HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Wine Country Gem on 2 acre orchard - SAFE from the Wildfires!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Vacation Home: 3 Br + family room, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Tranquil 3+ bedroom, 2 bath, family room and bar. Designer/Decorator owner has furnished their home in beautiful wine country style. Well-appointed featuring lovely antiques, vaulted ceilings, hardwood and quartz stone floors and beautiful Persian rugs. Master bedroom's en-suite features a spacious Jacuzzi bath tub with marble surrounding. This home features 2000+ sq feet of wrap-around deck, enclosed outdoor living room, as well as a hot tub deck overlooking a picturesque apple orchard and edible garden. Lovely for entertaining with handsome Mahogany bar, fireplace and piano inside and inviting enclosed deck space with outdoor grill, and landscaped gardens. Home is located down a quiet, country road with little to no traffic, a remote-control iron gate will lead you up the winding driveway to the main house. Plenty of parking. Concierge service available for sample itineraries and suggestions to get the most out of your stay.

Sonoma County has much to offer: 75 miles of dramatic coastline, sandy beaches and thousands of acres of state and county parks, giant redwood groves and kayaking and canoeing on the Russian River. Enjoy live music, dancing, festivals and weekly Farmers markets featuring organic, locally-grown food. Sonoma Coast beaches at Bodega Bay and Jenner by the Sea and much more. There are 180+ world renowned Russian River, Dry Creek Valley and Alexander Valley wineries. Just 5 minutes from charming downtown Sebastopol, bustling with diverse and unique stores, and home to a colorful, progressive, bohemian community of characters.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Keywords: vacation home, rental house, Sonoma Wine Country, farm to table restaurants, fine dining, garden, deck, hot tub, organic orchard & Gardens, world class wineries, dining and day spas, Bodega Bay and sandy beaches, antique shops, art galleries and open studios, green home, elegant, Russian River kayak, canoeing and swimming, whale watching, birding, nurseries, giant redwoods, hot air ballooning, hiking, cycling and zip-lining, fishing and performing arts centers.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
5 December, 2017

About The Owner

The owner Richard is a retired innkeeper/owner who lives on the property by himself when he is not traveling in a separate guest cottage. He is available to guests should you need suggestions on must see places to visit, as well as the best restaurants to dine

Retired Innkeeper/proprietor/designer/property mgr./consultant,Farmer-Gardner, Philosopher

The Owner purchased this house in 2007

Why The Owner chose Sebastopol

Five minutes from town, yet secluded country property in up scale neighborhood. Passive solar home, very nice design, stays cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Chef's gourmet kitchen and adjoining mahogany bar for guests to watch the Artist cook create a tasty organic meal. Also large gas Barbecue on porch

What makes this house unique

Quiet and peaceful home with gardens, apple orchard, yet minutes to town . Only 25 minutes from Sonoma County Airport now serviced by American Air & Alaska Air with connecting flights to major airports. Check in & security takes about 10 minutes

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Sebastopol in Sonoma County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Family Room - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Three bedrooms with Queen size Beds, Fold out sofa bed in the family room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
apple orchard and edible garden on private gated property

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(38 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Wine Country Gem on 2 acre orchard - SAFE from the Wildfires!
average rating of 4.763158 based on 38 reviews
5

Great house that had large gathering areas. Eclectic decor that created charm.

  • 5 of 5

Was perfect for our large (8 adults) family to stay over Thanksgiving holiday. Kitchen was fun to cook and bake in. Richard was a good host. All was in order...well maybe the coffee maker needs an overhaul. We enjoyed the wide selection of literature. We will stay here again if in the area.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Lovely accommodations but owner was on the property too much.

  • 2 of 5

While the house it self was lovely the owner DID NOT DISCLOSE that he lives in the "garage" and that he and others would be on the property doing "yard work" and such throughout the week. We left the house every day and we felt that if work needed to be done it should have been done after we left the house. We encountered the workers before we left at 9 am and Richard was on the property way too much for us to feel comfortable. One day he strolled by the windows while I was not fully dressed. On another occasion he was lurking just behind the fence doing "yard work" after we returned from a day of wine tasting. I believe he should have respected our privacy and use of the house AND NOT BE PRESENT while we were at the house. Our group consisted of family members all above the age of 40 and all of us felt uncomfortable having him on the property everyday when we were there.The toilet in the master bedroom leaked throughout our stay and there was a pool of water on the floor. Everyday we had to place a new towel on the floor to sop up the toilet water. When we mentioned this to him and he said he knew about the leak but did nothing to fix it. Who does that?? Also - I did not receive the free night as advertised and furthermore on our last day he came to the house to inform us to be out by 11 am.

Overall the house - for the most part - was decent but not in tip top shape and was not thoroughly clean ( major dust on mirrors and cob webs and bugs in the shower) but having the owner present everyday was creepy and uncomfortable. We left the house everyday for ten hours and before leaving and upon our return to the house we should not have had to encounter the owner working and lurking around the property for the week.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Pauline, I am sorry to hear that there was more we could have done to enhance your stay. I appreciate your feedback and will address your concerns. 1. I understand that you felt uncomfortable with the owner being on-site. Richard lives in the guest cottage and is available to guests to answer questions, make local recommendations and address anything out of place in the main house. He tries to give guests as much privacy as possible, but does occasionally need to attend to things on the grounds and outside of the house. Our write up on the website states that the owner lives on site in a separate building, I will look at whether that language needs to be more clear. 2. In the wake of the recent wildfires, and increased bookings, we did not have a 'guest free' day to schedule our gardener. So, he was on site one morning during your stay. In hind sight, we should have let you know that, and we will look at handling that differently in future. 3. I am very sorry that the master toilet leaked during your stay. It was an issue in the past, but we were not aware that it was recurring until you informed Richard the night before you checked out. He would have happily addressed it earlier if we had known. 4. Our housekeeper Lilia is a gem. Unfortunately, I did not inspect the house prior to your arrival, so can not comment. I can say that in the wake of the fires many homes and businesses in our area have had to work around the needs and availability of their staff. Lilia had an minor injury that, had someone else been available to cover that cleaning, she might have chosen to stay home. I apologize that it sounds like the house was not up to our usual standards. 5. You mentioned a free night. Your stay was for 7 nights and you were charged for 6. So, you did receive a free night - a savings of $388. 4. Lastly, you mentioned the checkout time. After you let Richard know that you were planning to leave by 10am, he booked the housekeeper for 11 am (which is our normal check out time). We are always happy to give a later check out to guests, provided we don't have another party checking in that same day. Had we known you had changed your departure plans, we would have been willing to work with you. Pauline, I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I hope that you enjoyed your time wine tasting with your sisters (thank you for the lovely wines you left!) And we would be happy to host you again in should you ever like to return. - Maria
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellant

  • 5 of 5

WE did not stay, we are the owners. You have sent this once again to us when it needs to go to the guests

  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5

This home is in a wonderful location. We had quiet and privacy but were near all kinds of exciting venues. It is comfortable with a great covered porch and lots of seating. We love how the space accommodated our family. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed hosting this family for 10 days for their return visit. They were here two years ago, and I hope they return again. They left the home clean and removed all their own trash. I would recommend them to other VRBO Owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Loved this house!!!! So much character and comfortable to visit with friends and just relax!

  • 4 of 5

Everything about the house was perfect for us!...so private and quiet.....the grounds were a little rough but we still enjoyed the outdoor living spaces.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, spacious, comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this rental. Our party included 4 adults and 4 teens and we had plenty of room. Owner lives in adjacent home - left us to ourselves but was available when we needed anything (paper towels, for example). Easy access by car to downtown for groceries or eating out. Short 15 minute drive from downtown Santa Rosa. Stocked kitchen and BBQ grill outside. We cooked most of our meals at the house. Hot tub was a bonus on a cool night. I would stay here again

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful family, the adults were here to ride & Race the Ironman .They took good care of my home and left it clean. I hope they return next year. Richard
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Sonoma County Airport & SFO 2 hours
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
1 mile
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Larkspur/Marin Couny to SF
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sebastopol Golf Course 1 mile
Nearest Train
9 Miles
Smart trainSR/ MartienezAmTrak
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway116 1/4 mile
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Sebastopol 1/4 mile
Nearest Ski
200 Miles
Lake Tahoe Ski Resorts 4 to 5 hours
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Bodega Bay or Stealhead Beach RR
Car: necessary

Sebastopol& Graton offers dozens of World class wineries, restaurants and shopping in the new Barlow area, including micro-brewery, natural foods store, cheese tasting, Organic Farmers Market and much more. Also just a short drive is Zip Lining, Giant Redwoods, Bicycle trails, golf, Spas, Massage, whale watching, several sandy beaches, Antique Row, fabulous nurseries & Christmas Tree farms, Wonderful Art Galleries and the home of Charles Schultz's (Snoopy) Museum & Ice Arena.Also nearby beaches and over 10,000 acres of State parks for hiking.Owner can recommend favorite wineries and dining out eateries, and social dancing venues.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Sebastopol, Wine Country California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter Holidays
20 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,764
for 4 nights
From
£410
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,103
for 3 nights
From
£326
From
£410
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,331
£5,161
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £224.79
Cleaning Fee £112.39 + Tax
Pet Fee £26.23
Tax Rate 12.0%

Main Season rates apply to all holidays. A cleaning fee of $150 applies to all stays regardless of length. Ask about rates for extended stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable