Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Oceana--New Luxurious 4br/4ba Private Villa With Pool Sleeps Up To 12

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,068 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Located In A Secure And Private Gated Community, Close To Popular Holiday Areas

Villa Oceana is a brand new (April 2015) 4 bedroom, 4 bath rental villa with a private pool in the peaceful, safe and secure gated community of Samaan Grove. The well-groomed surroundings and the lakes make the environment very park-like , and guests will enjoy the peace and serenity of the area. The villa is specifically designed to be a high quality, luxury holiday retreat. No detail has been missed and no compromises have been made on build quality, finishes and furnishings.

With its four bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms, guests will have more flexibility in using the accommodations than in the smaller three bedroom villas.

This is a premium villa with quality features such as full gypsum tray or bulkhead ceilings throughout, excessive recessed lighting, fully trimmed with ceiling, window and door and floor moldings, and painted in vibrant Caribbean colors. High grade finishes include stainless steel kitchen appliances, granite countertops, European style walk in showers with tempered glass panels for safety, and rain shower heads for luxurious bathing. The villa is fully air conditioned including the great room. The sofas and the dining seating are all leather-upholstered. The patio is furnished with outdoor conversation furniture and dining set for relaxing or enjoying dinner al fresco. The kitchen has an island/bar with bar stools for enjoying casual snacks or after beach/pool drinks and is open to living dining areas to create a bright, airy and roomy space to enjoy your Tobago vacation. The living and dining area connects to the patio via a pair of timber and glass doors. Even the wall divider to the porch is fully glassed, making the interior bright and airy and allowing guests inside to see everything that is going on on the porch, the pool and the pool deck. This is very reassuring for parents who want to keep an eye on their children who might be in the pool or on the pool deck, even while they are inside.

The large 12'x28' pool was designed with guests full enjoyment in mind. It is large enough for small groups. There are three different depths: 18" which is perfect for younger children (although some adults also like to put their pool loungers in this part of the pool so they can stay nice and cool while tanning), 32' for older children and 52", a comfortable depth even for most non-swimmer adults. There is, of course, a gas BBQ grill for guests to utilize. In the living area, there is a 48" flat screen TV and a Blu Ray DVD player to help keep kids entertained.

Each bath shower area is fully walk in, with tempered glass for safety, and rainshower heads for luxurious bathing. The open showers also mean that mobility challenged guests are accommodated as there is no ledge for them to step over.

Guests comfort is always assured: each bedroom is equipped with a split AC unit for quiet operation as well as a ceiling fan for those who prefer to sleep without AC. The Great Room living/dining/kitchen area is equipped with a ceiling fan and two 24,000BTU split air conditioning units. The patio is not left out as it is equipped with ceiling fans for when those breezes die down.

The kitchen has all the appliances you would expect: electric kettle, coffee maker, toaster oven, blender for smoothies, slushes and cocktails! All major appliances are stainless steel: side by side refrigerator-freezer with ice and water dispenser, smooth top electric stove/oven, dishwasher, combination range hood/microwave. For a casual dinner, what could beat throwing some ribs, chicken, or mahi mahi on the grill?

No detail has been spared. There is a full sized washer and a dryer in the laundry room and a steam iron and ironing board, should you need them.

Samaan Gove is a gated community with 24 hour guards at the entry and night and day time patrols. Guests will enjoy the peaceful, quiet, and secure ambience of the development. Bird watchers will enjoy seeing the variety of birds, especially the ones drawn to the lakes. The development is not within walking distance to the beaches but is very close by car to Store Bay, Pigeon Point, Mt. Irvine Beach, (all within 6-9 minutes away). The airport is 6-8 minutes away and the port of Scarborough is 12-14 minutes away.

Within a 10 minute drive in any direction can be found a wide variety of fast food/take out outlets as well as casual sit down restaurants and fine-dining. Highly recommended are La Cantina (wood fired pizzas), Skewers (Arabic style takeout) in the Crown Point Area, Kariwak (upgraded local), off Store Bay local Road in Crown Point; La Tartaruga (Italian) and El Pascador (local seafood with a Venezuelan influence) in Buccoo Village; Patino's (International with Asian influence) on Shirvan Road before he Buccoo intersection, El Siciliano (Italian and sushi) in SHirvan Plaza; Fish Pot (casual seafood) in Pleasant Prospect; Seahorse Inn and Restaurant (International, upscale) Grafton Beach, and Shore Things on Old Milford Road in Lambeau (be sure to ask about their coconut cream pie!).

If you crave local street food, Jenny Lyn sells amazing corn soup and boiled corn on Fridays under the almond tree at the Pizza Boys plaza in Crown Point near the airport. You can find doubles vendors opposite the car park at the airport on many mornings, or in the Stumpy's Emporium parking lot on weekday afternoons. Or look for the Hot on D Spot van in an empty lot on Milford Road by the water heading into Scarborough Wednesdays to Sundays from 7 am. But be warned, they are usually sold out by 10:00 am. On Fridays at around 6pm there is a vendor selling various souses (pig foot, chicken foot, pig face, cow heel, conch), black/blood pudding, boiled corn and paimee in front to Penny savers on Milford Road in Canaan.

Supermarkets are all close by. Pennysavers is on Milford Road on the way back to the airport and in the West City Mall. RT Morshead is on Buccoo Road off Shirvan Road. Fresh produce can be found at many of the produce stands in the area. There is a particularly good one near Stumpy's Emporium or you can try Canaan Food Basket.

If you are looking for something adventurous, try one of the many watersports at Pigeon Point: kitesurfing, windsurfing, stand up paddleboarding (Duane Kenney is an awesome teacher and can be found at Radical Sports at Pigeon Point. He also does snorkeling charters aboard the Zoe jet boat or you can try one of the other boat tours with the glass bottom boats to Buccoo Reef and Nylon Pool. Golf is 10 minutes away at the Mt Irvine Golf course or try the newer Tobago Plantations course. For something different, try horseback riding with Being With Horses (www, Consider hiring a guide to take you hiking, bike riding or birdwatching. Take a trip to Roxborough to Argyle Falls, an easy hike to an easily viewed waterfall. Scuba diving at Speyside or Charlotteville is excellent (about 90 minutes drive from Samaan Grove). If it's nightlife you are looking for, try Shades about 5 minutes back towards Crown Point. Make sure you check out Sunday School in Buccoo if you get the chance. This street party happens on Sunday nights near the Buccoo Community facility and features local craft artists, steel pan and music.

Centrally located in the Canaan neighborhood of Southwest Tobago, villa 33 is close to all the popular holiday action, with everything you want within 5-10 minutes drive. The Crown Point area with the airport, banks, casinos, Bhagan's pharmacy, restaurants, Store Bay and Pigeon Point beaches are only 10 minutes drive. West City Mall, Pennysavers supermarket, Gulf City Lowlands mall with Scotiabank and Movie Towne are all nearby.

The best known beaches of Store Bay, Pigeon Point and Mt Irvine are less than 8 minutes drive away. Samaan Grove Development is unique in that it has exclusive land side access (driving only...walking not recommended as it is 45 minutes walk) to No Man's Land beach which is on a spit of land that projects out into Buccoo Lagoon. Many would argue that this is the bet beach on the island but it is popular with the tour boats out of Store Bay so it is best to get there early before they begin to arrive.

For water activities, head to Pigeon Point where you can rent or get lessons in wind-surfing, kite surfing, stand up paddle boarding. Jet skis are sometimes available there. The glass bottomed boats also leave from there to head to Buccoo Reef and Nylon Pool. Many of them will stop at No Man's Land to allow their people to swim there and some offer a beach barbeque

More Details

Patricia Campbell
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house around the Canaan around the Western Tobago

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2068 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Walk in shower, tempered glass panel, rainshower head
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Walk in shower, gempered glass panel, rainshower head
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Walk in shower, tempered glass panel, rainshower head
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Walk in shower, tempered glass panel, rainshower head
  • All bathrooms are en suite, European style with walk-in showers and tempered glass panels and rain shower head. The design makes them suitable for mobility impaired guests.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Split AC, Ceiling Fan
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Large Double Bed , Split AC, Ceiling Fan
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Large Double Bed , Split AC, Ceiling Fan
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Split AC, Ceiling Fan
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • pond
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Tobago changed hands many times between the English, French, Dutch and Spanish. Explore its history by checking out the many forts, the biggest one being in Scarborough. Or, be adventurous and explore the various waterfalls and beaches. Try snorkelling or maybe book a scuba tour. Experience the thrills of wind surfing or let the wind carry you up to the sky in kite surfing. If calm is more your speed, try stand up paddleboarding. I personally recommend Duane Kenney as an instructor. He works out of Radical Sports at Pigeon Point. Ever wanted to ride the waves? You can get a jet ski at Pigeon Point or just outside the entrance to Pigeon Point is Aquaholics. They also offer inflatables that they pull behind a jetski.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

69% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Oceana--New Luxurious 4br/4ba Private Villa With Pool Sleeps Up To 12
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews

What a wonderful vacation experience!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful three nights at this villa. It is located in a picturesque gated community in Tobago. The street itself is dotted with ponds which are home to beautiful birds and lilies.

This stay was my first in a villa. And I should let you know that this experience trumps many I have had in a hotel. With young kids in tow, the layout of this bungalow was perfect for those with young kids. The pool is clearly visible from the kitchen, dining and living rooms. There are no stairs and every room is spacious.

I plan to stay at this location again. The next time I will fully utilize the babysitting and cooking that is available to visitors through the lovely housekeeper.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Donna, for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the next time you visit us. You and your family are a pleasure to host. We couldn't all for better guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The villa was very dirty and not well disappointed

  • 1 of 5

The villa had not been cleaned properly, towels need to be replaced and many kitchen items need to be replaced. A deep cleaning is needed urgently. Will not stay here again if things are not corrected.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that you had such an experience. Upon your complaint the housekeeper was immediately dispatched to rectify the situation. While you have said that kitchen items need to be replaced we have not had similar complaints from anyone else. You never complained again during your stay so one would assume that the villa was cleaned to your satisfaction.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The property was well kept, clean and secure. It was a home away from home.

The security was good as well with the exception of a break-in the settlement itself not ours though, thank God.

I will highly recommend to anyone should they inquire...

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! As your visit occurred during the annual island crashers weekend, I am happy that you had a good time and relieved that the property was as expected and was left in a similar condition. We have now been informed after investigation that the so-called break-in was actually a prank played on some of the guests by their friends. We hope that you will help let others know that this was not an actual crime, but was instead, a private occurrence7vetwern two groups of friends who rented other villas.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very comfortable and well maintained villa

  • 5 of 5

This place as great. The place was clean and furnished quite attractively. Loved how each room had its own bathroom as well as the washer and dryer were very handy. No complaints, only great reviews

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

April 4-6

  • 3 of 5

The location was wonderful - close to groceries, restaurant and beaches. Very spacious and the pool was great. The house itself is not quite as pictured. It's a bit rundown and dirty. With a little TLC and a good cleaning, this could be a five star rental. Lots of miscommunication between the property manager, the gate keepers and us, resulted in a two hour delay of actually getting into the rental.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Cheryl, I am sorry to hear that you found the villa in a disappointing state. This has never been the case with any of the many guests who have stayed before. In fact, we have always been complimented on the cleanliness and condition of the villa. The miscommunication you are referring to, I assume, is in reference to your early check in and late check out. As I had explained, neither could be guaranteed if your arrival and departure dates were changeover dates with guests leaving the day you arrive and arriving the date you were leaving. Your arrival four and a half hours before check in was really early compared to normal and while I tried to make arrangements to accommodate you, I did say that the housekeeper might be delayed. I never replied to your request for a late checkout as your message came to me while I was abroad with NO wifi. Upon my return I made arrangements with the property manager to accommodate you to the best of our ability as we had a guest checking in that evening. Luckily they had asked for a late check in and we were able to allow you to stay until 1:30 p.m., three and a half hours past normal check out. Please understand that we need the time between guest check out and the next guest checking in to allow for proper cleaning and to prepare for the next guest. Your disappointment is understandable but the circumstances of your stay were unusual. We hope that you will allow us to create a better impression on your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect weekend getaway

  • 4 of 5

The villa was beautiful and clean. Very comfortable and cozy enough for our needs.

The guards were knowledgeable and helpful and very accommodating.

Patricia was very helpful and absolutely made our stay achievable. Going out of her way to accommodate our schedule when issues arose with payment.

I'd defenitely recommend this villa to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
ANR International Airport (TAB) Crown Point
Nearest Ferry
18 Miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Magdalena Grand, Mt Irvine
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Store Bay, Pigeon Point, Mt. Irvine
Car: recommended

Oceana is conveniently located, being close to the grocery store, restaurants, beaches, and attractions. Argyle Falls are only an hour's drive away and are an easy walk from the parking lot. Nearby the falls, Tobago Cocoa Estate gives tours on Friday mornings. Cocoa from Trinidad and Tobago is world famous and is used in small amounts to enhance the cocoa made into some of the best chocolate in the world. Water sports such as Kite-surfing, Wind-surfing, Stand up paddleboarding are an easy 10 minutes away in Pigeon Point. The West City Mall is only 5 minutes away. We have included a folder at the villa with listings of some of the tour operators and attractions.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Additional Guest Fee £19.01 per person per night

Upson your decision to reserve the property, we would require a 25% confirmation deposit to hold your dates. The balance plus security deposit equivalent to one night's rental are due at least 30 days prior to your scheduled arrival. Rates quoted are in US dollars and are based on a guest occupancy of 4 people. There is an additional charge of $35US for every 2 additional guests over 4. Greater occupancy would incur additional cost. Please note that rates are given by season (Low, Regular and Peak) Peak seasons are higher. Rates include daily housekeeping except on Sunday.
Cancellation policy: Cancelling your reservation 90 days or more before your reservation date....................full refund
Cancelling your reservation 60 to 89 days before........................................................1/2 refund
Cancelling your reservation 31 to 59 days..................................................................1/4 refund
Cancelling your reservation 0 to 30 refund unless we rebook

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.