HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Modern 2 bed / 2 bath apartment ideally located by beach & marina

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 904 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps up to 6, free internet, easy access for all amenities, beach and marina

Our marble floored apartment is situated within the Mikonos Playa complex by the beautiful marina in Duquesa. It is, of course, fully equipped to make your stay as pleasant & comfortable as possible. You will find a 32' LCD TV with Sky News and various other Sky 'free' channels via satellite plus a DVD with 100's of films, iPod dock, radio/CD player, PlayStation 2, air-con/heating, safe, bed linen, bath towels, refrigerator, freezer, oven, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine. Our apartment has two bedrooms. The master features a double bed with fitted wardrobes & an en-suite bathroom, featuring a Jacuzzi bath. The 2nd bedroom has two single beds whilst the 2nd bathroom features a hand basin, shower and toilet. The living room sofa-bed means that a family of six can be accommodated. It benefits from secure access, private designated underground parking and lift access (suitable for wheelchairs). You have full use of the private pool & deck on the 1st floor with no high rise hotels to spoil the sea views

NOTE DURING 2017 THE POOL AND SURROUNDS ARE BEING UPGRADED TO MEET LATEST SPANISH H&S REGULATIONS. DISABLED HOIST, GLASS SECURITY SCREEN AND EXTRA STEPS TO BE INSTALLED. WE ARE TOLD THAT THIS WORK SHOULD BE COMPLETED BEFORE THE SUMMER.

Google Maps: Use Street View in Google Maps to check out the Duquesa area.

Paste the link below into your browser

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&q=duquesa+spain&sll=36.358615,-5.231123&sspn=0.008225,0.019248&ie=UTF8&split=1&filter=0&rq=1&ev=zi&radius=0.54&hq=duquesa+spain&hnear=&ll=36.357474,-5.230651&spn=0,0.019248&z=16&layer=c&cbll=36.357277,-5.230904&panoid=-KxXQmA0sF-6DIDgKEja5A&cbp=12,325.54,,0,5

Don't drive, won't drive ??

No problem as we are close to the local bus stops and you can get from and to Malaga airport for under £10 each way. It does take three buses (airport Marbella Estapona Duquesa) and the bus connections are very convenient. The journey takes around three hours but this is no problem if you consider it as a tour of the Costa Del Sol. You're on holiday so why rush?

Need a cot for your young one? Not a problem as we can provide one for just 10 euro per week.

More Details

Owner
Stan & Helen Kiddle
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 September, 2017

About Stan & Helen Kiddle

Hi, we're Stan & Helen Kiddle. We met in 1979 and married in 1984 and have two grown-up children. We live in St Alban's Hertfordshire, just North of London were we grew up.

We purchased No.28 Mikonos Player 'off-plan' in 2003 and took ownership in 2004. First and foremost it's our holiday home and therefore we like to think of our guests almost as part of our extended family. We hope that when you stay at no.28 you will treat it as you would your own home, and, most important, feel at home and relax.

We have a number of guests who return year on year and, as you will expect, we give them the best possible pricing. But we do have a mortgage, cleaning and utility bills to pay for so if the price we quote sounds a little high, let us know and, if we can't reduce it for you, you will understand why.

We just love talking to new clients about Duquesa, it's not quite as good as actually being there but it's the next best thing. So please please, do pick up the phone for a chat. Best wishes

Stan & Helen Kiddle

Stan & Helen Kiddle purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Stan & Helen Kiddle chose Manilva area

We choose Duquesa as it's close to all the best that the Costa Del Sol can offer with beach, pool, marina, shopping, golf and so much more close by and the big towns and small villages just a few minutes drive away. We choose Duquesa because it's the type of place that as a family, we like to holiday. It can be as relaxed or as busy as you choose. And we are sure you will love it too.

What makes this apartment unique

We are just two minutes walk from our door to the beautiful Duquesa marina.

Check out our Youtube video - https://youtu.be/PwfK6tveDxQ

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Stan,

Just got back from a fabulous holiday in your apartment.We loved every minute of it,everything was perfect.



Once again thank you for the use of your apartment and we hope to go back there next year,tho at the moment it seems a long way off !

Kind regards,

Lin
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Manilva in Costa del Sol Occidental

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 904 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We are ajacent to the local Tourist Office which operates excursions during the busier months and can assist with bus travel and general tourist enquiries. We have our own dedicated parking space, close to the lift, in the gated secure underground car park. The local taxi rank is just across the road as are the nearest shops and bank with ATM. Bus stops are also just a couple of minutes walk up to the main road.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

56% Complete
36% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Modern 2 bed / 2 bath apartment ideally located by beach & marina
average rating of 4.4390244 based on 42 reviews
Lancashire
5

Shaw Family - two weeks in no.28

  • 5 of 5

This was our first booking with Stan & Helen reference No 28 Mikonos Playa and the initial exchanges where very pleasing. Stan & Helen where keen to help and answered all our queries promptly and with expertise. The website offers a host of information about Duquesa and the surrounding area but this does nothing to highlight what a wonderful part of the Costa del Sol this is.

The apartment is bright, spacious and tastefully appointed. The bedrooms are large and the beds comfy. The apartment has everything you could expect home from home. The Sky TV proved useful in keeping a sunburnt grandparent occupied with a list of movies that would put most hire shops to shame.

We have been to the area before but only to visit the marina for a bite to eat. The apartment is ideally situated and offers the best of the beaches, restaurants and bars but still manages to be far enough away so you’re not influenced by the marina’s bustling nightlife. The area is safe for children and families as we often allowed our teenaged children to venture to the marina to buy drinks or ice creams without any questions or fears.

All in all we had a great time in No 28 and will defo be recommending the apartment to family and friends.

PS. we have already rebooked for 2010.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 30, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted with Stuart's review. Remember that School Holiday weeks are the most popular as Mikono Player and Duquesa are well suited for the perfect holiday break. Don't delay, enquire today.
Did you find this review helpful?
15 1
4

Lovely Apartment, lovely location

  • 4 of 5

really enjoyed our stay, this apartment is in a prime location for beaches, bars and walks into neighbouring resorts. A car is useful if you want to venture further. Apartment has everything you need, is comfortable and homely. Stan was always available via email if we had any questions which is great. would recommend and would def return.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Location good but other issues to be worked on

  • 2 of 5

It was difficult to gain entry as the key to the outside doors didn't seem to fit. We managed to get into the complex on the good will of another resident letting us in. Once in number 28 we were disappointed to see the very busy A7 ran past the apartment only about 30 m away which meant sitting with the balcony doors open was not an option, never mind sitting on the balcony. Had we known this in advance we would never have booked!

When seeking advice about the keys not working on the outside doors we were told the locks were old and you had to jiggle the key .... our concern was if we arrived back late at night and couldn't get in what would we do.... we hadn't been given a point of contact of anyone local and had to email and ask who in case of emergency we would seek help from. We we're issued with a second key, after raising our concern but had no guarantees would be any better. ( it added to the excitement of whether we would gain entry each night!)? The apartment itself is roomy, albeit limited work surface space in the kitchen should you decide to cook stay in to eat. We were told prior to travelling work on the pool would be complete by end of july. Only to find this wasnt the case and pool access was very limited with unattractive fencing off in use. Also we have never been in the situation where the owness of passing on the keys has been left to us !. proximity to the marina and beach and it's dedicated parking space are it's only saving grace.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry that your expectations were not met. I must say that no-one else has had a problem with the keys and we've been almost fully booked all year. Our location is clear on our listing, the coastal road runs close to many complexes along the Costa Del Sol and our rates reflect that we not a secluded villa up in the hills. No-one else has mentioned the kitchen and we've had many long-term bookings (where self-catering is the norm) over our 13 years of ownership, particularly during winter months. I guess it's what you are used to. With regard to the pool, we can only pass on in good faith what we are advised. No guarantees were given. The work was dictated by the local council to ensure the safety of toddlers. The glass screens are now a requirement for all shared pools and unfortunately the work has been delayed. Regarding the keys, we post them to our guests and they post them back once home. However, during the busiest periods it makes more sense to post them direct to future guests. It's not an issue for you, you still have to post them promptly so why mention it? Thank you for mentioning that we are well located by the marina and the beach. As our many other reviews state, we provide a perfect location for a great holiday but we can''t please all the people all the time and some things, like in this instance, the pool works and the main doors to the complex, are out of our control.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very average

  • 2 of 5

Disappointed with no pool it should not of been let like it

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The renter was made aware during April and May 2017 that the community pool was undergoing upgrades required under Spanish law and that we had no control over the timing of this work. The renter booked a week in June and two weeks in September late last year. Back then we had no way of knowing then that the work would be underway this June. The pool work is due to complete in mid-July 2017. The renters statement of 'average' and two stars doesn't match the email sent to me whilst there..."Hi there just to say apartment is lovely but sad to say we won't be able to stay here in sept due to myself being unwell on the decent in to Gibraltar which resulted in me having bad head pains because of the quick decent"
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Clean & spacious apartment

  • 3 of 5

Nice apartment complex in the heart of Duquesa. Clean, comfortable beds, everything you need but some things need updating, ( well worn & tired fittings ) Shame about the noisy road & kids were so disappointed the swimming pool was empty & fenced off, but on the up side this meant we went out every day some where different from Gibraltar to Ronda & everywhere in between! Lovely area to visit, sightsee & relax.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback Christian, by email I'll ask for more details regarding the worn & tired fittings so we can deal as necessary. We share your frustration with the pool closure. The community now has the necessary licenses from the council to proceed with the work required to comply with latest Spanish regulations, namely a hoist for disabled access, extra steps and a security screen to prevent toddlers from inadvertently getting to the pool. We have been advised that this should be completed during June. Stan
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Good location for touring the area. Lovely harbour and cafe's and walks along the sea front.

  • 4 of 5

Well equipped with everything needed in a holiday apartment. Comfy bed. I was there in March 2017 during some storms and gale force winds so appreciated the English TV channels when I returned in the evenings. Though it was not all storms, there were more good weather days than bad. Safe and secure parking in the complex. Good choice of shops nearby.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
100 Kilometres
Malaga
Car: not necessary

La Duquesa has undergone considerable development over the last few years. If you are driving towards Gibraltar, La Duquesa is on your way between Estepona and Sotogrande. It is regarded as the final major holiday resort location in the Malaga region before you enter Cadiz. Within the area you will find port of Duquesa, with its international restaurants and boutiques.

The port provides a full marina service for enthusiastic sailors, not to mention plenty of alternatives for those who prefer to admire the boats from the safety of one of the wide variety of restaurants, intimate bars and small cafes dotted around the port.

Roads leading away from the port take you to the hills of Duquesa and its golf course, the Duquesa Golf and Country Club. Numerous other golf clubs are a short drive away. Likewise, the main coastal highway takes you quickly to Marbella, Estapona and Puerto Banus. Head west past Gibraltar and you will find Tarifa, water sports capital of Spain.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Manilva, West Costa del Sol

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Late Summer 2017
3 Sep 2017 - 4 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£180
for 4 nights
From
£45
£295
£775
 
 
Autumn 2017
5 Nov 2017 - 2 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£120
for 4 nights
From
£30
£195
£600
 
 
Winter 17/18
3 Dec 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
5 night minimum stay
£125
for 5 nights
From
£25
£175
£550
 
 
Spring 2018
1 Apr 2018 - 26 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£169
for 4 nights
£295
 
 
Early Summer 2018
27 May 2018 - 14 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£395
for 7 nights
£395
 
 
Peak Summer 2018
15 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Late Summer 2018
2 Sep 2018 - 27 Oct 2018
4 night minimum stay
£200
for 4 nights
From
£50
£325
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£200
for 7 nights
£200
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £10
Damage Deposit £125

WE AIM TO BEAT ANY PRICE FOR ANY COMPARABLE PROPERTY IN DUQUESA - TRY US!
Rates shown are a guide. Short and long term bookings available. Please call or email for a firm price based on the dates you require.
Extra services such as cot hire and airport transfers can be arranged.

Please review our location. Duquesa is adjacent to the A7 dual-carriageway so traffic noise can be heard.

We can also accept payment via credit card / Paypal - please enquire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable