HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fabulous Ski Chalet - Central to All Attractions

People14
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 8 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-14)

This beautiful chalet has remarkable views of the rolling hills and countryside. It's a newer build with great amenities, including a six person hot tub overlooking the hills. Game room for all ages with a few different games. Has everything you would expect in a modern chalet including beautiful fireplace, large master bedroom, loft and private bath upstairs. also private lanai off master bedroom.

Fully equipped kitchen, two good sized bedrooms on the first floor.

A perfect setting for a relaxing vacation, or the perfect house for a party!

Keywords: Ski, Rodeo, Golf, Hiking, Biking

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 March, 2017

About The Owner

I own a tire company in downtown Buffalo, unfortunately my work keeps me from my favorite place... this chalet !!

The Owner purchased this chalet in 1995

Why The Owner chose New York

Centrally located to all the Ellicottville attractions.

What makes this chalet unique

I enjoy the quiet and beauty of the hills surrounding this house.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Great Valley in Cattaraugus County

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Alternative Lifestyle
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

Fabulous Ski Chalet - Central to All Attractions
average rating of 4.3125 based on 16 reviews
3

Could have been better

  • 3 of 5

We had a party of 8 adults and 5 children. The kids enjoyed the game room downstairs and the adults enjoyed the fireplace on the main floor. The owner, Leigh, was nice and responsive.

I had seen the reviews, and was hoping that some of the concerns had been addressed but evidently not.

On Saturday morning I contacted Leigh with some concerns and observations. Bottom line is I think it's ok if some games are not working but why are things all over the floor? House was not squeaky clean, we had to wash plates before using them, and towels. I am not sure the cleaners finished their work before we showed up. Bedding was still in the washer and dryer.

Some furniture needs to be fixed and upgraded. The couch downstairs is falling apart. the couch in the loft is very uncomfortable.

Bottom line is it wouldn't take too many small upgrades to make this house great again. And i would cap it at 11-12 max because the bathroom situation is complex for a large group of people.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Great time! It was an unplugged vacation.

  • 4 of 5

Kind of unplugged at least from wi-fi... no wi-fi made the kids nervous, but they all wanted to stay longer by the end.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Our second time staying here

  • 4 of 5

A group of friends and myself stayed at this chalet a few years ago and decided it was time this past year to visit again. We absolutely loved our visit a few years back with everything the house had to offer. Great location, amazing scenery, super quiet and plenty of space. Last time we visited, the chalet also had a Pool table, arcade games, foosball, air hockey and bubble hockey all located in the basement. Upon our most recent return the bubble hockey and air hockey were gone yet seen in the pictures. The pool table had pieces laying on the ground (ball return door) and the floor in the sauna was damaged. I know these are minor but when the pictures in the advertisement are the same from 5 years ago yet nothing looked like that upon arrival, it gives you a sense of being misled. I would definitely stay here again as we enjoy it every time. I just feel the property could use some fixing up and it would be back to the amazing condition it was during our 1st visit.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there. I appreciate your review of our property. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is true that we removed a couple games because they were not working. Unfortunately, we didn't think to redo the pictures because many games still remain in the basement. As far as a piece of the pool table bring on the floor, maybe it fell and could just be put back. The sauna is not included in the rental. The information on the website only mentions the hot tub. The sauna is not even hooked up. Renters were leaving empty bottles and food inside, so we no longer offer it with a stay at our chalet. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Fantastic place to stay for a weekend

  • 4 of 5

This place is better than other places we've stayed at in Ellicottville due to all of the amenities! Plenty of room to sleep (another actual bed would have been great, but it was fine!), nice equipped kitchen, a wood burning fireplace, hottub (needed more water... water level was probably 8 inches below where it should be), good amount of seating in the living room.... Had a nice little view, as it's up on a hill with nice big windows everywhere. We look forward to coming back!! Last minor thing: Maybe the cleaning service can take care of the ice on the wrap around deck for future guests... we went to town and bought an ice pic because it was super thick around the doorways and hottub and grill.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall ~ very good ~ with some recommendtations in review ~

  • 4 of 5

Very pleased with the location. Amenities in general were very nice. Our group agreed that not having Wi-Fi was a little disappointing. Also would be good to have a little book somewhere explaining where certain things are and how to operate the television and its reception ( we never were able to get it going properly ). Cell phone reception was sketchy ( due to the remote location ) and having Wi-Fi at the ready would have helped people stay in touch. Having Wi-Fi is pretty much standard now for vacation rentals. Fireplace with real wood was nice and functioned properly. Hot tub functioning was adequate to our needs as well. We are renting again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Everything Was Broken but it was a Great Stay

  • 3 of 5

Where do I begin? Let's start with trying to find the place. Forget GPS, it doesn't understand the address. At least it didn't for me. I highly recommend mapping it out ahead of time and doing things the old fashioned way.

Now lets talk about what was broken.

The dishwasher was broken but I managed to get it to work after tripping the breaker. The ice maker and water in the refrigerator didn't work and the fridge itself stopped working on the last day. Thankfully it was the last day or I might not be so forgiving. Many of the windows were broken with missing screens or hardware. Since there is no AC and we were staying in the late summer, this is significant. The trashcan was broken and it looked like someone used it for practicing field goals. The grill didn't work well, it was difficult to get the burners work properly, and ran out of propane during our stay. The master bedroom door was broken and couldn't be closed properly. The bunk bed was broken. The pool table was broken but we fixed it. One of the bar stools was broken but we fixed it. Galaga was broken and would suddenly shut off randomly. The air hockey table was broken, and the pinball machine was broken. The heater in the hot tub was also broken, and it seemed like all the batteries in the many remotes to run the entertainment system were dead.

In short, after what appears to be an endless stream of frat parties, this house needed some love big time.

That said, the location was perfect for me and my family. It's probably the quietist place I've ever stayed (and I travel quite a bit) which was helpful as I really needed the rest. It was great to wake up to the trees in the back yard and the smell of nature.

I have family that lives nearby so the location was ideal. It is true what they say about real estate and location being key. The quiet, secluded location alone has saved this review from being completely negative.

Would I stay here again? Despite it's shortcomings I'd have to say yes, but I think I'd renegotiate the terms based on the "available" amenities.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there. I am the owner of this property and would like to respond to this last review. I appreciate the renters honesty and apologize that things were not in better condition. Honestly, we don't get up to the chalet as often as we should. However, now that all of these issues have been brought to our attention, we will work to resolve them before our next renters arrive. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Great Valley, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Fall Festival
6 Oct 2017 - 8 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,581
 
 
Christmas Week
25 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
8 night minimum stay
£1,661
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£621
for 2 nights
From
£240
From
£340
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £140

Rates are subject to change. A $175.00 cleaning fee will be added to each booking.

If you are interested in renting for the ski season, please contact me at 716-200-8029.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Location

Village of Ellicottville, Seneca Allegheny Casino, Holiday Valley Ski Resort, Holimont, Allegheny State Park

Photos

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties