HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Lara Ellis

Member since: 2009
Speaks English

Beach House just metres from the sea in a stunning location

5 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Morocco - No 14 and No 9 Playa Blanca

3 bedroom property & 3 bedroom apartment

Hidden on the North African coastline, looking out onto the Straits of Gibraltar the bay faces North West which results in lovely cool mornings and spectacular, romantic evening sunsets. With clean safe swimming and soft white sand to play on, just meters from your front door, this is a family friendly beach. For the more adventurous traveller this is a great base to explore the fascinating and truly different culture of Morocco. .

We offer comfortable accommodation in a three bedroomed property for 6 people, and a three bedroom apartment on the first floor for up to 6 people. Both combine European and Moroccan design throughout. These can be rented on a self catering basis, or we can help you plan a fully inclusive holiday with a personal chef, driver and tour guide

Travel and Transport: You have many options for getting to Playa Blanca. There are flights direct to Tangiers Airport and it is only 15kms from the house. However with Morocco being so close to Spain you also have the option of flying to either Gibraltar, or Malaga and catching a ferry. A short transfer will get you to the ferry ports of either Algeciras or Tarifa. The fast ferry from Tarifa only takes half an hour and lands straight into Tangier's Ferry port just 10 km from the house.

Only 8km away is Tangier Railway Station. This is a well connected station with trains to Fes, Meknes. Popular with tourists, is an overnight service to Marrakesh. Car hire or use of a car is essential for staying on the beach.

Coast and Beach: Morocco's north coastline is dotted with little bays with soft white sand and clear blue seas. Playa Blanca is one of the closest to Tangier, but only gets busy between July and Sept. Protected by an offshore reef the bay is a safe and enjoyable place to swim for all ages. During the summer months (high season) when the beach gets busier there are two lifeguards permanently in attendance. The house is set just a car's width from the beach itself, meaning you don't even need a beach bag! Quite unique.

Golf: Tangier Royal Golf Club 15 mins. The 18 holes weave their way through cypress, pine and eucalyptus trees, crossing the mountain, sloping down and climbing again. The fifth, a par 4, demands particular attention and a great deal of dexterity with its unexpected hill closed in between pine trees and a tiny, sloping green, but the reward comes when you reach the top; the roofs of white Tangier gleaming in the sunlight as far as the eye can see.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lara Ellis (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a super house! It is very big and right on a small beach. No noisy moskee around! It was a relaxing place to start our big Marokko tour. Nice terrace. And a very friendly host Thx Lara
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 1


based on 5 holidaymaker reviews

Beach House just metres from the sea in a stunning location
average rating of 4.2 based on 6 reviews

Holiday of a lifetime

  • 5 of 5

The location is amazing. The house is fantastic. Equipped with everything needed and within a short distance to shops and a water park round the corner. What a place.....can't wait to return.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3

The Blue House, Playa Blanca, Tangier

  • 5 of 5

We had a thoroughly lovely holiday at the Blue House. Seconds from the beach, it was heaven. We were greeted from the port by the friendly and helpful Lennie who manages the house. He organised anything that we wanted. Trips to the medina, shopping etc. He was the perfect host. The house is well equipped and lacks nothing. There are a few restaurants within walking distance that provide reasonably priced, delecious local food. Alcohol however is not available on the beach. I found the listing of the house to be accurate and the property was clean and well maintained. We shared the house with another family and cost wise it was great value for money. There is a fantastic ater park M'nar Park, within a short taxi ride away. Not terribly cheap to get in but a great day out for the kids. I spent a lot of my time on the balcony overlooking the sea. Lay out on a sunlounger reading and watching the fabulous sunrises. A really enjoyable holiday!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a lovely relaxing holiday and enjoyed the beach at Playa, and had a chance to explore the beautiful culture of Morocco, and Tangier. We hope you will return again, thank you for being perfect guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3

Thank you for a stunning Holiday.

  • 5 of 5

All I can say is that this was a wonderful and stunning holiday, both for the accommodation, views and the one to one attention that we were given by Lara, on arrival and when ever we had any questions. I have told all my friends at the golf club about this beautiful area and would recommend this property to anyone. The beach is stunning and very clean, the restaurants had the most delightful food I have every tasted. It truely was every bit as stunning in real life as on the website.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 11, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 5

beautiful house perfect for relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The house is just after cap malabata direction tetouan 9 km from tangier in a beautiful beach called palya blanca, you can see spain! and a ballet of boat passing threw the detroit of gibraltar, at night it s beautiful.

The house is lovely decored , well equiped and very spacious. Val was fantastic with us and Karim was very handfull.

I recommend you to rent a car at the airport and before to go to the house ask Karim to stop you to the supermarket it's close to the airport.

Tangier is a big city, there's a lot of things to do: medina(fish market) , a lot of restaurants (sea food very good and good value) also bars along the beach (av mohamed vi.

I recommend the blue house its safe, quiet and what a view!!!! if you want to relax rent this house.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

A true nightmare

  • 1 of 5

From the very first day we had nothing else then troubles en problems in and around the house. It al started with meeting your contactperson "A", when we arrived in Tanger he wanted us to meet him in the middle of Tanger at the very busiest moment of the day en he also brought a friend wih him and a extra car for our stuff... and then he also wanted us to bring him back from the bleu house to tanger.

Then arriving at the Bleu House:

A asked us to pay him the depositmoney which you allready had received. The pormised 2 extra wheren't there; so 2 kids had to sleep on the coutch! Asking A he said he never was informer about it by you en promised to come on this but he never did!

The babybed had no matras..the window down stairs was broken; A was aware of that but he never fixed it. The window could not be closed; my brother in law fixed it him self!

the whole house was dirty and everywhere spiderwebs

the doorhandle of the maindoor was broken

the (3) towels where wet

the water cock outside was locked en your contactperson would never open it after we asked for it

Most of the kitchenware was incomplete or defective

the drain in the badroom on the first floor was clogged

the stove (oven) worked halve

No parkingspace around the house during the daytime; everday was a struggle en issues between visitors that parked there cars everywhere

every single parking place was claimed by owners of the houses

one of our cars is damaged (scracthed)


we had to do one and a half day without water. Imagene for yourself; 9 peolple without clean water!

one night without electrcity!

It was very disappointing that your contactperson at this critical moments he never was available nor could we reach him by phone. On the other hand he was almost evry day on the beach (swimming) and busy with his family and other visitors of the white house.

Last but not least the playa was so dirty an busy with bathers (all kind..) and some times very agressive people!

Our staying at the Bleu House was what you can call en true night mare and defenitly not matching our expectations en your description. And surely it is not worth the price you asked for it and we payed for it!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: When this review was written we were just starting out with renting the house.A lot has changed in the last 4 years! We had some problems with our old agent who has since been replaced with our lovely agent Souad. She arranges a thorough clean of the whole house. She is also available to deal with any problems you might have whilst renting. We also give every renter all our details back here in the UK as another point of contact during your stay. We now arrange to meet every guest at their entry point, such as ferry or airport, or meet them at at the house which ever is the most convenient. We arrange taxis to the house so guest don't need to worry about taking our agent back. The kitchen is fully stocked with new kitchenware. It is unfortunate that the electricity went off during the rent, but power cuts do occasional happen. The beach does get busy during the day in peak season. The beach is popular with holiday makers and locals alike, due to the clear blue waters and golden sands. During this time by 6pm most people have headed home and you have the beach all to yourself. We have learnt a lot since we started renting the houses. It has been enjoyed by many guest and we are starting to get repeat bookings every year. I hope this one bad review doesn't put you off staying in our lovely holiday home.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 5


Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Tangiers Boukhalef Souahel Airport
Nearest Barpub
10 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
10 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
12 Kilometres
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
12 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
During the summer months Playa Blanca
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Playa Blanca
Car: necessary

If you want to leave the beautiful beach there are lots of local attractions. The nearest is the new M'nar park. Only 3km away it is a children's paradise. With a water park, go-carting, and rides for all ages, it also boasts one of the best cafe viewing spots in the Tangier area. Tangier with it's famous nightlife, artisans and Medina is the local town. The King of Morocco has taken a special interest in Tangiers. This interest has seen Tangiers undergo a transformation with beautiful renovations and a new beach front walkway. For eating out, a particularly good place to go if you want delicious fish is Restaurant Popular. With only one set menu, it is one of Tangier's hidden gems. The El Minzah Hotel is the place to soak up some of Tangier's history, and cocktail or two in style. Just round the corner is if bars are more your thing, you can find historic Deans Bars, and the London Pub.

Other Activities: The nearest attraction is the new M'nar Water Park. Only 3km away it is a children's paradise.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Tangier, Mediterranean Morocco

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

The damage retainer of £250 (300€) is fully refundable when the keys are returned and our agents confirm there is no damage to the house or contents.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Morocco in Africa

Property Type:
  • house (terraced)
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
  • waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Printer
  • Scanner
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchenette
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Hamman Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    First Floor Bathroom - Toilet
    Second Floor Bathroom - Toilet
  • The Hamman style bathroom has been beautifully and individually designed.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • First Floor Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , The beds can be split into two single beds.
    Top Floor Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , The beds can be split into two single beds.
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , A UK imported spring action sofa bed.
    Ground Floor Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , The beds can be split into two single beds.
  • The ground floor studio has double doors onto the front terrace and has a great view of the beach. It has an en-suite bathroom and a small kitchenette making it possible to use as a separate studio apartment. There is lots of room for a cot or extra children's beds. The first floor bedroom has a beautiful Moroccan archway entrance opening onto the living room. Your privacy is assured by large mirrored doors meaning you can see out but no one can see in. This is a convenient bedroom being on the same level as the living room and kitchen. The top floor bedroom is stunning with views on two sides. To the front double patio doors lead to the terrace looking out to sea, and to the rear, the secret garden. You can open the windows and have the scent from the garden drift in. All the rooms currently have a double bed that can divide into two single beds and a very comfortable sofa bed in the living room.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
The open plan kitchen, dining and and living room are on the first floor, with huge panoramic windows facing out over the beach and sea. The kitchen is individually designed and the work-top is made of a unique black and white fossil marble locally sourced from Morocco. The cooker has 6 hobs and one large oven. It has a large fridge/freezer. There is lots of storage and is fully equipped with cooking, serving and eating implements. There is a separate utilities room with the hot water tank, washing machine and storage area. Both the first an second floors have lovely cool sand coloured marble floors. It is set on three floors so there are quite allot of stairs. These have all been clad in wood and have hand rails. There is no air conditioning as the beach breeze keeps the house lovely and cool. For cooler months there is a traditional Moroccan log fireplace in the living room.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties