 Jul 2016 - 1 Sep 2016
7 night minimum stay
£965
for 7 nights
£965
 
 
Summer
2 Sep 2016 - 22 Sep 2016
7 night minimum stay
£855
for 7 nights
£855
 
 
Autumn
23 Sep 2016 - 20 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£380
for 2 nights
From
£190
£740
 
 
Autumn 1/2 term
21 Oct 2016 - 27 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
£810
for 7 nights
£810
 
 
Autumn
28 Oct 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£360
for 2 nights
From
£180
£610
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£970
for 7 nights
£970
 
 
New Year
30 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£970
for 7 nights
£970
 
 
Winter
6 Jan 2017 - 9 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£350
for 2 nights
From
£175
£575
 
 
Spring 1/2 term
10 Feb 2017 - 16 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
 
Spring
17 Feb 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£360
for 2 nights
From
£180
£615
 
 
Easter holiday
31 Mar 2017 - 13 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
 
Spring
14 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£380
for 2 nights
From
£190
£680
 
 
Summer 1/2 term
26 May 2017 - 1 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
 
Summer
2 Jun 2017 - 20 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£855
for 7 nights
£855
 
 
Summer holiday
21 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£965
for 7 nights
£965
 
 
Summer
1 Sep 2017 - 21 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£855
for 7 nights
£855
 
 
Autumn
22 Sep 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£380
for 2 nights
From
£190
£740
 
 
Autumn 1/2 term
20 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£790
for 7 nights
£790
 
 
Autumn
27 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£360
for 2 nights
From
£180
£595
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£970
for 7 nights
£970
 
 
New Year
29 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£970
for 7 nights
£970
 
 
Future October
19 Oct 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £150
Pet Fee £25

** FOR WHOLE WEEKS WE ONLY ** (except where there it indicates a minimum stay of 2 nights)

** WE RENT FRIDAY TO FRIDAY **

** PLEASE NOTE DETAILS OF KEY COLLECTION OPTIONS BELOW **
The rates for the house are from £535 to £900 per week dependant on time of year.
Our minimum rental period is 1 week during high season and holidays (half terms etc.), however, we will rent for shorter breaks during

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in West Sussex in Sussex

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Parking
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 3 Child Bed , 1 bunk-bed, 1 single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
  • The bedrooms sleep a maximum of 3 adults (1 adult double, 1 adult single, 3 children beds). The bedrooms are all in the railway carriages, with original windows and doors/door handles. A travel cot is available. Linen is not provided - please bring your own towels and sheets or you can hire these locally. Details of the local linen company will be provided on enquiry or booking.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Garden
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Pets are considered, however, details of the type and number of pets has to be provided. The owners permission has to be requested and given to each party. There is a charge of £25 per week for each pet to cover additional cleaning costs. Failure to do this may result in a loss of security deposit. This is to try to ensure that the condition of the property remains at a high standard.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

Travellers who viewed this property also viewed...