HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

La Jolla Ocean Front on Windansea Beach! 3 levels with spectacular beach views

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,306 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps up to 10)

Location: Windansea Beach, La Jolla, San Diego, California


Across the Street and Overlooking Windansea Beach

Two Ocean View Balcony's

Amazing Master Suite with Ocean Views and Jetted Tub

Two Outdoor Patios with BBQ and Dining

Close to the Village of La Jolla


Sunday to Sunday stays only from mid-June to mid-August unless otherwise noted

Equipped with air-conditioning (Box fans provided)

Sleeps up to 8 adults in 4 bedrooms and 2 additional guests in subterranean room - No windows

Stairs required to access home - Staircases may not be suitable for young children

No Pets and No Smoking Allowed

Guest Age Requirement: 25+ unless children accompanied by parents (All adult groups must be approved by owner)


This 4 bedroom, 4 bath, oceanfront La Jolla vacation rental overlooking the surf and sands of Windansea Beach is in an ideal location. This vacation rental is overlooks one of San Diego`s finest beaches and we're confident you'll fall in love with it the moment you walk in.

Tastefully furnished, you'll feel comfortable and relaxed in your home away from home. With 3 levels, there's plenty of room for your group to spread out. The main floor boasts an open living space with: living room, dining area, and kitchen and the Pacific Ocean as a back drop. The living room has plenty of comfortable seating, a flat screen HD Apple TV and gas fireplace. Oversize sliding windows open up to the view terrace where you can watch rolling waves and dolphins frolic in the surf.

You can prepare your favorite meals in the fully-stocked gourmet kitchen featuring: upgraded stainless steel appliances, slab granite counters, and cherry wood custom cabinetry. Outside you`ll find a side patio, propane BBQ grill, and an outdoor dining area.

The master suite is breathtaking with a flat screen HDTV, gas fireplace, and a super comfy king size bed. Wake up to gorgeous ocean views and the sweet scent of the sea each morning. Enjoy a fresh cup of coffee watching the ocean come alive in the morning, or toast the sunset on your bedroom terrace while watching the sun sink melt into the ocean. Soak in your jetted tub, then fall asleep to the gentle sounds of the surf.

This Oceanfront La Jolla vacation rental is within driving distance of all San Diego has to offer. It's just 3 minutes to the Village of La Jolla where you'll discover world-class shopping and dining. It's also a few minutes to the scenic La Jolla cove where you scenery of the Village of La Jolla and La Jolla Cove. The home is only 15 minutes from Sea World, and 20 - 25 minutes to Old Town, downtown`s Gas Lamp District, San Diego Convention Center, the San Diego International Airport, San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, and the USS Midway Museum. Your Bluewater Vacation Planner can tell you more and help you plan your itinerary of must sees during your stay.

We invite you to call or email our Vacation Planners to see if this is the perfect home for you and your group.

At Bluewater Vacation Homes, our most important job is to help you find the perfect home for you and your group. Our vacation planners are local area experts and can also help you plan your activities to make the most of your stay. Once you arrive, we're here 7 days a week to make sure you have an exceptional experience.

Please note: We enforce a no tolerance policy regarding excessive noise, occupancy and/or parties. Deposit forfeitures and/or evictions are strictly enforced. Please make sure you are comfortable with these policies before booking with Bluewater Vacation Homes.


Level One: (ground level / subterranean)

Bedroom 4

Extra room (subterranean with queen bed, no window)

Full Bath w/ Shower

Game area with children's toys and games

Level Two:

Bedroom 3 - en suite bath - shower

2 patio spaces with seating

Kitchen area

Dining Space - 6 at Dining table and 3 at bar

Living Area

Apple TV


Ocean Front Patio

Level Three:

Bedroom 2 - en suite bath - shower

Master Suite - open floor plan with open bathroom design



Ocean front patio on Master

Retractable awning

Infinity Jacuzzi Tub

Steam Shower

Large walk-in closet

Distance to Popular Local attractions: (Driving distance - Times are approximate)

Seaworld: 15 - 20 minutes

Legoland: 30-40 minutes

Belmont Park: 15-20 minutes

Windansea Beach: Walk

Mission Beach: 15-20 minutes

Pacific Beach: 5-10 minutes

La Jolla Cove: 5-10 minutes

La Jolla Shores:15 minutes

Torrey Pines State Park: 20 minutes

Downtown/Gaslamp: 25 minutes

San Diego Zoo: 25 minutes

Safari Park: 45 minutes

Balboa Park: 25 minutes

Old Town: 20 minutes

City Occupancy Tax: 10.5%

Departure Cleaning: $350

Vacation Rental Damage Protection: $119

Refundable Security Deposit May Apply

Please note: This home is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. Parties, over occupancy and noise that disturbs neighbors is absolutely prohibited.


50% down

All balances due 60 days prior to arrival

Arrival / Departure:

Check-In: 4:00 PM

Check-Out: 10:00 AM

Please note: Furnishings and amenities are subject to change. All occupants and use of home must be approved by management and reservations may be declined or canceled at management's discretion. All rates are subject to change until finalization of reservation. Zero tolerance and fines and evictions due to noise complaints, parties or over occupancy. Please make sure you are comfortable with these policies and closely read the contract terms and conditions before booking.

More Details


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Beach Barber Tract in La Jolla

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2306 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Level 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Master Bath is In-Suite - Jetted Infinity tub & Steam Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Level 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En Suite to Bedroom 2
    Bathroom 3 - Level 3 (main floor) - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En Suite to Bedroom 3
    Bathroom 4 - Level 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En Suite to Bedroom 4 & Opens to Hall
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 3rd level - Sleeps up to 2 - In-Suite bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 3rd level - Sleeps up to 2 - En-Suite bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2nd level (main floor) - Sleeps up to 2 - En-Suite bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1st level - Sleeps up to 2 - En-Suite bath open to hall
    Subterranean room - 1 Large Double Bed , No windows/Dark space - 1st level - Sleeps up to 2
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Double (1)
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Iron and board Hair dryer Bath and beach towels Professional gas range 2 ovens Toaster


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
La Jolla Ocean Front on Windansea Beach! 3 levels with spectacular beach views
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews

great location. great views.

  • 4 of 5

two families visiting. had a great time. excellent service from the management company. went for walks on the beach every morning and saw the sunset at least 3x in one week. that alone was worth the $$$.

The beach is steps away. the property is showing signs of wear and tear - mostly on the outside. inside, it is well kept and clean. the kitchen had all amenities needed. the management company left set of towels and also basic toiletries and kitchen soap and dishwasher detergent. had plenty of beach towels.

the only hickup we had was on arrival there was a numeric keypad which is why i gave them 4 stars. all the codes provided did not work. we had to call # and someone had to arrive to physically let us in. after long day of travelling, the kids got a bit anxious waiting around. they let us in but ultimately could not get the codes to work throughout our stay. ended up giving us extra keys so not a big deal.

if possible, would give them 4.75 stars. a little pricey, but worth it based on location, inside amenities, and service. will look to staying with this management property in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: From all of us here at Bluewater we are so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us in our La Jolla Oceanfront home. We apologize that you experienced technical difficulties with the lock when you arrived to the home. This is not something we want any of our guests to experience, however sometimes technology has it faults. We are glad that this was not a hindrance on your stay and that you enjoyed your time in the home, as well as at the beach! Which happens to be one of our personal favorites. We love hearing about our guests stay and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in San Diego. Warmest regards, The Bluewater Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Seattle, WA

Great house on the BEACH

  • 5 of 5

Master room is great.

Four other rooms are adequate

  • Review Submitted: 21-Dec-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The lure of the ocean….

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful house! The location is just magnificent. With a hectic schedule of Legoland and all things kid related, this house was a wonderful respite at the end of a busy day. Morning coffee on the balcony to watch the daily rituals of the locals - surfing, dog walking, jogging, strolling. A glass of wine to salute the sunsets. It was divine. We ventured down to the nearby beach that was so intimate, yet groovy. This part of La Jolla is so chilled that you couldn't help but melt into relaxation the moment you stepped foot inside the house. The house itself is large and with our party of six, we had plenty of room to retreat to peace and quiet. The house is well appointed, clean and nicely styled. But, above all else - the Bluewater Vacation Homes Team are responsive, friendly and professional. It was a seamless stay from top to bottom. And…La Jolla made an indelible mark on us all. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellaire, TX

Fall asleep with the sound of gentle waves.

  • 5 of 5

Summing up my opinion of our rental for our family vacation...WOW!. The perfect location: across the street from the pristine La Jolla sandy beach and plently of boulders for the kids to climb and explore. The perfect condo: gourmet kitchen, huge master bath and 4 other smallish bedrooms. 4 bathrooms and a very nice laundry room too. Both the living room and master bedroom have balconies to sit, watch the surfers, swimmers and glorious sunsets. Our entire family had a great time and the location was perfectly located to drive into downtown La Jolla or Mission Beach and beyond. The bedrooms were rather small - but they're just for sleeping - the action takes place in the living room, dining area, kitchen and of course on the balcony and beach. The owners have done a great job of furnishing the condo and the management company is very attentive. We hope to come back whenever our schedule permits.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tiburon, CA

Perfect Oceanfront Experience

  • 5 of 5

Couldn't ask for a better experience! Luxury Ocean Front La Jolla is as described -- luxury and oceanfront. The three-level home perfectly accommodated our group -- two adults and six teenagers (call us crazy!) The two teen girls took the bottom level, the four teen boys had the middle section, and we enjoyed the spectacular master suite with panoramic ocean views. The kitchen was fantastic, and the outdoor eating areas suited our needs. The BlueWater concierge referred us to RADD Sports, which delivered six bikes and six boogie boards to the home on our arrival. The teens spent the week biking into La Jolla Village and also along the dozens of miles of bike paths in Pacific Beach and Mission Beach -- while we enjoyed wine and reading on the decks of the home, with phenomenal sunsets. The beach looks rocky from photos but is a beautiful sandy beach in many sections. Much cleaner and more private than La Jolla Shores beach. The teens thoroughly enjoyed the surf right out front, as well as paddle boarding and tubing on Mission Bay, and SeaWorld's Aquatica Water Park in Chula Vista. Everyone in our group rated it the vacation of a lifetime!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jul-2013
  • Date of Stay: June 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 3 of 5

4 couples rented this house for a week in February. The main attraction of this house is its location which is across the street from the beach and in a quiet area that is great for walking. It has great views from the decks. Be aware that there is only space for 4 persons on each deck. The kitchen, living room and master bedroom/bath are lovely. The kitchen cabinetry is upscale with granite countertops. The master bedroom is huge as is the bath. There is a window wall overlooking the ocean in both the living room and master bedroom. The other bedrooms are quite average. They are small with small bathrooms and there is really no room for a suitcase. One of the bathrooms had the door removed and there was a curtain hanging on a flimsy pressure rod in the doorway which offered little privacy. The bath linens were a bit worn and the bed linens were wrinkled. If 4 couples are renting this house, 3 couples are going to feel slighted with regard to their sleeping areas. The beds were comfortable. The laundry facilities were top-notch. The house is advertised for 8 people, yet there were only 4 chairs around the dining room table and 3 bar stools. The rental agency was very responsive when there were maintenance issues and brought some folding chairs for the table. There is "owner clutter" in the garage and also in some of the bedroom closets. This property would probably be best for a family with children, but not for 4 couples sharing equally in the rent. The location and views are wonderful.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Apr-2013
  • Date of Stay: February 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review the home; it’s great to get feedback so we can work to improve our guests’ experience. We’re very glad you enjoyed the home and we would like to take this opportunity to address the concerns. We do our best to make sure each home fits each group and try to make sure that the description and photos represent the home accurately. We have rented to many groups of couples that truly enjoyed this property, however it appears the layout wasn't ideal for this particular group. For sure, whoever wins the coin toss for the fantastic Master Suite should pay more! We also want to point out that there is a nice amenity not shown on the photos; the back patio with an outdoor dining table that accommodates 6 more guests. We think the suggestions for improvement are great, and we are already in the process of implementing them. A door has been installed in the east bedroom suite, we purchased 2 additional chairs for the dining table, and we have another bar stool on order among many other property enhancements. So thank you from us and our future guests for helping improve the accommodations. Best regards, your friends at Bluewater Vacation Homes.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Property Manager

Bluewater Vacation Homes
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 February, 2018

About Bluewater Vacation Homes

Bluewater Vacation Homes specializes in upscale vacation rentals in coastal San Diego. We make the process easy for guests and we are available 7 days a week to handle any questions or concerns. Our friendly reservation agents are local area experts and will help you find the perfect home for you and your group. Call us at 800-243-3588 or email us from this listing for more information. When you choose a Bluewater Vacation Home you can rest assured that our number one priority is making sure you enjoy your stay to the fullest.

Why Bluewater Vacation Homes chose Beach Barber Tract

This home is directly overlooking Windansea Beach, arguably the most beautiful beach in San Diego,. The sandy beach is everchanging and the sandstone rock features provides the backdrop for spectacular sunsets each eveining.This beach features the renowned Windansea Beach Break and is a favorite of advanced surfers during swells.



Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £250.15

Please note: No pets and no smoking allowed. This home is located in a quiet neighborhood and is only suitable for quieter groups. Our rental agreement includes a no tolerance policy regarding excessive noise, occupancy and/or parties. Deposit forfeitures and/or evictions are strictly enforced. Please make sure you are comfortable with these policies before renting with Bluewater. Please see “NOTES” section for additional information.

All rates and amenities are subject to change until rental agreements are approved by management. Any bookings less than 7 nights are subject to rate surcharges. Certain affiliate properties may require direct booking with the owner. Please see our terms and conditions and contact a reservation agent for more details.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals